DETAILED ACTION
Claims 16-30, 35-45 and 47-61 are cancelled.
Claims 1-15, 31-34, 46 are pending in the current application.
Claims 31-34 are withdrawn from consideration (see discussion, below).
Claims 1-15 and 46 are examined in the current application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 and 46 in the reply filed on April 17th 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 31-34 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 17th 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15, 31-34 and 46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15, 17, 18, 20, 21 and 23 of copending Application No. 19/088,753. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application encompass the instantly pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-15, 31-34 and 46 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15, 17, 18, 20, 21 and 23 of copending Application No. 19/088,753 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the reference application encompass the instantly pending claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11: The phrases “shelf life” and “room temperature” render the claim indefinite, as it is unclear what the shelf life of the product at room temperature means. Given the fact room temperature varies, and since the shelf-life of the product is not clearly defined in the specification, a skilled artisan would read the phrases with more than one reasonable interpretation, and thus such skilled artisan would not be reasonably apprised of its meaning. Applicant is urged to correct and/or clarify the metes and bounds of the phrase and the claim as recited without introducing new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rathke USPGPub 20120189739.
Regarding claims 1, 2. 7-9, 11, 12 and 46: Rathke teaches a composition comprising invert sugar [0039], sucrose [0060], 0.1-7.5 wt% sorbitol [0061] and non-nutritive sweetener [0059]. Rathke teaches that invert sugar is sucrose which has been fully inverted to 50% glucose and 50% fructose. [0021]. Rathke further discloses the product is liquid concentrate (i.e., granulated powder that is dissolved in water) [0039].
Rathke states at [0060] “Any nutritive sweetener is suitable for use; as used herein, a "nutritive" sweetener is one which provides significant caloric content in typical usage amounts, i.e., more than about 1 calorie per serving (8 oz. for beverages). Suitable nutritive sweeteners include, but are not limited to, fructose, sucrose, dextrose, maltose, trehalose, rhamnose, corn syrups and fructo-oligosaccharides. One of ordinary skill in this art will readily appreciate that nutritive sweeteners may be combined in various ratios to form a nutritive sweetener blend suitable for use in the present invention. Precise ratios of nutritive sweeteners depend on the combination of sweeteners used in a given blend and the desired overall sweetness for a given application. Appropriate ratios can be readily determined by one of ordinary skill in this art.
Rathke teaches “The amounts of natural sweetener and invert (full or medium) used in the production of the reduced calorie base syrup product produced by the methods described herein will vary depending upon the target product, and the calorie reduction target of that product. In example, the product can have a 33% caloric reduction, a 35% caloric reduction, a 42.5% caloric reduction, a 50% caloric reduction, and a 75% caloric reduction, and caloric reductions within the range of from about 30% caloric reduction to about 80% caloric reduction, inclusive and without limitation, e.g., a caloric reduction of about 45% or 62%.” [0050]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan at the time the application was filed to have modified Rathke and to have adjusted the contents of sweeteners in order attain a product with desired caloric density and flavor, and thus arrive at the claimed limitations. As set forth in MPEP §2144.05 discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable, involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claims 3-6: Rathke teaches the composition may further comprise apple juice which is obtained from the flesh of an apple. [0065]
Regarding claim 10: Rathke discloses the comositoin is colorless and/or odorless (claim 2, Table 2).
Regarding claims 14 and 15: Rathke teaches additional low glycemic sweeteners such as stevia[0051], aspartame [0074], erythritol [0061], monk fruit [0054] and other natural or artificial sweeteners.
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792