CTNF 18/617,806 CTNF 94237 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Drawings 06-22-03 AIA The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “ 26 ” has been used to designate both the hose (22) in fig. 3 and the spring (26) in fig. 4 . Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The title is written in German. The title may be amended in English as “Method of Manufacturing a Cleaning Arm of a Cleaning System” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 7, the phrase may be amended as “with [[a]] the cleaning arm” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Peschard (EP 2740638A1) . Regarding claim 5, Peschard discloses a cleaning arm for a cleaning system, wherein the cleaning arm has a bottom element and a side element, which are formed in one piece, wherein the cleaning arm has a web with a hole, wherein the side element and the web are formed in one piece, wherein a stud can be disposed in the hole in such a way that a spring can be disposed on the stud (see annotated Peschard fig. 5 below for the recited components of a holding device 1 [corresponds to the recited cleaning arm]. The recited bottom element and the side element are formed in one piece, and the recited side element and the web are formed in one piece). PNG media_image1.png 711 1203 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Peschard Fig. 5 Regarding claim 6, Peschard discloses the cleaning arm as in the rejection of claim 5, wherein the side element has at least a third recess for fixing a pin which secures a windshield wiper to the cleaning arm (see annotated Peschard fig. 5 above, the cleaning arm has the recited third recess for fixing a pivot assembly 120 [corresponds to the recited pin] which secures a windshield wiper). Regarding claim 7, Peschard discloses a vehicle comprises a cleaning system with a cleaning arm as in the rejection of claim 5 (Peschard English translation, p. 2:10-13, Peschard discloses the holding device 1 [corresponds to the recited cleaning arm] of a wiper system [corresponds to the recited cleaning system] of a motor vehicle) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peschard (EP 2740638A1), in view of Vuletic et al. (CN 107867264A, hereinafter Vuletic) . Regarding claim 1, Peschard discloses a method of manufacturing a cleaning arm of a cleaning system, comprising the steps of: cold forming of a blank with at least one hole for forming: of a bottom element, of a side element, which is formed to be essentially orthogonal to the bottom element, of a bushing for attaching the cleaning arm to a cleaning motor of the cleaning system, of a web, wherein the hole is disposed on the web, wherein the hole is positioned such that a stud can be positioned in the hole for attaching a spring (see annotated Peschard fig. 5 above for the recited components. A lower face 14 [corresponds to the recited bottom element] and the recited side element are orthogonal to each other; Peschard English translation, p. 3:6-7, 5:12-13 and figs. 3-4, a drive shaft 80 is connected to a drive motor through an orifice 11 [corresponds to the recited bushing] of the holding device 1 [corresponds to the recited cleaning arm]). The recitation "a method of manufacturing a cleaning arm" is considered to be a product by process limitation. MPEP 2113 clearly states "Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different processes." In this instance, the holding device taught by Peschard is the same as or makes the product claimed obvious, meeting the limitation of the claim. Nevertheless, Vuletic teaches, in an analogous wiper device field of endeavor, components of a wiper can be manufactured from a single blank by cold deforming process (Vuletic English translation, p. 3:35-4:2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Peschard to provide the cold forming of a blank as taught by Vuletic in order to produce one piece component. It may simplify assembly process of components to build a wiper. Regarding claim 4, Peschard as modified by Vuletic teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein cold forming the blank comprises the step of: cutting out a second recess, wherein the second recess is disposed in such a way that the spring can be disposed on the stud (see annotated Peschard fig. 5 above for the recited second recess which provides a way for the spring can be disposed on the stud). As discussed in claim 1, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peschard in view of Vuletic, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Managi (WO 2019167758A1) . Regarding claim 2, Peschard as modified by Vuletic teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose cold forming the blank comprises the step of: cutting out an opening in the bottom element, wherein the opening is arranged to guide a hose from an outer side of the cleaning arm to an inner side of the cleaning arm. Managi teaches, in an analogous wiper device field of endeavor, cold forming the blank comprises the step of: cutting out an opening in the bottom element, wherein the opening is arranged to guide a hose from an outer side of the cleaning arm to an inner side of the cleaning arm (figs. 7 and 11 and Managi English translation, p. 4:23-25, an arm head 10 [corresponds to the recited cleaning arm] comprises a joint member accommodating portion 13 [corresponds to the recited opening] for accommodating a hose 62 from an outside to an inner side of the arm head 10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Peschard as modified by Vuletic to provide the opening as taught by Managi. It helps a joint member 70 coupled with the hose 62 to be fixedly connected to the cleaning arm without additional engaging part. It can reduce a manufacturing cost (Managi English translation, p. 7:26-28). As discussed in claim 1, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113. Regarding claim 3, Peschard as modified by Vuletic and Managi teaches the method as in the rejection of claim 2, wherein cold forming the blank comprises the step of: bending of the pin so that the pin secures the hose to the side element (Peschard English translation, p. 10:2-9 and fig. 7a, a guiding element 32 [corresponds to the recited pin] maintains a pipe 2 [corresponds to the recited hose] to the recited side element). As discussed in claim 1, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113 . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Uchiyama et al. (US 2016/0121853) discloses a cleaning arm comprising a bottom element, a side element, a bushing, a stud for connecting a spring, and a recess and a pin for securing a wiper. Tokunaka (WO 2021020123A1) discloses a cleaning arm comprising a bottom element, a side element, a bushing, a stud for connecting a spring, and a pin for securing a wiper. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SUKWOO JAMES CHANG whose telephone number is (571)272-7402. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:00a-5:00p. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David Posigian can be reached at (313) 446-6546. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/617,806 Page 2 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/617,806 Page 3 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/617,806 Page 4 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/617,806 Page 5 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/617,806 Page 6 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/617,806 Page 7 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/617,806 Page 8 Art Unit: 3723 Application/Control Number: 18/617,806 Page 9 Art Unit: 3723