DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: At the first page, in the preliminary amendment to the specification of dated 3/25/2024, the continuing date needs to be updated, such as the application No. 17/415,104 is now US patent 11,993,849.
Appropriate correction is required.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because at the end of the abstract, there is a phrase “[Representative Figure] Fig.7” needs to be deleted from the abstract. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Won et al (US 212/0276743) in view of Ito et al (US 2015/0030792).
Regarding claim 1, Won et al disclose a hard mask layer including a diamond-like carbon, etching the hard mask layer to form a hard mask layer pattern, and etching the insulation layer to form an insulation layer pattern using the hard mask layer pattern as an etching mask ([0011]; Figures 6-9), wherein the hard mask layer (220) is laminated on an etching target film (210) [0076].
Won et al also disclose that the carbon-containing hard mask 220 layer is formed by a deposition process using the ICP deposition apparatus illustrated in FIG. 1, for example, by an ICP-PECVD process. A process gas for generating a plasma may include helium gas or argon gas. A reactive gas that may be activated by a collision with the plasma to form the hard mask layer 220 on the insulation layer 210 may include a hydrocarbon compound gas including, e.g., C.sub.3H.sub.6, C.sub.4H.sub.8 or C.sub.6H.sub.12 [0079].
Unlike the instant invention, Won et al fail to disclose the deposited hard mask layer having a concentration ratio of methylene group (CH2) and a methyl group (CH3) satisfies the claimed equation as recited in claim 1.
However, Ito et al disclose a hydrocarbon film is vapor-deposited on the surface of a base material, and includes two layers of a high CH.sub.2 layer having a ratio of CH.sub.2 per the total of CH, CH.sub.2 and CH.sub.3 of not less than 40% [0015]; and aforesaid teaching appears to overlaps the claimed range as expressed in the equation 1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ Ito et al's teaching of depositing the hydrocarbon layer with the configuration of a carbon film that contain more CH2 than CH3 into the teaching of Won et al for achieving a hard mask layer suggested by Ito et al and additionally, such better etching selectivity than amorphous carbon layer as required in the Won et al ([0076] in Won et al).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, listed in the PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Osawa et al (US 4913,994) disclose an amorphous material comprising hydrogen and carbon atoms, said carbon atoms constituting methyl group and methylene group in a ratio of the former to the latter being 0.5:1 to 3:1 (col.8, lines 7-9).
SHAMIM AHMED
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/SHAMIM AHMED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713