DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-10 are presented for examination.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) IN202341023081 submitted on March 29th, 2023.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on August 27th, 2024 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds 150 words and contains a legal phraseology “comprising: …” in line 6. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figure(s) 5-8 is/are illegible and there is a lack of descriptive text legends for Figure 9 (see 37 CFR 1.83, CFR 1.84 (5(O)), MPEP § 608.02(e)). It is suggested to provide appropriate labelling for all the embodiments in the figures. i.e., (memory “901”, interface “904”) etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Eklöf et al. (US 2023/0300691 A1) hereinafter “Eklöf” in view of ZHANG et al. (US 2025/0351018 A1) hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Eklöf discloses a source network element configured for supporting a conditional mobility procedure in a dual connectivity (DC) setup involving at least one target network element and a user equipment (UE) served by a first primary cell (PCell) of the source network element [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 12, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, a first network node “14”/ “52” or a master node (MN) for multi-connectivity operation and each conditional configuration is a configuration of a candidate target cell as a primary secondary cell group (SCG) cell (PSCell) which the wireless device “12” is to apply or execute upon fulfilment of a condition], the target network element being associated with a second PCell and a plurality of primary secondary cells (PSCells) for supporting a conditional PSCeII addition and change (CPAC) procedure [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 12, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, each conditional configuration is a conditional PSCell addition or change configuration, and each candidate target cell is a candidate target PSCell], and the source network element [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 12, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, the first network node “14”/ “52”] comprising:
at least one processor [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 12, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-12, a processing circuitry “510”]; and
at least one memory storing instructions that [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 12, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-12, instructions stored in memory “530”], when executed by the at least one processor [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 12, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-12, during an implementation by the processing circuitry “510”], cause the source network element at least to [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 12, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, trigger the first network node “14”/ “52” to]:
receive [see fig. 12: Step “1220”, pg. 19, ¶302 lines 1-8, the first network node “52” receives], from the target network element [see fig. 12: Step “1220”, pg. 19, ¶302 lines 1-8, from the candidate target SN nodes 70-1...70-X], respective CPAC condition configurations for the plurality of PSCells [see fig. 12: Step “1220”, pg. 19, ¶302 lines 1-8, multiple RRC Reconfiguration (e.g. RRCReconfiguration) messages 62-1...62-X (i.e. the first network node “52” receives per target SN node candidate, an SN Addition Request Acknowledge message (where each message includes an RRCReconfiguration per target cell candidate))];
obtain condition information indicative of at least one criterion for one or more beams associated with respective PSCells [see fig. 12: Step “1230”, pg. 19, ¶303 lines 1-5, the first network node “52” maps the received RRC Reconfiguration messages 62-1...62-X (e.g. RRCReconfiguration(s)) with the respective IDs 60-1...60-X, e.g., candidate target SN node IDs]; and
transmit the CPAC condition configurations and the condition information indicative of the criterion to the UE for evaluation of the respective CPAC condition of the at least one PSCell [see fig. 12: Step “1240”, pg. 20, ¶309 lines 1-6, the first network node “52” transmits to the UE an RRC reconfiguration message 54 (e.g. RRCReconfiguration) containing a conditional reconfiguration “56” and a list of identifier(s) 60-1...60-X, where each target candidate cell is mapped to one identifier in the configured list].
Although Eklöf discloses obtain condition information indicative of at least one criterion for one or more beams associated with respective PSCells, Eklöf does not explicitly teach “the at least one criterion is for facilitating determination of at least one PSCeII that is associated with a beam fulfilling the criterion from the plurality of PSCells”.
However Zhang discloses receive [see fig. 8: Step(s) “2b”/“2c”, pg. 10, ¶142 lines 1-33, the MN receiving], from the target network element [see fig. 8: Step(s) “2b”/“2c”, pg. 10, ¶142 lines 1-33, from the candidate SN], respective CPAC condition configurations for the plurality of PSCells [see fig. 8: Step(s) “2b”/“2c”, pg. 10, ¶142 lines 1-33, an SN modification request acknowledge message, upon generating the information for subsequent CPAC, e.g. maintained candidate cell list, execution conditions for each maintained candidate PSCell prepared by that candidate SN];
obtain condition information indicative of at least one criterion for one or more beams associated with respective PSCells [see fig. 8: Step “3”, pg. 10, ¶143 lines 1-6, the MN determines the execution condition(s) for each prepared candidate PSCell for initial CPAC], wherein the at least one criterion is for facilitating determination of at least one PSCeII that is associated with a beam fulfilling the criterion from the plurality of PSCells [see fig. 8: Step “3”, pg. 10, ¶143 lines 1-6, the MN generates RRC reconfiguration message, including candidate PSCell configurations, execution conditions for each candidate PSCell, and/or the information for subsequent CPAC]; and
transmit the CPAC condition configurations and the condition information indicative of the criterion to the UE for evaluation of the respective CPAC condition of the at least one PSCell [see fig. 8: Step “4”, pg. 9, ¶130 lines 1-2; ¶133 lines 1-6; pg. 10, ¶144 lines 1-2, the MN sends the generated RRC reconfiguration message to the UE for evaluating the execution conditions].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the at least one criterion is for facilitating determination of at least one PSCeII that is associated with a beam fulfilling the criterion from the plurality of PSCells” as taught by Zhang in the system of Eklöf for efficient network resource management and allocation between user mobile stations and wireless access network nodes [see Zhang, pg. 1, ¶2 lines 1-15].
Regarding Claim 2,
The combined system of Eklöf and Zhang discloses the source network element according to claim 1.
Eklöf further discloses the source network element being caused to obtain the condition information indicative of the at least one criterion involves [see fig. 12: Step “1230”, pg. 19, ¶303 lines 1-5, the first network node “52” maps the received RRC Reconfiguration messages 62-1...62-X (e.g. RRCReconfiguration(s)) with the respective IDs 60-1...60-X, e.g., candidate target SN node IDs]:
receiving [see fig. 12: Step “1220”, pg. 19, ¶302 lines 1-8, the first network node “52” receives], from the target network element [see fig. 12: Step “1220”, pg. 19, ¶302 lines 1-8, from the candidate target SN nodes 70-1...70-X], the condition information indicative of the at least one criterion [see fig. 12: Step “1220”, pg. 19, ¶302 lines 1-8, multiple RRC Reconfiguration (e.g. RRCReconfiguration) messages 62-1...62-X (i.e. the first network node “52” receives per target SN node candidate, an SN Addition Request Acknowledge message (where each message includes an RRCReconfiguration per target cell candidate))].
Regarding Claim 3,
The combined system of Eklöf and Zhang discloses the source network element according to claim 1.
Eklöf further discloses the source network element being caused to obtain the condition information indicative of the at least one criterion involves [see fig. 12: Step “1230”, pg. 19, ¶303 lines 1-5, the first network node “52” maps the received RRC Reconfiguration messages 62-1...62-X (e.g. RRCReconfiguration(s)) with the respective IDs 60-1...60-X, e.g., candidate target SN node IDs]:
determining [see fig. 12: Step “1230”, pgs. 19-20, ¶303 lines 1-5; ¶304 lines 1-28, upon receiving a message from the UE including a field whose value is the same as a mapping ID mapped to a candidate target SN, identifying], by the source network element [see fig. 12: Step “1230”, pgs. 19-20, ¶303 lines 1-5; ¶304 lines 1-28, by the first network node “52”], the condition information indicative of the at least one criterion [see fig. 12: Step “1230”, pgs. 19-20, ¶303 lines 1-5; ¶304 lines 1-28, that the UE transmitted an RRC Reconfiguration Complete message to the mapped candidate target SN].
Regarding Claim 4,
The combined system of Eklöf and Zhang discloses the source network element according to claim 2.
Eklöf further discloses the one or more beams are associated with the first PCell [see fig. 12: Step “1230”, pg. 19, ¶303 lines 1-5, the first network node “52” maps the received RRC Reconfiguration messages 62-1...62-X (e.g. RRCReconfiguration(s)) with the respective IDs 60-1...60-X, e.g., candidate target SN node IDs]; and
the source network element is further caused to, before receiving the condition information indicative of the at least one criterion from the target network element [see fig. 12: Step “1220”, pg. 19, ¶302 lines 1-8, the first network node “52” receives the multiple RRC Reconfiguration (e.g. RRCReconfiguration) messages 62-1...62-X from the candidate target SN nodes 70-1...70-X]:
transmit [see fig. 12: Step “1210”, pg. 19, ¶301 lines 1-8, the first network node “52” sends], to the target network element [see fig. 12: Step “1210”, pg. 19, ¶301 lines 1-8, for each candidate target SN node 70-1...70-X associated with the IDs 60-1...60-X], information indicative of mapping of the plurality of PSCells of the target network element associated with the one or more beams of the first PCell [see fig. 12: Step “1210”, pg. 19, ¶301 lines 1-8, a SN Addition Request message].
Regarding Claim 6,
The combined system of Eklöf and Zhang discloses the source network element according to claim 1.
Eklöf further discloses the at least one criterion [see fig. 12: Step “1230”, pg. 19, ¶303 lines 1-5, the first network node “52” maps the received RRC Reconfiguration messages 62-1...62-X (e.g. RRCReconfiguration(s)) with the respective IDs 60-1...60-X, e.g., candidate target SN node IDs] comprises of:
whether a measurement measure of a beam is larger than a predetermined threshold [see pg. 13, ¶182 lines 1-5, if multiple NR cells are triggered in conditional configuration execution, it is up to UE implementation which one to select, e.g. the UE considers beams and beam quality to select one of the triggered cells for execution].
Regarding Claim 7,
Eklöf discloses a target network element configured for supporting a conditional mobility procedure in a dual connectivity (DC) setup involving a user equipment (UE) served by a first primary cell (PCell) of a source network element [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, candidate target network nodes 22-1...22-N or candidate target SN nodes 70-1...70-X], the target network element being associated with a second PCell and a plurality of primary secondary cells (PSCells) for supporting a conditional PSCell addition and change (CPAC) procedure [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, each conditional configuration is a conditional PSCell addition or change configuration, and each candidate target cell is a candidate target PSCell], and the target network element [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, the candidate target network nodes 22-1...22-N or candidate target SN nodes 70-1...70-X] comprising:
at least one processor [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-12, a processing circuitry “510”]; and
at least one memory storing instructions that [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-12, instructions stored in memory “530”], when executed by the at least one processor [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-12, during an implementation by the processing circuitry “510”], cause the target network element at least to [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, trigger the candidate target network nodes 22-1...22-N or candidate target SN nodes 70-1...70-X to]:
determine condition information indicative of at least one criterion for one or more beams associated with respective PSCells [see fig. 15A, pg. 21, ¶314 lines 1-11, the S-SN “71” determines to configure conditional reconfiguration associated to target cell candidates T-SN(1)...T-SN(k)]; and
transmit the condition information indicative of the at least one criterion and respective CPAC condition configurations for the plurality of PSCells to the source network element [see fig. 15A: Step “1”, pg. 21, ¶314 lines 1-11, The S-SN “71” transmits the target SN node IDs (as examples of IDs 60-1...60-X) to the MN in a single SN Change Required message].
Although Eklöf discloses determining condition information indicative of at least one criterion for one or more beams associated with respective PSCells, Eklöf does not explicitly teach “the at least one criterion is for facilitating determination of at least one PSCeIl that is associated with a beam fulfilling the criterion from the plurality of PSCells”.
However Zhang discloses determining condition information indicative of at least one criterion for one or more beams associated with respective PSCells [see fig. 8: Step(s) “2b”/“2c”, pg. 10, ¶142 lines 1-33, the candidate SN generates the information for subsequent CPAC and sends such information to the MN via SN addition request acknowledge message], wherein the at least one criterion is for facilitating determination of at least one PSCeIl that is associated with a beam fulfilling the criterion from the plurality of PSCells [see fig. 8: Step(s) “2b”/“2c”, pg. 10, ¶142 lines 1-33, in the SN modification request procedure, the MN sends to the source SN the SN modification request message, which includes an indication to request that the source PSCell/SCG is prepared as a candidate for the subsequent CPAC, a list of candidate cell configuration index, the information or configuration for candidate PSCell(s) prepared by other candidate SN(s), and/or the reference SCG configuration]; and
transmit the condition information indicative of the at least one criterion and respective CPAC condition configurations for the plurality of PSCells to the source network element [see fig. 8: Step(s) “2b”/“2c”, pg. 10, ¶142 lines 1-33, if the determination is made by the candidate SN, the candidate SN sends an indication to the MN to indicate that the source PSCell/SN could be a candidate for subsequent CPAC, e.g. via SN addition request acknowledge message].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the at least one criterion is for facilitating determination of at least one PSCeII that is associated with a beam fulfilling the criterion from the plurality of PSCells” as taught by Zhang in the system of Eklöf for efficient network resource management and allocation between user mobile stations and wireless access network nodes [see Zhang, pg. 1, ¶2 lines 1-15].
Regarding Claim 8,
The combined system of Eklöf and Zhang discloses the target network element according to claim 7.
Eklöf further discloses the one or more beams are associated with the first PCell [see fig. 12: Step “1230”, pg. 19, ¶303 lines 1-5, the first network node “52” maps the received RRC Reconfiguration messages 62-1...62-X (e.g. RRCReconfiguration(s)) with the respective IDs 60-1...60-X, e.g., candidate target SN node IDs];
the target network element is further caused to, before determining the condition information indicative of the at least one criterion [see fig. 15A, pg. 21, ¶314 lines 1-11, the S-SN “71” determines to configure conditional reconfiguration associated to target cell candidates T-SN(1)...T-SN(k)]:
receive [see fig. 15A, pg. 21, ¶315 lines 1-9, receiving], from the source network element [see fig. 15A, pg. 21, ¶315 lines 1-9, from the MN], information indicative of mapping of the plurality of PSCells of the target network element associated with the one or more beams of the first PCell [see fig. 15A, pg. 21, ¶315 lines 1-9, respective SN Addition Request messages to the target cell candidates T-SN(1)...T-SN(k)]; and
the condition information indicative of the at least one criterion is determined by the target network element based on the received information indicative of the mapping of the plurality of PSCells of the target network element associated with the one or more beams of the first PCell [see fig. 15A, pg. 21, ¶316 lines 1-8, with that mapping formed, the MN transmits an RRCReconfiguration to the UE, where the RRCReconfiguration includes a conditional reconfiguration with an identifier per target cell per target cell candidate].
Regarding Claim 9,
Eklöf discloses a user equipment (UE) configured for supporting a conditional mobility procedure in a dual connectivity (DC) setup involving a source network element and at least one target network element [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, a wireless device “12”], the source network element being associated with a first primary cell (PCell) serving the UE [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, each conditional configuration is a conditional PSCell addition or change configuration], the target network element being associated with a second PCell and a plurality of primary secondary cells (PSCells) for supporting a conditional PSCeII addition and change (CPAC) procedure [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, and each candidate target cell is a candidate target PSCell], and the UE [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, the wireless device “12”] comprising:
at least one processor [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-12, a processing circuitry “510”]; and
at least one memory storing instructions that [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-12, instructions stored in memory “530”], when executed by the at least one processor [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 5, ¶83 lines 1-12, during an implementation by the processing circuitry “510”], cause the UE at least to [see fig(s). 1, 5 and 15A, pg. 3, ¶57 lines 1-25, trigger the wireless device “12” to]:
receive [see fig. 15A: Step “4”, pg. 21, ¶316 lines 1-8, upon the MN then generating a mapping between candidate target SN(s) T-SN(1)...T-SN(k) and identifiers per target cell candidate, receiving], from the source network element [see fig. 15A: Step “4”, pg. 21, ¶316 lines 1-8, from the MN], respective CPAC condition configurations for the plurality of PSCells and condition information indicative of at least one criterion for one or more beams associated with respective PSCells [see fig. 15A: Step “4”, pg. 21, ¶316 lines 1-8, an RRCReconfiguration, where the RRCReconfiguration includes a conditional reconfiguration with an identifier per target cell per target cell candidate].
Although Eklöf discloses receiving respective CPAC condition configurations for the plurality of PSCells and condition information indicative of at least one criterion for one or more beams associated with respective PSCells, Eklöf does not explicitly teach “determine, based on received condition information, at least one PSCeII associated with a beam that fulfills the criterion”; and “evaluate the respective CPAC condition of the determined at least one PSCeII”.
However Zhang discloses receive [see fig. 8: Step “4”, pg. 9, ¶130 lines 1-2; ¶133 lines 1-6; pg. 10, ¶144 lines 1-2, receiving], from the source network element [see fig. 8: Step “4”, pg. 9, ¶130 lines 1-2; ¶133 lines 1-6; pg. 10, ¶144 lines 1-2, from the MN], respective CPAC condition configurations for the plurality of PSCells and condition information indicative of at least one criterion for one or more beams associated with respective PSCells [see fig. 8: Step “4”, pg. 9, ¶130 lines 1-2; ¶133 lines 1-6; pg. 10, ¶144 lines 1-2, the generated RRC reconfiguration message for evaluating the execution conditions];
determine [see fig. 8: Step “6”, pg. 9, ¶130 lines 1-2; ¶133 lines 1-6; pg. 10, ¶144 lines 1-2, start to evaluate the execution conditions], based on received condition information [see fig. 8: Step “6”, pg. 9, ¶130 lines 1-2; ¶133 lines 1-6; pg. 10, ¶144 lines 1-2, if the execution condition for one candidate PSCell is met], at least one PSCeII associated with a beam that fulfills the criterion [see fig. 8: Step “6”, pg. 9, ¶130 lines 1-2; ¶133 lines 1-6; pg. 10, ¶144 lines 1-2, the UE performs CPAC execution to the target PSCell, e.g. including to apply the candidate cell configuration of that PSCell, and perform random access to that PSCell]; and
evaluate the respective CPAC condition of the determined at least one PSCeII [see fig. 8: Step “10b”, pg. 9, ¶130 lines 1-2; ¶133 lines 1-6; pg. 10, ¶137 lines 1-8; ¶144 lines 1-2, the UE maintains candidate PSCell configuration(s), e.g. based on the network/basestation indication, and performs evaluation of execution conditions on the maintained candidate PSCells or the candidate PSCells that are required to perform execution condition evaluation (if indicated by the network/base station)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “determine, based on received condition information, at least one PSCeII associated with a beam that fulfills the criterion”; and “evaluate the respective CPAC condition of the determined at least one PSCeII” as taught by Zhang in the system of Eklöf for efficient network resource management and allocation between user mobile stations and wireless access network nodes [see Zhang, pg. 1, ¶2 lines 1-15].
Regarding Claim 10,
The combined system of Eklöf and Zhang discloses the UE according to claim 9.
Eklöf further discloses the UE is further caused to:
receive [see fig. 15A: Step “4”, pg. 21, ¶316 lines 1-8, upon the MN then generating a mapping between candidate target SN(s) T-SN(1)...T-SN(k) and identifiers per target cell candidate, receiving], from the source network element [see fig. 15A: Step “4”, pg. 21, ¶316 lines 1-8, from the MN], a conditional handover (CHO) configuration for the second PCell [see fig. 15A: Step “4”, pg. 21, ¶316 lines 1-8, an RRCReconfiguration, where the RRCReconfiguration includes a conditional reconfiguration with an identifier per target cell per target cell candidate]; and
evaluate [see fig. 15A, pg. 21, ¶317 lines 1-11, performing monitoring], based on the received CHO configuration [see fig. 15A, pg. 21, ¶317 lines 1-11, upon receiving the RRCReconfiguration including the conditional reconfiguration with the identifier per target cell per target cell candidate], for executing the conditional mobility procedure [see fig. 15A, pg. 21, ¶317 lines 1-11, of the conditional reconfiguration].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Hu et al. (US 2023/0362750 A1); see fig. 7, pgs. 13-15, ¶194-¶223.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469