DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 6, 9, and 11 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usuda; Toshihiro et al. (US 20200285876 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Usuda) in view of Takemura; Tomoaki et al. (US 20150051617 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Takemura)
Regarding independent claim 1, Usuda teaches:
A learning support device that supports formation of a learning model that recognizes a treatment instrument within an endoscopic image the learning support device comprising a processor (See ¶ 41 – 44, 225 – 227, figures 1 and 13, wherein an endoscopic image learning device, ‘10’ in figure 1, is disclosed that supports a learning model, for recognizing a treatment instrument/tool within an endoscopic image, wherein the device comprises a processor, ‘116’ in figure 13)
generate a foreground image including at least one treatment instrument by placing an image of the at least one treatment instrument within an image region based on placement data, (See ¶ 88, 93, 129 wherein the foreground image, ‘30A’ in figure 7, is generated by placing the treatment instrument/tool within an image region based on placement data (positional/distance relationships))
form a training image by superimposing the foreground image on a background image. (See ¶ 88 – 90, Figures 7 and 4, wherein a superimposed image (training image), ‘38A’ in figure 7, is created by the image generation unit, ‘38’ in figure 4, wherein the foreground image ‘30A’ in figure 7, is the treatment instrument/tool which is superimposed on the background-endoscopic image (background image), ‘36A’ in figure 7).
Usuda does not explicitly disclose the placement data showing a three-dimensional placement of the at least one treatment instrument as viewed through an endoscope.
However, Takemura disclose the placement data being data showing a three-dimensional placement of the at least one treatment instrument as viewed through an endoscope (See ¶ 104, 93, 34, Figures 6A and 6B and 25A wherein the placement data is data showing a three-dimensional image/coordinates/placement of the treatment/surgical instrument as viewed through an endoscope).
As taught by Takemura the three-dimensional data allows for the position of the endoscope to be displayed more accurately. (See ¶ 26 wherein the three-dimensional coordinates allow for a better display of the endoscope within the displayed images). As both the teachings of Usuda and Takemura deal with the technical field of image processing using endoscopes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Usuda with Takemura to teach of the placement data showing a three-dimensional placement of the at least one treatment instrument as viewed through an endoscope in order for the position of the endoscope to be displayed more accurately.
Regarding dependent claim 2, Usuda in view of Takemura teaches:
The placement data includes a three-dimensional position and orientation of each of the at least one treatment instrument as viewed through the endoscope (See Takemura ¶ 93 and 104 wherein the three-dimensional orientation and position (three-dimensional coordinates) of the treatment/surgical instrument is obtained as viewed through the endoscope).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Usuda in view of Takemura teaches:
The placement data includes distance information relating to at least one distance between the endoscope and each of the at least one treatment instrument (See Takemura ¶ 93 and 104 wherein the distance information relating to at least one distance between the endoscope and the each of the at least one instrument, is represented by the coordinate data of each of the instrument and endoscope, necessarily providing the distance information between them)
adjust the brightness of each of at least one treatment instrument within the foreground image based on the distance information; (See Usuda ¶ 62, 64, and 88 wherein the brightness of the treatment instrument/tool is adjusted via the use of color conversion performed on the foreground image ‘30A’, in figure 7, necessarily based on the distance information as the foreground image is acquired based on the distance information, wherein the distance information is taught by Takemura ¶ 93 and 104 as explained above)
and generate the training image by superimposing the foreground image, which is adjusted, on the background image. (See Usuda ¶ 88 – 90, 62, 64 Figures 7 and 4, wherein a superimposed image (training image), ‘38A’ in figure 7, is created by the image generation unit, ‘38’ in figure 4, wherein the color converted foreground image ‘30A’ in figure 7, is the treatment instrument/tool which is superimposed on the background-endoscopic image (background image), ‘36A’ in figure 7 ).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Usuda in view of Takemura teaches:
Adjust brightness of each of the at least one treatment instrument based on a brightness distribution of the background image (See Usuda ¶ 64 wherein the brightness is adjusted (color conversion) of the treatment instrument (foreground image comprising treatment instrument ‘30A’ in figure 7) based on a brightness distribution of the background image (color of background-endoscopic image ‘36A’ in figure 7)).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Usuda in view of Takemura teaches:
A storage unit configured to store a learning-use model, wherein the processor is further configured to cause the learning-use model to learn the training image to generate a learning model that recognizes the treatment instrument within the endoscopic image (See Usuda ¶ 57, 71, 54, figure 1, 4, and 5, wherein a learning model (learning-use model) is stored in a storage unit, ROM ‘26’ in figure 1, executed by the CPU, ‘22’ in figure 1, causing the learning model to learn the training image (superimposed image) and recognize the treatment instrument/tool within the endoscopic image).
Regarding dependent claim 9, Usuda in view of Takemura teaches:
An endoscope configured to acquire the endoscopic image; (See Usuda ¶ 41 – 44, 225 – 227, figures 1, and 13 wherein an endoscope is configured to acquire an endoscopic image)
and an image processing apparatus including a processor and a storage unit configured to store the learning model, (See Usuda ¶, 54, 71, and figure 1, 4 and 5, wherein a learning model (learning-use model) is stored in a storage unit, ROM ‘26’ in figure 1, executed by the CPU, ‘22’ in figure 1 as part of an image processing apparatus, ‘10’ in figure 1 and 4).
input the endoscopic image to the learning model; and obtain, from the learning model, a recognition result with respect to the treatment instrument within the endoscopic image. (See Usuda ¶ 57, 71 wherein the learning model learns the training image (superimposed image) and recognizes the treatment instrument/tool within the endoscopic image).
Regarding dependent claim 11, Usuda in view of Takemura teaches:
A display device, wherein the processor of the image processing apparatus is further configured to display the recognition result on the display device. (See Usuda ¶ 145, 225 wherein the display control unit, ‘158’ in figure 15, is configured to display the recognition result on the display unit, ‘118’ in figure 15).
Regarding independent claim 12, claim 12 is a method claim corresponding to claim 1. Please see the discussion of claim 1 above.
Regarding dependent claim 13, Usuda in view of Takemura teaches:
A computer readable non-transitory recording medium that stores a learning support program that causes a computer to perform the method for supporting learning according to claim 12. (See Usuda ¶ 42, 54 and claim 13 wherein a non-transitory recording medium in the form of ROM, ‘26’ in figure 1, stores the learning support program, in the form of the endoscopic image learning program, that causes a computer, CPU ‘22’ in figure 1, to perform the method of claim 12. Furthermore see the discussion of claim 12 above).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usuda; Toshihiro et al. (US 20200285876 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Usuda) in view of Takemura; Tomoaki et al. (US 20150051617 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Takemura) and further in view of Komukai Makito et al. (JP 2012120702 A; hereinafter simply referred to as Komukai).
Regarding dependent claim 4, Usuda in view of Takemura teaches:
Correct brightness of each of the at least one treatment instrument within the foreground image (See Usuda ¶ 62, 64, and 88 wherein the brightness of the treatment instrument/tool is adjusted via the use of color conversion performed on the foreground image ‘30A’, in figure 7, necessarily based on the distance information as the foreground image is acquired based on the distance information, wherein the distance information is taught by Takemura ¶ 93 and 104 as explained above).
Usuda does not explicitly disclose the correction of the brightness being based on spatial distribution of the luminance of illumination light of the endoscope.
However, Komukai teaches of the brightness correction being based on spatial distribution of the luminance of illumination light of the endoscope (See ¶ 47, 50 wherein a close up observation mode is selected, correcting the brightness of the observation image, based on the spatial distribution of the luminance of illumination light of the endoscope, represented by the close up observation mode being selected when the endoscope light is not fully illuminating the observation field).
As taught by Komukai the correction of the brightness being based on spatial distribution of the luminance of illumination light of the endoscope allows for the obtaining of an observation image that is suitable for diagnosis. (See ¶ 50 wherein an observation image suitable for diagnosis is obtained due to the brightness correction being based on spatial distribution of the luminance of illumination light of the endoscope). As both the teachings of Usuda in view of Takemura and Komukai deal with the technical field of image processing using endoscopes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Usuda in view of Takemura with Komukai to teach of the correction of the brightness being based on spatial distribution of the luminance of illumination light of the endoscope in order for the obtaining of an observation image that is suitable for diagnosis.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Usuda; Toshihiro et al. (US 20200285876 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Usuda) in view of Takemura; Tomoaki et al. (US 20150051617 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Takemura) and further in view of Jin Yueming et al. (Incorporating Temporal Prior from Motion Flow for Instrument Segmentation in Minimally Invasive Surgery Video; hereinafter simply referred to as Jin).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Usuda in view of Takemura does not explicitly disclose:
Generate a mask image obtained by extracting only a region of the at least one treatment instrument within the foreground image; and annotate the region of the at least one treatment instrument within the training image based on the mask image.
However, Jin teaches of generate a mask image obtained by extracting only a region of the at least one treatment instrument within the foreground image; and annotate the region of the at least one treatment instrument within the training image based on the mask image. (See Jin Page 2 Paragraph 3, Page 3 Final Paragraph, Page 5 Paragraph 2 - 4, wherein a segmentation mask is used to obtain only the instrument (treatment instrument) within the foreground image (prior image) and is used to annotate the region of the instrument in the training image (current image)).
As taught by Jin generating a mask image obtained by extracting only a region of the at least one treatment instrument within the foreground image; and annotating the region of the at least one treatment instrument within the training image based on the mask image allows for the less time consuming method of image segmentation that requires less annotations. (See Page 5 Paragraph 2, wherein the proposed Semi-Supervision learning method allows for a less time consuming and laborious medical instrument segmentation method). As both the teachings of Usuda in view of Takemura and Jin deal with the technical field of image processing of medical/treatment instruments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Usuda in view of Takemura with Jin to teach of generate a mask image obtained by extracting only a region of the at least one treatment instrument within the foreground image; and annotate the region of the at least one treatment instrument within the training image based on the mask image in order for a less time consuming and laborious medical instrument segmentation method be conducted.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indications of allowable subject matter:
Regarding clams 7, the reason of allowable subject matter is that the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest the limitations of claims 6 further comprising wherein a plurality of training images includes the training image, the processor is configured to: generate the plurality of training images that differ from each other in brightness; and cause the learning-use model to learn the plurality of training images to generate a plurality of learning models that correspond to different brightness of the endoscopic image.
Regarding claim 10, the reason of all allowable subject matter is that the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest the limitations of claim 9 further comprising correct at least one of hue, saturation, or a rotation angle of the endoscopic image based on the training image used for formation of the learning model; and input the endoscopic image, which is corrected, to the learning model to recognize the treatment instrument within the endoscopic image.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/ALEJANDRO HERNANDEZ/ Examiner, Art Unit
/JOHN VILLECCO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2661