DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract is objected to because of an implied phrase, i.e. “A packaging box, a battery, and an electrical device are disclosed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “fits snugly” in claim 6, lines 4 and 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “fits snugly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purpose of examination, claim 6 will be read as “fits”.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the end" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 7 will be read as “an end”.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the end face" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of examination, claim 8 will be read as “an end face”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gokavi et al. (US20200284280A1), hereinafter "Gokavi".
Regarding claim 1, Gokavi teaches a packaging box (see Fig 2A, Paragraph 0027, Examiner notes assembly 200 having article 206 and body 208 as a packaging box), comprising:
a box body (see Fig 2A, Examiner notes article 206 and body 208 as a box body), in which an accommodation cavity (see Fig 2A, Examiner notes a cavity extending through article 206 and body 208 as an accommodation cavity), a first opening (see Fig 2A, Examiner notes an opening in article 206 as a first opening), and a second opening (see Fig 2A, Examiner notes an opening in body 208 as a second opening) are created (see Fig 2A), wherein both (see Fig 2A) the first opening (see Fig 2A) and the second opening (see Fig 2A) communicate (see Fig 2A) with the accommodation cavity (see Fig 2A);
a ferrule (Fig 1, body 104);
a sleeve (Fig 1, pin 102), comprising a first cap (Fig 2B, portion 120), a second cap (see Fig 2B, Examiner notes a cap of pin 102 distal from portion 120 as a second cap), and a cylinder (Fig 2B, shaft 122), wherein the first cap (120) and the second cap (see Fig 2B) are connected (see Fig 2B) to two ends (see Fig 2B) of the cylinder (122) respectively, the cylinder (122) is configured to be snap-fastened (see Figs 3A-3C, Paragraphs 0029-0032) to the ferrule (104), the first cap (120) and the second cap (see Fig 2B) protrude beyond (see Fig 3C) the ferrule (104), the ferrule (104) is configured to be inserted (see Fig 2A) into the accommodation cavity (see Fig 2A) from the first opening (see Fig 2A) and snap-fastened (see Figs 3A-3C, Paragraphs 0029-0032) in the accommodation cavity (see Fig 2A), and the first cap (see Fig 2A) is configured to extend (see Fig 2A) from the second opening (see Fig 2A) and be exposed outside (see Fig 2A) the box body (see Fig 2A).
Regarding claim 2, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the ferrule (104) comprises a first snap portion (Fig 1, portions 110-1, 110-2, Paragraph 0023), a second snap portion (Fig 1, portions 110-3, 110-4, Paragraph 0023), and a bend portion (see Figs 1 and 2A, Examiner notes a portion of portion 106 between portions 110-1, 110-2 and 110-3, 110-4 as a bend portion); and
two ends (see Figs 1 and 2A) of the bend portion (see Figs 1 and 2A) are connected (see Figs 1 and 2A) to the first snap portion (110-1, 110-2) and the second snap portion (110-3, 110-4) respectively, and the first snap portion (110-1, 110-2), the bend portion (see Figs 1 and 2A), and the second snap portion (110-3, 110-4) close in together (see Figs 3A-3C, Paragraphs 0023-0024) to form a clamping trough (Fig 1, space 114) that is openable and closable (see Figs 3A-3C, Paragraphs 0023-0024), and the cylinder (122) is configured to be snap-fastened (see Figs 3A-3C, Paragraphs 0023-0024 and 0029-0032) in the clamping trough (114).
Regarding claim 3, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 2 and further teaches wherein the ferrule (104) comprises a first strap (see Fig 1, Examiner notes ends 118-1 and 118-2 as comprises a first strap) and a second strap (see Fig 1, Examiner notes ends 118-3 and 118-4 as a second strap);
one end (see Fig 1) of the first strap (see Fig 1) is connected (see Fig 1) to the first snap portion (110-1, 110-2), another end (see Fig 1) of the first strap (see Fig 1) extends (see Fig 1) toward the clamping trough (114), and a snap slot (see Fig 1, Examiner notes spacing 112 between ends 118-1 and 118-2 as a snap slot) is created (see Fig 1) on the first strap (see Fig 1); and
one end (see Fig 1) of the second strap (see Fig 1) is connected (see Fig 1) to the second snap portion (110-3, 110-4), another end (see Fig 1) of the second strap (see Fig 1) extends (see Fig 1) toward the clamping trough (114), a protruding portion (see Fig 2A, Examiner notes inwardly protruding portions on each portion 110 adjacent ends 118 as a protruding portion) is disposed protrusively (see Fig 2A) on the second strap (see Fig 1), and the protruding portion (see Fig 2A) is configured to be snap-fastened (capable of being snap-fastened, i.e. this is a functional recitation; see Figs 3A-3C, Paragraph 0024, Examiner notes movement of the elongated portion(s) into the central space 114 as configured to be snap-fastened) in the snap slot (see Fig 1) so that the first strap (see Fig 1) is snap-fastened (see Figs 3A-3C) to the second strap (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 4, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 3 and further teaches wherein the first strap (see Fig 1) is bent (see Fig 1) toward a bottom (see Fig 1) of the clamping trough (114), and the second strap (see Fig 1) is bent (see Fig 1) toward the bottom (see Fig 1) of the clamping trough (114).
Regarding claim 5, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 3 and further teaches, wherein, along a direction (see Fig 1) in which the clamping trough (114) is opened or closed (see Figs 2A and 3A-3C, Paragraph 0024), a length (see Fig 1) of the snap slot (see Fig 1) is greater (see Fig 1) than a length (see Fig 1) of the protruding portion (see Fig 2A), and the protruding portion (see Fig 2A) is movable (see Fig 2A, Paragraph 0024) along the snap slot (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, as best understood, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 3 and further teaches wherein a sidewall (see Fig 2B) of the cylinder (122) comprises a curved face portion (see Fig 2B, Examiner notes a curved face of element 202 as comprises a curved face portion) and a flat face portion (see Fig 2B, Examiner notes a planar face of element 202 as comprises a flat face portion); and an inner wall (see Figs 1 and 2A) of the bend portion (see Figs 1 and 2A) fits (see Figs 3A-3C) the curved face portion (see Fig 2B), and, when the cylinder (122) is snap-fastened (see Figs 3A-3C) to the clamping trough (114), the curved face portion (see Fig 2B) of the cylinder (122) fits snugly (see Figs 3A-3C) with the inner wall (see Figs 1 and 2A) of the bend portion (see Figs 1 and 2A), and the flat face portion (see Fig 2B) of the cylinder (122) fits snugly (see Figs 1 and 2A) with the first strap (see Fig 1) and/or the second strap (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 2 and further teaches wherein the ferrule (104) further comprises a first limiting portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes ends 118-1 and 118-2 as comprises a first limiting portion) and a second limiting portion (see Fig 1, Examiner notes ends 118-3 and 118-4 as a second limiting portion);
the first limiting portion (see Fig 1) is connected (see Fig 1) to the first snap portion (110-1, 110-2) and protrudes (see Fig 1) beyond an end face (see Fig 1) of the first snap portion (110-1, 110-2), the end face (see Fig 1) being oriented back (see Fig 1) from the clamping trough (114);
the second limiting portion (see Fig 1) is connected (see Fig 1) to the second snap portion (110-3, 110-4) and protrudes (see Fig 1) beyond an end face (see Fig 1) of the second snap portion (110-3, 110-4), the end face (see Fig 1) being oriented back (see Fig 1) from the clamping trough (114);
a limiting wall (see Fig 2A, Examiner notes a wall extending through article 206 and body 208 as a limiting wall) is disposed (see Fig 2A) in the accommodation cavity (see Fig 2A), and both (see Fig 2A) the first limiting portion (see Fig 1) and the second limiting portion (see Fig 1) are snap-fastened (see Figs 3A-3C) to the limiting wall (see Fig 2A) so that the ferrule (104) is fixed (see Figs 3A-3C) in the accommodation cavity (see Fig 2A).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 8 and further teaches wherein the first limiting portion (see Fig 1) comprises a first limiting base (see Fig 1, Examiner notes end 118-1 as comprises a first limiting base) and a second limiting base (see Fig 1, Examiner notes end 118-2 as a second limiting base) disposed (see Fig 1) opposite to each other (see Fig 1), and a first limiting space (see Fig 1, Examiner notes spacing 112 between ends 118-1 and 118-2 as a first limiting space) exists (see Fig 1) between the first limiting base (see Fig 1) and the second limiting base (see Fig 1);
the second limiting portion (see Fig 1) comprises a third limiting base (see Fig 1, Examiner notes end 118-3 as comprises a third limiting base) and a fourth limiting base (see Fig 1, Examiner notes end 118-4 as a fourth limiting base) disposed (see Fig 1) opposite to each other (see Fig 1), and a second limiting space (see Fig 1, Examiner notes spacing 112 between ends 118-3 and 118-4 as a second limiting space) exists (see Fig 1) between the third limiting base (see Fig 1) and the fourth limiting base (see Fig 1); and
the limiting wall (see Fig 2A) comprises a first rib wall (see Fig 2A, Examiner notes a wall of article 206 as comprises a first rib wall) and a second rib wall (see Fig 2A, Examiner notes a wall of body 208 as a second rib wall), the first rib wall (see Fig 2A) and the second rib wall (see Fig 2A) are disposed (see Fig 2A) opposite to each other (see Fig 2A), and, when the ferrule (104) is snap-fastened (see Figs 3A-3C) in the accommodation cavity (see Fig 2A), the first rib wall (see Fig 2A) is snap-fastened (see Fig 2A) in the first limiting space (see Fig 1) between the first limiting base (see Fig 1) and the second limiting base (see Fig 1), and the second rib wall (see Fig 2A) is snap-fastened (see Fig 2A) in the second limiting space (see Fig 1) between the third limiting base (see Fig 1) and the fourth limiting base (see Fig 1).
Regarding claim 10, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein the first opening (see Fig 2A) communicates (see Fig 2A) with the second opening (see Fig 2A), a relief hole (see Fig 2A, Examiner notes a hole of body 104 adjacent ends 118-1…118-4 when inserted into article 206 and body 208 as a relief hole) is created (see Fig 2A) on the box body (see Fig 2A), the relief hole (see Fig 2A) communicates (see Fig 2A) with the first opening (see Fig 2A), and, when the cylinder (122) enters (see Fig 2A) the accommodation cavity (see Fig 2A) from the first opening (see Fig 2A), the second cap (see Fig 2B) enters (see Fig 2A) the accommodation cavity (see Fig 2A) from the relief hole (see Fig 2A).
Regarding claim 11, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 2 and further teaches wherein the bend portion (see Figs 1 and 2A), the first snap portion (110-1, 110-2), and the second snap portion (110-3, 110-4) are all made of an elastic material (Paragraph 0036, Examiner notes portion(s) 110 to move in a radially outward direction as are all made of an elastic material).
Regarding claim 12, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 2 and further teaches wherein a curvature (see Figs 1 and 2A) of the bend portion (see Figs 1 and 2A) is set to match (see Figs 1 and 2A) a curvature (see Fig 2B) of an outer surface (see Fig 2B) of the cylinder (122).
Regarding claim 13, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 1 and further teaches wherein an overall width (see Fig 2A) of the ferrule (104) is greater (see Fig 2A) than a width (see Fig 2A) of the first opening (see Fig 2A) and a width (see Fig 2A) of the second opening (see Fig 2A) separately, and an overall length (see Fig 2A) of the ferrule (104) is greater (see Fig 2A) than a length (see Fig 2A) of the second opening (see Fig 2A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gokavi, in view of Draggoo et al. (US20040049895A1), hereinafter "Draggoo".
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 2 but fails to teach wherein a first abutment portion extends from an end of the first snap portion, the end being oriented back from the bend portion, and the first abutment portion is bent away from the clamping trough; a second abutment portion extends from an end of the second snap portion, the end being oriented back from the bend portion, and the second abutment portion is bent away from the clamping trough; and a first fixing groove and a second fixing groove are created in the accommodation cavity, and, when the ferrule is snap-fastened in the accommodation cavity, the first abutment portion is inserted into the first fixing groove, and the second abutment portion is inserted into the second fixing groove.
However, Draggoo teaches it is known to provide a first abutment portion (see Fig 23, Paragraph 0056, Examiner notes lower projections 368 as a first abutment portion) extends (see Fig 23) from an end (see Fig 23) of the first snap portion (see Fig 23, Paragraph 0056, Examiner notes a lower member 358 as the first snap portion), the end (see Fig 23) being oriented (see Fig 23) back from the bend portion (Fig 23, portion 352), and the first abutment portion (see Fig 23) is bent away (see Fig 23) from the clamping trough (see Fig 23, Examiner notes a central opening of receptacle 350 having fingers 354 as the clamping trough); a second abutment portion (see Fig 23, Paragraph 0056, Examiner notes upper projections 368 as a second abutment portion) extends (see Fig 23) from an end (see Fig 23) of the second snap portion (see Fig 23, Paragraph 0056, Examiner notes an upper member 358 as the second snap portion), the end (see Fig 23) being oriented back (see Fig 23) from the bend portion (352), and the second abutment portion (see Fig 23) is bent away (see Fig 23) from the clamping trough (see Fig 23); and a first fixing groove (see Fig 14, Examiner notes a left slot 372 as a first fixing groove) and a second fixing groove (see Fig 14, Examiner notes a right slot 372 as a second fixing groove) are created (see Fig 14) in the accommodation cavity (Fig 14, portion 370), and, when the ferrule (Fig 14, receptacle 350) is snap-fastened (see Figs 15-18) in the accommodation cavity (370), the first abutment portion (see Fig 23) is inserted (see Figs 15-18) into the first fixing groove (see Fig 14), and the second abutment portion (see Fig 23) is inserted (see Figs 15-18) into the second fixing groove (see Fig 14).
Therefore, as evidenced by Draggoo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine adequately sized and shaped first abutment portion, second abutment portion, first fixing groove, and second fixing groove as taught by Draggoo to Gokavi. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to improve securement of the receptacle (Draggoo, Paragraph 0060).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loo et al. (US20120321927A1), hereinafter "Loo", in view of Gokavi.
Regarding claim 14, Loo teaches a battery (Figs 2-3, case 10, Paragraph 0034, Examiner notes case 10 includes battery modules 38 as a battery) but fails to teach comprising the packaging box according to claim 1.
However, Gokavi teaches the packaging box (see Fig 2A) according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Therefore, as evidenced by Gokavi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fastening members 26 of Loo to comprise the packaging box according to claim 1 as taught by Gokavi. The rationale for supporting this conclusion of obviousness is to avoid misplacing or loss of components (Gokavi, Paragraph 0022).
Regarding claim 15, modified Loo teaches an electrical device (Fig 1, electric vehicle 1) and further teaches comprising the battery (10) according to claim 14 (see claim 14 above).
Conclusion
/J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675