DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted June 27, 2024, has been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
4. All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
5. Claim 1 recites “a compound including an aromatic ring in which two or more elements selected from the group consisting of N, S, and O are each independently bonded”. The limitation “two or more elements selected from the group consisting of N, S, and O” encompasses e.g. two Ns, two Ss, two Os, N and S, N and O, and S and O. This interpretation is supported by the instant disclosure’s exemplification of species having only N atoms (of the three choices), having N and O atoms, and having N and S atoms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
6. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites “at least one of the carbon atoms in R2, which are bonded to oxygen atoms at both terminals, does not have a fluorine atom”. The structure described is unclear and indefinite. What does it mean for at least one of the carbons in R2 to be bonded to oxygen atoms at both terminals? For example, what terminal is referred to? The language is vague. The scope of the claim, “F-substituted alkylene” encompasses CF2 as R2 and if the limitation quoted above were applied to a Formula 1 variation having this CF2 alkylene linker, the resulting formula would be non-sensical and impossible since the C would be required to have F attached and prohibited from having F attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 7-9, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US PG Publication 2016/0261000 in view of Jito US PG Publication 2002/0117469 and Hirayama JP2017-019746.
Regarding Claims 1-2, 7-9, and 11-12, Zhang discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode (cathode) 110/120 and a negative electrode (anode) 140 not having a negative-electrode active material (lithium anode 150 is formed in situ on a surface of the copper (para 0068) current collector, para 0037), and an electrolyte solution (para 0038-0039), wherein the electrolyte solution contains a lithium salt (para 0039-0040) (see entire disclosure and especially e.g. Fig 1 and paras 0034-0042, 0068-0069). Zhang does not specifically disclose wherein at least a part of a surface of the negative electrode facing the positive electrode is coated with a compound including an aromatic ring in which two or more elements selected from the group consisting of N, S, and O are each independently bonded. However, in the same field of endeavor of lithium secondary battery design, Jito teaches that it is beneficial to form an antirust layer on a current collector to prevent corrosion, and that such a layer is formed from e.g. benzotriazole (para 0012, 0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to coat at least a part of a surface of the negative electrode of Zhang facing the positive electrode with a compound including an aromatic ring in which two or more elements selected from the group consisting of N, S, and O are each independently bonded, such as benzotriazole (meeting Claim 12) which has one or more nitrogen atoms bonded to the aromatic ring (meeting Claim 11) because Jito teaches that it is beneficial to form an antirust layer from this material on a copper current collector to prevent corrosion.
Zhang modified by Jito discloses the use of e.g. ethylene carbonate as an electrolyte solvent (para 0039 of Zhang) and also discloses the use of an ether compound not having a fluorine atom in the electrolyte (para 0039, diethyl ether, meeting Claim 2), but does not specifically disclose wherein the electrolyte solution contains at least one of a compound represented by Formula (1) or a compound represented by Formula (2):
However, in the same field of endeavor of lithium ion battery design, Hirayama discloses that a fluorine-containing chain ether compound is used beneficially as a solvent in a non-aqueous secondary battery electrolyte to improve oxidation resistance which can be used in conjunction with e.g. ethylene carbonate in high-energy density devices such as lithium-ion batteries (see entire disclosure and especially para 0024-0025, 0043-0046) and see below for an example from paras 0024-0025 of the compounds corresponding with Formula (2) and having a F/(H+F) ratio of 6/14 or 0.42 and having 2 carbons in R5 and having a carbon atom in R4 which is bonded to an O atom but not to a F atom (meeting Claims 7-9):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include in the electrolyte solution of Zhang modified by Jito a compound represented by Formula (2) because Hirayama teaches that a fluorine-containing chain ether compound such as this is used beneficially as a solvent in electrolyte of high-energy density devices such as lithium-ion batteries to improve oxidation resistance, particularly in conjunction with e.g. ethylene carbonate, which Zhang uses.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang discloses wherein the lithium salt includes at least LiN(SO2F)2 (LiFSI) (para 0039).
8. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US PG Publication 2016/0261000 in view of Jito US PG Publication 2002/0117469 and Hirayama JP2017-019746, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Itabashi US PG Publication 2019/0312307.
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang modified by Jito and Hirayama discloses the claimed battery as described in the rejection of Claim 1, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. The prior art does not specifically disclose wherein the electrolyte solution further contains a chain-like fluorine compound having at least one of a monovalent group represented by Formula (A) or Formula (B) where a wavy line represents bonding site in a monovalent group:
However, in the same field of endeavor of lithium secondary batteries, Itabashi discloses that fluorinated linear ethers such as the following provide flame-retardant effects to the electrolyte solution (see para 0083):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include in the electrolyte solution of Zhang modified by Jito and Hirayama a compound represented by Formula (B) because Itabashi teaches that fluorinated linear ethers such as the Formula (B) compound shown provides flame-retardant effects to the electrolyte solution.
9. Claims 1-2, 5-6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US PG Publication 2016/0261000 in view of Jito US PG Publication 2002/0117469 and Hirayama JP2017-019746, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Ansari US PG Publication 2021/0098827.
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 5, Zhang discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode (cathode) 110/120 and a negative electrode (anode) 140 not having a negative-electrode active material (lithium anode 150 is formed in situ on a surface of the copper (para 0068) current collector, para 0037), and an electrolyte solution (para 0038-0039), wherein the electrolyte solution contains a lithium salt (para 0039-0040) (see entire disclosure and especially e.g. Fig 1 and paras 0034-0042, 0068-0069). Zhang does not specifically disclose wherein at least a part of a surface of the negative electrode facing the positive electrode is coated with a compound including an aromatic ring in which two or more elements selected from the group consisting of N, S, and O are each independently bonded. However, in the same field of endeavor of lithium secondary battery design, Jito teaches that it is beneficial to form an antirust layer on a current collector to prevent corrosion, and that such a layer is formed from e.g. benzotriazole (para 0012, 0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to coat at least a part of a surface of the negative electrode of Zhang facing the positive electrode with a compound including an aromatic ring in which two or more elements selected from the group consisting of N, S, and O are each independently bonded, such as benzotriazole (meeting Claim 12) which has one or more nitrogen atoms bonded to the aromatic ring (meeting Claim 11) because Jito teaches that it is beneficial to form an antirust layer from this material on a copper current collector to prevent corrosion.
Zhang modified by Jito discloses the use of e.g. ethylene carbonate as an electrolyte solvent (para 0039 of Zhang) and also discloses the use of an ether compound not having a fluorine atom in the electrolyte (para 0039, diethyl ether, meeting Claim 2), but does not specifically disclose wherein the electrolyte solution contains at least one of a compound represented by Formula (1) or a compound represented by Formula (2):
However, in the same field of endeavor of lithium ion battery design, Ansari discloses that alkoxyethane based compound, specifically 1,1,2,2-Tetrafluoro-1,2-dimethoxyethane, is used beneficially as a co-solvent in a non-aqueous secondary battery electrolyte with e.g. ethylene carbonate to improve battery safety and electrochemical performance ( such as lithium-ion batteries, see entire disclosure and especially para 0037-0045, 0049) and see below for the structure of 1,1,2,2-Tetrafluoro-1,2-dimethoxyethane, corresponding with Formula (1) and having a F/(H+F) ratio of 4/6 or 0.66 (meeting Claim 5):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include in the electrolyte solution of Zhang modified by Jito a compound represented by Formula (1) because Ansari discloses that alkoxyethane based compounds, specifically 1,1,2,2-Tetrafluoro-1,2-dimethoxyethane, are used beneficially as a co-solvent in a non-aqueous secondary battery electrolyte with e.g. ethylene carbonate to improve battery safety and electrochemical performance.
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang modified by Jito and Ansari does not specifically disclose wherein the electrolyte solution contains the compound represented by Formula (1) and at least one of the carbons in R2, which are bonded to oxygen atoms at both terminals, does not have a fluorine atom. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the compound represented by Formula (1) such that at least one of the terminal carbons of R2 does not have an F atom attached to it in order to e.g. tune the electron withdrawing properties of the compound because the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang discloses wherein the lithium salt includes at least LiN(SO2F)2 (LiFSI) (para 0039).
10. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang US PG Publication 2016/0261000 in view of Jito US PG Publication 2002/0117469 and Hirayama JP2017-019746, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Ansari US PG Publication 2021/0098827.
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang modified by Jito and Hirayama discloses the claimed battery as described in the rejection of Claim 1, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. The prior art does not specifically disclose wherein the electrolyte solution contains a compound represented by Formula (1) in addition to a compound represented by Formula (2).
However, in the same field of endeavor of lithium ion battery design, Ansari discloses that alkoxyethane based compound, specifically 1,1,2,2-Tetrafluoro-1,2-dimethoxyethane, is used beneficially as a co-solvent in a non-aqueous secondary battery electrolyte with e.g. ethylene carbonate to improve battery safety and electrochemical performance (such as lithium-ion batteries, see entire disclosure and especially para 0037-0045, 0049) and see below for the structure of 1,1,2,2-Tetrafluoro-1,2-dimethoxyethane, corresponding with Formula (1):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include in the electrolyte solution of Zhang modified by Jito and Hirayama a compound represented by Formula (1) because Ansari discloses that alkoxyethane based compounds, specifically 1,1,2,2-Tetrafluoro-1,2-dimethoxyethane, are used beneficially as a co-solvent in a non-aqueous secondary battery electrolyte with e.g. ethylene carbonate to improve battery safety and electrochemical performance.
Conclusion
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Taniki JP6558453 discloses an anode-less battery having a protective coating on the copper current collector (see abstract and e.g. para 0031, 0064).
/LISA S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729