DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The applicant respectfully argues
the proposed combination of Ligrano, Barbee and Yao fail to teach “receiving a battery swapping signal, and in response to the battery swapping signal, blocking traction of the rail transit vehicle”
one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the external control system positions the vehicle 40 over the exchange opening, as disclosed in Ligrano, is not equivalent to a protection function set on the rail transit vehicle blocking traction of the rail transit vehicle in response to the battery swapping signal.
the physical consequence of battery removal causing power loss is not equivalent to the claimed limitation. Removing the battery to cut power is merely a physical consequence that happens after the swap has begun, not a proactive control command issued by the vehicle in response to a battery swapping signal to "block traction."
Yao contains no on-vehicle battery management system (BMS) in its system architecture. One of ordinary skill in the art would not equate Yao's disclosure of an external smart mobile car sending a completion instruction with a battery management system sending a battery swapping completion signal
Ligrano and Barbee do not make up for the deficiencies of Yao. Therefore, the proposed combination of Ligrano, Barbee, and Yao fails to teach "receiving a battery swapping completion notification sent by the battery management system.
Liu does not make up for the deficiencies of the proposed combination of Ligrano, Barbee, Yao and Zhang.
The examiner disagrees for the following reasons
Ligrano teaches, inter alia, that the stationary communication system 30 and the mobile communication control system 38 wirelessly communicate, determining a position of the vehicle 40 relative to the exchange opening 6. The control system 28 positions the vehicle 40 over the exchange opening 6 of the controlled area 4 for battery exchange. The central processing unit 32 communicates to the mechanical positioning device 18 to contact the first and second battery lock ports, 44 and 46, respectively, of the battery 14a of the vehicle 40 for removal; [0030; also see 0031-0032]. Ligrano further indicates in [0031-0032] that the battery is removed, and thus the vehicle is lacking in a suitable power source to allow the vehicle to move, thus resulting in the traction motor acting as an electric brake, as is known in the art. As indicated above, signals are wirelessly exchanged between 30 and 38 and necessarily include 1 a battery swapping signal and 2 a response to that battery swapping signal so as to initiate the battery exchange/swap process. As indicated above, and in [0030] the control system 28 positions the vehicle 40 over the exchange opening 6 of the controlled area 4 for battery exchange. It should be noted that it is readily understood that the vehicle 40 is positioned over the exchange opening 6 for battery exchange, and it is readily understood that the exchange opening 6 does not move. Further, since the control system 28 positions the vehicle 40, the control system is in control of the vehicle and traction of the vehicle is necessarily blocked once the vehicle is positioned over the exchange opening 6 (otherwise the position of the vehicle would change, and the vehicle would need to be repositioned). Additionally, the mechanical positioning device 18 contacts the first and second battery lock ports, 44 and 46, respectively, of the battery 14a of the vehicle 40 for removal. As one of ordinary level of skill would readily understand, when the vehicle battery is removed, the vehicle will not have power (thus preventing the traction motors from providing motive force, and as a result, they act like brakes), and thus there is another level in which the traction of the vehicle is blocked, such that the vehicle is prevented from moving. It is in this way that the combination of Ligrano, Barbee and Yao arrives to teach the limitation of “receiving a battery swapping signal, and in response to the battery swapping signal, blocking traction of the rail transit vehicle”.
The examiner agrees with the applicant in that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the external control system positions the vehicle 40 over the exchange opening, as disclosed in Ligrano, is not equivalent to a protection function set on the rail transit vehicle blocking traction of the rail transit vehicle in response to the battery swapping signal. Additionally, the claims also fail to recite a limitation requiring “a protection function set on the rail transit vehicle blocking traction of the rail transit vehicle in response to the battery swapping signal”.
The examiner agrees with the applicant in that removal the battery to cut power is a physical consequence that happens after the swap has begun. Additionally, the claim, as currently worded, does not require a proactive control command issued by the vehicle in response to a battery swapping signal to "block traction", and the claim fails to recite “a proactive control command issued by the vehicle in response to a battery swapping signal to block traction”.
Yao is not relied upon to disclose on-vehicle battery management system (BMS) in its system architecture. Yao is merely relied upon to teach receiving a battery swapping completion notification sent by the battery management system (fig. 1-3; After the battery swap is completed, a battery swap completion command is sent to the vehicle to complete the battery swap, and the smart mobile car moves to the initial position; [0009; 0048], also see abstract).
Ligrano and Barbee are not relied upon to make up for any deficiencies of Yao. Instead, Ligrano (U.S. 20080294283) is the primary prior art reference and both Barbee et al. (U.S. 20100275810) and Yao et al. (CN 113212239) are relied upon to remedy or render obvious the deficiencies of Ligrano, as explained previously and further explained below. Therefore, the proposed combination of Ligrano in view of Barbee and in further view of Yao teach the limitation of "receiving a battery swapping completion notification sent by the battery management system”, as explained previously in the non-final office action and as further explained below.
See above in e, mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligrano (U.S. 20080294283) in view of Barbee et al. (U.S. 20100275810) and in further view of Yao et al. (CN 113212239).
In re claim 1, Ligrano teaches a method of automatic battery swapping control for a transit vehicle (The control system 28, wirelessly controlling the vehicle 40, renders it autonomous; [0022]), applied to a transit vehicle automatic battery swapping system, the transit vehicle automatic battery swapping system comprising a ground battery swapping device and the transit vehicle (as shown in fig. 1), wherein
the ground battery swapping device (as shown in fig. 1; battery exchange station 2; [0027]) comprises
a battery swapping server (fig. 2; central processing unit 32; [0021]),
at least one battery swapping apparatus (as shown in fig. 1 and fig. 6-7; mechanical positioning device 18, comprising a base 20, first and second connecting arm, 22 and 24, respectively and a battery support connector 26; [0025]), and
at least one ground wireless communication device (fig. 3; The plurality of sensors 34 activate the stationary communication system 30 and wirelessly connect to the mobile control system 38 within the vehicle 40, activating it, wirelessly connecting the vehicle 40 to the central processing unit 32 of the stationary communication system 30. The central processing unit 32, of the stationary communication system 30 wirelessly connects to the plurality of guidance components 36. The control system 28, wirelessly controlling the vehicle 40, renders it autonomous; [0022]; the mobile control system 38 and the central processing unit communicate via Bluetooth.TM. wireless protocol; [0028]),
the transit vehicle (fig. 1; vehicle 40) comprises
a control and management system (fig. 1; mobile communication control system 38; [0027]), and
at least one in-vehicle wireless communication device (The central processing unit 32, of the stationary communication system 30 wirelessly connects to the plurality of guidance components 36. The control system 28, wirelessly controlling the vehicle 40, renders it autonomous; [0022]; the mobile control system 38 and the central processing unit communicate via Bluetooth.TM. wireless protocol; [0028]), and
the method comprises:
receiving a battery swapping signal, and in response to the battery swapping signal,
blocking traction of the vehicle 40 relative to the exchange opening 6. The control system 28 positions the vehicle 40 over the exchange opening 6 of the controlled area 4 for battery exchange. The central processing unit 32 communicates to the mechanical positioning device 18 to contact the first and second battery lock ports, 44 and 46, respectively, of the battery 14a of the vehicle 40 for removal; [0030; also see 0031-0032]; Here, signals are wirelessly exchanged between 30 and 38, and necessarily include a battery swapping signal so as to initiate the battery exchange/swap and in response, necessarily blocks traction of the vehicle. In arguendo if the traction of the vehicle was not blocked, then the position of the vehicle 40, relative to the exchange opening 6, would need to be redetermined. Additionally, as further indicated on [0031-0032], the battery is removed, and thus the vehicle is lacking in a suitable power source to allow the vehicle to move, thus resulting in the traction motor acting as an electric brake, as is known in the art);
communicating the in-vehicle wireless communication device with the ground wireless communication device,
to enable battery swapping for the rail transit vehicle (as explained above, and indicated in at least [0030-0033]); and
disconnecting the in-vehicle wireless communication device from the ground wireless communication device, and
lifting the blocking of traction of the rail transit vehicle (The mechanical positioning device 18 retracts, allowing the vehicle 40 to be guided by the control system 28. In one embodiment, the mechanical positioning device is an autonomous robot and can be electronic, hydraulic or pneumatic. The control system 28 then controls the vehicle 40 out of the receiving bay 8. The stationary communication system 30 wirelessly connected to the mobile communication control system 38, signals a release of the autonomous control of the vehicle 40 back to the operator; [0034]; Here, control of the vehicle is given back to the operator, which indicates that the swapping of batteries is complete, blocking of the traction of the vehicle is lifted (and thus the vehicle is under operator control) and that the wireless communication between the 30 and 38 is being terminated).
Ligrano is silent about the method being used on
a rail transit vehicle
at least one battery management system
receiving a battery swapping completion notification sent by the battery management system.
Barbee teaches a battery powered all electric locomotive driven by a plurality of traction motors powered exclusively by a battery assembly which preferably comprise rechargeable batteries (abstract) and further teaches
a rail transit vehicle (fig. 2; locomotive 200; [0030])
at least one battery management system (as shown in fig. 2; battery management system 206; [0031]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ligrano, to incorporate the vehicle being a rail transit vehicle and at least one battery management system, as clearly suggested and taught by Barbee, in order to have a battery assembly 204 that can be either recharged without dissembling or replaced for a quick turnaround ([0029]) and in order to have a battery management system (BMS) 206 to monitor and equalize the batteries in order to keep them in good working conditions ([0031]).
Yao teaches an intelligent mobile car battery swapping method ([0037]) and further teaches
receiving a battery swapping completion notification sent by the battery management system (fig. 1-3; After the battery swap is completed, a battery swap completion command is sent to the vehicle to complete the battery swap, and the smart mobile car moves to the initial position; [0009; 0048], also see abstract)
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ligrano, to incorporate receiving a battery swapping completion notification sent by the battery management system, as clearly suggested and taught by Yao, in order to greatly improve the power swap capacity of the power swap station, perform power swaps on multiple vehicles at the same time ([0059]).
In re claim 2, Ligrano as modified by Barbee and Yao teach the method according to claim 1, and Yao further teaches after the communicating the in-vehicle wireless communication device with the ground wireless communication device, the method further comprising:
sending a battery swapping request to the battery management system, to enable the battery management system to send the battery swapping request to the battery swapping server (After the vehicle to be swapped is parked within the coverage area of the battery swapping station, location information and battery swapping instructions are sent to the battery swapping station; [0011]);
receiving a battery swapping acknowledge that is from the battery swapping server and is forwarded by the battery management system (this type of acknowledgement is typical in the art and is part of the protocol known as a handshake and is considered to be necessarily present; note: in [0028], Ligrano states that communication can be accomplished via. the Bluetooth protocol, further, it is known in the art that the Bluetooth protocol uses the handshake protocol); and
receiving an in-progress battery swapping notification sent by the battery management system (the battery swap station selects the nearest smart mobile car based on the location information to generate a moving path and sends it to the smart mobile car; [0012]; Here, the battery swapping process has been initiated, but not yet completed, and thus is considered to be in process.).
In re claim 3, Ligrano as modified by Barbee and Yao teach the method according to claim 1, and Ligrano as modified by Barbee and Yao necessarily results in before the receiving a battery swapping completion notification sent by the battery management system, and Barbee further teaches the method further comprising:
receiving new battery information that is obtained after the battery swapping and is sent by the battery management system (On the output side of the BMS unit 600, another plug P2 may facilitate a controller-area network (CAN) bus interface which allows the BMS unit 600 to communicate with other microcontrollers and devices without a host computer; [0048]; Main functions of the BMS unit 600 may include voltage and current measurement, temperature monitoring, and charge equalization; [0049]), and
wherein the new battery information comprises at least one of:
a battery type,
a rated voltage (a 31-pin plug (P1) handles wiring between the BMS unit 600 and the positive and negative nodes of each battery 602, which may sense 18 voltage readings. One temperature sensor 604 may also be deployed for every three batteries, and the six sensors 604 also feed their measurement data to the BMS unit 600 via the P1 interface; [0048]),
rated power, and
a remaining available battery capacity of a battery pack (state of charge/depth of discharge; [0031]).
In re claim 5, Ligrano as modified by Barbee and Yao teach the method according to claim 1, and Ligrano further teaches wherein
the ground wireless communication device and the in-vehicle wireless communication device are CAN-Wi-Fi converters (The mobile communication control system 38, responding to the stationary communication system 30 location coordinates of the vehicle 40, controls the vehicle functionality. In one embodiment, the laser and radar sensors communicate to a bus interface, connected to a drive-by-wire system, controlling the throttle, braking and steering of the vehicle 40, including a proportional integral device within the mobile communication control system 38; [0029]; Here, in [0029] the description of the mobile communication control system 38 controlling the functionality of vehicle 40 via sensors connected via a bus, drive-by-wire system, etc. strongly implies that the vehicle uses a Controller Area Network (CAN) type of architecture, being that mobile communication control system 38 is acting as a microcontroller, which communicates with other vehicular elements, such as laser and radar sensors, drive-by-wire system, etc. without communicating with a host computer; The stationary communication system 30 and the mobile communication control system 38 wirelessly communicate; [0030]; Here, in [0030] the wireless communication between 30 and 38 indicates the presence of a CAN-Wi-Fi converter, so as to facilitate the conversion between CAN signals and Wireless signals), and
the CAN-Wi-Fi converter is configured to implement conversion between a CAN signal and a Wi-Fi signal (as explained above and further indicated in [0028], which states “The plurality of sensors 34, activate the stationary communication system and wirelessly connect to the mobile control system 38 within the vehicle 40, activating it, wirelessly connecting the vehicle 40 to the central processing unit 32 of the stationary communication system 30. The central processing unit 32 wirelessly connects to the guidance components 36, rendering the vehicle 40 autonomous. The mobile control system 38 wirelessly transfers vehicle information to the central processing unit 32”).
In re claim 6, Ligrano teaches a method of automatic battery swapping control for a transit vehicle (The control system 28, wirelessly controlling the vehicle 40, renders it autonomous; [0022]), applied to a transit vehicle automatic battery swapping system (as indicated in fig. 1), the transit vehicle automatic battery swapping system is configured to perform operations comprising:
receiving a battery swapping request sent by a control and management system (fig. 1; mobile communication control system 38; [0027]), and
forwarding the battery swapping request to the battery swapping server,
to enable battery swapping for the transit vehicle (as explained above, and indicated in at least [0030-0033]), wherein
the battery swapping request is sent from the control and management system after communicating an in-vehicle wireless communication device with a ground wireless communication device (The stationary communication system 30 and the mobile communication control system 38 wirelessly communicate, determining a position of the vehicle 40 relative to the exchange opening 6. The control system 28 positions the vehicle 40 over the exchange opening 6 of the controlled area 4 for battery exchange. The central processing unit 32 communicates to the mechanical positioning device 18 to contact the first and second battery lock ports, 44 and 46, respectively, of the battery 14a of the vehicle 40 for removal; [0030; also see 0031-0032]; Here, signals are wirelessly exchanged between 30 and 38, and necessarily include a battery swapping signal so as to initiate the battery exchange/swap and in response, necessarily blocks traction of the vehicle. In arguendo if the traction of the vehicle was not blocked, then the position of the vehicle 40, relative to the exchange opening 6, would need to be redetermined. Additionally, as further indicated on [0031-0032], the battery is removed, and thus the vehicle is lacking in a suitable power source to allow the vehicle to move, thus resulting in the traction motor acting as an electric brake, as is known in the art);
sending a battery swapping completion notification to the battery swapping server (inherent, a notification is required to be sent to disconnect the wireless data link; The stationary communication system 30 wirelessly connected to the mobile communication control system 38, signals a release of the autonomous control of the vehicle 40 back to the operator; [0034]; Here, the control is given back to the operator, which indicates that the battery swap has been completed); and
to enable the in-vehicle wireless communication device to be disconnected from the ground wireless communication device (The mechanical positioning device 18 retracts, allowing the vehicle 40 to be guided by the control system 28. In one embodiment, the mechanical positioning device is an autonomous robot and can be electronic, hydraulic or pneumatic. The control system 28 then controls the vehicle 40 out of the receiving bay 8. The stationary communication system 30 wirelessly connected to the mobile communication control system 38, signals a release of the autonomous control of the vehicle 40 back to the operator; [0034]; Here, control of the vehicle is given back to the operator, which indicates that the swapping of batteries is complete, blocking of the traction of the vehicle is lifted (and thus the vehicle is under operator control) and that the wireless communication between the 30 and 38 is being terminated), and
lift a vehicle blockade of the transit vehicle (as explained above, release of the autonomous control of the vehicle 40 back to the operator; [0034]; Here, control of the vehicle is given back to the operator, which indicates that the swapping of batteries is complete, blockade of the vehicle is lifted (and thus the vehicle is under operator control)).
Ligrano is silent about the method being used on
a rail transit vehicle
at least one battery management system
the control and management system being a train control and management system
sending the battery swapping completion notification to the train control and management system.
Barbee teaches a battery powered all electric locomotive driven by a plurality of traction motors powered exclusively by a battery assembly which preferably comprise rechargeable batteries (abstract) and further teaches
a rail transit vehicle (fig. 2; locomotive 200; [0030]);
at least one battery management system (as shown in fig. 2; battery management system 206; [0031]);
a train control and management system (fig. 2; the locomotive 200 may also comprise a power control system (PCS) 210 that controls at least traction motors 208 and a brake system 212… the PCS 210 may be coupled with the battery assembly 204 via the DC bus and further in communication with the BMS 208; [0034]; note: BMS is shown as element 206 in fig. 2, not element 208, which are the traction motors).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ligrano, to incorporate the vehicle being a rail transit vehicle and at least one battery management system, as clearly suggested and taught by Barbee, in order to have a battery assembly 204 that can be either recharged without dissembling or replaced for a quick turnaround ([0029]) and in order to have a battery management system (BMS) 206 to monitor and equalize the batteries in order to keep them in good working conditions ([0031]).
Yao teaches an intelligent mobile car battery swapping method ([0037]) and further teaches
sending the battery swapping completion notification to the vehicle control and management system (fig. 1-3; After the battery swap is completed, a battery swap completion command is sent to the vehicle to complete the battery swap, and the smart mobile car moves to the initial position; [0009; 0048], also see abstract)
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ligrano, to incorporate sending the battery swapping completion notification to the vehicle control and management system, as clearly suggested and taught by Yao, in order to greatly improve the power swap capacity of the power swap station, perform power swaps on multiple vehicles at the same time ([0059]).
In re claim 10, see claims 2 and 6 above, mutatis mutandis.
In re claim 12, Ligrano as modified by Barbee and Yao teach the method according to claim 6, and Yao further teaches after the sending the battery swapping completion notification to the control and management system, the method further comprising:
controlling a motor in which the battery management system is located to be connected to a high-voltage power (fig. 1-3; After the battery swap is completed, a battery swap completion command is sent to the vehicle to complete the battery swap, and the smart mobile car moves to the initial position; [0009; 0048], also see abstract).
Barbee further teaches
a carriage (fig. 2; traction motors 208 (truck assembly); [0034])
Here, the teachings of Ligrano as modified by Barbee, and the teachings of Ligrano being further modified by Barbee arrive at the claimed invention, as explained above.
In re claim 13, see claims 5 and 6 above.
Claims 14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligrano (U.S. 20080294283) in view of Barbee et al. (U.S. 20100275810) in view of Yao et al. (CN 113212239) and in further view of Chen et al. (U.S. 20240042893).
In re claim 14, Ligrano as modified by Barbee and as modified by Yao arrive at the claimed method as described above in claims 1 and 6, but fail to teach
detecting whether the battery swapping apparatus has returned to an original location.
Chen discloses an analogous battery locking/unlocking method and an electric vehicle battery swapping control method and further teaches
detecting whether the battery swapping apparatus has returned to an original location (Specifically, the battery swapping device may comprise a visual sensor, and a preset detection position (such as an edge of the insertion piece) may be provided on the insertion piece. After step 102, the visual sensor may be controlled to shoot the bottom of the electric car to form a detection photo, and whether the preset detection position in the detection photo is consistent with the position of the preset detection position in a standard photo (a photo taken when the insertion piece is at the preset insertion position) is judged, and if not, the position of the battery swapping device is adjusted along the length direction of the electric car; [0214]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ligrano, to incorporate detecting whether the battery swapping apparatus has returned to an original location, as clearly suggested and taught by Chen, such that the entire procedure of the battery swapping process is controlled, increasing battery swapping efficiency and reducing the safety hazards in the battery swapping process ([0147]).
In re claim 16, Ligrano as modified by Barbee, Yao and Chen teach the method according to claim 14, wherein the enabling the battery swapping apparatus to perform battery swapping for the rail transit vehicle (as explained above) and Yao further teaches comprises:
sending an in-progress battery swapping notification to the battery management system (the battery swap station selects the nearest smart mobile car based on the location information to generate a moving path and sends it to the smart mobile car; [0012]; Here, the battery swapping process has been initiated, but not yet completed, and thus is considered to be in process.);
controlling the battery swapping apparatus to start the battery swapping (as explained above, and in at least [0013-0018]); and
monitoring battery swapping progress of the rail transit vehicle, and
forwarding the battery swapping progress to the battery management system (fig. 1-3; After the battery swap is completed, a battery swap completion command is sent to the vehicle to complete the battery swap, and the smart mobile car moves to the initial position; [0009; 0048], also see abstract; note: Here, the battery swap progress is monitored, such that the completion of the battery swap can be determined, and sent to the vehicle. Further, it is typical and routine in the art that BMS “re-learn” a battery’s characteristics, such as capacity, IV curve, etc. in order to properly manage charge/capacity/voltage, etc. in the battery).
In re claim 17, Ligrano as modified by Barbee, Yao and Chen teach the method according to claim 14, and Yao further teaches after the receiving the battery swapping request sent by the battery management system, the method further comprising:
sending a battery swapping acknowledge to the battery management system (this type of acknowledgement is typical in the art and is part of the protocol known as a handshake and is considered to be necessarily present; note: in [0028], Ligrano states that communication can be accomplished via. the Bluetooth protocol, further, it is known in the art that the Bluetooth protocol uses the handshake protocol); and
sending a handshake signal and an identification signal to the battery management system through the ground wireless communication device (data, including the handshake, identification, etc. is sent/received wirelessly as indicated in [0023]), and
receiving a reply from the battery management system in response to the handshake signal and the identification signal (this is typical and routine in the art and is part of the handshake protocol, as is known in the art).
In re claim 18, see claims 10 and 14 above, mutatis mutandis.
In re claim 20, see claims 5 and 14 above, mutatis mutandis.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligrano (U.S. 20080294283) in view of Barbee et al. (U.S. 20100275810) in view of Yao et al. (CN 113212239) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. 20240042893) and in further view of Zhang (CN 113291194).
In re claim 15, see claims 7 below and 14 above, mutatis mutandis.
Motivation to combine is given in claim 7 below.
Claims 4, 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligrano (U.S. 20080294283) in view of Barbee et al. (U.S. 20100275810) in view of Yao et al. (CN 113212239) and in further view of Zhang (CN 113291194).
In re claim 4, Ligrano as modified by Barbee and Yao teach the method according to claim 1, but lack wherein
the battery swapping signal comprises
a signal sent in response to a battery swapping knob of the rail transit vehicle is valid.
Zhang teaches an analogous vehicle and battery replacement method (abstract) and Zhang further teaches the battery swapping signal comprises
a signal sent in response to a battery swapping knob (note: a knob is a type of switch) of the rail transit vehicle is valid (specifically, a switch for turning on the power swap function can be set on the vehicle. When a power swap is required, the vehicle is parked at a power swap station and the switch for turning on the power swap function is pressed. 205 The switch to turn on the power swap function can be connected to the vehicle controller (Vehicle Control Unit, VCU). After the user presses the switch to turn on the power swap function, the VCU will receive the power swap command and enter the power swap mode to start according to the power swap command. Replace the battery; [0032]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ligrano, to incorporate a battery swapping knob, as clearly suggested and taught by Yao, in order to improve the convenience of replacing the battery (abstract), to improve the convenience of power swapping and reducing the cost of power swapping facilities ([0040]) and to improve the safety and automation of the power swap process ([0040]).
In re claim 7, Ligrano as modified by Barbee and Yao teach the method according to claim 6, but lack after the receiving a battery swapping request sent by the train control and management system and forwarding the battery swapping request to the battery swapping server, the method further comprising:
sending battery information of a to-be-swapped battery to the battery swapping server,
receiving battery information of a new battery sent by the battery swapping server, and
determining whether the to-be-swapped battery matches the new battery; and
forwarding the battery information of the new battery to the train control and management system.
Zhang teaches an analogous vehicle and battery replacement method and further teaches
sending battery information of a to-be-swapped battery to the battery swapping server (step S101; After receiving the vehicle's battery swap command, establish a communication connection between the vehicle and the battery swap platform, and after the communication connection is successfully established, control the vehicle's high-voltage power-off and obtain the status of the battery pack to be replaced before high-voltage power-off. Information; [0030]),
receiving battery information of a new battery sent by the battery swapping server (Step S103: Receive the battery swap completion signal sent by the battery swap platform, start the BMS according to the battery swap completion signal, and receive the status information of the replaced battery pack sent by the battery swap platform to update the BMS data; [0038]), and
determining whether the to-be-swapped battery matches the new battery (a battery swap platform can only be matched to the same model of the same manufacturer; [0040]); and
forwarding the battery information of the new battery to the train control and management system (Specifically, after the battery swap platform completes the battery swap operation, it sends a battery swap completion signal to TBOX, and TBOX sends a battery swap completion signal to the VCU. After receiving the battery swap completion signal, the VCU activates the BMS, and after the BMS is activated, sends the vehicle download data signal to TBOX. After receiving the vehicle download data signal, TBOX requests data from the battery swap platform. After receiving the data request, the battery replacement platform sends the status information of the replaced battery pack to TBOX. In a specific example, the status information of the replaced battery pack can include cumulative charging power, cumulative discharge power, health status, cumulative One or more of driving range and remaining battery capacity. After receiving the status information of the replaced battery pack, TBOX sends it to the vehicle CAN network; [0039]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ligrano, to incorporate sending battery information of a to-be-swapped battery to the battery swapping server, receiving battery information of a new battery sent by the battery swapping server, and determining whether the to-be-swapped battery matches the new battery; and forwarding the battery information of the new battery to the train control and management system, as clearly suggested and taught by Zhang, in order to improve the convenience of power swapping and reducing the cost of power swapping facilities ([0040]) and to improve the safety and automation of the power swap process ([0040]).
In re claim 8, Ligrano as modified by Barbee, Yao, and Zhang teach the method according to claim 7, and Zhang further teaches after the receiving a battery swapping request sent by the train control and management system and forwarding the battery swapping request to the battery swapping server, the method further comprising:
sending a discharge disallowance signal to the train control and management system (the vehicle is then controlled to power off high voltage; [0011]), and
disconnecting discharge positive and negative pole contactors of the to-be-swapped battery (it is commonly known in the art, that batteries have to be disconnected prior to being swapped/exchanged).
In re claim 9, see claims 2 and 8 above, mutatis mutandis.
In re claim 11, Ligrano as modified by Barbee, Yao, and Zhang teach the method according to claim 7, and Zhang further teaches before the sending a battery swapping completion notification to the battery swapping server, the method further comprising:
determining the new battery meets at least one of conditions including:
a connector connection is valid (receive the battery swap completion signal sent by the battery swap platform, start the battery management system according to the power replacement completion signal, and receive the status information of the replaced battery pack sent by the power replacement platform to update the data of the battery management system; [0008]),
a water pipe connection is valid, and
an installation buckle connection is valid (this limitation is taught in at least [0009] of Yao).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ligrano, to incorporate determining the new battery meets at least one of conditions including: a connector connection is valid and an installation buckle connection is valid, as clearly suggested and taught by Yao, in order to improve the convenience of replacing the battery (abstract), improve the convenience of power swapping and reducing the cost of power swapping facilities ([0040]) and to improve the safety and automation of the power swap process ([0040]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligrano (U.S. 20080294283) in view of Barbee et al. (U.S. 20100275810) in view of Yao et al. (CN 113212239) in view of Chen et al. (U.S. 20240042893) in view of Zhang (CN 113291194) and in further view of Liu et al. (CN 112651472).
In re claim 19, Ligrano as modified by Barbee, Yao, Chen and Zhang teach the method according to claim 14, but lack wherein
the ground battery swapping device further comprises a radio frequency reader, and
the rail transit vehicle further comprises a vehicle radio frequency tag; and
before the communicating the in-vehicle wireless communication device with the in-vehicle wireless communication device, the method further comprises:
controlling the radio frequency reader to read information about the vehicle radio frequency tag, and
storing the information about the vehicle radio frequency tag in a database of the battery swapping server, wherein
the information about the vehicle radio frequency tag comprises a vehicle number.
Liu teaches an analogous vehicle battery replacement system (abstract) and further teaches wherein
the ground battery swapping device further comprises a radio frequency reader (RFID card reader; [0005]), and
the rail transit vehicle further comprises a vehicle radio frequency tag (RFID tag; [0005]); and
before the communicating the in-vehicle wireless communication device with the in-vehicle wireless communication device (as suggested in [0017]), the method further comprises:
controlling the radio frequency reader to read information about the vehicle radio frequency tag (The vehicle drives into the entrance of the battery replacement station, scans the RFID tag on the vehicle through the RFID reader, and obtains the vehicle identification code; [0017]), and
storing the information about the vehicle radio frequency tag in a database of the battery swapping server (The RFID reader sends the vehicle identification code to the station control system; [0018]), wherein
the information about the vehicle radio frequency tag comprises a vehicle number (vehicle identification code; [0017]).
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Ligrano, to incorporate an RFID tag and corresponding RFID reader and controlling the radio frequency reader to read information about the vehicle radio frequency tag, and storing the information about the vehicle radio frequency tag in a database of the battery swapping server, wherein the information about the vehicle radio frequency tag comprises a vehicle number (such as a vehicle identification number), as clearly suggested and taught by Liu, in order to allow the vehicle to be quickly identified and positioned, and the power replacement process can be performed ([0041]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747