DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 11-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Howarth (2018/0016987).
With respect to claim 1, Howarth teaches an aerodynamic component (Figures 5A-5B, #24), comprising: an aerodynamic surface having a first side (defined by upper surface of #24 facing airflow #18)facing a fluid flow in a flow direction (flow/flow direction denoted by arrow #18), and a second side (side facing resonant cells #28) opposed to the first side; at least one resonant cavity (28- [0014]) on the second side of the surface; at least one rib (404 – [0018] – note that riblets can be formed by protrusions #404 and can be continuous so as to form channels therebetween) on the first side of the surface and aligned in the flow direction (18), the at least one rib (404) extending away from the first side of the surface and defining channels (defined by space between riblets #404 on either side of perforations, especially when riblets #404 are formed as continuous riblets) on either side of the at least one rib (404); and at least one perforation (30) connecting a channel on the surface with the at least one resonant cavity (28).
With respect to claim 3, Howarth teaches wherein the at least one perforation (30) has an oblong shape.
With respect to claim 4, Howarth teaches wherein the oblong shape (of perforation #30) is oriented with a long dimension aligned with the flow direction (18).
With respect to claim 7, Howarth teaches wherein the component (24) is selected from the group consisting of a turbofan nacelle duct ([0010] – note sheet #24 forms a turbofan nacelle duct when panel is provided in nacelle inlet #19 or fan section #21), a blade surface, a vane surface and a wing.
With respect to claim 8, Howarth teaches wherein the at least one rib (404) comprises a plurality of substantially parallel ribs defining the channels therebetween. Clearly seen in Figure 5A, when riblets are formed from continuous protrusions #404 ([0018]).
With respect to claim 11, Howarth teaches wherein the at least one perforation (30) extends laterally across a width of the channel (channel between riblets #400, when riblets are formed by continuous protrusions #404 - [0018]).
With respect to claim 12, Howarth teaches a method for making a component (Figures 5A-5B, #24) having a surface treatment (400/404 – [0018]) on an aerodynamic surface (defined by upper surface of #24 facing airflow #18), the method comprising: forming a plurality of ribs (404 – [0018] – note that riblets can be formed by protrusions #404 and can be continuous so as to form channels therebetween) on a first side (defined by upper surface of #24 facing airflow #18) of the aerodynamic surface, the first side being configured to face a fluid flow (18), the ribs (404) extending away from the first side and defining channels therebetween (channels defined by space between riblets #404 on either side of perforations, especially when riblets #404 are formed as continuous riblets), and the aerodynamic surface further having a second side (side of #24 facing resonant cells #28) opposed to the first side, and at least one resonant cavity (28- [0014]) on the second side; forming at least one perforation (30) through the aerodynamic surface from the first side to the second side and communicated with the at least one resonant cavity (28).
With respect to claim 15, Howarth teaches wherein the step of forming the at least one perforation (30) comprises forming the at least one perforation (30) through the aerodynamic surface at the channels ([0013]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5-6, 9-10 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howarth (2018/0016987).
With respect to claim 2, Howarth teaches the aerodynamic component of claim 1. Howarth further teaches wherein the at least one perforation (30) comprises a plurality of perforations (30) having a diameter of an obvious, but unspecified dimension.
Howarth fails to explicitly teach the plurality of perforations having a diameter between 10 and 1,000 microns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the plurality of perforations having a diameter between 10 and 1,000 microns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, setting or altering a perforation size is well known and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill. Further, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claims 5-6, Howarth teaches the aerodynamic component of claim 1. Howarth further teaches wherein the at least one perforation (30) is configured to provide open area in the surface of an obvious, but unspecified percentage.
Although Figure 5A appears to depict the at least one perforation providing an open area in the surface of at least 1%, Howarth fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one perforation is configured to provide open area in the surface of at least 1%, and wherein the open area is between 4 and 20%.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the at least one perforation is configured to provide open area in the surface of at least 1%, and wherein the open area is between 4 and 20%, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, setting or altering a perforation open area is well known and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill for acoustically tuning the device.
With respect to claim 9, Howarth teaches the aerodynamic component of claim 1. Howarth further teaches wherein the plurality of substantially parallel ribs (404 – [0018] – note that riblets can be formed by protrusions #404 and can be continuous so as to form channels therebetween) have a lateral spacing, defining the channels, of an obvious, but unspecified amount.
Howarth fails to explicitly teach the plurality of perforations having a diameter between 10 and 1,000 microns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the plurality of substantially parallel ribs have a lateral spacing, defining the channels, of between 10 microns and 1,000 microns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, setting or altering a spacing size between parallel ribs is well known and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, as Howarth describes the ribs as being completely variable based on the needs of any particular situation. Further, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 10, Howarth teaches the aerodynamic component of claim 1. Howarth further teaches wherein the at least one rib (404 – [0018] – note that riblets can be formed by protrusions #404 and can be continuous so as to form channels therebetween) has a height of an obvious, but unspecified amount.
Howarth fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one rib has a height of between 10 microns and 1,000 microns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the at least one rib has a height of between 10 microns and 1,000 microns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, setting or altering a rib height is well known and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, as Howarth describes the ribs as being completely variable based on the needs of any particular situation. Further, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
With respect to claim 14, Howarth teaches the aerodynamic component of claim 12. Howarth further teaches wherein the at least one perforation (30) is formed having a diameter of an obvious, but unspecified dimension.
Howarth fails to explicitly teach wherein the at least one perforation is formed having a diameter of between 10 and 1,000 microns.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the at least one perforation is formed having a diameter of between 10 and 1,000 microns, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working range involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. In this case, setting or altering a perforation size is well known and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill. Further, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Howarth (2018/0016987) in view of Wilson (2003/0141144).
With respect to claim 13, Howarth teaches the aerodynamic component of claim 12. Howarth further teaches the step of forming the at least one perforation (30) includes an unspecified, but obvious method to form the at least one perforation (30).
Howarth fails to explicitly teach wherein the step of forming the at least one perforation comprises ultraviolet laser drilling to form the at least one perforation.
Wilson teaches a similar acoustic honeycomb panel having non-circular perforations, wherein the step of forming the at least one perforation comprises ultraviolet laser drilling to form the at least one perforation ([0035], [0106]).
Because Howarth does not specify how the perforations are formed, and Wilson teaches a method for forming similar perforations which includes ultraviolet laser drilling to form the at least one perforation, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of Howarth, with the ultraviolet laser drilling of Wilson, so as to provide a known technique to form the perforations of Howarth in the same way as in Wilson, to provide the predictable result of successfully forming the Howarth perforations by use of the ultraviolet laser drilling technique of Wilson. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pertinent arts of record relating to Applicant’s disclosure are disclosed in the PTO-892.
/JEREMY A LUKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837