DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 12, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mostofi (US 20200358061 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12 and 20, Mostofi discloses a vehicle ([0042]) comprising a battery pack (See Fig. 1, element 1) comprising a battery (3), comprising ([0035]-[0047]):
a housing (2) comprising a housing body (sidewalls which form 2, see Fig. 1), a first end plate (opposing side not shown in cross section of Fig. 1 will also have 7), and a second end plate (7) disposed opposite to the first end plate in a length direction of the housing body, the first end plate (opposing end plate 7), the second end plate (7), and the housing body defining an accommodating cavity (portion which accommodates 4), and an adhesive injection port (11) being formed on the second end plate (7); and
a battery core assembly (4) disposed in the accommodating cavity and comprising a first surface (any one of side surfaces of 4 which is on 2), the first surface facing an inner wall of the housing body (2) in a height direction of the housing body, the second end plate (7) and the battery core assembly (4) being separated by a gap (gap is filled by thermal adhesive injected into 13 [0044]), a sealing member (sealing elements [0045]) being disposed in the gap and separating dividing the gap into a first channel and a second channel (See distribution channel 10 which has many channels),
the adhesive injection port being in communication with the first channel (any one of paths shown as being part of 10), a potting channel (10) being provided in the housing, the potting channel (10) comprising the first channel (See distribution channel 10 which has many channels) and a third channel(See distribution channel 10 which has many channels) located between the first surface and the inner wall of the housing body, and a potting adhesive ([0032]) disposed in the potting channel.
Regarding claims 5 and 16, Mostofi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Mostofi discloses wherein the battery core assembly comprises a third surface (See Fig. 1, rectangular surface of battery core, 4, has four surfaces and therefore has a third surface) and a fourth surface (See Fig. 1, rectangular surface of battery core, 4, has four surfaces and therefore has a fourth surface opposite third surface) opposite to each other in a width direction of the housing body; and at least
an outer periphery of the fourth surface and at least an outer periphery of the third surface are snugly attached to the housing body (resin paste fills gap and therefore will be snugly attached).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostofi (US 20200358061 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Mostofi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Mostofi does not disclose wherein a height of the potting adhesive in the height direction of the housing is D₄, and 0.8 mm ≤ D₄ < 1.5 mm.
The amount of thermally conductive paste will determine the cooling efficiency [0033] and also the cost.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Mostofi to have a height of the potting adhesive fall within the claimed range because it will allow for optimization of cooling efficiency and cost.
Claim(s) 2, 4, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostofi (US 20200358061 A1) as applied to claims 1, 5, 12, 16, and 20 above and in further view of Akutsu (WO 2011061931 A1, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 2, 4, 13, and 15, Mostofi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Mostofi does not disclose wherein an air suction port is formed on the first end plate; and the air suction port is in communication with the potting channel, and a pressure in the potting channel is less than a pressure outside the housing.
Akutsu discloses wherein an air suction port is formed on an end plate opposite to the end plate in which a thermally conductive resin paste is injected and the air suction port is in communication with the potting channel, and a pressure in the potting channel is less than a pressure outside the housing and forming an air suction port allows for the resin to be quickly filled (see pg. 5 third paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the first plate of Mostofi by forming an air suction port in to the air input port as disclosed by Akutsu because doing so will allow for more effective and quicker filling of the resin material.
It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the position of the air suction port of modified Mostofi so that they are aligned in order to optimize the fluid flow path and filling of the gaps.
Claim(s) 6 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mostofi (US 20200358061 A1) in view of Akutsu (WO 2011061931 A1, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1, 5, 12, 16, and 20 above in further view of Lee (US 20220158284 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, Mostofi discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Mostofi does not disclose a protective film.
Lee discloses a battery core unit (200 [0073], see Fig. 2) and a protective film (300 [0073]); the protective film is wrapped on an outer peripheral surface of the battery core unit (see Fig. 2); the protective film comprises two openings corresponding to the first end plate and the second end plate (openings which expose 120), respectively; at least one through hole is formed on the protective film (See Fig. 5 310 [0083]); and the through hole is disposed at least on a side surface of the protective film away from the
third channel (third channel of Mostofi is close to analogous structure 120 of Lee) and this wrap structure helps to fix and restrain against expansion [0061]-[0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the battery core of Mostofi by providing a protective wrap as disclosed by Lee because it will help to fix and restrain against expansion.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 7-10, 14, 18, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726