DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Preheating structure (heat exchangers, para. [0021]) in at least claim 10.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Gas controller (valves, para. [0021]), in at least claim 17.
Temperature regulator (tank heaters, para. [0025]) in at least claim 17.
Storage (tanks, para. [0021]) in at least claims 1-18.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100236480 to Hara.
Claims 1, 16: Hara discloses (claim 16) a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising the substrate processing method of claim 1 (see below); (claim 1) a substrate processing method comprising: performing a cycle a plurality of times (para. [0002]), the cycle comprising: (a) storing a first process gas in a storage (40, para. [0033]);
(b) supplying the first process gas from the storage at a first temperature to a substrate after (a) to change a temperature of the storage to a second temperature lower than the first temperature (para. [0057] where the gas undergoes adiabatic expansion also); and
(c) changing the temperature of the storage after supplying the first process gas to
a third temperature after (b) (para. [0057] where temperature is set to increase after supplying),
wherein (a), (b) and (c) are sequentially performed in the cycle (para. [0057]), and wherein the third temperature is kept within a predetermined temperature range while the cycle is performed the plurality of times (para. [0056-0057]).
However Hara does not disclose what the predetermined temperature range is. It is noted that no actual temperatures are disclosed, thus it is interpreted that any range of temperature is necessary as a “predetermined temperature range,” for the purpose of preventing a raw material gas from re-solidifying (or reliquefying), thus making the temperature distribution in the system uniform over the entire area of the raw material tank (para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the controller capabilities as taught by Hara with motivation to prevent a raw material gas from re-solidifying (or reliquefying), thus making the temperature distribution in the system uniform over the entire area of the raw material tank.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein the third temperature is set to be equal to or higher than the second temperature (para. [0057], Hara).
Claim 3: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein the third temperature is set to be lower than the second temperature (para. [0057 where at some point the temperature will be below the second temperature).
Claim 4: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein (a) is started when the temperature of the storage reaches the third temperature in (c) (para. [0057], Hara).
Claim 5: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein the first temperature of two or more executions of the cycle does not deviate therebetween (para. [0047-0049], Hara, where temperatures are set and monitored).
Claim 6: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein the cycle is performed the
plurality of times such that the first temperature does not deviate between the plurality of times of the cycle being performed (para. [0047-0049], Hara, where temperatures are set and monitored).
Claim 7: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein (a) comprises: (a1) storing the first process gas in the storage; and (a2) setting the temperature of the storage to the first temperature after (al) (para. [0056-0058], Hara).
Claim 8: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein (a) further comprises (a3) maintaining the temperature of the storage at the first temperature until a predetermined time has elapsed after (a2) (interpreted as any time since no time is disclosed, para. [0002], Hara).
Claim 9: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein (a) comprises (a4) setting the temperature of the first process gas stored in the storage to the first temperature (para. [0057], Hara).
Claim 11: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein (a) is started after a predetermined time has elapsed since the temperature of the storage is set to the third temperature in (c) (interpreted as any time since no time is disclosed, para. [0002], Hara).
Claims 12-13: The apparatus of Hara does not explicitly disclose (claim 12) wherein the first process gas is resistant to a self-decomposition reaction within a space where the substrate is accommodated; (claim 13) wherein the first process gas is susceptible to a self-decomposition reaction within a space where the substrate is accommodated.
However Hara teaches many process gases (para. [0059-0061]) and teaches heating the materials below the decomposition temperature for the purpose of minimizing decomposition of the raw material (para. [0056]). In this way, the process gas necessarily has either resistance and/or susceptibility to decomposition, but Applicant has not disclosed any criticality to the two different modes (and further leans away from criticality by claiming both).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teaching of Hara with motivation to minimize decomposition of the raw material.
Claim 14: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein an amount of the first process gas supplied from the storage to the substrate in (b) is at least half an amount of the first process gas stored in the storage in (a) (para. [0064], Hara). It is also interpreted that any amount is sufficient, as no discrete amounts are claimed.
Claim 15: The apparatus of Hara does not explicitly disclose wherein the cycle further comprises (e) supplying a second process gas to the substrate.
However Hara discloses multiple gases as options (para. [0059-0067]). the courts have held that the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04 VI (B).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hara as applied to claims 1-9, 11-16 above, and further in view of US 20030217697 to Miyamoto.
Claim 10: The apparatus of Hara discloses wherein the cycle further comprises (d) supplying the first process gas to a preheating structure before (a).
Miyamoto discloses wherein the cycle further comprises (d) supplying the first process gas to a preheating structure (4 [preheat device], Fig. 1) before (a) (para. [0024]) for the purpose of preventing disturbance of the material in the material tank even when a quantity of the material is supplied to the inside of the material tank (para. [0024]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations as taught by Miyamoto with motivation to prevent disturbance of the material in the material tank even when a quantity of the material is supplied to the inside of the material tank.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100236480 to Hara.
Claim 17: Hara discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a process chamber (8 [processing container], Fig. 1) in which a substrate (W [wafer]) is processed (para. [0029]); a storage (40 [tank]) in which a first process gas is stored (para. [0033]); a temperature regulator (62 [tank-heating mechanism]) configured to control a temperature of the storage (40, para. [0036]); a gas controller (52/60/48 [valves]) configured to control a storage of the first process gas in the storage (40) and configured to control a supply of the first process gas from the storage to the substrate (para. [0037]); and a controller (92/96/98 [temperature control device]/[control device]/[storage medium]) configured to be capable of controlling the temperature regulator (62) and the gas controller (52/60/48) to perform a cycle a plurality of times (para. [0002]), the cycle comprising: (a) storing the first process gas in the storage (40, para. [0033]).
(b) supplying the first process gas from the storage at a first temperature to a substrate after (a) to change a temperature of the storage to a second temperature lower than the first temperature (para. [0057] where the gas undergoes adiabatic expansion also); and
(c) changing the temperature of the storage after supplying the first process gas to
a third temperature after (b) (para. [0057] where temperature is set to increase after supplying),
wherein (a), (b) and (c) are sequentially performed in the cycle (para. [0057]), and wherein the third temperature is kept within a predetermined temperature range while the cycle is performed the plurality of times (para. [0056-0057]).
However Hara does not disclose what the predetermined temperature range is. It is noted that no actual temperatures are disclosed, thus it is interpreted that any range of temperature is necessary as a “predetermined temperature range,” for the purpose of preventing a raw material gas from re-solidifying (or reliquefying), thus making the temperature distribution in the system uniform over the entire area of the raw material tank (para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the controller capabilities as taught by Hara with motivation to prevent a raw material gas from re-solidifying (or reliquefying), thus making the temperature distribution in the system uniform over the entire area of the raw material tank.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20100236480 to Hara.
Claim 18: Hara discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that causes a substrate processing apparatus, by a computer (92/96/98 [temperature control device]/[control device]/[storage medium]), to perform a cycle a plurality of times (para. [0002]), the cycle comprising: (a) storing a first process gas in a storage (40, para. [0033]).
(b) supplying the first process gas from the storage at a first temperature to a substrate after (a) to change a temperature of the storage to a second temperature lower than the first temperature (para. [0057] where the gas undergoes adiabatic expansion also); and
(c) changing the temperature of the storage after supplying the first process gas to
a third temperature after (b) (para. [0057] where temperature is set to increase after supplying),
wherein (a), (b) and (c) are sequentially performed in the cycle (para. [0057]), and wherein the third temperature is kept within a predetermined temperature range while the cycle is performed the plurality of times (para. [0056-0057]).
However Hara does not disclose what the predetermined temperature range is. It is noted that no actual temperatures are disclosed, thus it is interpreted that any range of temperature is necessary as a “predetermined temperature range,” for the purpose of preventing a raw material gas from re-solidifying (or reliquefying), thus making the temperature distribution in the system uniform over the entire area of the raw material tank (para. [0057]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the controller capabilities as taught by Hara with motivation to prevent a raw material gas from re-solidifying (or reliquefying), thus making the temperature distribution in the system uniform over the entire area of the raw material tank.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210197157 discloses a liquid material vaporization and supply device (100, Fig. 1) having a tank (20 [second tank]) where adiabatic expansion occurs which can correct the sensed temperature after sensing the reduced temperature (para. [0079]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718