Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 25, 2024 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bronn et al. (“Broadband filters for abatement of spontaneous emission in circuit quantum electrodynamics” - (2015)).
Regarding Claim 1, Bronn et al. discloses an interconnect system, comprising: a first unit section having an inner conductor with a predetermined impedance based on a capacitance and an inductance (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1 – states “we present the SIPF, consisting of alternating sections of high and low impedance coplanar waveguide (CPW) transmission lines … alternating Zlo = 25Ω and Zhi = 120 Ω CPW sections with the Zlo sections forming the ends”); and
a second unit section having an inner conductor with a impedance based on a capacitance and an inductance (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1 – states “we present the SIPF, consisting of alternating sections of high and low impedance coplanar waveguide (CPW) transmission lines … alternating Zlo = 25Ω and Zhi = 120 Ω CPW sections with the Zlo sections forming the ends”), wherein the first unit section and the second unit section are alternatingly repeated to result in a cable structured as a periodic filter having a selected passband and a selected stopband (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1 – states “we present the SIPF, consisting of alternating sections of high and low impedance coplanar waveguide (CPW) transmission lines … alternating Zlo = 25Ω and Zhi = 120 Ω CPW sections with the Zlo sections forming the ends … modeled and measured transmission and reflection characteristics of our filter are shown in Fig. 1(c), featuring a wide stopband from 2–6 GHz and passband around 6.5 GHz”).
Regarding Claim 6, Bronn et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the interconnect system, wherein: the first unit section and second unit section each have a conducting shield (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1 – the first unit section and the second unit section each have two coplanar ground planes and they can be considered as conducting shields); and the inner conductor of the first unit section has a width that is smaller than a width of the inner conductor of the second unit section (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1 – first unit section comprising Zhi and second unit section comprising Zlo).
Regarding Claim 10, Bronn et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the interconnect system, wherein: the first and second unit sections are different in structure (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1); and the alternately repeated first and second unit sections are configured as a stepped impedance filter (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Bronn et al., as applied to claim 1, discloses the interconnect system, wherein the first unit section has a gap, between the inner conductor and a conducting shield, that is larger than a gap between the inner conductor and the conducting shield of the second unit section ((Pages 1-2; Fig. 1 – first unit section comprising Zhi and second unit section comprising Zlo; the first unit section and the second unit section each have two coplanar ground planes and they can be considered as conducting shields).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed. The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 14: The prior art of record to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious the instant invention, particularly characterized by a quantum communication link, comprising: a first unit section having an inner conductor with a predetermined impedance based on a capacitance and an inductance; a second unit section having an inner conductor with a predetermined impedance based on a capacitance, and an inductance, wherein the first unit section and the second unit section are alternatingly repeated to result in a cable structured as a periodic filter having a selected passband and a selected stopband; a first qubit coupled to a first end of the cable; and a second qubit coupled to a second end of the cable.
The most relevant prior art reference due to Bronn et al. (“Broadband filters for abatement of spontaneous emission in circuit quantum electrodynamics” - (2015)) substantially discloses a quantum communication link, comprising:
a first unit section having an inner conductor with a predetermined impedance based on a capacitance and an inductance (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1 – states “we present the SIPF, consisting of alternating sections of high and low impedance coplanar waveguide (CPW) transmission lines … alternating Zlo = 25Ω and Zhi = 120 Ω CPW sections with the Zlo sections forming the ends”); a second unit section having an inner conductor with a predetermined impedance based on a capacitance, and an inductance, wherein the first unit section and the second unit section are alternatingly repeated to result in a cable structured as a periodic filter having a selected passband and a selected stopband (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1 – states “we present the SIPF, consisting of alternating sections of high and low impedance coplanar waveguide (CPW) transmission lines … alternating Zlo = 25Ω and Zhi = 120 Ω CPW sections with the Zlo sections forming the ends … modeled and measured transmission and reflection characteristics of our filter are shown in Fig. 1(c), featuring a wide stopband from 2–6 GHz and passband around 6.5 GHz”); a first qubit coupled to a first end of the cable (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1); and
This prior art, however, does not disclose a quantum communication link, comprising: a first qubit coupled to a first end of the cable; and a second qubit coupled to a second end of the cable.
Additionally, the prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
However, none of these prior art references indicated above or the prior arts made of record in form PTO-892, disclose all the limitations of claim 14 (the individual limitations may be found in a plurality of prior arts but there is no motivation to combine). Because no reference alone teaches all the limitations, nor is there any motivation to combine the prior arts to construct all the limitations of this independent claim, claim 14 is deemed patentable over the prior arts.
Regarding Claims 15-19: these claims are allowed because of their dependency status from claim 14.
Regarding Claim 20: The prior art of record to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious the instant invention, particularly characterized by a method of providing a quantum communication link, comprising: providing a first unit section having an inner conductor with a predetermined impedance based on a capacitance and an inductance; providing a second unit section having an inner conductor with a predetermined impedance based on a capacitance and an inductance; alternatingly repeating the first unit section and the second unit section to result in a cable structured as a periodic filter having a selected passband and a selected stopband; coupling a first qubit to a first end of the cable; and coupling a second qubit coupled to a second end of the cable.
The most relevant prior art reference due to Bronn et al. (“Broadband filters for abatement of spontaneous emission in circuit quantum electrodynamics” - (2015)) substantially discloses a quantum communication link, comprising: a first unit section having an inner conductor with a predetermined impedance based on a capacitance and an inductance (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1 – states “we present the SIPF, consisting of alternating sections of high and low impedance coplanar waveguide (CPW) transmission lines … alternating Zlo = 25Ω and Zhi = 120 Ω CPW sections with the Zlo sections forming the ends”);
a second unit section having an inner conductor with a predetermined impedance based on a capacitance, and an inductance, wherein the first unit section and the second unit section are alternatingly repeated to result in a cable structured as a periodic filter having a selected passband and a selected stopband (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1 – states “we present the SIPF, consisting of alternating sections of high and low impedance coplanar waveguide (CPW) transmission lines … alternating Zlo = 25Ω and Zhi = 120 Ω CPW sections with the Zlo sections forming the ends … modeled and measured transmission and reflection characteristics of our filter are shown in Fig. 1(c), featuring a wide stopband from 2–6 GHz and passband around 6.5 GHz”); a first qubit coupled to a first end of the cable (Pages 1-2; Fig. 1); and
This prior art, however, does not disclose a method of providing a quantum communication link, comprising: coupling a first qubit to a first end of the cable; and coupling a second qubit coupled to a second end of the cable.
Additionally, the prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
However, none of these prior art references indicated above or the prior arts made of record in form PTO-892, disclose all the limitations of claim 20 (the individual limitations may be found in a plurality of prior arts but there is no motivation to combine). Because no reference alone teaches all the limitations, nor is there any motivation to combine the prior arts to construct all the limitations of this independent claim, claim 20 is deemed patentable over the prior arts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-9 and 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Abdo (Pub. No.: US 9,787,278 B1) – This prior art is a relevant prior art teaching a lossless microwave switch comprising: a plurality of ports; and tunable filters, wherein each of the plurality of ports is operatively coupled to a corresponding one of the tunable filters, wherein the tunable filters are lossless low-pass filters.
07/02/2026
/SYED I GHEYAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893