DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-8, filed 04/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-4 under U.S.C. 102 and 5-20 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. A new ground(s) of rejection is necessitated by the amendment. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wettels US 2014/0365009 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Niver discloses an inspection assembly for in-process conductivity testing of a manufactured part (container, par. [0003]), the inspection assembly comprising: a mechanical end effector (fig. 22-25, elm. 978, par. [0080]) comprising first and second opposed finger blocks (fig. 22-25, pair of arms 984, par. [0080]) the mechanical end effector operable to move the first and second opposed finger blocks between an open position and a closed position (par. [0089]); a first terminal (fig. 22-25, electrical wire 1002, par. [0082]-[0083]) conductively connected to the first contact pad; and a second terminal (fig. 22-25, electrical wire 1002, par. [0082]-[0083]) conductively connected to the second contact pad; wherein the first and second terminals are configured to be connected to a controller (fig. 22-25, control unit 1000, par. [0082]-[0083]), wherein the first terminal is configured to receive an electrical potential (fig. 22-25, power source 1004, par. [0083]) and the second terminal is configured to be monitored by the controller (fig. 22-25, measuring device 1006, par. [0083], [0095]) to determine a conductivity (fig. 22-25, control system 1007 measure current flow via the measuring device 1006, par. [0083], [0095]) between the first contact pad and the second contact pad (fig. 26, par. [0091], [0096]).
Niver does not disclose a first contact pad movable with the first finger block; a second contact pad movable with the second finger block.
Wettels discloses a first contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 210, par. [0083], [84]) movable with the first finger block (fig. 2, elm. 204, par. [0082]); a second contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 214, par. [0085]), movable with the second finger block (fig. 2, elm. 206, par. [0082], [0085]);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provides a conductive skin formed of a polymeric material, non-metallic sensing electrodes sense changes in electrical impedance when placed at or in proximity to an object as taught in Wettels in modifying the apparatus of Niver. The motivation would be system utilizes specific electrical or magnetic structural elements in memory, which simultaneously represents complex data accurately and provides increased efficiency in computer operation (see Wettels: par. [00222]-[0023]).
Regarding claim 2, Niver and Wettels discloses the inspection assembly of claim 1, Wettels discloses wherein the mechanical end effector (fig. 2, elm. 200, par. [0082]) is configured to receive the manufactured part (fig. 2, elm. 208, par. [0082]-[0083]) between the first contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 210, par. [0083], [84]) and the second contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 214, par. [0085]), wherein in the closed position the first and second contact pads are in electrical communication with the manufactured part (fig. 2, elm. 208, par. [0082]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Niver and Wettels discloses the inspection assembly of claim 2, Niver discloses wherein the first contact pad and the second contact pad (fig. 22-25, contact portions 1008, 1012, par. [0088]) respectively comprise contact profiles, the contact profiles configured to promote the electrical communication between the first and second contact pads and the manufactured part (fig. 19, elm. 912, par. [0074], [0080]).
Regarding claim 4, Niver and Wettels discloses the inspection assembly of claim 2, Niver discloses wherein the conductivity between the first contact pad and the second contact pad is a conductivity of the manufactured part (fig. 19, elm. 912, par. [0096]).
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Wettels in view of Hallock US 2023/0294312 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Niver and Wettels discloses the inspection assembly of claim 1, Wettels discloses wherein the first finger block (fig. 2, elm. 204, par. [0082]) comprises a first support portion (fig. 2, elm. 204, par. [0082]) wherein the first contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 210, par. [0082]) is connected to the first support portion; wherein the second finger block (fig. 2, elm. 206, par. [0082]) comprises a second support portion (fig. 2, elm. 204, par. [0082]) wherein the second contact pad (fig. 22-25, second contact portions 1012, par. [0088]) is connected to the second support portion.
Niver and Wettels do not disclose wherein the first and second support portions are insulative.
Hallock discloses wherein the first and second support portions are insulative (fig. 1, elm. 118, 128, par. [0023]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide support arms includes a cover formed from nylon or any type of elastomer, plastic, rubber, non-conductive material as taught in Hallock in modifying the apparatus of Niver and Wettels . The motivation would be non-conductive material provide high mechanical strength and electrical insulation. (see Hallock: abs.).
Regarding claim 6, Niver, Wettels and Hallock discloses the inspection assembly of claim 5, Wettels discloses the wherein the first contact pad (see fig. 2, elm. 210, par. [0083]) extends proud of an interior surface of the first finger block (fig. 2, elm. 204, par. [0082]) and the second contact pad (see fig. 2, elm. 214, par. [0085]) extends proud of an interior surface of the second finger block (see fig. 2, elm. 206, par. [0082], [0085]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Niver, Wettels and Hallock discloses the inspection assembly of claim 6, Wettels discloses wherein the first contact pad (see fig. 2, elm. 210, par. [0083]) is adjustable relative to the interior surface of the first finger block (fig. 1D, probe created by mounting sensing finger 134 onto substrate 132 can be moved, par. [0080]), (fig. 2, elm. 204, par. [0082]) and the second contact pad (see fig. 2, elm. 214, par. [0085]), is adjustable relative to the interior surface of the second finger block (fig. 1D, probe created by mounting sensing finger 134 onto substrate 132 can be moved, par. [0080]), (see fig. 2, elm. 206, par. [0082], [0085]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Niver, Wettels and Hallock discloses the inspection assembly of claim 5, Hallock discloses wherein the first contact pad (fig. 1, conductive contact pad 110, par. [0020]) extends through the first support portion (fig. 1-2, arm 118, par. [0022]-[0023]) and is connected to the first terminal (fig. 2-3, ring terminal 124, par. [0022]-[0023]) and the second contact pad (fig. 1, conductive contact pad 112, par. [0020]) extends through the second support portion (fig. 1-2, arm 138, par. [0024]-[0026]) and is connected to the second terminal (fig. 2-3, ring terminal 124, par. [0022]-[0023]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 9-10, 12, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Wettels in view of Kita et al. US 2009/0084660 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kita).
Regarding claim 9, Niver discloses a system for in-process conductivity testing of a manufactured part (container, par. [0003]), the system comprising: an inspection assembly (fig. 22-25, testing device 976, par. [0080]), the inspection assembly comprising: a mechanical end effector (fig. 22-25, elm. 978, par. [0080]) configured to move opposed first and second finger blocks(fig. 22-25, pair of arms 984, par. [0080]) between open and closed positions (par. [0089]); and a controller (fig. 22-25, control unit 1000, par. [0082]-[0083]) communicatively connected to the inspection assembly (fig. 22-25, testing device 976, par. [0080]) and configured to provide an electrical potential to the first terminal and configured to monitor (fig. 22-25, control system 1007, par. [0084]-[0085]) the second terminal to determine a conductivity (fig. 22-25, control system 1007 measure current flow via the measuring device 100, par. [0083], [0095]) between the first contact pad and the second contact pad and to made a dispositive determination regarding the manufactured part based upon the conductivity (fig. 26, par. [0091], [0096]).
Niver does not disclose the first finger block comprising a first contact pad and a first terminal conductively connected to the first contact pad and the second finger block comprising a second contact pad and a second terminal conductively connected to the second contact pad; a robotic arm; an end-of-arm tool (EOAT).
Wettels discloses the first finger block comprising a first contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 210, par. [0083], [84]) and a first terminal (fig. 4A-4B, 404, par. [0090]-[0093]) conductively connected to the first contact pad (see fig.4A-4B) and the second finger block (fig. 22-25, second contact portions 1012, par. [0088]) comprising a second contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 214, par. [0085]), and a second terminal (fig. 4A-4B, 412, par. [0090]-[0093]) conductively connected to the second contact pad (see fig.4A-4B).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Kita discloses a robotic arm (fig. 1-3, rotating arm 3a, par. [0042]); an end-of-arm tool (EOAT) (fig. 1-3, grasping device 1, par. [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide grasping device on a conveyor which conveys works produced by a production facility or a work subjected to in-mold forming from a work-grasping position to a work-releasing position, as taught in Kita in modifying the apparatus of Niver. The motivation would be restrains vibration due to inertia, after being moved from the work-release position to the work-grasping position in order to shorten elapse time, thus improving production efficiency of the production facility (see Kita: par.[0023]).
Regarding claim 10, Niver, Wettels and Kita discloses the system of claim 9, Niver discloses wherein the controller (fig. 22-25, control unit 1000, par. [0082]-[0083]) is configured to compare the conductivity to a threshold conductivity value (par.[0093]- [0096]).
Regarding claim 12, Niver, Wettels and Kita discloses the system of claim 9, Niver does not disclose wherein the manufactured part is an injection molded part and the controller is configured to operate the robotic arm and the EOAT to move the EOAT relative to an injection molding manufacturing machine to remove the manufactured part from the manufacturing machine and deliver the manufactured part to a collection receptacle or a reprocessing receptacle based upon the dispositive determination.
Kita discloses part is an injection molded part (fig. 1-3, molded articles, par. [0042]) and the controller is configured to operate the robotic arm (fig. 1-3, rotating arm 3a, par. [0042]) and the EOAT (fig. 1-3, grasping device 1, par. [0042]) to move the EOAT relative to an injection molding manufacturing machine (fig. 1-3, injection molding machine 2 par. [0042]) to remove the manufactured part from the manufacturing machine and deliver the manufactured part to a collection receptacle (fig. 1-3, take-out machine (a conveying means) 3, par. [0042]) or a reprocessing receptacle based upon the dispositive determination.
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Niver, Wettels and Kita discloses the system of claim 12, Niver discloses wherein the controller (fig. 22, control unit 1000, par. [0095]) is configured to evaluate manufacturing benchmarks (integrity of the container, par. [0095]) based upon one or more signals (par. [0093]-[0096]), from the manufacturing machine in parallel to the determination of the conductivity and the dispositive determination further comprises the evaluation of the manufacturing benchmarks (par. [0093]-[0096]).
Claim(s) 11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Wettels in view of Kita as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hallock.
Regarding claim 11, Niver, Wettels and Kita discloses the system of claim 10, Niver, Wettels and Kita do not disclose wherein the controller is configured to make a binary determination of an open circuit or a closed circuit between the first and second contact pads.
Hallock discloses the controller (par. [0020], [0026]) is configured to make a binary determination of an open circuit or a closed circuit between the first and second contact pads (fig. 1, conductive contact pad 110 contacts the conductive contact pad 112, an electrical circuit is closed, par. [0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide gripping fingers may include several contact pads including two peripheral contact pads, which may be non-conductive contact pads, and a central contact pad, which may be a conductive contact pad as taught in Hallock in modifying the apparatus of Niver, Wettels and Kita. The motivation would be contact pads have features therein that are detectable to determine or measure a degree to which they have worn down. (see Hallock: abs.).
Regarding claim 15, Niver, Wettels and Kita discloses the system of claim 12, Niver and Kita do not disclose wherein the mechanical end effector is configured to provide a signal to the controller and the controller is configured to make a determination if the manufactured part is between the first finger block and the second finger block when the mechanical end effector is in the closed position close.
Hallock discloses the mechanical end effector (fig. 1, robotic end effector 100, par. [0020]) is configured to provide a signal to the controller and the controller (par. [0020], [0026]) is configured to make a determination if the manufactured part is between the first finger block and the second finger block (fig. 1, gripping finger 102, 106, par. [0020]) when the mechanical end effector is in the closed position close (fig. 1, conductive contact pad 110 contacts the conductive contact pad 112, an electrical circuit is closed, par. [0020]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 11.
Regarding claim 19, Niver, Wettels and Kita discloses the system of claim 9, Niver, Wettels and Kita do not disclose wherein the first finger block comprises a first support portion and the first contact pad comprises a first contact profile configured for electrical communication with the manufactured part and the first contact pad is connected to the first support portion; wherein the second finger block comprises a second support portion and the second contact pad comprises a second contact profile configured for electrical communication with the manufactured part and the second contact pad and is connected to the second support portion; and wherein the first and second support portions are insulative.
Hallock discloses the first finger block (fig. 1, elm. 102, par. [0020]) comprises a first support portion (fig. 1, elm. 114, 108, par. [0022]) and the first contact pad (fig. 1, elm. 110, par. [0020]) comprises a first contact profile (fig. 3, elm. 124, par. [0026]-[0028]) configured for electrical communication with the manufactured part (par. [0004]) and the first contact pad is connected to the first support portion (see fig. 1-2); wherein the second finger block (fig. 1,3, elm. 112, par. [0020], [0024]-[0025]) comprises a second support portion block (fig. 1,3, elm. 130, par. [0024]-[0025]) and the second contact pad (fig. 1,3, elm. 112, par. [0020], [0024]-[0025]) comprises a second contact profile (fig. 3, elm. 138, par. [0026]-[0028]) configured for electrical communication with the manufactured part (par. [0004]) and the second contact pad and is connected to the second support portion; and wherein the first and second support portions are insulative (par. [0020]-[0025]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 11.
Claim(s) 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Wettels in view of Kita as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Cole et al. US 2020/0310391 A1(hereinafter referred to as Cole).
Regarding claim 13, Niver, Wettels and Kita discloses the system of claim 12, Niver, Wettels and Kita do not disclose further comprising at least one gantry, wherein the robotic arm is configured to move along the at least one gantry between the manufacturing machine, the collection receptacle, and the reprocess receptacle.
Cole discloses at least one gantry, wherein the robotic arm (fig. 1, elm. 100, par. [0008]) is configured to move along the at least one gantry (overhead gantry system, par. [0008]) between the manufacturing machine, the collection receptacle, and the reprocess receptacle (fig. 1, product locations 106, par. [0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide robotic unit for manipulating items and products, as taught in Cole in modifying the apparatus of Niver, Wettels and Kita. The motivation would be to provide system and method can provide assistance to a robotic unit (see Cole: par. [0002]).
Claim(s) 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Kita as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Wilsterman et al. US 2004/0070117 A1(hereinafter referred to as Wilsterman)
Regarding claim 16, Niver, Wettels and Kita discloses the system of claim 9, Kita discloses wherein the manufactured part is an injection molded part that comprises a plurality of parts (fig. 1-3, small molded articles, par. [0042]).
Niver, Wettels and Kita do not disclose connected by a runner and the first contact pad and the second contact pad are configured to contact the runner.
Wilsterman disclose connected by a runner (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 130, par. [0035]) and the first contact pad and the second contact pad (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 250, par. [0035]) are configured to contact the runner (see fig. 4a, 4b, par. [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a robot arm configured to transport the runner assembly from a molding tool, as taught in Wilsterman in modifying the apparatus of Niver, Wettels and Kita. The motivation would be to position the plurality of molded parts and the runner (see Wilsterman: par. [0008]).
Regarding claim 17, Niver, Wettels, Kita and Wilsterman discloses the system of claim 16, Kita discloses further comprising a plurality of end effectors (fig. 1-3, adsorbing pads 4, par. [0044]) configured to grasp the plurality of parts (fig. 1-3, small molded articles, par. [0042]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 16.
Regarding claim 18, Niver, Wettels, Kita and Wilsterman discloses the system of claim 16, Wilsterman discloses further comprising a support block (fig. 4b, elm. 130, par. [0035]) positioned relative to the mechanical end effector (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 250, par. [0035]) and configured to align the runner (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 130, par. [0035]) between the first finger block and the second finger block of the mechanical end effector (see fig. 4a, 4b).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 16.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niver in view of Wettels in view of Wilsterman
Regarding claim 20, Niver discloses a method of in-process (container, par. [0003]), conductivity testing (fig. 22-25, control system 1007 measure current flow via the measuring device 1006, par. [0083], [0095]); evaluating a conductivity of the runner between the first contact pad and the second contact pad (fig. 22-25, control system 1007 measure current flow via the measuring device 1006, par. [0083], [0095]); and making a dispositive determination regarding the part based upon the conductivity (fig. 26, par. [0091], [0096]).
Niver does not discloses an injection molded manufactured part, the method comprising: operating a robotic arm and an end of arm tool (EOAT) to remove the part from an injection molding machine; operating a mechanical end effector of the EOAT; physical contact with a runner of the injection molded manufactured part; moving the part relative to the injection molding machine with the robotic arm and the EOAT; first contact pad and a second contact pad into physical contact with a part providing an electrical potential between the first contact pad and the second contact pad across the part.
Wilsterman discloses an injection molded manufactured part, the method comprising: operating a robotic arm (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 110, par. [0035]) and an end of arm tool (EOAT) (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 250, par. [0035]) to remove the part (fig. 1, 4a, 4b, molded parts 20, par. [0035]) from an injection molding machine (par. [0030]); operating a mechanical end effector of the EOAT) (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 250, par. [0035]) to move a runner (fig. 4a, 4b, elm. 130, par. [0035]) of the injection molded manufactured part; moving the part relative to the injection molding machine with the robotic arm and the EOAT (fig. 4a, 4b, par. [0035]-[0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a robot arm configured to transport the runner assembly from a molding tool, as taught in Wilsterman in modifying the apparatus of Niver and Wettels. The motivation would be to position the plurality of molded parts and the runner (see Wilsterman: par. [0008]).
Wettels discloses a first contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 210, par. [0083], [84]) and a second contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 214, par. [0085]), into physical contact with a part (fig. 2, elm. 208, par. [0082]), providing an electrical potential between the first contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 204, par. [0086]); and the second contact pad (fig. 2, elm. 214, par. [0086]), across the part (208, par. [0086]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/FARHANA A HOQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858