DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JAPAN 2021-159701, filed on 09/29/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2026, 08/11/2025 and 06/23/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a first integrated circuit terminal connected to the first external connection terminal; and a second integrated circuit terminal connected to the second external connection terminal” as cited in Claims 1, 8 & 14 and “two first external connection terminals respectively connected to first and second ends of the power inductor” and “the at least one integrated circuit includes two first integrated circuit terminals connected to the two first external connection terminals” in Claim 6 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1, the recitation of “a first integrated circuit terminal connected to the first external connection terminal; and a second integrated circuit terminal connected to the second external connection terminal” is unclear because first and second integrated circuit terminals are not clearly defined, hence it is not clear as to how
A first integrated circuit terminal would connect to the first external connection terminal; and a second integrated circuit terminal would connect to the second external connection terminal. Further clarification is needed.
Claims 8 & 14 are rejected in the same manner as discussed in claim 1.
In Claim 6, lines 1-2, the recitation of “two first external connection terminals respectively connected to first and second ends of the power inductor” is unclear and it is not clear because whether these two first external connection terminals are additional terminals to the plurality of external connection terminals including a first external connection terminal as cited in claim 1. Similarly, “two first integrated circuit terminals connected to the two first external connection terminals” is not clear in similarly manner as discussed above. Further clarification is needed.
In Claim 10, the recitation of “the plurality of external connection terminals include a plurality of second external connection terminals” is unclear whether a plurality of second external connection terminals are additional terminals to the a second external connection terminal as cited in Claim 8. Further clarification is needed.
Claims 2-5, 7, 9, 11-13 & 15-20 are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagamori et al. (US 7,053,708 B2) in view of Perreault et al. (US 9,755,672 B2, of record), hereafter called Nagamori and Perreault.
Regarding claim 14 as best understood:
Nagamori discloses in Figs. 1-3 & 8 a system comprising; module laminated (module 10 as shown in Fig. 8); an integrated circuit (IC) that includes electronic components which mounted on the module 10 and wherein the system includes a first external connection terminal (Pin) and a second external connection terminal (Pout).
Nagamori does not disclose the specific integrated in claim 1.
Perreault discloses in Figs. 2B, 3B, 7 & 13C a tracker module comprising:
an integrated circuit (semiconductor circuit, Col2. line 42-44) and including:
at least one switch included in a pre-regulator circuit (Fig. 13C) having a power inductor (L 322) and that is configured to convert an input voltage into a first voltage;
at least one switch (switches S1A…S8B), as shown in Fig. 2B) included in a switched-capacitor circuit (Fig. 2B) that is configured to generate a plurality of discrete voltages (V1-V4) from the first voltage;
at least one switch (S1-S9) included in a supply modulator (Fig. 3A) that is configured to selectively output at least one of the plurality of discrete voltages based on a digital control signal (controller, see Abstract, control signals and Fig 11, Control).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the integrated circuit of Nagamori with the specific integrated circuit taught by Perreault. Such a modification would have imparted the advantageous benefit of improving the tradeoff between switching frequency and loss characteristics (see Col. 9, lines 5-7) as taught by Perreault to Nagamori reference, thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification.
The combination does not disclose wherein a first distance between the first external connection terminal and the first integrated circuit terminal is shorter than a second distance between the second external connection terminal and the second integrated circuit terminal. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was made to set or chosen or characterize a first distance between the first external connection terminal and the first integrated circuit terminal is shorter than a second distance between the second external connection terminal and the second integrated circuit terminal, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
As a consequence of the combination, the resultant combination discloses
a first external connection terminal (implementing IC, a node within module 10 of Fig. 8 of Nagamori, which connects to, Fig. 13C of Perreault, a terminal between switch SA and inductor 322) and
a second external connection terminal (implementing IC and where another node within module 10, which Control connected to and provide control signal to switches as shown in Fig. 3B); and
a first integrated circuit terminal (implemented IC on module 10, within IC includes a terminal) connected to the first external connection terminal, which is connected to the power inductor (inductor 322 of Perreault ); and
a second integrated circuit terminal (implemented IC on module 10, where a node of the IC connect to a terminal of module 10) and connected to the second external connection terminal that is configured an input terminal for receiving the digital control signal (a control terminal of on Fig. 11, which connects to the terminal on module 10 to receive control signal (e.g. digital signal).
Regarding claim 15:
The combination further discloses the tracker module according to Claim 14, wherein the digital control signal corresponds to an envelope signal (the applicant does not specified the envelope signal, thus the digital control signal inherently corresponds to an envelope signal, Col. 11, envelope tracking)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 16-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843