DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Species B (Fig. 3, claims 1-5, 7, 9-13) in the reply filed on 7/8/26 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, reference number for “an active region,” “a frontside and a backside” of the power redistribution element of claims 1, 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
There is no reference number in the specification for an active region.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0157787 (Kim), cited by Applicant in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0237430 (England).
Kim discloses
1. (Currently Amended) A structure comprising:
an active element 103 comprising:
a frontside (bottom) and a backside (top) opposite the frontside (bottom);
a plurality of vias 171 extending from the backside (top) vertically through a portion of the active element 103; and
an active region (substrate 131) nearer to the frontside (bottom) than the backside (173);
a power redistribution element 173 disposed on the backside (top) of the active element 103, wherein a frontside (bottom) of the power redistribution element 173 is bonded to the backside (top) of the active element 103.
Kim fails to disclose
hybrid bonding;
the power redistribution element comprising:
a second plurality of contact pads disposed on the backside, wherein a pitch of the first plurality of contact pads is smaller than a pitch of the second plurality of contact pads, wherein the first plurality of contact pads is electrically coupled to the plurality of vias.
England teaches
A structure comprising:
a frontside (bottom, 154) of the power redistribution element 152 is hybrid bonded ([0037]) to the backside (top) of the active element 102;
the power redistribution element 152 comprising:
a second plurality of contact pads 160 disposed on the backside (top, 156), wherein a pitch of the first plurality of contact pads 162 is smaller than a pitch of the second plurality of contact pads 160, wherein the first plurality of contact pads 162 is electrically coupled to the plurality of vias 131.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide hybrid bonding and a first plurality of contact pads having a smaller pitch than a second plurality of contact pads in Kim. The motivation would be to permit fine-pitch via connections to be interfaced with larger-pitch opposite side interconnections to accommodate any dense backside die connections and larger pitch connections on the opposite side and allow for a potential reduction in overall footprint as taught by England ([0026], [0043]). Further, hybrid bonding would be based on it suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
Kim discloses
2. (Original) The structure of Claim 1, further comprising:
a power delivery die 105 comprising a frontside (bottom) and a backside (top) opposite the frontside (bottom),
England teaches
wherein the frontside (bottom) is in electrical contact with the second plurality of contact pads 160 of the power redistribution element 152.
Kim discloses
3. (Original) The structure of Claim 1, wherein the power redistribution element 173 is configured to carry power and ground and is not configured to carry logic signals ([0023], no mention of logic).
England teaches
4. (Original) The structure of Claim 1, wherein the power redistribution element 152 comprises an interposer ([0037]).
England teaches
5. (Original) The structure of Claim 4, wherein the power redistribution element 152 further comprises a hybrid bonding layer 122 disposed on the frontside (bottom, 154) of the power redistribution element 152, and wherein the power redistribution element 152 further comprises a hybrid bonding layer 164 disposed on the backside (top, 156) of the power redistribution element 152 ([0037], [0038]).
Kim in view of England teaches
7. (Currently Amended) The structure of Claim 2, wherein the frontside (bottom, 154) of the power delivery die 105 (Kim) is hybrid bonded to the backside (top, 156) of the power redistribution element 152, and wherein the frontside (bottom, 154) of the power redistribution element 152 is hybrid bonded to the backside (top) of the active element 102.
Kim discloses
9. (Original) The structure of Claim 1, wherein power is delivered through the power redistribution element 173 to the backside (top) of the active element 103.
Kim discloses
10. (Original) A structure comprising:
an active element 103 having a frontside (bottom) and a backside (top) opposite the frontside (bottom), the active element 103 having active circuitry (substrate 131) nearer the frontside (bottom) than the backside (top); and
a power redistribution element 173 having a frontside (bottom) bonded to the backside (top) of the active element 103,
wherein the power redistribution element 173 is configured to supply at least one of power and ground to the active element 103 ([0023]).
Kim fails to disclose
hybrid bonding;
the power redistribution element comprising:
a first plurality of contact pads on the frontside of the power redistribution element and a second plurality of contact pads on a backside of the power redistribution element opposite the frontside of the power redistribution element,
wherein a pitch of the first plurality of contact pads is smaller than a pitch of the second plurality of contact pads.
England teaches
A structure comprising:
a frontside (bottom, 154) of the power redistribution element 152 is hybrid bonded ([0037]) to the backside (top) of the active element 102;
the power redistribution element 152 comprising:
a first plurality of contact pads 162 on the frontside (bottom, 154) of the power redistribution element 152 and a second plurality of contact pads 160 on a backside (top, 156) of the power redistribution element 152 opposite the frontside (bottom, 154) of the power redistribution element 152,
wherein a pitch of the first plurality of contact pads 162 is smaller than a pitch of the second plurality of contact pads 160.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide hybrid bonding and a first plurality of contact pads having a smaller pitch than a second plurality of contact pads in Kim. The motivation would be to permit fine-pitch via connections to be interfaced with larger-pitch opposite side interconnections to accommodate any dense backside die connections and larger pitch connections on the opposite side and allow for a potential reduction in overall footprint as taught by England ([0026], [0043]). Further, hybrid bonding would be based on it suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
Kim discloses
11. (Original) The structure of Claim 10, wherein the active element 103 comprises vias 171 extending from the backside (top) of the active element 103 to the active circuitry (substrate 131).
Kim in view of England teaches
12. (Original) The structure of Claim 10, further comprising:
a power delivery die 105 having a frontside (bottom) and a backside (top) opposite the frontside (bottom), wherein the frontside (bottom) of the power delivery die 105 is hybrid bonded to the backside of the power redistribution element 152 (Kim).
Kim discloses
13. (Original) The structure of Claim 10, wherein the at least one of power and ground is carried through the power redistribution element 173 and delivered to the backside of the active element 103 ([0023]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hossen et. al, “Power Delivery Network (PDN) Modeling for Backside PDN Configurations With Buried Power Rails and µTSVs,” IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, Vol. 67, No. 1, pp. 11-17 (2020), DOI 10.1109 / TED.2019.2954301, U.S. Patent Application Publication Nos. 2023/0117642 (Chang), 2017/0250170 (Yu), 2013/0070437 (Mohammed) teach
/TERESA M. ARROYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893