DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 05/07/2026 amended claims 1 and 5. Claims 1-8 are pending and rejected.
Objection/s to the Application, Drawings and Claims
The filing on 05/07/2026 appropriately amended the title; hence the objections to the title made in the last office action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakabayashi (US 20200159093 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wakabayashi teaches projector (1; Fig. 1-13) comprising: an image formation apparatus (108R/B/G) that forms image light from illumination light that enters the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G); a projection optical apparatus (112) comprising one or more lenses that projects the image light formed by the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G); an optical path shifter (2/3) that is disposed in an optical path of the image light between the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G) and the projection optical apparatus (112) and shifts the optical path of the image light with respect to a reference position where the image light is projected; a vibration detection sensor (7/72) disposed at a front end of the projection optical apparatus (112; Fig. 1) that detects vibration that affects the position where the projection optical apparatus (112) projects the image light; and a control apparatus (120, 121) that controls the optical path shifter (2/3), wherein the control apparatus (120, 121; Fig. 11 and 12) acquires a result of detection performed by the vibration detection sensor (7/72; Fig. 11; [0063]), generates a vibration waveform (V) having a phase opposite a phase of a waveform of the vibration (T) based on the acquired detection result (Fig. 9), generates a drive waveform (DS) that approximates to the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase (Fig. 10; [0058], [0062], [0067], [0072], [0074]), and drives the optical path shifter (2/3) based on the generated drive waveform (DS; [0054], [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Wakabayashi teaches a control apparatus (120, 121) that controls an optical path shifter (2/3) of a projector (1) including an image formation apparatus (108R/B/G) comprising at least one light modulation module that forms image light from illumination light that enters the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G), a projection optical apparatus (112) comprising one or more lenses that projects the image light formed by the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G), the optical path shifter (2/3) disposed in an optical path of the image light between the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G) and the projection optical apparatus (112) and shifting the optical path of the image light with respect to a reference position where the image light is projected, and a vibration detection sensor (7/72) disposed at a front end of the projection optical apparatus that detects vibration that affects the position where the projection optical apparatus (112) projects the image light, wherein the control apparatus (120, 121; Fig. 11 and 12) acquires a result of detection performed by the vibration detection sensor (7/72; Fig. 11; [0063]), generates a vibration waveform (V) having a phase opposite a phase of a waveform of the vibration (T) based on the acquired detection result, generates a drive waveform (DS) that approximates to the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase (Fig. 10; [0058], [0062], [0067], [0072], [0074]), and drives the optical path shifter (2/3) based on the generated drive waveform (DS; [0054], [0055]).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Wakabayashi further teaches the drive waveform (DS) is a trapezoidal waveform ([0059]), a top portion of the trapezoidal waveform approximates to an amount of displacement (V1) of the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase and corresponding to the top portion (Fig. 10), and a bottom portion of the trapezoidal waveform approximates to an amount of displacement (V1) of the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase and corresponding to the bottom portion (Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi.
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Wakabayashi further teaches wherein when a frequency of swing motion of the image light projected by the projection optical apparatus (112) is at a predetermined frequency, the control apparatus (120, 121)/apparatus generates the drive waveform (DS) that approximates to the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase ([0054]).
Wakabayahsi does not teach the predetermined frequency to be 40Hz or lower.
It is well known in the art that the common frame rates are 24FPS, 25FPS, 30FPS, 50FPS, 60FPS, 120FPS, 144FPS, etc..
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have the frequency of the swing motion to match the frame rate; because it is a matter of common sense. A mismatch between the frequency of the swing motion and the frame rate would cause unpleasant viewing experience.
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi in view of Takada (US 20230089186 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Wakabayashi further teaches a potential of the top portion (V2) is set to be higher than the amount of displacement (V1) of the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase and corresponding to the top portion (ST6; Fig. 12).
Wakabayashi does not explicitly teach a potential of the bottom portion is set to be lower than the amount of displacement (V1) of the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase and corresponding to the bottom portion.
Takada teaches having the displacement of the optical path shifter oscillating from negative displacement (D1) to positive displacement (D2) in the displacement waveform (Fig. 8) and the drive signal oscillates from negative current/voltage (A1) to positive current/voltage (A2) of the drive waveform (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to modify Wakabayashi with Tanada such that the drive signal oscillates from negative current/voltage (A1) to positive current/voltage (A2) of the drive waveform with increasing gain of the signal resulting in potential of the bottom portion being set to be lower than the amount of displacement of the vibration waveform having the opposite phase and corresponding to the bottom portion; because it allows better management of the unwanted resonance frequency to “suppress degradation of image quality” ([0140] of Tanada).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been fully considered but are found not persuasive; hence the rejection/s of all pending claims are maintained.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, applicant/s argue, “[c]laim 1 affirmatively recites the physical location of the claimed vibration detection sensor at the front end of the projection optical apparatus, which physically excludes the Wakabayashi internal sensor configuration” (Remarks; p. 8).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended claim 1 recites “a vibration detection sensor disposed at a front end of the projection optical apparatus.” The claim language of the claim 1 does not exclude the internal sensor configuration of Wakabayashi as asserted by the applicant/s. The above claim language only limits the location of the sensor in relation to the projection optical apparatus and nothing else. Furthermore, the neither the claim nor the specification defines the “front end” of the projection optical apparatus; hence for the purpose of examination the “front end” of the apparatus is interpreted as location in front of the projection optical apparatus (112) when view from the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882