DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Objection/s to the Specification
The title of the invention, “PROJECTOR AND CONTROL APPARATUS,” is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wakabayashi (US 20200159093 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wakabayashi teaches projector (1; Fig. 1-13) comprising: an image formation apparatus (108R/B/G) that forms image light from illumination light that enters the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G); a projection optical apparatus (112) that projects the image light formed by the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G); an optical path shifter (2/3) that is disposed in an optical path of the image light between the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G) and the projection optical apparatus (112) and shifts the optical path of the image light with respect to a reference position where the image light is projected; a vibration detection sensor (7/72) that detects vibration that affects the position where the projection optical apparatus (112) projects the image light; and a control section (120, 121) that controls the optical path shifter (2/3), wherein the control section (120, 121; Fig. 11 and 12) acquires a result of detection performed by the vibration detection sensor (7/72; Fig. 11; [0063]), generates a vibration waveform (V) having a phase opposite a phase of a waveform of the vibration (T) based on the acquired detection result (Fig. 9), generates a drive waveform (DS) that approximates to the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase (Fig. 10; [0058], [0062], [0067], [0072], [0074]), and drives the optical path shifter (2/3) based on the generated drive waveform (DS; [0054], [0055]).
Regarding claim 5, Wakabayashi teaches a control apparatus (120, 121) that controls an optical path shifter (2/3) of a projector (1) including an image formation apparatus (108R/B/G) that forms image light from illumination light that enters the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G), a projection optical apparatus (112) that projects the image light formed by the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G), the optical path shifter (2/3) disposed in an optical path of the image light between the image formation apparatus (108R/B/G) and the projection optical apparatus (112) and shifting the optical path of the image light with respect to a reference position where the image light is projected, and a vibration detection sensor (7/72) that detects vibration that affects the position where the projection optical apparatus (112) projects the image light, wherein the control apparatus (120, 121; Fig. 11 and 12) acquires a result of detection performed by the vibration detection sensor (7/72; Fig. 11; [0063]), generates a vibration waveform (V) having a phase opposite a phase of a waveform of the vibration (T) based on the acquired detection result, generates a drive waveform (DS) that approximates to the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase (Fig. 10; [0058], [0062], [0067], [0072], [0074]), and drives the optical path shifter (2/3) based on the generated drive waveform (DS; [0054], [0055]).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Wakabayashi further teaches the drive waveform (DS) is a trapezoidal waveform ([0059]), a top portion of the trapezoidal waveform approximates to an amount of displacement (V1) of the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase and corresponding to the top portion (Fig. 10), and a bottom portion of the trapezoidal waveform approximates to an amount of displacement (V1) of the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase and corresponding to the bottom portion (Fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi.
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Wakabayashi further teaches wherein when a frequency of swing motion of the image light projected by the projection optical apparatus (112) is at a predetermined frequency, the control section (120, 121)/apparatus generates the drive waveform (DS) that approximates to the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase ([0054]).
Wakabayahsi does not teach the predetermined frequency to be 40Hz or lower.
It is well known in the art that the common frame rates are 24FPS, 25FPS, 30FPS, 50FPS, 60FPS, 120FPS, 144FPS, etc..
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to have the frequency of the swing motion to match the frame rate; because it is a matter of common sense. A mismatch between the frequency of the swing motion and the frame rate would cause unpleasant viewing experience.
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi in view of Takada (US 20230089186 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Wakabayashi further teaches a potential of the top portion (V2) is set to be higher than the amount of displacement (V1) of the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase and corresponding to the top portion (ST6; Fig. 12).
Wakabayashi does not explicitly teach a potential of the bottom portion is set to be lower than the amount of displacement (V1) of the vibration waveform (V) having the opposite phase and corresponding to the bottom portion.
Takada teaches having the displacement of the optical path shifter oscillating from negative displacement (D1) to positive displacement (D2) in the displacement waveform (Fig. 8) and the drive signal oscillates from negative current/voltage (A1) to positive current/voltage (A2) of the drive waveform (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to modify Wakabayashi with Tanada such that the drive signal oscillates from negative current/voltage (A1) to positive current/voltage (A2) of the drive waveform with increasing gain of the signal resulting in potential of the bottom portion being set to be lower than the amount of displacement of the vibration waveform having the opposite phase and corresponding to the bottom portion; because it allows better management of the unwanted resonance frequency to “suppress degradation of image quality” ([0140] of Tanada).
Conclusion
The prior art references cited in PTO-892 are made of record and considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Patent document, US 20160091773 A1, discloses drive waveform of an optical path shifter similar to the claimed invention.
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882