DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 26-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 04/14/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 04/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups I & II This is not found persuasive because as pointed out in the Requirement for Restriction mailed on 03/16/2026, Groups I & II .
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: first base member, second base member, first elongated support member, an elongated interface member, mounting member, top mounting member, second elongated support member in claims 1, 5, 6, 15, & 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the first end" in lines 1 & 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 5-24 depend directly or indirectly from claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Knepp (U.S PG Pub 20190308651A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, Knepp discloses a carrier (tugger cart 110) for a wheeled device for thermowelding a covering layer to a surface (see figure 1A, the cart is carrying rider cart 150) (Figure 1A & [0069]). Knepp discloses a first base member (112) (Figure 1A & [0069]), a second base member (114) (Figure 1A & [0069]), and an elongated first support member (116) (Figures 1A-1B; [0069]) extending between the first and second base members, and at least one wheel (118 – multiple wheels) (Figure 1B), with the wheels being movably engaged with the base members. Knepp also discloses the limitations of instant claim 2, with the first base member comprises a top wall, a first and second edge, an outer and inner side edge, and a side wall extending from the second surface of the top wall (see Figures 1A-1D). Knepp has disclosed as well the limitations of instant claim 3, as these are just the same limitations as instant claim 2, but for the second base member (see figures 1A-1D).
Regarding claims 4-12, the instant limitations are disclosed by Knepp, as pointed out in the annotated figure below and figures 1A-1D of Knepp.
Regarding claim 13, Knepp discloses that the wheels comprise undriven caster wheels (see figure 1B – wherein the wheels are caster wheels).
Regarding claims 14-15, each set of caster wheels comprises a wheel, a fork and a top mounting member (see figure 1B #118 and annotated figure above).
Regarding claims 16-19, Knepp has discloses the first and second elongated members and the limitations as pertaining to them, see annotated figure below.
Regarding claims 20-24, the limitations as pertaining to the gusset plates are disclosed in the annotated figure, as explained below.
Regarding claim 25, Knepp has discloses a carrier, and as for the device for thermowelding a construction membrane to a surface, the carrier is capable of carrying any device as it is used for transporting materials [0001] and is capable of carrying out the intended use.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US-20100090453-A1, US-20190255642-A1, US-20180117717-A1, US-3688072-A, US-3672247-A, US-3649799-A – all drawn to either thermowelding methods or apparatus, or apparatus for holding conveying devices.
/ABHISHEK A PATWARDHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/CARSON GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746