DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on November 25th, 2025. Claims 1-14 and 16-18 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
The original disclosure posits two forms of detector. One form is a unitary detector with an engineered discontinuity to act as an input aperture. The claims do not recite this embodiment. The second for is a detector “comprising: (i) first and second detector elements associated so as to form an interface … wherein the associated first and second detector elements … define on one side an environment internal the detector and on the other side an environment external the detector”. The independent claim clearly references this form of detector, as shown by the fact that it claims “first and second housing elements defining a space therebetween; … the first and second housing elements … defining on one side an environment internal the particle detector and on another side an environment external the particle detector”. In this form of detector, the interface forms a natural opening which can, and generally will, function as the input aperture.
Examiner can find no mention in the original disclosure of a detector including both an interface and a discontinuity. Therefore, the “input aperture to admit a particle beam” is not present in configuration with first and second housing elements, unless the interface is itself considered to be the input aperture. It does not appear this is the case, and examiner will proceed with 112(a) and 102(a)(1) rejections on the assumption that the “input aperture to admit the particle beam” is a discontinuity in one or both of the housing elements. However, to cover all bases, examiner will also reject on 101 grounds under an alternative interpretation of the “input aperture to admit the particle beam” as meaning the interface is the input aperture.
Drawings
Replacement drawings were received on November 25th, 2025. These drawings are acceptable in that they do not include new matter and clarify the relationships between the electron emissive surfaces and will be entered. However, they still fail to show the electron emissive surfaces being surrounded as claimed. They also fail to show the newly claimed input aperture, unless that input aperture is the space itself.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the one or more emissive surfaces surrounded by the first and second housing elements must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). The replacement drawings show the electron emissive surfaces adjacent to first and second housing elements, but not surrounded by them. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the input aperture must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). If applicant intends the input aperture to be the interface itself, they do not need to submit new drawings, but will need to state on the record that the input aperture is the space between the first and second housing elements. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-14 and 16-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims now recite a particle detection system comprising both “an input aperture to admit a particle beam;” and “first and second housing elements defining a space therebetween”. The input aperture is understood here to refer to a discontinuity or opening in one of the detector elements. There is no evidence that applicant considered the use of such a discontinuity in a non-unitary detector. The use of such discontinuities is disclosed as an alternative to interfacing detector elements, and always as part of a unitary detector housing (see “In one embodiment of the first aspect, the detector comprises one or more electron emissive surfaces, the detector comprising: (i) first and second detector elements associated so as to form an interface, or (ii) a unitary detector element having a discontinuity,”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The following rejection is an alternative to the 112(a) rejection, covering the interpretation where the “input aperture to admit a particle beam” is considered to be the interface, that is, as the “space” between the first and second housing elements that the deformable member occupies.
Claims 1-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because
the disclosed invention is inoperative and therefore lacks utility.
Claim 1, from which all the other claims depend, recites a particle detection system comprising detection surfaces for detecting particles (electron emissive surfaces) surrounded by housing elements and a deformable member between them “wherein the deformable member or the deformable mass comprises a central region which when contacted by the first and/or second housing elements is deformed so as to inhibit or prevent passage of a gas through the space”. Such a configuration completely seals the internal environment and occludes the “input aperture” that is the interface, which prevents the particles the detector is meant to detect from reaching the detection surfaces. The application includes other embodiments that use tortuous paths or discontinuities to allow for the ions to reach the inner space while inhibiting a gas flow, but no such opening is disclosed for the deformable member.
While the claim language appears to allow for the space to be only partially filled by the deformable member/mass (“a deformable member or a deformable mass some or all of which occupies the space,”), the deformation by contact with the housing elements requires that the entire space be filled since there needs to a surface on the opposing side to push against. Claims 2 and 11 also specifically claim that the deformable member seals the opening, and that the deformable mass is compressed between the two elements, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2009/0294654 (Steiner).
The following annotated figure from Steiner is referenced in the rejections that follow;
Regarding claim 1, Steiner discloses a particle detection system comprising:
a vacuum chamber (fig. 1, element 160); and
a particle detector disposed within the vacuum chamber (fig. 1, elements 102 & 104), the particle detector comprising:
an input aperture to admit a particle beam (fig. 3, element 312);
one or more electron emissive surfaces (fig. 2, element 310, wherein it is understood that electron multipliers include dynodes) surrounded by first and second housing elements defining a space therebetween (fig. 3, element 304, first and second housing elements as annotated above); and
a deformable member or a deformable mass some or all of which occupies the space, the first and second housing elements and the deformable member or the deformable mass defining on one side an environment internal the particle detector and on another side an environment external the particle detector, wherein the deformable member or the deformable mass comprises a central region which when contacted by the first and/or second housing elements is deformed so as to inhibit or prevent passage of a gas through the space, thereby inhibiting or preventing contact of the gas with the one or more electron emissive surfaces (fig. 3, element 306, wherein “An O-ring or gasket 306 may be provided on the housing 304 for creating a vacuum seal.” P 51).
Regarding claim 2, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the deformable element or the deformable mass forms a seal between the first and second housing elements (“An O-ring or gasket 306 may be provided on the housing 304 for creating a vacuum seal.” P 51).
Regarding claim 3, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the deformation is caused at least in part by a force applied to the deformable member or the deformable mass by the first and/or second housing elements (“An O-ring or gasket 306 may be provided on the housing 304 for creating a vacuum seal.” P 51).
Regarding claim 4, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the deformable member or the deformable mass extends beyond one or more edges of the first and/or second housing element (fig. 3, element 306 extends beyond the edges of the housing elements).
Regarding claim 5, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the deformable member or the deformable mass extends beyond all edges of the first and/or second housing element (fig. 3, element 306 extends beyond all of the edges of the housing elements).
The following annotated figure from Steiner is referenced in the rejection below;
Regarding claim 6, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the first and second housing elements provide opposing faces, and the deformable member or the deformable mass is deformed in the space between the opposing faces (fig. 3, as annotated above).
Regarding claim 7, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the deformable member or deformable mass is elastically deformable (“An O-ring or gasket 306 may be provided on the housing 304 for creating a vacuum seal.” P 51).
Regarding claim 8, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the deformable member or the deformable mass is biased to a first shape or geometry and the deformation causes the deformable member or the deformable mass to adopt a second shape or geometry (inherent in deformation, deformation is defined by Oxford Dictionary as “the action or process of changing in shape or distorting, especially through the application of pressure.”).
Regarding claim 9, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein upon deformation the deformable member or the deformable mass flexes or bows in the central region (“An O-ring or gasket 306 may be provided on the housing 304 for creating a vacuum seal.” P 51).
Regarding claim 10, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 9, wherein the flexing or bowing occurs in a central region of the deformable member or deformable mass thereby causing a peripheral region of the deformable member or deformable mass to extend outwardly and away from the central region (“An O-ring or gasket 306 may be provided on the housing 304 for creating a vacuum seal.” P 51).
Regarding claim 16, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein when the particle detector is in operation within a vacuum chamber of a mass spectrometer the inhibition or prevention of passage of the gas through the space is sufficient so as to cause an environment about the electron emissive surface(s) or a collector/anode surface of the particle detector to be different to the environment immediately external to the particle detector with regard to: presence, absence or partial pressure of a gas species in the respective environments; and/or presence, absence or concentration of a contaminant species in the respective environments (intended use, also “The ion processing system 180 may, for example, be a mass spectrometry (MS) system (or apparatus, device, etc.) configured to perform a desired MS technique (e.g., single-stage MS, tandem MS or MS/MS, MSn, etc.).” P 43 and “An O-ring or gasket 306 may be provided on the housing 304 for creating a vacuum seal.” P 51).
Regarding claim 17, Steiner discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the first and second housing elements, and the deformable member or the deformable mass are configured so as to together decrease a vacuum conductance of the particle detector (“An O-ring or gasket 306 may be provided on the housing 304 for creating a vacuum seal.” P 51).
Regarding claim 18, Steiner discloses a mass spectrometer comprising the system of claim 1 (“The ion processing system 180 may, for example, be a mass spectrometry (MS) system (or apparatus, device, etc.) configured to perform a desired MS technique (e.g., single-stage MS, tandem MS or MS/MS, MSn, etc.).” P 43).
Claims 1, 3, 7-9, 12-14, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,770,858 (Fuchs et al.)
Regarding claim 1, Fuchs et al. discloses a particle detection system comprising:
a vacuum chamber (“The vacuum flange 14 has a vacuum side 18 and an atmosphere side 20.”); and
a particle detector disposed within the vacuum chamber (“The detector 12 is adapted to be secured in a first recess 22 formed in the vacuum side 18 of the flange 14.”), the particle detector comprising:
an input aperture to admit a particle beam (“The cap 74 has an opening 80 formed at the input end 16 of the detector 12, for allowing the particles to enter the cartridge 74 at the input face 82.”);
one or more electron emissive surfaces surrounded by first and second housing elements (“a removable MCP cartridge 74 which is captured between base 70 and the cap 72.”); and
a deformable member or a deformable mass some or all of which occupies the space, the first and second housing elements and the deformable member or the deformable mass defining on one side an environment internal the particle detector and on another side an environment external the particle detector, wherein the deformable member or the deformable mass comprises a central region which when contacted by the first and/or second housing elements is deformed so as to inhibit or prevent passage of a gas through the space, thereby inhibiting or preventing contact of the gas with the one or more electron emissive surfaces (fig. 4 & 6, element 128).
Regarding claim 3, Fuchs et al. discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the deformation is caused at least in part by a force applied to the deformable member or the deformable mass by the first and/or second housing elements (“spring 128 is captured between the bottom of the opening 122 in the resistor 120 for urging the resistor upwardly.”).
Regarding claim 7, Fuchs et al. discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the deformable member or deformable mass is elastically deformable (“spring”).
Regarding claim 8, Fuchs et al. discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the deformable member or the deformable mass is biased to a first shape or geometry and the deformation causes the deformable member or the deformable mass to adopt a second shape or geometry (inherent in deformation, deformation is defined by Oxford Dictionary as “the action or process of changing in shape or distorting, especially through the application of pressure.”).
Regarding claim 9, Fuchs et al. discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein upon deformation the deformable member or the deformable mass flexes or bows in the central region (“spring”).
Regarding claim 12, Fuchs et al. discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the first housing element is orthogonal to the second housing element, or vice-versa (upper face of base 170 is orthogonal to side of cap 72).
Regarding claim 13, Fuchs et al. discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein at least a part of the first housing element extends about or surrounds at least part of the second housing element, or vice-versa (fig. 4, where sides of cap 72 surround at last part of base 70).
Regarding claim 14, Fuchs et al. discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the deformable member or the deformable mass is not an O-ring, or an O-ring-like structure having a non-circular geometry (“spring”).
Regarding claim 16, Fuchs et al. discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein when the particle detector is in operation within a vacuum chamber of a mass spectrometer the inhibition or prevention of passage of the gas through the space is sufficient so as to cause an environment about the electron emissive surface(s) or a collector/anode surface of the particle detector to be different to the environment immediately external to the particle detector with regard to: presence, absence or partial pressure of a gas species in the respective environments; and/or presence, absence or concentration of a contaminant species in the respective environments (intended use, also “A detector assembly for a time-of-flight (TOF) mass spectrometer”).
Regarding claim 17, Fuchs et al. discloses the particle detection system of claim 1, wherein the first and second housing elements, and the deformable member or the deformable mass are configured so as to together decrease a vacuum conductance of the particle detector (threaded connections form a closed connection that reduces vacuum conductance).
Regarding claim 18, Fuchs et al. discloses a mass spectrometer comprising the system of claim 1 (“A detector assembly for a time-of-flight (TOF) mass spectrometer”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZA W OSENBAUGH-STEWART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881