DETAILED ACTION
In view of the Appeal Brief filed on 3/30/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-4, 7, 14 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mike Kipley et. al. US20230010767A1 (“Kipley”).
As per Claims 1,
Kipley discloses,
a cargo area including a floor (see at least Fig. 1, [0002] Sport utility vehicles (SUVs), trucks, pickup trucks, vans, and other vehicles, such as four-wheel drive (4WD) vehicles, have a relatively high ground clearance, meaning the floor is at a relatively high elevation above the ground, and [0032] this disclosure is also applicable to other types of vehicles having a high ground clearance, such as vans and trucks.
a step including a deck (see at least Fig. 1, [0031] An example running board assembly includes a deck and a linkage assembly configured to guide movement of the deck , and [0033] The deployed positions may be referred to as use positions in which the running board assembly 12 is useable by a user, such that a user may step on a deck of a running board 14)
a guide assembly configured to guide movement of the step; (see at least [0004] a deck and a linkage assembly configured to guide movement of the deck. The linkage assembly includes a first link and a second link further from the deck than the first link. Further, the second link is curved such that the second link exhibits a concave contour from a perspective of the deck)
a motor configured to move the guide assembly to adjust a position of the step (see at least [0013] the assembly includes a motor configured to rotate the first shaft to adjust a position on the deck)
at least one sensor configured to obtain information indicative of a height of the deck relative to a groundscape adjacent the motor vehicle; and a controller configured to interpret the information from the at least one sensor to determine the height of the deck relative to the groundscape and the floor (see at least [0042] Another sensor includes an image sensor 38 mounted to a body of the vehicle 10 and configured to generate still images or video useable by the controller 34 to determine a position of the deck 30 of the running board 14 relative to the ground surface G and/or relative to a body of the vehicle 10 )
and wherein the controller is configured to instruct the motor to adjust the position of the deck to be substantially halfway between the groundscape and the floor (see at least [0015] the motor is configured to adjust a position of the deck between a stowed position and a plurality of deployed positions. Further, in each deployed position, the deck is at a different height from a ground surface relative to each of the other deployed positions, [0016] non-limiting embodiment of any of the foregoing running board assemblies, the plurality of deployed positions includes three deployed positions., [0037] In one example, the motor 32 is in communication with a controller 34, which instructs the motor 32 to move the running board 14 between the retracted and deployed positions based on a number of factors, including whether the doors 26, 28 are opened or closed, based on a height of a user, and/or based on whether a user provides a cargo access command, and [0041] the running board 14 is moveable to three distinct deployed positions, each having a different height relative to the ground surface relative to the other deployed positions. In each deployed position, the linkage assembly 16 is configured such that the deck 30 is substantially parallel to an adjacent ground surface G, and [00045] A first deployed position D1 is a low height position in which the deck 30 of the running board 14 is closest to the ground surface G. A second deployed position D2 is a mid-height position. A third deployed position D3 is a maximum height position in which the deck 30 is at its highest height relative to the ground surface G. In FIG. 2 , the running board 14 is in the second deployed position D2 in which the deck 30 is arranged at a height above the ground surface G between the heights associated with the first and third deployed positions D1, D3)
It is not easy to depict substantially halfway when there is an inclined ground surface or when there is a curb. Applicant’s specification describes height H1 in two different ways. Figure 4, expresses the height H1 of the floor relative to and perpendicular to the groundscape while in Figure 7, 8 and 9, express height H1 from the underbody of the vehicle to the vertical groundscape. For example, the specification describes,
(i) Height H1 is relative to and perpendicular to the groundscape (see at least Fig. 4, [0050] to determine a height H1 of the floor 38 relative to the groundscape G, [0050] The heights H1 and H2 are measured in a direction perpendicular to the groundscape G); and (ii) Height H1 relative to a vertical distance between the floor (see at least Fig. 7, Fig. 8, and [0059] the height H1 is set using the vertical distance between the floor 38 and location L2)
Figure 7 and Figure 8 (tend to depict height H1 from the surface where user is standing, location L1 and location L2, to the underbody of the vehicle). Kipley discloses a way to identify where the user is standing and discloses an image sensor 38 mounted to a body of the vehicle 10 and configured to generate still images or video useable by the controller 34 to determine a position of the deck 30 of the running board 14 relative to the ground surface G and/or relative to a body of the vehicle 10 (0042).
Kipley discloses the motor is configured to adjust a position of the deck between a stowed position and a plurality of deployed positions (0015) based on a number of factors, including based on step size ((0037) based on height) of user. “Substantively halfway between the groundscape and the floor” could be one of the use positions usable by a user.
Should it be found by the court that “substantively halfway between the groundscape and the floor” is not disclosed by Kipley, then it is understood that “substantively halfway between the groundscape and the floor” as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have a “substantially halfway deployed position” in which the running board is useable by a user based on their step size (related to height of user) such that the user can step on a deck of a running board (0033) See In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964(Fed. Cir. 1985).
As per Claims 19,
Kipley discloses,
A method, comprising: lowering a step of a motor vehicle such that a deck of the step is substantially halfway between a floor of a cargo area of the motor vehicle and a groundscape adjacent the motor vehicle (see at least [0044] As represented in FIG. 2 , the running board 14 is moveable between a retracted position R (shown in phantom) and three deployed positions D1-D3, and [00045] A first deployed position D1 is a low height position in which the deck 30 of the running board 14 is closest to the ground surface G. A second deployed position D2 is a mid-height position. A third deployed position D3 is a maximum height position in which the deck 30 is at its highest height relative to the ground surface G. In FIG. 2 , the running board 14 is in the second deployed position D2 in which the deck 30 is arranged at a height above the ground surface G between the heights associated with the first and third deployed positions D1, D3.)
Kipley discloses, the motor is configured to adjust a position of the deck between a stowed position and a plurality of deployed positions. Further, in each deployed position, the deck is at a different height from a ground surface relative to each of the other deployed positions.
Kipley discloses the motor is configured to adjust a position of the deck between a stowed position and a plurality of deployed positions (0015) based on a number of factors, including based on step size of user ((0037) based on height of user). “Substantively halfway between the groundscape and the floor” could be one of the use positions usable by a user based on their step size (height).
Should it be found by the court that “substantially halfway between a floor of a cargo area of the motor vehicle and a groundscape adjacent the motor vehicle” is not disclosed by Kipley, then it is understood that “substantially halfway between a floor of a cargo area of the motor vehicle and a groundscape adjacent the motor vehicle” as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have a “substantially halfway” in which the running board is useable by a user based on their step size (related to height of user) such that the user can step on a deck of a running board (0033). (See In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964(Fed. Cir. 1985).
As per Claim 2 and 20,
Kipley discloses,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the controller is configured such that the controller only instructs the motor to adjust the position of the deck when a height between the groundscape and the floor exceeds a predefined threshold (see at least [0015] the motor is configured to adjust a position of the deck between a stowed position and a plurality of deployed positions. Further, in each deployed position, the deck is at a different height from a ground surface relative to each of the other deployed positions, and [0040] The vehicle 10, in this example, includes a plurality of sensors which provide information useable by the controller 34 in adjusting a position of the running board 14.)
As per Claim 3,
Kipley discloses,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the groundscape adjacent the vehicle is a groundscape directly beneath the step (see at least (see at least [0040] The vehicle 10, in this example, includes a plurality of sensors which provide information useable by the controller 34 in adjusting a position of the running board 14. In an example, the vehicle 10 includes an image sensor 36, which may be a camera, mounted such that the image sensor 36 is able to capture still images or video of a user adjacent a side of the vehicle 10,
As per Claim 4,
Kipley discloses,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the groundscape adjacent the vehicle is beneath the step and rearward of the step (see at least [0042] Another sensor includes an image sensor 38 mounted to a body of the vehicle 10 and configured to generate still images or video useable by the controller 34 to determine a position of the deck 30 of the running board 14 relative to the ground surface G and/or relative to a body of the vehicle 10.)
As per Claim 7,
Kipley discloses,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor includes a first sensor mounted to an underside of the step, and a second sensor mounted to an underbody of the motor vehicle adjacent the step ( see at least [0042] Another sensor includes an image sensor 38 mounted to a body of the vehicle 10 and configured to generate still images or video useable by the controller 34 to determine a position of the deck 30 of the running board 14 relative to the ground surface G and/or relative to a body of the vehicle 10.)
As per Claim 14,
Kipley discloses,
motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the motor vehicle is a van, (see at least [0032] While an SUV is pictured, this disclosure is also applicable to other types of vehicles having a high ground clearance, such as vans and trucks).
As per Claim 21,
Kipley discloses,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to dynamically calculate a position substantially halfway between the groundscape and the floor based on real-time sensor data (see at least [0014] the assembly includes a controller configured to issue instructions to the motor, and the motor is responsive to instructions from the controller, [0015] the motor is configured to adjust a position of the deck between a stowed position and a plurality of deployed positions. Further, in each deployed position, the deck is at a different height from a ground surface relative to each of the other deployed positions, and [0042] Another sensor includes an image sensor 38 mounted to a body of the vehicle 10 and configured to generate still images or video useable by the controller 34 to determine a position of the deck 30 of the running board 14 relative to the ground surface G and/or relative to a body of the vehicle 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 15-16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mike Kipley et. al. US20230010767A1 in view of Anthony Smith US20220332254A1 (“Smith”)
As per Claim 6,
Kipley discloses,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1
Kipley does not discloses,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the guide assembly is configured to guide movement of the step such that as the step is lowered, the step moves rearwardly as the step moves vertically, and such that as the step is raised, the step moves forwardly as the step moves vertically
Smith teaches,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the guide assembly is configured to guide movement of the step such that as the step is lowered, the step moves rearwardly as the step moves vertically, and such that as the step is raised, the step moves forwardly as the step moves vertically( see at least [0002] a retractable vehicle step which is moveable between a retracted or storage position and an extended position in which it functions as a step assist to facilitate access to a tailgate, roof, cargo area, interior or other area of a vehicle such as a truck, and [0025] FIG. 4 is a simplified perspective of a retractable vehicle step in a retracted or storage state illustrating features and advantages in accordance with some embodiments of the invention).
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Smith teaches a van where the door provides access to a cargo area.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with the van including a door adjacent to the rear of the van as taught by Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the stepping assist that allows access to a cargo bed while advantageously providing tailgate clearance (0002).
As per Claim 15,
Kipley discloses,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 14
Kipley does not disclose,
wherein the van includes a door adjacent a rear of the van, and wherein the door is configured to open to permit access to the cargo area
Smith teaches,
wherein the van includes a door adjacent a rear of the van, and wherein the door is configured to open to permit access to the cargo area (see at least [0002] a retractable vehicle step which is moveable between a retracted or storage position and an extended position in which it functions as a step assist to facilitate access to a tailgate, roof, cargo area, interior or other area of a vehicle such as a truck, and [0160] the retractable vehicle step may reside in a retracted position when the vehicle door is closed and may extend to an extended position when the vehicle door is opened).
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Smith teaches a van where the door provides access to a cargo area.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with the van including a door adjacent to the rear of the van as taught by Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the stepping assist that allows access to a cargo bed while advantageously providing tailgate clearance (0002).
As per Claim 16,
Kipley does not disclose,
motor vehicle as recited in claim 15, wherein the step is adjacent the rear of the van
Smith teaches,
motor vehicle as recited in claim 15, wherein the step is adjacent the rear of the van (see at least [0082] The vehicle rear portion 11 includes a tailgate 15 and a bumper 16. As discussed in more detail later herein, the retractable vehicle step 20 is attached to a rear underbody, chassis or frame 18 of the vehicle 10)
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Smith teaches a van with steps adjacent to the rear of the van.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with the step adjacent to the rear of the van as taught by Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the stepping assist that allows access to a cargo bed while advantageously providing tailgate clearance (0002).
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipley as in Claim 1 and further in view of William Kirk Robinson et. al. US 20210402929A (“Robinson”).
As per Claim 5,
Kipley discloses,
an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van
Kipley does not disclose,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the guide assembly is configured to guide movement of the step vertically without the step also moving in a forward or a rearward direction.
Robinson teaches,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the guide assembly is configured to guide movement of the step vertically without the step also moving in a forward or a rearward direction (see at least Fig. 3, and [0040] the step assembly 58 includes a step panel 310, a linkage 314, a left step latch 318, and a right step latch 322. The linkage 314 generally couples the step panel 310 to the tailgate panel 46. In the example provided, the step assembly 58 also includes one or more biasing members 324. The linkage 314 is configured to permit the step panel 310 to move relative to the tailgate panel 46 between a stowed position (shown in FIGS. 1 and 2) and a deployed position (shown in FIG. 3))
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Robison teaches a guide assembly with guide movement of the step vertically without the step also moving in a forward or a rearward direction.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with retractable step taught by Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, to issues with ingress and egress from typical tailgates (0003).
Claims 8-13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipley as in Claim 1 and further in view of Silvia Pala US20120044093 (“Pala”)
As per Claim 8,
Kipley does not disclose,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 7, wherein the first and second sensors are range sensors.
Pala teaches,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 7, wherein the first and second sensors are range sensors (see at least [0006] An image sensor generates an image signal including an image of a detected object. The image sensor is distinct from and adjacent to the TOF sensor, [0026] Object detection sensors include, for example, time-of-flight (TOF) sensors and image sensors, and [0027] A TOF system includes at least one TOF sensor and detects distances between the TOF sensor(s) and objects within range of the TOF sensor(s)).
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Pala teaches an image detection system of a vehicle provided with image and range sensors.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with object detection system for a vehicle using Time of Flight sensors to measure depth as taught by Pala, with a reasonable expectation of success, to detect a distance between the sensor and an object (0004).
As per Claim 9,
Kipley does not disclose,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor includes a depth perception sensor
Pala teaches,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor includes a depth perception sensor (see at least [0007] A TOF control module generates distance data based on the first time and the second time and determines whether at least a portion of a detected object is within a predetermined distance of a vehicle, and [0040] The TOF control module 66 amplifies, filters and/or converts the TOF sensor signal TOF to a distance signal DIST. The signals TOF and DIST include distance data. The distance signal DIST includes vertical and horizontal TOF data).
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Pala teaches an image detection system of a vehicle provided with image and range sensors.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with object detection system for a vehicle using Time of Flight sensors to measure depth as taught by Pala, with a reasonable expectation of success, to detect a distance between the sensor and an object (0004).
As per Claim 10,
Kipley does not disclose,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 9, wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a color camera, a time of flight sensor, near infrared sensor, and a range sensor
Pala teaches,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 9, wherein the at least one sensor includes at least one of a color camera, a time of flight sensor, near infrared sensor, and a range sensor (see at least Fig. 3, Fig. 5, and [0008] an object detection system is provided and includes generating a correspondence matrix between TOF pixel sensors of a TOF sensor and image pixel sensors of an image sensor. Distance data is received from the TOF sensor. Image data is received from the image sensor).
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Pala teaches an image detection system of a vehicle provided with image and range sensors.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with object detection system for a vehicle using Time of Flight sensors to measure depth as taught by Pala, with a reasonable expectation of success, to detect a distance between the sensor and an object (0004).
As per Claim 11,
Kipley does not disclose,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 10, wherein the at least one sensor includes at least a color camera and a time of flight sensor
Pala teaches,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 10, wherein the at least one sensor includes at least a color camera and a time of flight sensor (see at least [0008] an object detection system is provided and includes generating a correspondence matrix between TOF pixel sensors of a TOF sensor and image pixel sensors of an image sensor. Distance data is received from the TOF sensor. Image data is received from the image sensor, and [0059] The image pixel sensors 156 may be in various patterns. In FIG. 4, the image pixel sensors 156 are shown in a RG GB (2×2) matrix pattern. The image pixel sensors 156 may include more pixel sensors of a certain color than pixel sensors of other colors. For example, in the example of FIG. 4 there are more green pixel sensors than red and blue pixel sensors. Other pixel sensor colors may be incorporated, such as yellow pixel sensors. The designated color of the pixel sensor may refer to color detected by that pixel sensor).
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Pala teaches an image detection system of a vehicle provided with color camera and time of flight sensor.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with object detection system for a vehicle using Time of Flight sensors to measure depth as taught by Pala, with a reasonable expectation of success, to detect a distance between the sensor and an object (0004).
As per Claim 12,
Kipley does not disclose,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 11, wherein the color camera and time of flight sensor are integrated into a single sensor assembly
Pala teaches,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 11, wherein the color camera and time of flight sensor are integrated into a single sensor assembly (see at least Fig. 6 and [0063] an object detection system 200 is shown incorporating a combined TOF and image sensor 202 on a shared substrate 204.
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Pala teaches an single sensor assembly.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with single sensor assembly as taught by Pala, with a reasonable expectation of success, to detect a distance between the sensor and an object (0004).
As per Claim 13,
Kipley does not disclose,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 12, wherein the single sensor assembly is mounted adjacent a top of the motor vehicle and adjacent an access point for the cargo area such that the single sensor assembly has the floor, the deck, and the groundscape in a field of view of the single sensor assembly.
Pala teaches,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 12, wherein the single sensor assembly is mounted adjacent a top of the motor vehicle and adjacent an access point for the cargo area such that the single sensor assembly has the floor, the deck, and the groundscape in a field of view of the single sensor assembly (see at least Fig. 1, Fig. 8, Fig. 9, Fig. 10 and [0029] Referring now to FIGS. 1 and 2, top and side views of an object detection system 10 of a vehicle 12 are shown).
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Pala teaches an object detection system mounted adjacent to top of a motor vehicle with the floor, the deck and the groundscape in a field of view.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with single sensor assembly mounted adjacent a top of the motor vehicle as taught by Pala, with a reasonable expectation of success, to detect a distance between the sensor and an object (0004).
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kipley in view of Smith as in Claim 16 and further in view of Andre Lavoie 20080106106 A1 (“Lavoie”).
As per Claim 17,
Kipley does not disclose,
motor vehicle as recited in claim 16, wherein the van includes a rear bumper independent of the step
Smith teaches,
motor vehicle as recited in claim 16, wherein the van includes a rear bumper independent of the step (see at least [0082] The vehicle rear portion 11 includes a tailgate 15 and a bumper 16. As discussed in more detail later herein, the retractable vehicle step 20 is attached to a rear underbody, chassis or frame 18 of the vehicle 10 using, in certain embodiments, already existing connection members (e.g., trailer hitch bolts 19 a, 19 b or the like) on the vehicle 10, and [0084] In transitioning from the retracted position to the extended position, the stepping member 22 exits the rear portion 11 of the vehicle 10 from below the bumper 16 and advantageously provides a stepping assist, with tailgate and/or bumper clearance, for a user to access the cargo bed of the vehicle 10).
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Smith teaches a van including a rear bumper independent of the step.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with the van including a rear bumper independent of the step by Smith, with a reasonable expectation of success, to provide the stepping assist that allows access to a cargo bed while advantageously providing tailgate clearance (0002).
Kipley does not disclose,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 16, wherein the step provides a rear bumper of the van
Lavoie teaches,
The motor vehicle as recited in claim 16, wherein the step provides a rear bumper of the van (see at least [0010] there is provided a step assembly adapted to be installed on a bumper of an automotive vehicle having a width. The step assembly comprises a sub-frame and a step pivotably attached to the sub-frame. The step has a stepping face and an opposed cosmetic face.
Thus, Kipley discloses an adjustable vehicle step in a SUV, pickup or van and Lavoie teaches bumper for an automotive vehicle, such as a truck, that transforms into a step for easy access to its cargo area.
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the inventions as disclosed by Kipley with bumper for an automotive vehicle, such as a truck, that transforms into a step for easy access to its cargo area as taught by Lavoie, with a reasonable expectation of success, to get easy access to the whole cargo area or to get in the cargo area (0002).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants should take note of the prior art in the PTO-892.
/A.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668