DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Niver et al. WO 2021062381 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Niver).
Regarding claim 1, Niver discloses an inspection assembly for in-process conductivity testing of a manufactured part (container, par. [0003]), the inspection assembly comprising: a mechanical end effector (fig. 22-25, elm. 978, par. [0080]) comprising first and second opposed finger blocks (fig. 22-25, pair of arms 984, par. [0080]) the mechanical end effector operable to move the first and second opposed finger blocks between an open position and a closed position (par. [0089]); a first contact pad (fig. 22-25, first contact portions 1008, par. [0088]), movable with the first finger block (fig. 22-25, arms 980, par. [0082]-[0083]); a second contact pad (fig. 22-25, second contact portions 1012, par. [0088]), movable with the second finger block (fig. 22-25, arms 980, par. [0082]-[0083]); a first terminal (fig. 22-25, electrical wire 1002, par. [0082]-[0083]) conductively connected to the first contact pad; and a second terminal (fig. 22-25, electrical wire 1002, par. [0082]-[0083]) conductively connected to the second contact pad; wherein the first and second terminals are configured to be connected to a controller (fig. 22-25, control unit 1000, par. [0082]-[0083]), wherein the first terminal is configured to receive an electrical potential (fig. 22-25, power source 1004, par. [0083]) and the second terminal is configured to be monitored by the controller (fig. 22-25, measuring device 1006, par. [0083], [0095]) to determine a conductivity (fig. 22-25, control system 1007 measure current flow via the measuring device 1006, par. [0083], [0095]) between the first contact pad and the second contact pad (fig. 26, par. [0091], [0096]).
Regarding claim 2, Niver discloses the inspection assembly of claim 1, Niver discloses wherein the mechanical end effector (fig. 22-25, elm. 978, par. [0080]) is configured to receive the manufactured part (fig. 19, elm. 912, par. [0074], [0080]) between the first contact pad and the second contact pad (fig. 22-25, contact portions 1008, 1012, par. [0088]), wherein in the closed position the first and second contact pads are in electrical communication with the manufactured part (fig. 25, par. [0096]).
Regarding claim 3, Niver discloses the inspection assembly of claim 2, Niver discloses wherein the first contact pad and the second contact pad (fig. 22-25, contact portions 1008, 1012, par. [0088]) respectively comprise contact profiles, the contact profiles configured to promote the electrical communication between the first and second contact pads and the manufactured part (fig. 19, elm. 912, par. [0074], [0080]).
Regarding claim 4, Niver discloses the inspection assembly of claim 2, Niver discloses wherein the conductivity between the first contact pad and the second contact pad is a conductivity of the manufactured part (fig. 19, elm. 912, par. [0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hallock US 2020/0171679 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Hallock).
Regarding claim 5, Niver discloses the inspection assembly of claim 1, Niver discloses wherein the first finger block (fig. 22-25, arms 980, par. [0082]-[0083]) comprises a first support portion (fig. 22-25, first end portions 984, par. [0080], [0089]) wherein the first contact pad (fig. 22-25, first contact portions 1008, par. [0088]) is connected to the first support portion; wherein the second finger block (fig. 22-25, arms 980, par. [0082]-[0083]) comprises a second support portion (fig. 22-25, second end portion 988, par. [0080] ], [0089]) wherein the second contact pad (fig. 22-25, second contact portions 1012, par. [0088]) is connected to the second support portion.
Niver does not disclose wherein the first and second support portions are insulative.
Hallock discloses wherein the first and second support portions are insulative (fig. 1, elm. 118, 128, par. [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide support arms includes a cover formed from nylon or any type of elastomer, plastic, rubber, non-conductive material as taught in Hallock in modifying the apparatus of Niver. The motivation would be non-conductive material provide high mechanical strength and electrical insulation. (see Hallock: abs.).
Regarding claim 6, Niver and Hallock discloses the inspection assembly of claim 5, Niver does not disclose the wherein the first contact pad extends proud of an interior surface of the first finger block and the second contact pad extends proud of an interior surface of the second finger block.
Hallock discloses the wherein the first contact pad (fig. 1, elm. 110, par. [0020]) extends proud of an interior surface of the first finger block (fig. 1, elm. 102, par. [0020]) and the second contact pad (see fig. 1, elm. 110, par. [0020]) extends proud of an interior surface of the second finger block (see fig. 1, elm. 106, par. [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide gripping fingers may include several contact pads including two peripheral contact pads, which may be non-conductive contact pads, and a central contact pad, which may be a conductive contact pad as taught in Hallock in modifying the apparatus of Niver. The motivation would be contact pads have features therein that are detectable to determine or measure a degree to which they have worn down. (see Hallock: abs.).
Regarding claim 7, Niver and Hallock discloses the inspection assembly of claim 6, Niver discloses wherein the first contact pad (fig. 22-25, first contact portions 1008, par. [0088]) is adjustable relative to the interior surface of the first finger block (see fig. 22-25, arms 980, par. [0082]-[0083]) and the second contact pad (fig. 22-25, second contact portions 1012, par. [0088]), is adjustable relative to the interior surface of the second finger block (see fig. 22-25, arms 980, par. [0082]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 8, Niver and Hallock discloses the inspection assembly of claim 5, Niver discloses wherein the first contact pad (fig. 22-25, contact portions 1008, par. [0088]) extends through the first support portion (fig. 22-25, second end portion 988, par. [0080], [0089]) and is connected to the first terminal (fig. 22-25, electrical wire 1002, par. [0082]-[0083]) and the second contact pad (fig. 22-25, contact portions 1012, par. [0088]) extends through the second support portion (fig. 22-25, second end portion 988, par. [0080], [0089]) and is connected to the second terminal (fig. 22-25, electrical wire 1002, par. [0082]-[0083]).
Claim(s) 9-10, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Kita et al. US 2009/0084660 A1(hereinafter referred to as Kita)
Regarding claim 9, Niver discloses a system for in-process conductivity testing of a manufactured part (container, par. [0003]), the system comprising: an inspection assembly (fig. 22-25, testing device 976, par. [0080]), the inspection assembly comprising: a mechanical end effector (fig. 22-25, elm. 978, par. [0080]) configured to move opposed first and second finger blocks(fig. 22-25, pair of arms 984, par. [0080]) between open and closed positions (par. [0089]), the first finger block comprising a first contact pad (fig. 22-25, first contact portions 1008, par. [0088]) and a first terminal (fig. 22-25, electrical wire 1002, par. [0082]-[0083]) conductively connected to the first contact pad and the second finger block (fig. 22-25, second contact portions 1012, par. [0088]) comprising a second contact pad (fig. 22-25, second contact portions 1012, par. [0088]) and a second terminal (fig. 22-25, electrical wire 1002, par. [0082]-[0083]) conductively connected to the second contact pad; and a controller (fig. 22-25, control unit 1000, par. [0082]-[0083]) communicatively connected to the inspection assembly (fig. 22-25, testing device 976, par. [0080]) and configured to provide an electrical potential to the first terminal and configured to monitor (fig. 22-25, control system 1007, par. [0084]-[0085]) the second terminal to determine a conductivity (fig. 22-25, control system 1007 measure current flow via the measuring device 100, par. [0083], [0095]) between the first contact pad and the second contact pad and to made a dispositive determination regarding the manufactured part based upon the conductivity (fig. 26, par. [0091], [0096]).
Niver does not disclose a robotic arm; an end-of-arm tool (EOAT).
Kita discloses a robotic arm (fig. 1-3, rotating arm 3a, par. [0042]); an end-of-arm tool (EOAT) (fig. 1-3, grasping device 1, par. [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide grasping device on a conveyor which conveys works produced by a production facility or a work subjected to in-mold forming from a work-grasping position to a work-releasing position, as taught in Kita in modifying the apparatus of Niver. The motivation would be restrains vibration due to inertia, after being moved from the work-release position to the work-grasping position in order to shorten elapse time, thus improving production efficiency of the production facility (see Kita: par.[0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Niver and Kita discloses the system of claim 9, Niver discloses wherein the controller (fig. 22-25, control unit 1000, par. [0082]-[0083]) is configured to compare the conductivity to a threshold conductivity value (par.[0093]- [0096]).
Regarding claim 12, Niver and Kita discloses the system of claim 9, Niver does not disclose wherein the manufactured part is an injection molded part and the controller is configured to operate the robotic arm and the EOAT to move the EOAT relative to an injection molding manufacturing machine to remove the manufactured part from the manufacturing machine and deliver the manufactured part to a collection receptacle or a reprocessing receptacle based upon the dispositive determination.
Kita discloses part is an injection molded part (fig. 1-3, molded articles, par. [0042]) and the controller is configured to operate the robotic arm (fig. 1-3, rotating arm 3a, par. [0042]) and the EOAT (fig. 1-3, grasping device 1, par. [0042]) to move the EOAT relative to an injection molding manufacturing machine (fig. 1-3, injection molding machine 2 par. [0042]) to remove the manufactured part from the manufacturing machine and deliver the manufactured part to a collection receptacle (fig. 1-3, take-out machine (a conveying means) 3, par. [0042]) or a reprocessing receptacle based upon the dispositive determination.
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Niver and Kita discloses the system of claim 12, Niver discloses wherein the controller (fig. 22, control unit 1000, par. [0095]) is configured to evaluate manufacturing benchmarks (integrity of the container, par. [0095]) based upon one or more signals (par. [0093]-[0096]), from the manufacturing machine in parallel to the determination of the conductivity and the dispositive determination further comprises the evaluation of the manufacturing benchmarks (par. [0093]-[0096]).
Claim(s) 11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Kita as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hallock.
Regarding claim 11, Niver and Kita discloses the system of claim 10, Niver and Kita do not disclose wherein the controller is configured to make a binary determination of an open circuit or a closed circuit between the first and second contact pads.
Hallock discloses the controller (par. [0020], [0026]) is configured to make a binary determination of an open circuit or a closed circuit between the first and second contact pads (fig. 1, conductive contact pad 110 contacts the conductive contact pad 112, an electrical circuit is closed, par. [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide gripping fingers may include several contact pads including two peripheral contact pads, which may be non-conductive contact pads, and a central contact pad, which may be a conductive contact pad as taught in Hallock in modifying the apparatus of Niver and Kita. The motivation would be contact pads have features therein that are detectable to determine or measure a degree to which they have worn down. (see Hallock: abs.).
Regarding claim 15, Niver and Kita discloses the system of claim 12, Niver and Kita do not disclose wherein the mechanical end effector is configured to provide a signal to the controller and the controller is configured to make a determination if the manufactured part is between the first finger block and the second finger block when the mechanical end effector is in the closed position close.
Hallock discloses the mechanical end effector (fig. 1, robotic end effector 100, par. [0020]) is configured to provide a signal to the controller and the controller (par. [0020], [0026]) is configured to make a determination if the manufactured part is between the first finger block and the second finger block (fig. 1, gripping finger 102, 106, par. [0020]) when the mechanical end effector is in the closed position close (fig. 1, conductive contact pad 110 contacts the conductive contact pad 112, an electrical circuit is closed, par. [0020]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, Niver and Kita discloses the system of claim 9, Niver and Kita do not disclose wherein the first finger block comprises a first support portion and the first contact pad comprises a first contact profile configured for electrical communication with the manufactured part and the first contact pad is connected to the first support portion; wherein the second finger block comprises a second support portion and the second contact pad comprises a second contact profile configured for electrical communication with the manufactured part and the second contact pad and is connected to the second support portion; and wherein the first and second support portions are insulative.
Hallock discloses the first finger block (fig. 1, elm. 102, par. [0020]) comprises a first support portion (fig. 1, elm. 114, 108, par. [0022]) and the first contact pad (fig. 1, elm. 110, par. [0020]) comprises a first contact profile (fig. 3, elm. 124, par. [0026]-[0028]) configured for electrical communication with the manufactured part (par. [0004]) and the first contact pad is connected to the first support portion (see fig. 1-2); wherein the second finger block (fig. 1,3, elm. 112, par. [0020], [0024]-[0025]) comprises a second support portion block (fig. 1,3, elm. 130, par. [0024]-[0025]) and the second contact pad (fig. 1,3, elm. 112, par. [0020], [0024]-[0025]) comprises a second contact profile (fig. 3, elm. 138, par. [0026]-[0028]) configured for electrical communication with the manufactured part (par. [0004]) and the second contact pad and is connected to the second support portion; and wherein the first and second support portions are insulative (par. [0020]-[0025]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 11.
Claim(s) 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Kita as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Cole et al. US 2020/0310391 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Niver and Kita discloses the system of claim 12, Niver and Kita do not disclose further comprising at least one gantry, wherein the robotic arm is configured to move along the at least one gantry between the manufacturing machine, the collection receptacle, and the reprocess receptacle.
Cole discloses at least one gantry, wherein the robotic arm (fig. 1, elm. 100, par. [0008]) is configured to move along the at least one gantry (overhead gantry system, par. [0008]) between the manufacturing machine, the collection receptacle, and the reprocess receptacle (fig. 1, product locations 106, par. [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide robotic unit for manipulating items and products, as taught in Cole in modifying the apparatus of Niver and Kita. The motivation would be to provide system and method can provide assistance to a robotic unit (see Cole: par. [0002]).
Claim(s) 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Kita as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wilsterman et al. US 2004/0070117 A1(hereinafter referred to as Wilsterman)
Regarding claim 16, Niver and Kita discloses the system of claim 9, Kita discloses wherein the manufactured part is an injection molded part that comprises a plurality of parts (fig. 1-3, small molded articles, par. [0042]).
Niver and Kita do not disclose connected by a runner and the first contact pad and the second contact pad are configured to contact the runner.
Wilsterman disclose connected by a runner (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 130, par. [0035]) and the first contact pad and the second contact pad (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 250, par. [0035]) are configured to contact the runner (see fig. 4a, 4b, par. [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a robot arm configured to transport the runner assembly from a molding tool, as taught in Wilsterman in modifying the apparatus of Niver and Kita. The motivation would be to position the plurality of molded parts and the runner (see Wilsterman: par. [0008]).
Regarding claim 17, Niver, Kita and Wilsterman discloses the system of claim 16, Kita discloses further comprising a plurality of end effectors (fig. 1-3, adsorbing pads 4, par. [0044]) configured to grasp the plurality of parts (fig. 1-3, small molded articles, par. [0042]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Niver, Kita and Wilsterman discloses the system of claim 16, Wilsterman discloses further comprising a support block (fig. 4b, elm. 130, par. [0035]) positioned relative to the mechanical end effector (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 250, par. [0035]) and configured to align the runner (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 130, par. [0035]) between the first finger block and the second finger block of the mechanical end effector (see fig. 4a, 4b).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 16.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Kita in view of Wilsterman
Regarding claim 20, Niver discloses a method of in-process (container, par. [0003]), conductivity testing (fig. 22-25, control system 1007 measure current flow via the measuring device 1006, par. [0083], [0095]); first contact pad (fig. 22-25, first contact portions 1008, par. [0088]) and a second contact pad (fig. 22-25, second contact portions 1012, par. [0088]) into physical contact with a part (fig. 19, elm. 912, par. [0074], [0080]), providing an electrical potential between the first contact pad and the second contact pad (fig. 22-25, electrical wire 1002, par. [0082]-[0083]) across the part; evaluating a conductivity of the runner between the first contact pad and the second contact pad (fig. 22-25, control system 1007 measure current flow via the measuring device 1006, par. [0083], [0095]); and making a dispositive determination regarding the part based upon the conductivity (fig. 26, par. [0091], [0096]).
Niver does not discloses an injection molded manufactured part, the method comprising: operating a robotic arm and an end of arm tool (EOAT) to remove the part from an injection molding machine; operating a mechanical end effector of the EOAT; physical contact with a runner of the injection molded manufactured part; moving the part relative to the injection molding machine with the robotic arm and the EOAT;
Wilsterman discloses an injection molded manufactured part, the method comprising: operating a robotic arm (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 110, par. [0035]) and an end of arm tool (EOAT) (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 250, par. [0035]) to remove the part (fig. 1, 4a, 4b, molded parts 20, par. [0035]) from an injection molding machine (par. [0030]); operating a mechanical end effector of the EOAT) (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 250, par. [0035]) to move a runner (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 130, par. [0035]) of the injection molded manufactured part; moving the part relative to the injection molding machine with the robotic arm and the EOAT (fig. 4a, 4b, par. [0035]-[0036]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a robot arm configured to transport the runner assembly from a molding tool, as taught in Wilsterman in modifying the apparatus of Niver. The motivation would be to position the plurality of molded parts and the runner (see Wilsterman: par. [0008]).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 1/26/2026