DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to: Application filed 27 Mar. 2024
Claims 1-20 are pending in this case. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 03/27/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haramati et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0157978 A1; Filed: Feb. 12, 2020) (hereinafter “Haramati”).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 11, Haramati disclose a computing system, comprising:
a processor (0010-0011); and
a memory coupled to the processor, the memory storing computer-executable
instructions that, when executed by the processor, configure the processor to (0010-0011):
determine that a time-limited action is active (0682-0683);
detect a trigger condition representing a change in interaction focus (0190; 0350; 0416);
in response to detecting the trigger condition:
generate a notification indicating remaining time associated with
the time-limited action (0292; 0452);
provide the notification to an output interface associated with a
computing device (0314-0315).
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 12, Haramati disclose the computing system of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein determining that the time-limited action is active comprises determining that a user is currently interacting with a user interface and wherein the trigger condition is detected based on interactions with the user interface (0292; 0452).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 13, Haramati disclose the computing system of claims 2 and 12 respectively, wherein detecting the trigger condition comprises determining that the user has:
moved a cursor from one text field to another text field (0354; 0408);
selected or de-selected a checkbox (0519);
selected an item from a drop-down menu (0339-0340; 0374; 0378);
scrolled past a user interface (UI) element such that the UI element moves out of
view (0280); or
paused for greater than a threshold length of time.
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 14, Haramati disclose the computing system of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the processor to obtain a first scheduled notification of the remaining time associated with the time-limited action, wherein generating the notification comprises modifying the first scheduled notification to indicate the remaining time at a time of detecting the trigger condition (0292; 0452).
Regarding dependent claims 5 and 15, Haramati disclose the computing system of claims 4 and 14 respectively, wherein the first scheduled notification is a notification that is scheduled to be presented via a user interface at regular intervals starting from a time when the user first initiated the time-limited action (0545; 0692-0693).
Regarding dependent claims 6 and 16, Haramati disclose the computing system of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the processor to determine that a predetermined amount of time has elapsed since start of the time-limited action and wherein the notification is generated in response to determining that the predetermined amount of time has elapsed and detecting the trigger condition (0682-0683).
Regarding dependent claims 7 and 17, Haramati disclose the computing system of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein the notification comprises an audible reminder of the remaining time and wherein providing the notification comprises inserting the notification in speech output of a screen reader program at a point corresponding to a time of detecting the trigger condition (0332; 01204).
Regarding dependent claims 8 and 18, Haramati disclose the computing system of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the processor to:
determine, based on a predictive model, that the interaction focus will not change
prior to expiry of a time limit associated with the time-limited action (0544-0545; 0687)); and
in response to determining that the interaction focus will not change, force an
interrupt of a timer for the time-limited action (0544-0545; 0687-0692).
Regarding dependent claims 9 and 19, Haramati disclose the computing system of claims 8 and 11 respectively, wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the processor to, in response to determining that the interaction focus will not change, pause a count by the timer or add additional time to the timer (0687).
Regarding dependent claims 10 and 20, Haramati disclose the computing system of claims 1 and 11 respectively, wherein the instructions, when executed, further configure the processor to modify a schedule of notifications for the time-limited action responsive to providing the notification to the output interface (0314-0315; 0545; 0692-0693).
NOTE
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/James J Debrow/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2174
571-272-5768