DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10-25, 28-30, 36-38, 41, and 43-45 of U.S. Patent No. US 11971601 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims contain all limitations recited in claims 1-20 as followed.
Patented claims
Pending claim
1. An imaging lens assembly, having an optical axis, comprising: a plurality of optical elements, the optical axis passing through the optical elements; and an accommodating assembly surrounding the optical axis and containing the optical elements, the accommodating assembly comprising: a conical-shaped light blocking sheet having an object-side opening, the optical axis passing through the object-side opening, the conical-shaped light blocking sheet comprising: an out-side portion defining an outer periphery of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet and surrounding the object-side opening; and a conical portion forming the object-side opening and connected to the out-side portion, wherein the conical portion comprises a conical structure tapered from the out-side portion toward an object-side along the optical axis; and a lens barrel disposed on an image side of the conical portion, comprising: an object-side wall having an object-side through hole and facing towards an object side of the imaging lens assembly; an image-side wall having an image-side through hole and facing towards an image side of the imaging lens assembly; an inner-side wall surrounding and facing towards the optical axis, the inner-side wall connecting the object-side wall and the image-side wall; and an outer-side wall farther away from the optical axis than the inner-side wall to the optical axis and connecting the object-side wall and the image-side wall; wherein the accommodating assembly defines an inner space extending from the image-side through hole of the lens barrel to an end of the conical portion closest to the object side along a direction parallel to the optical axis and surrounded by the inner-side wall; wherein the optical elements comprise a most object-side optical element and at least two optical elements disposed in the inner space; wherein the out-side portion is fixed at only one of the lens barrel and the most object-side optical element, and the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is physically contacted with only one of the lens barrel and the most object-side optical element.
10. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein a diameter of the end of the conical portion closest to the object side is OD, a maximum outer diameter of the accommodating assembly is MD, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.05≤OD/MD<1.00.
24. An imaging lens assembly, having an optical axis, comprising: a plurality of optical elements, the optical axis passing through the optical elements; and an accommodating assembly surrounding the optical axis and containing the optical elements, the accommodating assembly comprising: a conical-shaped light blocking sheet having an image-side opening, the optical axis passing through the image-side opening, the conical-shaped light blocking sheet comprising: an out-side portion defining an outer periphery of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet and surrounding the image-side opening; and a conical portion forming the image-side opening and connected to the out-side portion, wherein the conical portion comprises a conical structure tapered from the out-side portion toward an image-side along the optical axis; and a lens barrel disposed on an object side of the conical portion, comprising: an object-side wall having an object-side through hole and facing towards an object side of the imaging lens assembly; an image-side wall having an image-side through hole and facing towards an image side of the imaging lens assembly; an inner-side wall surrounding and facing towards the optical axis, the inner-side wall connecting the object-side wall and the image-side wall; and an outer-side wall farther away from the optical axis than the inner-side wall to the optical axis and connecting the object-side wall and the image-side wall; wherein the accommodating assembly defines an inner space extending from the object-side through hole of the lens barrel to an end of the conical portion closest to the image side along a direction parallel to the optical axis and surrounded by the inner-side wall; wherein the optical elements comprise a most image-side optical element and at least two optical elements disposed in the inner space; wherein the out-side portion is fixed at only one of the lens barrel and the most image-side optical element, and the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is physically contacted with only one of the lens barrel and the most image-side optical element.
38. An imaging lens assembly, having an optical axis, comprising: a plurality of optical elements, the optical axis passing through the optical elements; and an accommodating assembly surrounding the optical axis and containing the optical elements, the accommodating assembly comprising: a conical-shaped light blocking sheet having an opening, the optical axis passing through the opening, the conical-shaped light blocking sheet comprising: an out-side portion defining an outer periphery of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet and surrounding the opening; and a conical portion forming the opening and connecting to the out-side portion, wherein the conical portion comprises a conical structure tapered from the out-side portion toward one of an object-side and an image-side along the optical axis; and a lens barrel disposed on one of an object side and an image side of the conical portion, comprising: an object-side wall having an object-side through hole and facing towards an object side of the imaging lens assembly; an image-side wall having an image-side through hole and facing towards an image side of the imaging lens assembly; an inner-side wall surrounding and facing towards the optical axis, the inner-side wall connecting the object-side wall and the image-side wall; and an outer-side wall farther away from the optical axis than the inner-side wall to the optical axis and connecting the object-side wall and the image-side wall; wherein the optical elements comprise a most object-side optical element, a most image-side optical element and at least one optical element; wherein the conical structure of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is physically contacted with only one of the lens barrel, an object side of the most object-side optical element and an image side of the most image-side optical element.
1. An imaging lens assembly, having an optical axis, comprising: a plurality of optical elements, the optical axis passing through the optical elements; and an accommodating assembly surrounding the optical axis and containing the optical elements, the accommodating assembly comprising: a conical-shaped light blocking sheet having an opening, the optical axis passing through the opening, the conical-shaped light blocking sheet comprising: an out-side portion defining an outer periphery of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet and surrounding the opening; and a conical portion forming the opening and connected to the out-side portion, wherein the conical portion comprises a conical structure tapered from the out-side portion toward the opening along the optical axis; and a lens barrel, comprising: an object-side wall having an object-side through hole and facing towards an object side of the imaging lens assembly; an image-side wall having an image-side through hole and facing towards an image side of the imaging lens assembly; an inner-side wall surrounding and facing towards the optical axis, the inner-side wall connecting the object-side wall and the image-side wall; and an outer-side wall farther away from the optical axis than the inner-side wall to the optical axis and connecting the object-side wall and the image-side wall; wherein the accommodating assembly defines an inner space extending from the image-side through hole of the lens barrel to an end of the conical portion closest to the object side along a direction parallel to the optical axis and surrounded by the inner-side wall; wherein the optical elements comprise at least three optical elements disposed in the inner space; wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is physically contacted with at least one of the lens barrel and the at least three optical elements; wherein a diameter of the end of the conical portion closest to the object side is OD, a maximum outer diameter of the accommodating assembly is MD, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.05≤OD/MD<1.00.
2. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein an angle between the conical portion and the optical axis is θ, and the following condition is satisfied: 2 degrees≤θ≤90 degrees.
25. The imaging lens assembly of claim 24, wherein an angle between the conical portion and the optical axis is θ, and the following condition is satisfied: 2 degrees≤θ≤90 degrees.
41. The imaging lens assembly of claim 38, wherein an angle between the conical portion and the optical axis is θ, and the following condition is satisfied: 2 degrees≤θ≤90 degrees.
2. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein an angle between the conical portion and the optical axis is θ, and the following condition is satisfied: 2 degrees≤θ≤90 degrees.
3. The imaging lens assembly of claim 2, wherein the object-side opening is disposed on the end of the conical portion closest to the object side.
3. The imaging lens assembly of claim 2, wherein the opening is disposed on the end of the conical portion closest to the object side.
4. The imaging lens assembly of claim 2, wherein the conical portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet further comprises an object-side structure disposed on the end of the conical portion closest to the object side and perpendicular to the optical axis, and one end of the object-side structure far away from the optical axis is connected to an object side of the conical structure.
4. The imaging lens assembly of claim 2, wherein the conical portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet further comprises an object-side structure disposed on the end of the conical portion closest to the object side and perpendicular to the optical axis, and one end of the object-side structure far away from the optical axis is connected to an object side of the conical structure.
5. The imaging lens assembly of claim 2, wherein the conical portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet further comprises an opposite conical structure expanded from the object-side opening toward one end of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet closest to the object side.
28. The imaging lens assembly of claim 25, wherein the conical portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet further comprises an opposite conical structure expanded from the image-side opening toward one end of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet closest to the image side.
5. The imaging lens assembly of claim 2, wherein the conical portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet further comprises an opposite conical structure expanded from the opening toward one end of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet closest to the object side.
6. The imaging lens assembly of claim 2, wherein the conical portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet further comprises at least one double-curved surface.
29. The imaging lens assembly of claim 25, wherein the conical portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet further comprises at least one double-curved surface.
6. The imaging lens assembly of claim 2, wherein the conical portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet further comprises at least one double-curved surface.
7. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein a length of the accommodating assembly along the direction parallel to the optical axis is AL, a length of the lens barrel along the direction parallel to the optical axis is BL, and the following condition is satisfied:
0%≤/AL×100%≤30%.
30. The imaging lens assembly of claim 24, wherein a length of the accommodating assembly along the direction parallel to the optical axis is AL, a length of the lens barrel along the direction parallel to the optical axis is BL, and the following condition is satisfied: 0%≤/AL×100%≤30%.
7. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein a length of the accommodating assembly along the direction parallel to the optical axis is AL, a length of the lens barrel along the direction parallel to the optical axis is BL, and the following condition is satisfied: 0%≤(AL−BL)/AL×100%≤30%.
11. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the object-side opening is a minimum opening of the accommodating assembly, a diameter of the object-side opening is AD, a focal length of the imaging lens assembly is f, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.7≤f/AD≤3.5.
8. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the opening is a minimum opening of the accommodating assembly, a diameter of the opening is AD, a focal length of the imaging lens assembly is f, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.7≤f/AD≤3.5.
12. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the lens barrel further comprises: a first joint surface disposed on an object side of the lens barrel and disposed opposite to the out-side portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet; wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet and the lens barrel are physically contacted to each other, and the out-side portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is fixed to the first joint surface.
9. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the lens barrel further comprises: a first joint surface disposed on an object side of the lens barrel and disposed opposite to the out-side portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet; wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet and the lens barrel are physically contacted to each other, and the out-side portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is fixed to the first joint surface.
13. The imaging lens assembly of claim 12, wherein the lens barrel further comprises: a first conical surface disposed on the object side of the lens barrel and disposed opposite to the conical structure of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet; wherein the first conical surface and the conical structure are physically contacted to each other, and the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is aligned with the lens barrel.
10. The imaging lens assembly of claim 9, wherein the lens barrel further comprises: a first conical surface disposed on the object side of the lens barrel and disposed opposite to the conical structure of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet; wherein the first conical surface and the conical structure are physically contacted to each other, and the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is aligned with the lens barrel.
14. The imaging lens assembly of claim 12, wherein the lens barrel further comprises: a first undercut surface surrounding the optical axis, and extended and shrunken along a direction from one end of the first joint surface far from the optical axis farther away from the first joint surface.
11. The imaging lens assembly of claim 9, wherein the lens barrel further comprises: a first undercut surface surrounding the optical axis, and extended and shrunken along a direction from one end of the first joint surface far from the optical axis farther away from the first joint surface.
15. The imaging lens assembly of claim 14, wherein the first undercut surface is integrally made with the lens barrel; wherein a maximum diameter of the first undercut surface along a direction perpendicular to the optical axis is MU, a minimum diameter of the first undercut surface along the direction perpendicular to the optical axis is SU, and the following condition is satisfied: 0% < (MU-SU)/MU×100% < 12%.
12. The imaging lens assembly of claim 11, wherein the first undercut surface is integrally made with the lens barrel; wherein a maximum diameter of the first undercut surface along a direction perpendicular to the optical axis is MU, a minimum diameter of the first undercut surface along the direction perpendicular to the optical axis is SU, and the following condition is satisfied:
0% < (MU-SU)/MU×100% < 12%.
16. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the most object-side optical element comprises: a second joint surface disposed on an object side of the most object-side optical element and disposed relatively to the out-side portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet; wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet and the most object-side optical element are physically contacted with each other, and the out-side portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is fixed on the second joint surface.
13. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein one of the at least three optical elements comprise: a second joint surface disposed relatively to the out-side portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet; wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet and the one of the at least three optical elements are physically contacted with each other, and the out-side portion of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is fixed on the second joint surface.
17. The imaging lens assembly of claim 16, wherein the most object-side optical element further comprises: a second conical surface disposed on the object side of the most object-side optical element and disposed relatively to the conical structure of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet; wherein the conical portion and the second conical surface are physically contacted with each other, and the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is aligned with the lens barrel.
14. The imaging lens assembly of claim 13, wherein the one of the at least three optical elements further comprises: a second conical surface disposed relatively to the conical structure of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet; wherein the conical portion and the second conical surface are physically contacted with each other, and the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is aligned with the lens barrel.
18. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, further comprising: at least one coil disposed on the outer-side wall of the lens barrel and symmetrically disposed along the optical axis.
15. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, further comprising: at least one coil disposed on the outer-side wall of the lens barrel and symmetrically disposed along the optical axis.
19. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, further comprising: at least one magnetic element disposed on the outer-side wall of the lens barrel and symmetrically disposed along the optical axis.
43. The imaging lens assembly of claim 38, further comprising: at least one magnetic element disposed on the outer-side wall of the lens barrel and symmetrically disposed along the optical axis.
16. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, further comprising: at least one magnetic element disposed on the outer-side wall of the lens barrel and symmetrically disposed along the optical axis.
20. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is made of metal material.
17. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is made of metal material.
21. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is made of plastic material.
18. The imaging lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet is made of plastic material.
22. An imaging apparatus, comprising: the imaging lens assembly of claim 1.
36. An imaging apparatus, comprising: the imaging lens assembly of claim 24.
44. An imaging apparatus, comprising: the imaging lens assembly of claim 38.
19. An imaging apparatus, comprising: the imaging lens assembly of claim 1.
23. An electronic device, comprising: at least one of the imaging apparatus of claim 22; and an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the at least one of the imaging apparatus.
37. An electronic device, comprising: at least one of the imaging apparatus of claim 36; and an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the at least one of the imaging apparatus.
45. An electronic device, comprising: at least one of the imaging apparatus of claim 44; and an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the at least one of the imaging apparatus.
20. An electronic device, comprising: at least one of the imaging apparatus of claim 19; and an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the at least one of the imaging apparatus.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-11, 13, 14, 19, and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yin (CN 209784634 U).
Regarding claim 1, Yin teaches an imaging lens assembly (Fig. 2, 5, and 6), having an optical axis (L), comprising: a plurality of optical elements (2), the optical axis (L) passing through the optical elements (2); and an accommodating assembly (1, 3) surrounding the optical axis (L) and containing the optical elements (2), the accommodating assembly (1, 3) comprising: a conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) having an opening, the optical axis (L) passing through the opening, the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) comprising: an out-side portion (31) defining an outer periphery of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) and surrounding the opening; and a conical portion (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) forming the opening and connected to the out-side portion (31), wherein the conical portion (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) comprises a conical structure (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) tapered from the out-side portion (31) toward the opening along the optical axis (L); and a lens barrel (1), comprising: an object-side wall (wall facing left) having an object-side through hole and facing towards an object side (left) of the imaging lens assembly; an image-side wall (wall facing right) having an image-side through hole and facing towards an image side of the imaging lens assembly; an inner-side wall surrounding and facing towards the optical axis (L), the inner-side wall connecting the object-side wall (wall facing left) and the image-side wall (wall facing right); and an outer-side wall farther away from the optical axis (L) than the inner-side wall to the optical axis (L) and connecting the object-side wall (wall facing left) and the image-side wall (wall facing right); wherein the accommodating assembly (1, 3) defines an inner space extending from the image-side through hole of the lens barrel (1) to an end of the conical portion (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) closest to the object side (left) along a direction parallel to the optical axis (L) and surrounded by the inner-side wall; wherein the optical elements (2) comprise at least three optical elements (21, 22, 23, 24, 25) disposed in the inner space; wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) is physically contacted with at least one of the lens barrel (1) and the at least three optical elements (2; Fig. 2, 5, and 6); wherein a diameter of the end of the conical portion (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) closest to the object side (left) is OD, a maximum outer diameter of the accommodating assembly (1, 3) is MD, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.05≤OD/MD<1.00 (Fig. 2, 5, and 6, p. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Yin further teaches an angle between the conical portion (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) and the optical axis (L) is θ, and the following condition is satisfied: 2 degrees≤θ≤90 degrees (p. 7, second paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, Yin further teaches the opening being disposed on the end of the conical portion (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) closest to the object side (left) (Fig. 2, 5, and 6).
Regarding claim 4, Yin further teaches the conical portion (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) further comprises an object-side structure (322 in Fig. 2, 321 if Fig. 5) disposed on the end of the conical portion (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) closest to the object side (left) and perpendicular to the optical axis (L), and one end of the object-side structure (322 in Fig. 2, 321 if Fig. 5) far away from the optical axis (L) is connected to an object side (left) of the conical structure (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Yin further teaches the conical portion (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) further comprises an opposite conical structure (inner conical surface of 322 in Fig. 2) expanded from the opening toward one end of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) closest to the object side (left).
Regarding claim 6, Yin further teaches the conical portion (321 in Fig. 2) of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) further comprises at least one double-curved surface (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Yin further teaches the lens barrel (1) further comprises: a first joint surface (at 11/12) disposed on an object side (left) of the lens barrel (1) and disposed opposite to the out-side portion (31) of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3); wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) and the lens barrel (1) are physically contacted to each other, and the out-side portion (31) of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) is fixed to the first joint surface (at 11/12).
Regarding claim 10, Yin further teaches the lens barrel (1) further comprises: a first conical surface (Fig. 2 and 5) disposed on the object side (left) of the lens barrel (1) and disposed opposite to the conical structure (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3); wherein the first conical surface and the conical structure (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) are physically contacted to each other, and the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) is aligned with the lens barrel (1; Fig. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 11, Yin further teaches the lens barrel (1) further comprises: a first undercut surface (at 12 of Fig. 2; 11 of Fig. 5) surrounding the optical axis (L), and extended and shrunken along a direction from one end of the first joint surface (at 11/12) far from the optical axis (L) farther away from the first joint surface (at 11/12).
Regarding claim 13, Yin further teaches one of the at least three optical elements (21, 22, 23, 24, 25) comprises: a second joint surface (horizontal to 11 in Fig. 2) disposed relatively to the out-side portion (31) of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3); wherein the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) and the one of the at least three optical elements (21) are physically contacted with each other (Fig. 2), and the out-side portion (31) of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) is fixed on the second joint surface (horizontal to 11 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14, Yin further teaches the one of the at least three optical elements (21) further comprises: a second conical surface (surface of 21 touching 31) disposed relatively to the conical structure (321 in Fig. 2) of the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3); wherein the conical portion (321 in Fig. 2, 322 in Fig. 5) and the second conical surface (surface of 21 touching 31) are physically contacted with each other, and the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) is aligned with the lens barrel (1).
Regarding claim 19, Yin further teaches an imaging apparatus, comprising: the imaging lens assembly of claim 1 (Fig. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 20, Yin further teaches an electronic device, comprising: at least one of the imaging apparatus of claim 19; and an image sensor disposed on an image surface of the at least one of the imaging apparatus (Fig. 3 and 4).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin.
Regarding claim 7, Yin does not teach a length of the accommodating assembly (1, 3) along the direction parallel to the optical axis (L) is AL, a length of the lens barrel (1) along the direction parallel to the optical axis (L) is BL, and the following condition is satisfied: 0%≤(AL−BL)/AL×100%≤30%.
Changing the size or length of the accommodating assembly and lens barrel does not affect the functionality of the device in anyway; hence it is prima facie obvious. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Furthermore, changing the size or length of the accommodating assembly and lens barrel amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; hence it is prima facie obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 8, Yin does not teach the opening is a minimum opening of the accommodating assembly (1, 3), a diameter of the opening is AD, a focal length of the imaging lens assembly is f, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.7≤f/AD≤3.5.
Changing the size/length of diameter of the opening and the focal length does not affect the functionality of the device in anyway; hence it is prima facie obvious. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Furthermore, changing the size/length of diameter of the opening and the focal length amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; hence it is prima facie obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 12, Yin does not teach the first undercut surface (at 12 of Fig. 2; 11 of Fig. 5) is integrally made with the lens barrel (1); wherein a maximum diameter of the first undercut surface (at 12 of Fig. 2; 11 of Fig. 5) along a direction perpendicular to the optical axis (L) is MU, a minimum diameter of the first undercut surface (at 12 of Fig. 2; 11 of Fig. 5) along the direction perpendicular to the optical axis (L) is SU, and the following condition is satisfied: 0% < (MU-SU)/MUx100% < 12%.
Changing the size/length of maximum diameter of the first undercut surface and minimum diameter of the first undercut surface along the direction perpendicular to the optical axis does not affect the functionality of the device in anyway; hence it is prima facie obvious. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package "of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck" were held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) ("mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.). In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Furthermore, changing the size/length of maximum diameter of the first undercut surface and minimum diameter of the first undercut surface along the direction perpendicular to the optical axis amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; hence it is prima facie obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Wang (US 20190230262 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Yin does not explicitly teach at least one coil disposed on the outer-side wall of the lens barrel (1) and symmetrically disposed along the optical axis (L).
Wang teaches at least one coil (1-A1230) disposed on the outer-side wall of the lens barrel (1-A1210) and symmetrically disposed along the optical axis (Fig. 2; [0342]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yin with Wang; because it provides autofocusing capability to the lens assembly to improve the usability of the device.
Regarding claim 16, Yin does not explicitly teach at least one magnetic element disposed on the outer-side wall of the lens barrel (1) and symmetrically disposed along the optical axis (L).
Wang teaches at least one magnetic element (1-A1240) disposed on the outer-side wall of the lens barrel (1-A1210) and symmetrically disposed along the optical axis (Fig. 2; [0342]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yin with Wang; because it provides autofocusing capability to the lens assembly to improve the usability of the device.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin Yin in view of Terai (US 20190049737 A1).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Yin does not explicitly teach the conical-shaped light blocking sheet (3) being made of metal or plastic material.
Terai teaches the light blocking sheet being made of metal or plastic material ([0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yin with Terai; because it uses known material to eliminate undue experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent documents, US 20140104691 A1, US 20220066119 A1, US 20210247586 A1, US 20210088698 A1, US 20210072487 A1, US 20190384032 A1, US 20190361154 A1, US 20190235140 A1, US 20110102901 A1, and US 8070304 B2, disclose light shielding structure/s in lens assembly.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882