DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Manolakos et al. (US 20230336296 A1), hereinafter Manolakos.
Regarding claim 1, Manolakos teaches,
A terminal device comprising: one or more transceivers; and (figure 2, label 215, paragraph 0062)
one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more transceivers, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the terminal device to: (figure 2, label 210, paragraph 0062)
obtain a first power measurement associated with one or more resource blocks (RBs) being utilized by the terminal device; (figure 16, label 1604, paragraph 0110 – The UE receives a set of measurements that includes a RSRP (reference signal received power encompassing a PRS. Paragraph 0084 – The PRS is a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE).
determine whether the first power measurement satisfies a first threshold, wherein the first threshold is associated with the one or more RBs; and (figure 16, label 1606, paragraph 0111 – The UE compares the performance metric received by the UE to the PRS determined in label 1602.)
in response to determining that the first power measurement satisfies the first threshold: transmit, to a target terminal device, a positioning reference signal (PRS), via at least a portion of the one or more RBs. (paragraph 0111 – The UE uses the PRS that satisfy the threshold and reports the PRS).
Regarding claim 2, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to: in response to determining that the first power measurement fails to satisfy the first threshold:
determine a first set of comb parameters; (paragraph 0084 – The PRS contains a comb size number that indicates the number of subcarriers in each symbol carrying PRS).
obtain, based on the first set of comb parameters, a second power measurement, wherein the second power measurement is associated with one or more resource elements (REs) related to the one or more RBs; (figure 16, label 1608, paragraph 0112 – A second set of PRS are measured and obtained. Paragraph 0084 – The PRS is a set of multiple resource blocks used by the UE. Paragraph 0084 – The comb size determines the number of subcarriers in each symbol carrying PRS).
determine whether the second power measurement satisfies a second threshold, wherein the second threshold is associated with the one or more REs; and (paragraph 0112 – The second power measurements are compared to a cutoff threshold).
in response to determining that the second power measurement satisfies the second threshold:
transmit, based on the first set of comb parameters, the PRS to the target terminal device via at least a portion of the one or more REs. (figure 16, label 1610, paragraph 0113 – The PRS data is reported to the network to include a gNB based on the measurement results of the second PRS).
Regarding claim 3, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 2, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
in response to determining that the second power measurement fails to satisfy the second threshold:
determine a second set of comb parameters;
obtain, based on the second set of comb parameters, a third power measurement, wherein the third power measurement is associated with the one or more REs related to the one or more RBs; (Figure 16, label 1610, paragraph 0113 – Additional power measurements can be made based on comb parameters as indicated in figure 10 and expanded on in figure 11 and 12 to include additional thresholds. Paragraph 0108 – Figure 16 can be modified to add additional stages. The additional stages are assumed to include a third set of positioning reference signals as exemplified in figure 10-12).
determine whether the third power measurement satisfies the second threshold associated with the one or more REs; and (figure 12, paragraph 0095 – An additional requirement is indicated by the threshold being at 8 compared to other thresholds being at 6 and 4.)
in response to determining that the third power measurement satisfies the second threshold:
transmit, based on the second set of comb parameters, the PRS to the target terminal device via at least a portion of the one or more REs. (Paragraph 0112 – The subsequent PRS are measured until the measurement goes below a threshold. paragraph 0113 – The third PRS may be transmitted to the base station based on the measuring.)
Regarding claim 4, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to: determine at least one of the first set of comb parameters or the second set of comb parameters based at least in part on one of: a random sequence of comb parameter values, a predetermined sequence of comb parameter values, one or more portions of data associated with respective transmissions of one or more different terminal devices, or a condition of a channel used for transmitting the PRS. (paragraph 0084 – The comb indicatss the number of subcarriers in each symbol carrying PRS).
The use of “or” in the claim language indicates that only one of the above requirements is needed (italicized).
Regarding claim 5, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein at least one of the first set of comb parameters or the second set of comb parameters comprise at least one comb size value or comb offset value. (paragraph 0084 – The comb parameters contain the comb size)
Regarding claim 6, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
receive at least one of the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs or the second threshold associated with the one or more REs from at least one of a network node or one or more different terminal devices. (paragraph 0091 – The UE receives multiple PRS measurement accuracy requirements from a base station.)
Regarding claim 7, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein at least one of the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs or the second threshold associated with the one or more REs are based in part on one of:
one or more out-of-coverage operation preferences associated with the terminal device, one or more computational resources of the terminal device, or one or more predefined communication protocol specifications. (paragraph 0092 – Part of the set of the first threshold contains a TOA accuracy and RSTD accuracy which fall under the computational resources of the terminal device.)
The use of “based in part on one of” in the claim language indicates that only one of the above requirements is needed (italicized).
Regarding claim 8, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein at least one of the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs or the second threshold associated with the one or more REs are configured using at least one of:
a long term evolution (LTE) positioning protocol (LPP), a system information block, or radio resource control signaling. (paragraph 0091 – RRC (radio resource control signaling) is used to provide the PRS measurements which contain the thresholds).
Regarding claim 9, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
receive at least one of the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs or the second threshold associated with the one or more REs via a sidelink (SL) positioning protocol, an SL radio resource control, or an SL broadcast signal. (paragraph 0097 – The UE provides the PRS measurement to a UE via a sidelink.)
Regarding claim 14, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein at least one of the first, second, or third respective power measurements are reference signal received power (RSRP) measurements. (paragraph 0090 – The RSRP are used for all of the multiple the power measurements).
Regarding claim 15, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors configured to determine whether the first power measurement satisfies the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs are further configured to:
determine whether the first power measurement is equal to or below a respective value associated with the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs. (Figure 10, paragraph 0093 – The 1st threshold and whether the PRSs are below or equal to it is shown in an expemplary graph.
Regarding claim 16, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors configured to determine whether the second power measurement or the third power measurement satisfy the second threshold associated with the one or more REs are further configured to:
determine whether the second power measurement or the third power measurement is equal to or below a respective value associated with the second threshold associated with the one or more REs. (The second threshold is shown along with multiple additional power measurements such as labels 1202, 1204 etc.)
Regarding claim 17, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the PRS is an SL PRS. (paragraph 0097 – The UE provides the PRS measurement to a UE via a sidelink.)
Regarding claim 18, Manolakos teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
indicate, to the target TD, an SL PRS configuration before transmitting the PRS to the target TD. (paragraph 0083 – The PRS configuration is conveyed via a PRS configuration index).
Claim 19 is rejected as being the same process of parts of claims 2-10, with the supposition that the threshold may be predefined. The threshold being predefined is located in paragraph 0090.
Claim 20 is rejected as a method of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Ishii et al. (US 20170272364 A1), hereinafter Ishii.
Regarding claim 10, Manolakos fails to teach,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
determine a success rate associated with one or more transmissions of the PRS to the target terminal device.
Ishii teaches,
The terminal device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
determine a success rate associated with one or more transmissions of the PRS to the target terminal device. (paragraph 0318 – A success rate is determined by the ratio of the number or unsuccessful to successful connections for the terminal device).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manolakos to incorporate the success rate teachings of Ishii. The purpose of doing so is to address high handover rates to ensure quality paragraphs 0003-0005).
Regarding claim 11, Manolakos fails to teach,
The terminal device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
modify a respective value associated with the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs based on the success rate associated with the one or more transmissions of the PRS to the target terminal device.
Ishii teaches,
The terminal device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
modify a respective value associated with the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs based on the success rate associated with the one or more transmissions of the PRS to the target terminal device. (paragraph 0319 – The parameters of the network can be changed depending on whether the success rate is lower than a threshold).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manolakos to incorporate the success rate teachings of Ishii. The purpose of doing so is to address high handover rates to ensure quality (paragraphs 0003-0005).
Regarding claim 12, Manolakos fails to teach,
The terminal device of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
transmit a modified respective value associated with the first threshold to the network node.
Ishii teaches,
The terminal device of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
transmit a modified respective value associated with the first threshold to the network node. (paragraph 0319 – The parameters of the network are required to be changed (new parameters are needed by the network operator) based on the threshold).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manolakos to incorporate the success rate teachings of Ishii. The purpose of doing so is to address high handover rates to ensure quality (paragraphs 0003-0005).
Regarding claim 12, Manolakos fails to teach,
The terminal device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
map the respective value associated with the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs to the success rate associated with the one or more transmissions of the PRS to the target terminal device.
Ishii teaches,
The terminal device of claim 10, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the terminal device to:
map the respective value associated with the first threshold associated with the one or more RBs to the success rate associated with the one or more transmissions of the PRS to the target terminal device. (paragraph 0319 – The success rate is compared to the threshold value in determining whether to change ratio interface parameters).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Manolakos to incorporate the success rate teachings of Ishii. The purpose of doing so is to address high handover rates to ensure quality (paragraphs 0003-0005).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
Yao et al. (US 20250301360 A1) - The remote devices determines whether to path switch based on the measurement results and multiple threshold values. (paragraph 0019)
Jiang et al. (US 20250240662 A1) - Use of multiple thresholds for power sending (paragraphs 0443-0455)
Duan et al. (US 20240205827 A1) - Use of a comb offset (paragraph 0120), generation of measurements report based on power (paragraph 0212)
/RYAN ALEXANDER CRIGLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472