DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following office action is in response to the amendment and remarks filed on 6/7/25.
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1 and 4 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6 are pending and subject to examination at this time.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang, US Publication No. 2017/0047313 A1.
Yang anticipates:
4. An electronic device, comprising (see fig. 12):
an array substrate (22+24+32+40);
a circuit substrate (110) disposed adjacent to the array substrate; and
an electrical connection structure (116+21+26+28), comprising:
a plurality of conductive particles (117/116 is ACF); and
a connection pad (21+26+28+50+54+72) comprising a first part (50+54), a second part (21) and a third part (72), wherein the first part (50+54) is formed on a first surface of the array substrate and electrically connected to a circuit (46-66) of the array substrate, the second part (21) is connected to the first part (50+54) and passes through the array substrate, and the third part (72) is formed on a second surface opposite to the first surface of the array substrate, connected to the second part (21) and electrically connected to a circuit (LEDs of 110; and/or “thin film transistor circuit layers” at para. [0129] – [0130]) of the circuit substrate (110) through the conductive particles (117/116). See Yang at para. [0001] – [0143], figs. 1-19.
5. The electronic device as claimed in claim 4, further comprising an adhesive layer (116 is ACF), wherein the adhesive layer (116) and the conductive particles (117) form an anisotropic conductive film (ACF) for bonding the array substrate to the circuit substrate, para. [0123].
Regarding claim 1:
Yang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 4 above.
2. The electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connection pad comprises copper, nickel, silver or gold, para. [0045], [0063], [0083]
Regarding claim 3:
Yang teaches the limitations as applied to claim 5 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iino, JP 2004327215 A (see attached English machine translation).
Iino teaches:
4. An electronic device, comprising (see fig. 3):
an array substrate (305+306);
a circuit substrate (200) disposed adjacent to the array substrate; and
an electrical connection structure (400+340+330+portion 303 directly below 330), comprising:
a plurality of conductive particles (400 is ACF); and
a connection pad (340+330+portion 303 directly below 330) comprising a first part, a second part (330) and a third part, wherein the first part (340) is formed on a first surface of the array substrate (300) and electrically connected to a circuit (e.g. LEDs) of the array substrate, the second part (330) is connected to the first part and passes through the array substrate (300), and the third part (e.g. portion 303 directly below 330) is formed on a second surface opposite to the first surface of the array substrate, connected to the second part (330) and electrically connected to a circuit (e.g. TFTs) of the circuit substrate (200) through the conductive particles (400). See Iino at English machine translation para. [0001] – [0064], figs. 1-17.
Regarding claim 4:
The limitation “a connection pad comprising… a third part” can be arrived at by separately forming the integral electrode (303) as two distinct portions, as annotated in fig. 3 below. A first portion directly below 330 to be the claimed “third part” and a second portion as an anode of the LED.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to separately form the integral electrode (303) as two distinct portions, since constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04, Legal Precedent as Source of Supporting Rationale, V. Making Portable, Integral, Separable, Adjustable or Continuous.
5. The electronic device as claimed in claim 4, further comprising an adhesive layer, wherein the adhesive layer and the conductive particles form an anisotropic conductive film (ACF) for bonding the array substrate to the circuit substrate, para. [0027].
Regarding claim 1:
Iino teaches the limitations as applied to claim 4 above.
2. The electrical connection structure as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connection pad comprises copper, nickel, silver or gold, para. [0052].
Regarding claim 3:
Iino teaches the limitations as applied to claim 5 above.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iino, as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chang et al., US Publication No. 2019/0181189 A1.
Regarding claim 6:
Iino teaches all the limitations of claim1 above, but does not expressly teach:
further comprising a light absorption layer covering the first part of the connection pad.
In an analogous art, Chang teaches (see fig. 10A) further comprising a light absorption layer (200) covering the LED display area. See Chang at para. [0243] – [0258].
One of ordinary skill in the art modifying Iino with Chang to form a light absorption layer would form the light absorption layer covering “the first part of the connection pad”, as recited in the claim, because Chang’s light absorption layer covers all the LED pixels.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Iino with the teachings of Chang to “achieve a high brightness without loss of light and improve a color reproduction range” See Chang at para. [0255].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michele Fan whose telephone number is 571-270-7401. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 7:30 am to 4 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/Michele Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 11 August 2025