Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 16, 20, 22-24, 28, 30-32, 36 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng (US 20240284551) in view of Xu (US 20230318753).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1/23/31, Cheng teaches An apparatus ([Fig.1], UE) comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory storing instructions therein that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform at least:
obtaining information of one or more non-active periods of a cell that is in discontinuous transmission ([0023], “the UE may receive a configuration of a cell DTX from the network node with the cell DTX functionality.” And [0022], “A periodic cell DTX or DRX (i.e., including active periods and non-active periods of the network node) may be configured by the network node.”);
receiving at least one resource allocation for the apparatus ([0055], “the UE may receive an indication of a new transmission from the network node.”);
determining one or more resources of the at least one resource allocation that overlap fully or in part with the one or more non-active periods of the cell ([0055], “The UE may skip a monitoring activity to monitor a PDCCH occasion for the new transmission in an event that the PDCCH occasion is overlapped with one of the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX.”).
However, Cheng does not teach configuring a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement codebook based at least in part on the determining one or more resources of the at least one resource allocation that overlap fully or in part with the one or more non-active periods of the cell.
In an analogous art, Xu teaches configuring a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement codebook ([0084], “the UE may generate the HARQ feedback to indicate the PDCCH decoding results in cases where the UE is configured to report a dynamic (type 2) HARQ-ACK codebook for a PDCCH transmission.”) based at least in part on the determining one or more resources of the at least one resource allocation that overlap fully or in part with the one or more non-active periods of the cell ([0084], “the UE may attempt to decode the PDCCH transmission, and the HARQ feedback that the UE generates for that HARQ process may include ... a NACK to indicate that the UE failed to decode the PDCCH transmission.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Cheng to specify HARQ ACK codebook as taught by Xu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to report whether a UE can decode PDCCH successfully.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 16/24/32, Cheng teaches omitting resource allocation corresponding to the one or more resources that overlap fully or in part with the one or more non-active periods of the cell ([0055], “The UE may skip a monitoring activity to monitor a PDCCH occasion for the new transmission in an event that the PDCCH occasion is overlapped with one of the one or more non-active periods of the cell DTX.”).
However, Cheng does not teach hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement codebook.
In an analogous art, Xu teaches hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement codebook ([0084], “the UE may generate the HARQ feedback to indicate the PDCCH decoding results in cases where the UE is configured to report a dynamic (type 2) HARQ-ACK codebook for a PDCCH transmission.”).
Regarding claim(s) 20/28/36, Xu teaches transmitting hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement feedback using the configured hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement codebook ([0084], “the UE may attempt to decode the PDCCH transmission, and the HARQ feedback that the UE generates for that HARQ process may include ... a NACK to indicate that the UE failed to decode the PDCCH transmission.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Cheng to specify HARQ ACK codebook as taught by Xu. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to report whether a UE can decode PDCCH successfully.
Regarding claim(s) 22/30/38, Cheng teaches wherein the apparatus is or comprises or is comprised as part of a user equipment (UE) ([Fig.1], UE).
Claim(s) 17, 25 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Xu, and further in view of Patel (US 20180270893).
Regarding claim(s) 17/25/33, Patel teaches wherein the one or more resources comprises one or more slots ([0122], “the set of resources allocated for downlink transmissions comprises time resources of one or more downlink slots and the other set of resources allocated for uplink transmissions comprises time resources of one or more uplink slots.”) or symbols .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Cheng to specify slots as taught by Patel. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to allocate time slots for communication.
Claim(s) 18-19, 26-27 and 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Xu, and further in view of Kim (US 20200252168).
Regarding claim(s) 18/26/34, Kim teaches wherein the at least one resource allocation comprises at least one candidate physical downlink shared channel resource allocation or at least one physical downlink shared channel resource allocation ([0492], “the PDSCH may be transmitted through semi-static resource allocation.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Cheng to specify PDSCH allocation as taught by Kim. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for periodic transmission.
Regarding claim(s) 19/27/35, Kim teaches wherein the physical downlink shared channel resource allocation comprises a semi-static physical downlink shared channel resource allocation which comprises one or more of: a physical downlink shared channel time domain resource allocation; a semi-persistent scheduling resource allocation ([0495], “in The RRC message for configuring the DL SPS may include information (e.g., periodicity, subframe offset) indicating time resources in which the SPS PDSCH is allocated.”); or a semipersistent scheduling group resource allocation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Cheng to specify PDSCH allocation as taught by Kim. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for periodic transmission.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21, 29 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411