Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on August 31, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Byun et al. (US 2023/0081960).
Regarding claim 1, Byun discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (100) [Fig. 2];
a source structure (210/710) disposed on the substrate [Fig. 2];
a semiconductor structure (300) disposed above the source structure [Fig. 2];
a gate structure (410/420) disposed above the source structure and surrounding the semiconductor structure (300) [Figs. 2 and 5A]; and
a doped semiconductor layer (810) disposed between the source structure and the semiconductor structure [Fig. 2 and paragraph 0069].
Regarding claim 2, Byun discloses wherein an electrical resistivity of the doped semiconductor layer (810: e.g. doped silicon) [paragraph 0069] is lower than an electrical resistivity of the semiconductor structure (300: e.g. silicon) [paragraph 0051].
Regarding claim 3, Byun discloses wherein the source structure (210/710) comprises:
a conductive layer (210) [Fig. 2 and paragraph 0049]; and
a semiconductor layer (710) disposed between the conductive layer and the gate structure [Fig. 2 and paragraph 0048],
wherein the doped semiconductor layer (810) is located between the semiconductor layer (710) and the semiconductor structure (300) [Fig. 2].
Regarding claim 4, Byun discloses wherein an electrical resistivity of the doped semiconductor layer (810: e.g. doped silicon) [paragraph 0069] is lower than an electrical resistivity of the semiconductor layer (710: e.g. graphene) [paragraphs 0048 and 0058].
Regarding claim 5, Byun discloses wherein a dopant ion concentration in the doped semiconductor layer (810: e.g. doped silicon) [paragraph 0069] is higher than a dopant ion concentration in the semiconductor layer (710: e.g. graphene) [paragraphs 0048 and 0058].
Regarding claim 6, Byun discloses wherein the semiconductor structure comprises:
a gate dielectric layer (510) disposed above the source structure [Fig. 2 and paragraph 0048], wherein the gate dielectric layer (510/520) surrounds the doped semiconductor layer (at least a portion 810 located beneath channel 300) [Fig. 2 and 5A]; and
a channel layer (300) disposed on the gate dielectric layer, wherein the channel layer surrounds the doped semiconductor layer (at least a portion 810 located beneath channel 300) [Fig. 2 and 5A].
Regarding claim 7, Byun discloses wherein a dopant ion concentration in the doped semiconductor layer (810: e.g. doped silicon) [paragraph 0069] is higher than a dopant ion concentration in the channel layer (300: e.g. silicon) [paragraph 0051].
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2019/0305085).
Regarding claim 1,Sun discloses a semiconductor device, comprising:
a substrate (305) [Fig. 3];
a source structure (360) disposed on the substrate [Fig.3];
a semiconductor structure (320) disposed above the source structure [Fig. 3];
a gate structure (350) disposed above the source structure and surrounding the semiconductor structure (300) [Fig. 3]; and
a doped semiconductor layer (310) disposed between the source structure and the semiconductor structure [Fig. 3].
Regarding claim 2, Sun discloses wherein an electrical resistivity of the doped semiconductor layer (310: e.g. “More Doping”) is lower than an electrical resistivity of the semiconductor structure (320) [Fig. 3 and paragraph 0043].
Regarding claim 6, Sun discloses wherein the semiconductor structure comprises:
a gate dielectric layer (340) disposed above the source structure [Fig. 3], wherein the gate dielectric layer (340) surrounds the doped semiconductor layer (top portion, i.e. “More Doping” [Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0021 and 0043]; and
a channel layer (320) disposed on the gate dielectric layer, wherein the channel layer surrounds the doped semiconductor layer [Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0021 and 0043].
Regarding claim 7, Sun discloses wherein a dopant ion concentration in the doped semiconductor layer (310: e.g. “More Doping”) is higher than a dopant ion concentration in the channel layer (120) [Fig. 3 and paragraph 0043].
Regarding claim 10, Sun discloses wherein an upper surface (“More Doping”) of the doped semiconductor layer (310) is higher than a lower surface of the gate structure (350) [Fig. 3].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al. (US 2023/0081960) in view of Balakrishnan et al. (US 9640667).
Regarding claim 9, Byun does not teach a barrier pattern.
Balakrishnan teaches a barrier pattern (144) disposed above the source structure (112), wherein the barrier pattern (144) surrounds the semiconductor structure (130), and at least a part of the barrier pattern (144) is located between the gate structure (150) and the semiconductor structure (130) [Fig. 1A and col. 5, lines 3-19].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify Byun by including a barrier pattern as taught by Balakrishnan because it helps to improve the electrical performance [col. 1, lines 14-28 and col. 5, lines 9-11].
Regarding claim 11, Byun discloses wherein the doped semiconductor layer comprises an n-type doped amorphous silicon layer (810: e.g. doped silicon) [paragraph 0069]. In regard to the limitation about the silicon being amorphous, the court has held that it is within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960); Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-10 of copending Application No. 18/595332 (published as US 2025/0248070) in view of Byun et al. (US 2023/0081960). For example,
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/595332 discloses all the recited limitations except for the doped semiconductor layer.
Byun teaches a doped semiconductor layer (810) disposed between the source structure and the semiconductor structure [Fig. 2 and paragraph 0069].
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would have been motivated to modify the copending Application No. 18/595332 by including the doped semiconductor layer as taught by Byun because it helps to improve process stability [paragraph 0063-064].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815