DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/18/2025 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6, and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,943,899. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
With respect to claim 1, claims 1, 6, and 21 of the ‘899 reference each recite all the limitations therein verbatim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan Arguedas et al. (US 2020/0373220 – hereinafter, “Chan”) in view of Zhong (US 2005/0228097).
With respect to claim 1, Chan teaches (In Figs 1, 2A) a heat-transfer component, comprising: a thermal-interface surface (Bottom surface of 110) comprising a first region (Region occupied by 104A) having an outer periphery (See Figs 1, 2A) and a second region (Region occupied by 104B) surrounding the outer periphery of the first region (See Figs 1, 2A); a volume of composite thermal-interface material (104A) contained within the outer periphery of the first region (See Figs 1, 2A), and a volume of second thermal-interface material (104B) within the second region (See Figs 1, 2A), wherein a composition of the composite thermal-interface material differs from a composition of the second thermal-interface material (“For example, FIG. 1 illustrates an embodiment in which a first TIM 104A is proximate to a center of the die 106 and a second TIM 104B, having a different material composition than the first TIM 104A, is proximate to the edge of the die 106.” ¶ 0021).
Chan fails to specifically teach or suggest that the composite thermal-interface material comprising a silicone oil substrate and a metallic filler, the metallic filler having a solid-to-liquid transition temperature between about 10 °C and about 95 °C (Cl. 1), wherein the metallic filler material comprises gallium (Cl. 2).
Zhong, however, teaches a composite thermal-interface material comprising a silicone oil substrate (“polydimethylsiloxane”, ¶ 0047) and a metallic filler (“gallium”, ¶ 0044), the metallic filler having a solid-to-liquid transition temperature between about 10 °C and about 95 °C (Gallium has an approximate transition temperature of 29.76 °C), wherein the metallic filler material comprises gallium (¶ 0044).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhong with that of Chan, such that the volume of composite thermal-interface material contained within the outer periphery of the first region includes a silicone oil substrate and a gallium filler, as taught by Zhong, since doing so would facilitate heat transfer from the die (106) of Chan to the lid (110).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12,062,590 to Yeh et al. which teaches (In Fig 7) a first TIM layer 142 surrounded by a second TIM layer 144;
US 2024/0218228 to Liu et al. which teaches a thermal interface material including at least a low melting point gallium alloy and a mercapto group-containing silicone oil (abstract); and
US 12,033,914 to Eid which teaches a first TIM (1631) which surrounds a second TIM (1630, see Fig 16).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835