DETAILED ACTION
Election/ Restriction
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figs. 1-15, claims 1-13, in the reply filed on 06/25/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/25/2026, as noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bok et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0393070 A1 (the ‘070 reference).
The reference discloses in Figs. 20, 21A, para [160] (paragraph(s) [0160]) and other text a display device as claimed.
Referring to claim 1, the ‘070 reference discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (SUB, see Fig. 21A);
a first electrode (RFE1) and a third electrode (“third electrode”, label added by the examiner for ease of explanation, Fig. 20 reproduced below) integrally formed to be electrically connected to each other (by connection CNL1), and a second electrode (RFE2) and a fourth electrode (“fourth electrode”) integrally formed to be electrically connected to each other (by connection CNL2), the first, second, third, and fourth electrodes being spaced apart from each other above the substrate (the SUB);
a first dummy electrode (DMP1, para [257-258]]) and a second dummy electrode (“second dummy electrode”) spaced apart from each other above the substrate, and electrically insulated from the first, second, third, and fourth electrodes; and
a light-emitting element (LD, para [154]) electrically connected to the first and second electrodes (para [162]).
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
(deliberately left blank)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Bok et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0393070 A1 (the ‘070 reference) in view of Park et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20220344314 or Chen et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20250017069.
Referring to claim 13, the reference discloses a display device including the light-emitting element (LD) as detailed above for claim 1, but does not disclose a cover layer above the light-emitting element, an optical layer above the cover layer, and an overcoat layer above the optical layer.
Park, in disclosing a display device including a light-emitting element (ED, Fig. 29, para [258]), teaches a cover layer (EN) above the light-emitting element, an optical layer (CFL) above the cover layer, and an overcoat layer (DS) above the optical layer to control light emitted from the light-emitting element (para [258]; or Chen, in disclosing a display device including a light-emitting element (EM, Fig. 17B, para [156]), teaches a cover layer (201) above the light-emitting element, an optical layer (202, para [163]) above the cover layer, and an overcoat layer (14) above the optical layer to improve light-exiting efficiency from the light-emitting element (para [163]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the reference’s display device with a cover layer above the light-emitting element, an optical layer above the cover layer, and an overcoat layer above the optical layer. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in view of the teachings in Park to control light emitted from the light-emitting element or in Chen to improve light-exiting efficiency from the light-emitting element.
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claims 2-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to teach or render obvious a display device with all exclusive limitations as recited in claim 2, which may be characterized in that a pixel circuit layer is above the substrate and comprising a transistor electrically connected to the third electrode, and a common line above the substrate and integrally formed with the second and fourth electrodes to be electrically connected to the second and fourth electrodes.
Conclusion
08-11-2026
/TU-TU V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818