DETAILED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Office Action in response to application 18/617,402 entitled "METHOD AND SYSTEM FOR CASINO RIM CREDIT AND MARKER PROCESSING" filed on March 26, 2026, with claims 19-26 pending.
Status of Claims
Claims 19, 20, 22, and 24-26 are new and are hereby entered.
Claims 1-9 and 14-18 were previously cancelled.
Claims 19-26 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed March 26, 2026, has been entered. Claims 19-26 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and/or Claims have been noted in response to the Non-Final Office Action mailed November 28, 2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 17, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Please see MPEP 2106 for additional information regarding Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
Claims 19-26 are directed to a system, method/process, machine/apparatus, or composition of matter, which are/is one of the statutory categories of invention. (Step 1: YES).
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Independent Claim 1 recites:
“A centralized system for electronically processing casino player rim credit and markers relative to players …the centralized system comprising:
which stores information regarding player location;
…to receive input from a user …of rim credit identification information comprising a designation of a first of said players and an amount of rim credit provided to said first player,
wherein …in response to receiving said rim credit identification information …utilize said information designating said first player to determine a game location of said first player based upon said player location information …and generate an electronic rim credit record comprising at least said game location and said amount of said rim credit provided to said first player and store, …in association with a player identifier of said first player and other rim credit records corresponding to said first player, said electronic rim credit record, and generate a rim credit balance representing unpaid rim credit to said first player based upon said electronic rim credit record and said other rim credit records,
wherein …to receive input from a user …of marker information comprising a designation of a second one of said players and an amount of marker credit provided to said second player,
wherein …in response to receiving said marker credit identification information …utilize said information designating said second player to determine a game location of said second player based upon said player location information from said at least one casino server and generate an electronic marker record comprising at least said game location and said amount of said marker credit provided to said second player and store, …in association with a player identifier of said second player and other rim credit records corresponding to said second player, said electronic rim credit record, and generate a marker credit balance representing unpaid marker credit to said second player based upon said electronic marker credit record and said other marker credit records,
wherein …to display, …which includes rim credit information and marker record information, said rim credit information comprising a list of rim credit records, each rim credit record comprising information regarding an identity of said player to which said rim credit record corresponds, a game location of said player to which said rim credit record corresponds, and information regarding a rim credit amount associated with said rim credit record, said marker record information comprising a list of marker records, each marker record comprising information regarding an identity of said player to which said marker record corresponds, a game location of said player to which said marker record corresponds, and information regarding a marker credit amount associated with said marker credit record,
wherein …in response to receiving information that a game location is closing, display, …a notification when said game location that is closing corresponds to said game location of an identified player of one of said displayed rim credit records,
wherein …to either receive input from said user thereof to transfer said rim credit corresponding to said rim credit of said identified player at said closing game location to a new marker credit and …to no longer display said rim credit record corresponding to said identified player and instead display said new marker credit, or to display an updated rim credit record which includes a new game location corresponding to said identified player with said new game location.”
These limitations clearly relate to managing transactions/interactions between player and/or casino. These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Specific instances include instructions for processing casino player rim credit or to generate an electronic rim credit record or to transfer said rim credit recite a fundamental economic principles or practice and/or commercial or legal interactions. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic, commercial, or financial action, principle, or practice then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. (Step 2A-Prong 1: YES. The claims recite an abstract idea).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements of:
[at a plurality of gaming tables]:
merely applying gaming equipment as a tool to perform an abstract idea
[a mobile attendant device communicable with and separate from said plurality of gaming tables], [said plurality of mobile attendant device comprising a, a memory, a display device, at least one user input device configured to receive user input relative to a graphical interface displayed by said display device, and machine-readable code stored in said memory of said mobile attendant device];
[a database] [and a processing server comprising a processor, a memory, and a communication interface, machine readable code stored in said memory of said processing server and wherein said processing server is communicatively coupled to said database and said plurality of mobile attendant devices, said processing server in communication with at least one casino server] [wherein said machine readable code of said mobile attendant device, when executed by said processor of said mobile attendant device, causes said processor of said mobile attendant device] [of said mobile attendant device, relative to the graphical interface displayed by said mobile attendant device] [said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to][from said mobile attendant device,] [from said at least one casino server] [in said database] [said machine readable code of said mobile attendant device, when executed by said processor of said mobile attendant device, causes said processor of said mobile attendant device] [of said mobile attendant device, relative to the graphical interface displayed by said mobile attendant device][said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to][from said mobile attendant device,] [in said database] [said machine readable code of said mobile attendant device, when executed by said processor of said mobile attendant device, causes said processor of said mobile attendant device] [via said display device, a graphical interface] [said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to][via said graphical interface][said machine readable code of said mobile attendant device, when executed by said processor of said mobile attendant device, causes said processor of said mobile attendant device] [cause said graphical interface]:
merely applying computer processing, storage, display, and networking technology as tools to perform an abstract idea
are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components and/or electronic processes. For example, the Applicant’s Specification reads:
[0016] sub-system 30 may comprise one or more casino systems (whether operated by the casino or a vendor)....systems may comprise an accounting system, player tracking system, a casino credit system (such as the casino credit system operated by Casino Credit, LLC, a subsidiary of Everi Payments Inc., of Las Vegas, NV) or the like.
[0028] The portable processing device 46 may be a ... general purpose computing device such as a tablet or similar device
[0029] aspects of the invention may be implemented by a progressive web application (PWA) which leverages APIs of a web browser associated with the device (such as running on the portable processing device 46, a laptop or desktop computer or other workstation, etc.)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, Claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. The claim further defines the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above. The claim does not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the claims is directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Dependent Claims recite additional elements.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the recited additional elements of
Claim 20:
“machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server”, “mobile attendant device”: merely applying computer processing, networking, and display technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 21:
“plurality of gaming tables”: merely applying gaming equipment as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 22:
“machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server”, “mobile attendant device”: merely applying computer processing, networking, and display technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 23: (none found: does not include additional elements and merely narrows the abstract idea)
Claim 24:
“machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server”: merely applying computer processing, networking, and display technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
“printer to print”: insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception of printing information
Claim 25:
“machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server” : merely applying computer processing, networking, and display technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
Claim 26:
“said graphical interface”: merely applying display technologies as a tool to perform an abstract idea
are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer components and/or electronic processes. For support from the Applicant’s Specification, see the analysis as applied to Independent Claim 19 earlier. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. (Step 2A-Prong 2: NO. The additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application)
Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional elements merely add instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, see MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, these additional elements, do not change the outcome of the analysis, when considered separately and as an ordered combination. For support from the Applicant’s Specification, see the analysis as applied to Independent Claim 19 earlier. Dependent claims further define the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for the reasons presented above.
For the “printer to print” step that was considered extra-solution activity and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The background does not provide any indication that the network appliance is anything other than a generic, off-the-shelf computer component that is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claim(s) is/are not patent eligible.
The dependent claims do not include any additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Therefore, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible. (Step 2B: NO. The claims do not provide significantly more)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattice (“INTELLIGENT PLAYER TRACKING CARD AND WAGERING TOKEN TRACKING TECHNIQUES”, U.S. Publication Number: 20100093429 A1), in view of Paulsen (“ELECTRONIC SIGNATURE CAPABILITY IN A GAMING MACHINE”, U.S. Publication Number: 20030045353 A1)
Regarding Claim 19,
Mattice teaches,
A centralized system for electronically processing casino player rim credit and markers relative to players at a plurality of gaming tables,
(Mattice [0086] A communications link between the gaming machine and a central server allows the historical game play data to be automatically and centrally stored
Mattice [0454] it is assumed that an event has been detected which relates to a possible exchange of wagering tokens associated with the detected player. Examples of such events may include...rim credit activity;
Mattice [0452] automatically track player buy-in events, markers
Mattice [0053] reading/tracking system which may be implemented at one or more gaming tables.)
the centralized system comprising: a mobile attendant device communicable with and separate from said plurality of gaming tables,
(Mattice [0837] a LAN based server and/or database, and/or a centralized WAN based server and/or database or data repository
Mattice [Abstract] a patron initiating start of a gaming session at a gaming device or gaming table of the live casino gaming environment
Mattice [1222] devices in the gaming network 1800 may be portable devices
Mattice [0096] uses wireless technology to communicate with various components, devices, and/or systems of the casino gaming network
Mattice [0171] devices and/or systems which may be used or accessed by one or more users (e.g., players) for engaging in wager-based gaming activities...gaming tables
Mattice [0375] a patron may enter a gaming region of the casino carrying a portable tracking device... patron's personal space boundaries may be automatically and dynamically updated to correspond to match the predefined gaming machine "personal space" boundaries. Sometime later, it is detected that the player has taken a seat at a specific gaming table.
Mattice [1164] wireless devices (such as, for example, smart cards, portable security devices, etc.))
said plurality of mobile attendant device comprising a memory, a display device,
(Mattice [0517] At least one processor or CPU (1012)....the processor(s) 1012 may be operable to implement features and/or functionality similar to other processors described herein.
Mattice [0225] computer typically enable code and data to be read from and written to the mass storage device.
Mattice [0173] displays 335, input devices
Mattice [0518] Memory 1014, which, for example, may include volatile memory
Mattice [1221] for display on a remote client.... using the remote client may be able to select...on the client by the host device)
at least one user input device configured to receive user input relative to a graphical interface displayed by said display device, and machine-readable code stored in said memory of said mobile attendant device; a database;
(Mattice [0173] displays 335, input devices
Mattice [Abstract] wireless communications among devices
Mattice [0092] authenticate a user of a mobile gaming device
Mattice [0178] Peripheral devices 322 may include several device interfaces such as, ...input interface(s) ...wireless communication components 356...player/device tracking module
Mattice [1136] Detection of other appropriate input/signal(s) from human and/or device(s).
Mattice [0145] tracking devices, such as...a wireless portable instrument identifier device;... a display;
Mattice [0105] computer system or server system which includes a database)
and a processing server comprising a processor, a memory, and a communication interface, machine readable code stored in said memory of said processing server and wherein
(Mattice [0229] communication between server 15 and the various different entertainment resources
Mattice [0517] At least one processor or CPU
Mattice [0330] stored in a database located on one of the gaming machine, a remote server and combinations thereof.
Mattice [0837] server and/or database, and/or a centralized WAN based server and/or database or data repository.
Mattice [0519] according to different embodiments, such wireless communication may be implemented using one or more wireless interfaces/protocols)
said processing server is communicatively coupled to said database and said plurality of mobile attendant devices,
(Mattice [0105] may include a computer system or server system which includes a database... computer system may be configured or designed to concurrently process (e.g., in real time) respective gaming activity data and/or non-gaming data relating to different patrons who have been detected and/or identified in the casino
Mattice [0144] be communicatively coupled (e.g., via one or more wired interfaces and/or one or more wireless interfaces)
Mattice [0171] devices and/or systems which may be used or accessed by one or more users (e.g., players) for engaging in wager-based gaming activities)
said processing server in communication with at least one casino server which stores information regarding player location;
(Mattice [0009] and in communication with a remote player tracking server.
Mattice [0030] an event relating to a location of the first patron being detected as being within a predefined proximity to the gaming device or gaming table
Mattice [0086] communications link between the gaming machine and a central server)
wherein said machine readable code of said mobile attendant device, when executed by said processor of said mobile attendant device, causes said processor of said mobile attendant device to receive input from a user of said mobile attendant device, relative to the graphical interface displayed by said mobile attendant device, of rim credit identification information comprising a designation of a first of said players and an amount of rim credit provided to said first player;
(Mattice [1222] devices in the gaming network 1800 may be portable devices
Mattice [0178]wireless communication components 356...player/device tracking module
Mattice [0145] tracking devices, such as...a wireless portable instrument identifier device;... a display;
Mattice [0454] it is assumed that an event has been detected which relates to a possible exchange of wagering tokens associated with the detected player. Examples of such events may include...rim credit activity;
Mattice [0109] Many different player identification techniques
Mattice [0110] the casino tracking system may be configured or designed to track various types of real time information relating to people, wagering tokens, ...such information may be analyzed, for example, in order to identify various statistical trends and/or patterns relating to various types of patron characteristics.
Mattice [0215] Game history information regarding previous games played such as an amount wagered
Mattice [0305] For example, if the person played a game on a gaming machine, then all (or selected) data from the gaming machine interaction may be logged, such as duration of play, what games were played, wager amounts, etc.
Mattice [0030] an event relating to a location of the first patron being detected as being within a predefined proximity to the gaming device or gaming table of the live casino gaming environment
Mattice [0847] a rim portion of the wagering token)
wherein said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to, in response to receiving said rim credit identification information from said mobile attendant device, utilize said information designating said first player to determine a game location of said first player based upon said player location information from said at least one casino server and generate an electronic rim credit record
(Mattice [0086] communications link between the gaming machine and a central server
Mattice [0454] rim credit activity;
Mattice [0847] a rim portion of the wagering token
Mattice [0243] In at least one embodiment, the unique identifier associated with each token also provides a means of automatically logging and updating data entry corresponding to the status of each token
Mattice [0100] a robust casino tracking system may be configured or designed to use ...intelligent wagering tokens, and/or other portable devices
Mattice [0030] an event relating to a location of the first patron being detected as being within a predefined proximity to the gaming device or gaming table
Mattice [0101] a player tracking card may be configured or designed to include a unique ID which may be associated with a specific patron or player and/or associated with (or linked to) one or more of the player's accounts such as, for example, a credit account, financial account, player tracking account, customer loyalty account, etc.
Mattice [0305] For example, if the person played a game on a gaming machine, then all (or selected) data from the gaming machine interaction may be logged, such as duration of play, what games were played, wager amounts, etc.)
comprising at least said game location and said amount of said rim credit provided to said first player and store, in said database in association with a player identifier of said first player and other rim credit records corresponding to said first player, said electronic rim credit record
(Mattice [0375] it is detected that the player has taken a seat at a specific gaming table. In response, the patron's personal space boundaries may be automatically and dynamically updated to correspond to match the predefined gaming table “personal space” boundaries associated with that gaming table's particular configuration.
Mattice [0452] automatically determine the amount and/or value of wagering tokens which a player arrived with and/or walked away with. It may also be used to automatically track player buy-in events, markers, winnings, losses, and/or other transactions involving some type of wagering token exchange between the player and another entity (e.g., the dealer/house).
Mattice [0014] acquire external device identifier information relating to identities of one or more external devices which have engaged in wireless communication with the wagering token; store at least a portion of the external device identifier information in the memory
Mattice [0086] allows any player in front of the gaming machine to be identified)
and generate a rim credit balance representing unpaid rim credit to said first player based upon said electronic rim credit record and said other rim credit records;
(Mattice [0454] exchange of wagering tokens associated with the detected player. Examples of such events may include...rim credit activity;
Mattice [0009] status of a patron's marker record in the marker database)
wherein said machine readable code of said mobile attendant device, when executed by said processor of said mobile attendant device, causes said processor of said mobile attendant device to receive input from a user of said mobile attendant device, relative to the graphical interface displayed by said mobile attendant device, of marker information comprising a designation of a second one of said players and an amount of marker credit provided to said second player
(Mattice [0087] Players agree to have their game play tracked by a tracking system
Mattice [0171] devices and/or systems which may be used or accessed by one or more users (e.g., players)
Mattice [0452] to automatically track player buy-in events, markers, winnings, losses, and/or other transactions
Mattice [0086] communications link between the gaming machine and a central server
Mattice [0011] a rim portion, and a specific monetary denomination and amount designated)
wherein said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to, in response to receiving said marker credit identification information from said mobile attendant device, utilize said information designating said second player to determine a game location of said second player based upon said player location information from said at least one casino server and generate an electronic marker record comprising at least said game location and said amount of said marker credit provided to said second player
(Mattice [0307] reader decodes the data encoded in the tag and the data is passed to a server.
Mattice [0310] may be accomplished by providing a network of cameras, one or more servers, and at least one storage medium for storing video clips and other patron behavior data
Mattice [0096] player tracking/accounting server(s)
Mattice [0452] automatically track player buy-in events, markers, winnings, losses, and/or other transactions involving some type of wagering token exchange between the player and another entity)
and store, in said database in association with a player identifier of said second player and other rim credit records corresponding to said second player, said electronic rim credit record,
(Mattice [0375] dynamically updated to correspond to match the predefined gaming table “personal space” boundaries associated with that gaming table's particular configuration.
Mattice [0452] automatically determine the amount and/or value of wagering tokens which a player arrived with and/or walked away with. It may also be used to automatically track player buy-in events, markers, winnings, losses, and/or other transactions involving some type of wagering token exchange between the player and another entity (e.g., the dealer/house).
Mattice [0014] acquire external device identifier information relating to identities of one or more external devices which have engaged in wireless communication with the wagering token; store at least a portion of the external device identifier information in the memory
Mattice [0086] allows any player in front of the gaming machine to be identified)
and generate a marker credit balance representing unpaid marker credit to said second player based upon said electronic marker credit record and said other marker credit records,
(Mattice [0454] exchange of wagering tokens associated with the detected player. Examples of such events may include...rim credit activity;
Mattice [0009] status of a patron's marker record in the marker database
Mattice [0305] wager amounts, etc.
Mattice [0377] wagering token tracking functionality allows for the simultaneous real-time tracking of a player's multiple different wagering tokens ... determine the amount and/or value of wagering tokens which a player walked with, ...track player buy-in information
Mattice [0087] Players agree to have their game play tracked by a tracking system)
wherein said machine readable code of said mobile attendant device, when executed by said processor of said mobile attendant device, causes said processor of said mobile attendant device to display, via said display device, a graphical interface which includes rim credit information and marker record information, said rim credit information comprising a list of rim credit records, each rim credit record comprising information regarding an identity of said player to which said rim credit record corresponds,
(Mattice [0110] casino tracking system may be configured or designed to track various types of real time information relating...entertainment resources (e.g., gaming machines, video displays, mobile devices, etc.) in a casino.
Mattice [0453] wagering token possession records for the detected player may be updated
Mattice [0173] communicating with interfaces, various peripheral devices 322 and/or I/O devices; ... may send messages including game play information to the displays 335 to inform players
Mattice [1221] A game play host device 1803 may be a host server connected to a plurality of remote clients that generates games of chance that are displayed on a plurality of remote game play interfaces ... for display on a remote client.
Mattice [0454] it is assumed that an event has been detected which relates to a possible exchange of wagering tokens associated with the detected player. Examples of such events may include...rim credit activity;
Mattice [0526] which includes a list of the detected wagering tokens and/or other related information.)
a game location of said player to which said rim credit record corresponds, and information regarding a rim credit amount associated with said rim credit record, said marker record information comprising a list of marker records, each marker record comprising information regarding an identity of said player to which said marker record corresponds, a game location of said player to which said marker record corresponds, and information regarding a marker credit amount associated with said marker credit record,
(Mattice [0110] casino tracking system may be configured or designed to track various types of real time information relating...entertainment resources (e.g., gaming machines, video displays, mobile devices, etc.) in a casino.
Mattice [0173] communicating with interfaces, various peripheral devices 322 and/or I/O devices; ... may send messages including game play information to the displays 335 to inform players
Mattice [1221] A game play host device 1803 may be a host server connected to a plurality of remote clients that generates games of chance that are displayed on a plurality of remote game play interfaces ... for display on a remote client.
Mattice [0009] and in communication with a remote player tracking server.
Mattice [0030] an event relating to a location of the first patron being detected as being within a predefined proximity to the gaming device or gaming table
Mattice [0526] which includes a list of the detected wagering tokens and/or other related information.
Mattice [0135] may identify a patron through his or her tracking identification device as the patron enters a restaurant or shop. A host or sales consultant may then approach and greet that patron by name)
wherein said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to, in response to receiving information that a game location is closing, display, via said graphical interface, a notification when said game location that is closing corresponds to said game location of an identified player of one of said displayed rim credit records,
(Mattice [0110] casino tracking system may be configured or designed to track various types of real time information relating...entertainment resources (e.g., gaming machines, video displays, mobile devices, etc.) in a casino.
Mattice [0173] communicating with interfaces, various peripheral devices 322 and/or I/O devices; ... may send messages including game play information to the displays 335 to inform players
Mattice [1221] A game play host device 1803 may be a host server connected to a plurality of remote clients that generates games of chance that are displayed on a plurality of remote game play interfaces ... for display on a remote client.
Mattice [0113] the tracking system, may make real-time decisions regarding selection of tailored games and/or services which may be displayed
Mattice [0311] enables a casino to collect and analyze movement and behaviors... quantity and/or value of money and/or wagering tokens a person possesses when ending a gaming session at a gaming machine or gaming table
Mattice [0030] an event relating to a location of the first patron being detected as being within a predefined proximity to the gaming device or gaming table)
wherein said machine readable code of said mobile attendant device, when executed by said processor of said mobile attendant device, causes said processor of said mobile attendant device to either receive input from said user thereof to transfer said rim credit corresponding to said rim credit of said identified player at said closing game location
(Mattice [0311] the quantity and/or value of money and/or wagering tokens a person possesses when ending a gaming session at a gaming machine or gaming table
Mattice [0454] it is assumed that an event has been detected which relates to a possible exchange of wagering tokens associated with the detected player. Examples of such events may include...rim credit activity;
Mattice [0030] an event relating to a location of the first patron being detected as being within a predefined proximity to the gaming device or gaming table
Mattice [0199] gaming devices are operable to dispense monetary awards
Mattice [0204] monetary devices, such as coin dispensers, bill validators and ticket printers and computing devices that are used to govern the input and output of cash to a gaming device)
to a new marker credit and cause said graphical interface to no longer display said rim credit record corresponding to said identified player and instead display said new marker credit
(Mattice [0918] Activity relating to use of a table marker
Mattice [0922] Markers-in activity.
Mattice [0113] selection of tailored games and/or services which may be displayed or offered in a targeted location based on the identification or demographic status of one or more people in the targeted location
Mattice [0452] automatically track player buy-in events, markers, winnings, losses, and/or other transactions involving some type of wagering token exchange between the player and another entity (e.g., the dealer/house))
Mattice does not teach to display an updated rim credit record which includes a new game location corresponding to said identified player with said new game location.
Paulsen teaches,
to display an updated rim credit record which includes a new game location corresponding to said identified player with said new game location
(Paulsen [Claim 12] a casino credit arrangement, a receipt of a cash payout, a credit card purchase
Paulsen [0090] the notification message may include information that communicates display change information to the game machine so that a particular screen and/or information, for example, a summary sheet of game play receipts or game machine maintenance status, is displayed.)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the player tracking card and wagering token tracking techniques of Mattice to incorporate the updated display teachings of Paulsen “that communicates display change information.” (Paulsen [0090]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. updated display) to a known concept (i.e. player tracking card and wagering token tracking) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “so that a particular screen and/or information, … is displayed.” Paulsen [0090])
Regarding Claim 20,
Mattice and Paulsen teach the casino rim credit processing of Claim 19 as described earlier.
Mattice teaches,
said generated electronic rim credit record.
(Mattice [0454] Examples of such events may include...rim credit activity;)
Mattice does not teach wherein said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to receive at least one supervisor signature input to said mobile attendant device by other than an operator of said mobile attendant device, and store said at least one supervisor signature input in association with
Paulsen teaches,
wherein said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to receive at least one supervisor signature input to said mobile attendant device by other than an operator of said mobile attendant device, and store said at least one supervisor signature input in association with
(Paulsen [0002] examples of these devices are player tracking units
Paulsen [0089] the input electronic signature may be initially compared against a local electronic signature database
Paulsen [0090] if the “player” that input a signature was a floor manager or a repair technician… game machine maintenance status, is displayed
Paulsen [0002] a wide variety of associated devices that can be connected to a gaming machine, such as... display panels
Paulsen [Claim 1] a plurality of gaming devices connected to the gaming machine and in communication with the master gaming controller wherein at least one of the gaming devices is a signature input device
Paulsen [0039] stored on a remote server)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the player tracking card and wagering token tracking techniques of Mattice to incorporate the supervisor signature teachings of Paulsen “signature was a floor manager or a repair technician.” (Paulsen [0090]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. supervisor signature) to a known concept (i.e. player tracking card and wagering token tracking) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “for accepting and authenticating electronic signatures of players on a gaming machine.” Paulsen [0001])
Regarding Claim 21,
Mattice and Paulsen teach the casino rim credit processing of Claim 19 as described earlier.
Mattice teaches,
wherein said game location comprises a gaming table identifier and an identification of a game played by said player at one of said plurality of gaming tables.
(Mattice [0478] gaming table ID information
Mattice [0305] For example, if the person played a game on a gaming machine, then all (or selected) data from the gaming machine interaction may be logged, such as duration of play, what games were played, wager amounts, etc.)
Regarding Claim 22,
Mattice and Paulsen teach the casino rim credit processing of Claim 19 as described earlier.
Mattice teaches,
wherein said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to receive input from said mobile attendant device
(Mattice [0178] Peripheral devices 322 may include several device interfaces such as, ...input interface(s) ...wireless communication components 356...player/device tracking module
Mattice [1136] Detection of other appropriate input/signal(s) from human and/or device(s).
Mattice [0390] player/patron tracking device shown or handed to dealer and/or other casino employee;
Mattice [0391] appropriate player/patron input detected (e.g., player/patron/dealer pushes button);
Mattice [0009] a remote player tracking server)
….of said rim credit.
(Mattice [0011] a specific monetary denomination and amount designated
Mattice [0454] rim credit activity;)
Mattice does not teach of a payment towards said amount
Paulsen teaches,
a payment towards said amount
(Paulsen [0083] an application is an electronic fund transfer, the player may need to enter further information relating to the amount of the transaction
Paulsen [0054] send the signal to requestor of the transaction, such as a gaming machine, bank
Paulsen [0056] gaming machine credit software (withdrawals/deposits),...and/or bank account transaction software, etc.
Paulsen [0076] bank account number)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the player tracking card and wagering token tracking techniques of Mattice to incorporate the payment teachings of Paulsen for “an electronic fund transfer.” (Paulsen [0083]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. payment) to a known concept (i.e. player tracking card and wagering token tracking) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “withdrawals/deposits.” Paulsen [0056])
Regarding Claim 23,
Mattice and Paulsen teach the casino rim credit processing of Claim 22 as described earlier.
Mattice teaches,
wherein said input of said payment comprises a payment amount and a payment type.
(Mattice [0011] a specific monetary denomination and amount designated
Mattice [0838] suitable cash or credit tracking devices...arrangements, cash, printed tickets or other suitable credit instruments... wagering tokens are then provided to the player providing the cash or credit....RFID reading devices to ensure that the proper level of wagering tokens.)
Regarding Claim 24,
Mattice and Paulsen teach the casino rim credit processing of Claim 19 as described earlier.
Mattice does not teach wherein said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to cause a printer to print said marker with said signature associated therewith.
Paulsen teaches,
wherein said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to cause a printer to print said marker with said signature associated therewith.
(Paulsen [0031] and a ticket printer
Paulsen [0073] electronic signature may not be a handwritten signature, but rather ...thermal print, or a digital image
Paulsen [0009] the ticket may be coded)
It is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the player tracking card and wagering token tracking techniques of Mattice to incorporate the supervisor signature teachings of Paulsen “signature was a floor manager or a repair technician.” (Paulsen [0090]). The modification would have been obvious, because it is merely applying a known technique (i.e. supervisor signature) to a known concept (i.e. player tracking card and wagering token tracking) ready for improvement to yield predictable result (i.e. “for accepting and authenticating electronic signatures of players on a gaming machine.” Paulsen [0001])
Regarding Claim 25,
Mattice and Paulsen teach the casino rim credit processing of Claim 19 as described earlier.
Mattice teaches,
wherein said machine readable code of said processing server, when executed by said processor of said processing server, causes said processor of said processing server to credit said amount of said rim credit corresponding to said rim credit record of said identified player
(Mattice [0838] suitable cash or credit tracking devices
Mattice [0081] The quantity and/or value of money and/or wagering tokens a person possesses when ending a gaming session at a gaming machine or gaming table
Mattice [0918] activity relating to use of a table marker)
and close said electronic rim credit record based upon issuance of said new marker
(Mattice [0386] game state events (e.g., beginning of a new table game/round/hand, etc.)
Mattice [0466] start/end of a new hand/round
Mattice [0907] Detection of a new player/patron
Mattice [0918] activity relating to use of a table marker
Mattice [0922] Markers-in activity)
Regarding Claim 26,
Mattice and Paulsen teach the casino rim credit processing of Claim 19 as described earlier.
Mattice teaches,
wherein said tabbed relationship of said rim credit information and marker record information is configured to permit selection of an identity of said player relative to either a displayed rim credit record or a displayed marker credit record
(Mattice [0454] Examples of such events may include...rim credit activity;
Mattice [0918] activity relating to use of a table marker
Mattice [0015] acquire updated token ownership information relating to an identity of a current owner of the wagering token
Mattice 0366] a tracking system may be operable to automatically identify and track the number and values of wagering tokens which are located within a given player's personal space
Mattice 0488] detection of appropriate input/signal(s) from human and/or device(s);
Mattice [0491] player input
Mattice [0173] communicating with interfaces, various peripheral devices 322 and/or I/O devices; ... may send messages including game play information to the displays 335 to inform players
Mattice [1221] for display on a remote client.)
to cause said graphical interface to display a list of all rim credit records and marker credit records associated with said selected player
(Mattice [0526] which includes a list of the detected wagering tokens and/or other related information.
Mattice [0453] wagering token possession records for the detected player may be updated
Mattice [0145] tracking units 34 may include multiple different tracking devices... a wireless portable instrument identifier device; a key pad; a display
Mattice [0173] communicating with interfaces, various peripheral devices 322 and/or I/O devices; ... may send messages including game play information to the displays 335 to inform players
Mattice [1221] for display on a remote client)
and to permit selection of said game location of a displayed rim credit record or a displayed marker credit record to cause said graphical interface to display a list of all rim credit records and marker credit records associated with said selected game location..
(Mattice [0178] Peripheral devices 322 may include several device interfaces such as, for...geolocation components 376, information filtering components 379, user identification components 377, player/device tracking module(s)
Mattice [0179] detecting the presence and/or identity of various persons (e.g., players, casino employees, etc.), devices (e.g., user input devices), and/or systems within a predetermined proximity to the gaming device
Mattice [0180] input devices 330 may be implemented in the form of touch keys... provided by a touchscreen display
Mattice [0454] Examples of such events may include...rim credit activity;
Mattice [0526] which includes a list of the detected wagering tokens and/or other related information.)
Response to Remarks
Applicant's arguments filed on March 26, 2026, have been fully considered and Examiner’s remarks to Applicant’s amendments follow.
Response Remarks on Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant's amendments rectify the previous rejections under 35 USC § 112.
The rejection under 35 USC § 112 is lifted.
Response Remarks on Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The Applicant states:
“The Applicant respectfully disagrees and traverses the rejection. However, and without conceding the propriety of the rejection, amendments have been made herein that are thought to fully address the reasons for the rejection or otherwise render the rejection moot. For at least these reasons, the Applicant requests withdrawal of the rejection. "
Examiner responds:
The amendments do not address the issues related to patent eligibility.
Examiner reviewed the claims as a whole are directed to “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity”. The limitations clearly relate to managing transactions/interactions between player and/or casino and “processing casino player rim credit and markers relative to players at a plurality of gaming tables.” These limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Specific instances include instructions for generating unique rim and marker credit records or processing casino player rim credit or to generate an electronic rim credit record or to transfer said rim credit recite a fundamental economic principles or practice and/or commercial or legal interactions. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic, commercial, or financial action, principle, or practice then it falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
The focus of the claims is not on such an improvement in computers as tools, but on certain independently abstract ideas that use computers as tools.
The claims’ invocation of computers, networks, and displays does not transform the claimed subject matter into patent-eligible applications. The claims at issue do not require any nonconventional computer, network, or display components, or even a “non-conventional and non-generic arrangement of known, conventional pieces,” but merely call for performance of the claimed information collection, analysis, and display functions on a set of generic computer components and display devices.
The Applicant’s Specification indicates generic components are utilized:
[0016] sub-system 30 may comprise one or more casino systems (whether operated by the casino or a vendor)....systems may comprise an accounting system, player tracking system, a casino credit system (such as the casino credit system operated by Casino Credit, LLC, a subsidiary of Everi Payments Inc., of Las Vegas, NV) or the like.
[0028] The portable processing device 46 may be a ... general purpose computing device such as a tablet or similar device
Nothing in the claims, understood in light of the specification, requires anything other than “merely applying” off-the-shelf, conventional computer, network, and display technology for gathering, synthesizing, sending, and presenting the desired information. See MPEP 2106.05(d) well-understood, routine, and conventional.
The generic components operate as expected. No technological components are improved by the invention.
In the absence of unexpected results, changes or alteration of sequence do not make for a patentable invention, see Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) ; In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)
The rejection under 35 USC § 101 remains.
Response Remarks on Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's amendments required the application of no new/additional prior art.
The combination of references teach the entirety of the claims.
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In reMerck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually. Where an applicant’s reply establishes that each of the applied references fails to teach a limitation and addresses the combined teachings and/or suggestions of the applied prior art, the reply as a whole does not attack the references individually as the phrase is used in Keller and reliance on Keller would not be appropriate. This is because "[T]he test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to [a PHOSITA]." In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1333, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012).
Therefore, the rejection under 35 USC § 103 remains.
Prior Art Cited But Not Applied
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lyons (“SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR REMOTE CONTROL GAMING SESSIONS USING A MOBILE DEVICE”, U.S. Publication Number: 20160019746 A1) enable remote play of a game hosted by a gaming machine using a mobile device are disclosed herein. In one embodiment, the system includes a network in communication with the gaming machine and the mobile device, and the network includes a first wireless access point located in a first area and a second wireless access point located in a second area of a venue. Also included is a remote gaming server in communication with the gaming machine and mobile device over the network. The remote gaming server enables remote play when the mobile device is connected to the second wireless access point and prevents remote play when the mobile device is connected to the first wireless access point.
Schwartz (“MARKERS HAVING NON-CASHABLE VALUE”, U.S. Publication Number: 20210110652 A1) provides generation and redemption of gaming vouchers used for play at gaming machine/tables. The marker server controls granting of non-cashable markers having non-cashable value to casino patrons. When the marker server determines to grant a non-cashable marker requested by a patron, the ticket server generates a first gaming voucher representing a first monetary value corresponding to the non-cashable value. When the patron uses the first gaming voucher for play at a gaming machine/table, the ticket server redeems the first gaming voucher and transmits a message identifying playing credit corresponding to the first monetary value represented by the first gaming voucher and the patron is enabled to play at the gaming machine/table using the identified playing credit. The system ensures that the non-cashable marker is paid back before redeeming any cashable value to the patron
Dicillo (“WAGERING GAME CONTENT BASED ON LOCATIONS OF PLAYER CHECK-IN”, U.S. Publication Number: 20130324220 A1) proposes replacing, by one or more processors, original wagering game content with modified wagering game content based on a wagering game player's check-ins at one or more physical locations. The method also includes presenting, on an electronic display device, a wagering game with the modified wagering game content in place of the original wagering game content.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/C.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3695
/CHRISTINE M Tran/
Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695