DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
2. The response filed on July 21, 2026 has been entered and made of record.
3. Claims 1, 6, 8-9, 11, 15-17 and 19-20 have been amended.
4. Claims 5, 7, 10 and 18 are cancelled.
5. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-17 and 19-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
6. The applicant's arguments filed on July 21, 2026 regarding claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-17 and 19-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. A response is considered necessary for applicant’s arguments/remarks since the cited references, Karaki in combination with Dimou will continue to be used to meet amended limitations.
Regarding claims 1 and 11, applicant argued that, Karaki and Dimou do not disclose the claim feature “obtain an information element for a first cell, the information element comprising at least one of a discontinuous transmission(DTX) pattern configuration or a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern configuration, the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration includes at least one of (i) a spatial adaptation flag indicating whether antenna muting is enabled for the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration or (ii) a power adaptation flag indicating whether physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) power adaptation is enabled for the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration” (Applicant, page 7-8, Remarks Made in an Amendment dated July 21, 2026).
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument.
A clear interpretation of the limitation (i.e. the information element comprising at least one of a discontinuous transmission(DTX) pattern configuration or a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern configuration, the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration includes at least one of (i) a spatial adaptation flag indicating whether antenna muting is enabled for the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration or (ii) a power adaptation flag indicating whether physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) power adaptation is enabled for the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration) is that which states the following alternatives:
the information element comprising at least one of:
(a) a discontinuous transmission(DTX) pattern configuration or
(b) a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern configuration, and
the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration includes at least one of:
(i) a spatial adaptation flag indicating whether antenna muting is enabled for the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration or
(ii) a power adaptation flag indicating whether physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) power adaptation is enabled for the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration.
According to the claim structure (according to claim language “or”, the claim requires only one alternative and in a case that the cited prior art has been disclosed the teaching of only one from the choice, the claim limitation(s) is/are still met. Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
DIMOU et al. (US 2024/0114588 A1):
As a support of evidence, Dimou discloses:
“the network entity 510 may generate the indication of a transmit inactivity period. During the transmit inactivity period, the network entity 510 may also adjust the transmit power of the network entity 510. This may include, for example, reducing power of the network entity 510 for transmitting during the transmit inactivity period. The reduction of the power for transmitting may be part of entering an inactive state or a sleep state. By contrast, an active state or awake state may include a state of processing (e.g., decoding and/or demodulating) downlink signals, uplink signals, and/or channels. The amount of power that the network entity 510 consumes during an awake state may scale (increase or decrease) based at least in part on a quantity of component carriers (CCs), resource utilization, a quantity of antenna ports, a quantity of spatial layers, and/or a quantity of antenna elements” (Fig. 5, paragraph[0090]).
“According to various aspects described herein, network entity 910 may transmit a first message to network entity 930, as shown by reference number 935. The first message may indicate a DRX timing of a DRX mode or a DTX timing of a DTX mode of network entity 910. The DRX timing may indicate a pattern (e.g., periodicity) for a DRX mode, such as when the network entity 930 is in a receive inactivity state for a receive inactivity period of the DRX mode and when the network entity 930 is in a receive activity state (on duration) for a receive activity period of a DRX mode. The pattern or periodicity may include an interval of activity periods between inactivity periods, or a length of a cycle. The DTX timing may indicate a pattern (e.g., periodicity) for a DRX mode, such as when the network entity 930 is in a transmit inactivity state (on duration) for a transmit inactivity period of a DTX mode and when the network entity 930 is in a transmit activity state for a transmit activity period of the DTX mode. The first message may be a modification of an existing information element (IE) for served cells that is transmitted by network entity 910 or a message specific to indicating a DRX timing or a DTX timing. The first message may indicate a semi-persistent pattern for DTX, a dynamic pattern for DTX, a semi-persistent pattern for DRX, and/or a dynamic pattern for DRX. Semi-persistent may include semi-static or periodic” (Fig. 9, paragraph[0110]).
“As shown by reference number 940, network entity 910 may start a DRX mode according to the DRX timing and/or a DTX mode according to the DTX timing. Using the DRX mode or the DTX mode may include reducing power to radio components as described in connection with FIG. 5” (Fig. 9, paragraph[0114]).
Accordingly, the network entity 910 transmits the information elements for served cells indicating a DTX/DRX configuration. The DTX/DRX configuration includes the DTX/DRX mode with reducing power to radio components (power adaptation flag/spatial adaptation flag). The DTX/DRX mode with reducing power to radio components (power adaptation flag/spatial adaptation flag) indicates whether adjusting transmit power is enabled during inactivity period and active period. More specifically, the amount of power that the network entity consumes during an awake state/inactivity state may scale (increase or decrease) based at least in part on a quantity of component carriers (CCs), resource utilization, a quantity of antenna ports, a quantity of spatial layers, and/or a quantity of antenna elements.
KARAKI et al. (US 2024/0214926 A1):
As a support of evidence, Karaki discloses:
“In an embodiment, an indication is used (e.g. a cause value), indicating that an action/request from a source RAN node to a target RAN node is initiated for energy saving reasons (e.g. to increase energy efficiency), and the said indication can be complemented by extra information pertaining to at least one intended/performed action associated to energy efficiency. Those actions may include an indication related to: reducing/transferring load from the source node, reducing capacity of the source node, by for example: (a) adjustments in the sleep mode state, i.e. the source node indicates activation of deeper sleep mode at the cost of longer activation time, (b) reducing the number of processing resources, (c) adjusting DTX cycle” (paragraph[0056]).
“As illustrated in FIG. 9, a first network node 901 can send a first coordination message 911 to a second network node 902 to indicate to the second network node that one or more cell(s), SSB beam(s) and/or CSI-RS beam(s) served by the first network node is (is being/will be) modified in coverage due to an energy savings reason. The modification can result in that, for one or more cells, SSB beams, and/or CSI-RS beams: (a) the coverage is partially reduced; (b) the coverage is completely removed; (c) the coverage is partially restored; (d) the coverage is completely restored; (e) the coverage is expanded; (f) cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) are split; (g) cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) are merged; (h) the shape of cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) is modified. The modifications taken by the first network node can be done in one step or in multiple steps (e.g., gradually)” (paragraph[0190]).
“The first coordination message can contain at least one of the following indications of an energy savings action (applied to cells, SSB beams, and/or CSI-RS beams) associated to the first network node: A modification (e.g., a reduction or an increase) of the downlink transmission power of at least physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared data channel. Non-limiting examples of such channels comprise PDCCH, ePDCCH, PDSCH, etc. An antenna tilt adjustment associated to at least a serving cell of the first network node” (paragraphs [0211], [0229],[0230]).
Accordingly, the first coordination message contains indications (flags) of an energy saving actions for the first cell. The indication (flag) is used to indicate that power adaptation/spatial adaptation is enabled for DTX/DRX configuration. More specifically, power adaptation/spatial adaptation includes a modification (a reduction or an increase) of the downlink transmission power of a physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) and a modification (adjusting antenna muting) of coverage.
It is clear that Dimou in combination with Karaki discloses amended claim features.
Therefore, in view of above, while Applicant’s remarks and arguments have been considered, they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KARAKI et al. (US 2024/0214926 A1), hereinafter “Karaki” in view of DIMOU et al. (US 2024/0114588 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application number 63/377,591 field on September 29, 2022), hereinafter “Dimou”.
Regarding claim 1, Karaki discloses an apparatus (Figs. 2, 9, signaling diagram and apparatus according to coordination between network nodes) comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 8 implemented using network node apparatus with at least one processor and at least one memory), cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain an information element for a first cell (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], configuration update and/or coordination message), the information element comprising at least one of a discontinuous transmission(DTX) pattern configuration or a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern configuration (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], indication related to: reducing capacity of the source node, by for example: (b) reducing the number of processing resources, (c) adjusting DTX cycle), the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration includes at least one of (i) a spatial adaptation flag indicating whether antenna muting is enabled for the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration or (ii) a power adaptation flag indicating whether physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) power adaptation is enabled for the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], modification (e.g., a reduction or an increase) of the downlink transmission power of at least physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared data channel); and
send, to a network entity (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0088], [0118], [0256], exchange/update of energy efficiency policies), the information element for the first cell (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0088], [0118], [0256], coordination message can be implemented as a “NG-RAN NODE configuration UPDATE”).
[Note: Karaki teaches the first coordination message contains indications (flags) of an energy saving actions for the first cell. The indication (flag) is used to indicate that power adaptation/spatial adaptation is enabled for DTX/DRX configuration. More specifically, power adaptation/spatial adaptation includes a modification (a reduction or an increase) of the downlink transmission power of a physical downlink shared data channel (PDSCH) and a modification (adjusting antenna muting) of coverage].
While Karaki implicitly refers to “information element comprising at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern”, Dimou from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses Dimou from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses information element (Figs. 5, 9, paragraphs [0085], [0090], [0110], [0111], [0114], IE for served cells that is transmitted by network entity) comprising at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern ((Figs. 5, 9, paragraphs [0085], [0090], [0110], [0111], [0114], DTX/DRX configuration including the DTX/DRX mode).
[Note: Dimou teaches the network entity 910 transmits the information elements for served cells indicating a DTX/DRX configuration. The DTX/DRX configuration includes the DTX/DRX mode with reducing power to radio components (power adaptation flag/spatial adaptation flag). The DTX/DRX mode with reducing power to radio components (power adaptation flag/spatial adaptation flag) indicates whether adjusting transmit power is enabled during inactivity period and active period. More specifically, the amount of power that the network entity consumes during an awake state/inactivity state may scale (increase or decrease) based at least in part on a quantity of component carriers (CCs), resource utilization, a quantity of antenna ports, a quantity of spatial layers, and/or a quantity of antenna elements].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “information element comprising at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern” as taught by Dimou, in the system of Karaki, so that it would provide messaging for network entity discontinuous reception or discontinuous transmission relate to further improvements in LTE, NR, and other radio access technologies as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase (Dimou, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Karaki discloses the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the network entity, a response indicating that a configuration for a second cell has been updated or not based on the information element for the first cell (paragraphs [0192]-[0193], [0195], the second network node can compare the improvements in energy savings at the first node with the possible deterioration of its own energy savings when applying a configuration that compensates for the first node configuration; such evaluation may lead to a decision at the second node to either send a reply message indicating that the configuration at the first network node will have a negative impact on performance at the second network node or send a reply message indicating that the configuration at the first network node will not have a negative impact on the performance at the second network node).
Regarding claim 3, Karaki discloses the apparatus comprises a distributed unit of the first cell in a first radio access network node and the network entity comprises a centralized unit in the first radio access network node (Fig.10, paragraph [0272], the first network node is a distributed unit (DU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-DU), while the second network node is a centralized unit (CU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU or a gNB-CU-CP)).
Regarding claim 4, Karaki discloses the apparatus comprises a centralized unit for a distributed unit of the first cell in a first radio access network node, and wherein the network entity comprises a centralized unit for a distributed unit of a second cell in a second radio access network node (Fig.10, paragraph [0272], the first network node is a distributed unit (DU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-DU), while the second network node is a centralized unit (CU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU or a gNB-CU-CP); In this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a F1 interface of the NG-RAN system).
Regarding claim 6, Karaki in view of Dimou disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Dimou further discloses the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern configuration or the discontinuous reception pattern configuration comprises at least one of: an identifier of a discontinuous transmission pattern; an identifier of a discontinuous reception pattern; a discontinuous transmission cycle periodicity; a discontinuous reception cycle periodicity; a discontinuous transmission on-duration time period; a discontinuous reception on-duration time period; a time offset for the discontinuous transmission pattern; a time offset for the discontinuous reception pattern (Fig.9, paragraphs [0110]-[0111], parameters including periodicity, interval of activity periods, indicated pattern in DRX/DTX mode, pattern including length of the cycle, slot offset of a cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern configuration or the discontinuous reception pattern configuration comprises at least one of: an identifier of a discontinuous transmission pattern; an identifier of a discontinuous reception pattern; a discontinuous transmission cycle periodicity; a discontinuous reception cycle periodicity; a discontinuous transmission on-duration time period; a discontinuous reception on-duration time period; a time offset for the discontinuous transmission pattern; a time offset for the discontinuous reception pattern” as taught by Dimou, in the system of Karaki, so that it would provide messaging for network entity discontinuous reception or discontinuous transmission relate to further improvements in LTE, NR, and other radio access technologies as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase (Dimou, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 8, Karaki discloses the information element comprises information related to the spatial adaptation flag, the information related to the spatial adaptation flag indicating a number of transceivers or antenna elements associated with the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern configuration and the discontinuous reception pattern configuration (paragraphs [0056], [0059], [0211], [0229], [0230], [0238], [0241], [0243], [0244], Requesting an update in the capacity of at least one of the cells/beams of the target node, by for example: adjustments in the sleep mode state, e.g. requesting the target node to reduce sleep mode to support offloading from source node; modifying the number of processing resources (e.g., increasing number of processing resources to support offloading from source node); and/or adjusting DTX cycle (e.g., reduce DTX cycle to support offloading from source node)).
Regarding claim 9, Karaki discloses the information element comprises information related to the spatial adaptation flag, the information related to the spatial adaptation flag comprising a range of at least one transceiver or at least one antenna element associated with the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern configuration and the discontinuous reception pattern configuration (paragraphs [0056], [0059], [0211], [0229], [0230], [0238], [0241], [0243], [0244], the energy savings action requested by the first network node to the second network node with the information included in the first coordination message may indicate to modify coverage and/or capacity configuration of at least one cell, SSB beam, and/or CSI-RS beam of the second network node; the requested action can be one or more in the group of:
modifying antenna configuration for one or more cells of the second network node, such as scaling/changing the active array size, modifying the antenna tilt angle (horizontal and/or vertical direction),
modifying transmission power (e.g., increasing transmission power to increase coverage),
modifying (e.g., a reducing or increasing) the downlink transmission power of at least physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared data channel).
Regarding claim 11, Karaki discloses an apparatus (Figs. 2, 9, signaling diagram and apparatus according to coordination between network nodes) comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 8 implemented using network node apparatus with at least one processor and at least one memory), cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a network entity, an information element for a first cell (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], configuration update and/or coordination message), the information element comprising at least one of a discontinuous transmission(DTX) pattern configuration or a discontinuous reception (DRX) pattern configuration (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], indication related to: reducing capacity of the source node, by for example: (b) reducing the number of processing resources, (c) adjusting DTX cycle), the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration includes at least one of (i) a spatial adaptation flag indicating whether antenna muting is enabled for the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration or (ii) a power adaptation flag indicating whether physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) power adaptation is enabled for the at least one of the DTX pattern configuration or the DRX pattern configuration (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], modification (e.g., a reduction or an increase) of the downlink transmission power of at least physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared data channel); and
determine whether to update a configuration for the second cell (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0192]-[0193], [0195], evaluation may lead to a decision at the second node to either send a reply message indicating that the configuration at the first network node will have a negative impact on performance at the second network node or send a reply message indicating that the configuration at the first network node will not have a negative impact on the performance at the second network node) based on the information element for the first cell (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0192]-[0193], [0195], the second network node can compare the improvements in energy savings at the first node with the possible deterioration of its own energy savings when applying a configuration that compensates for the first node configuration).
While Karaki implicitly refers to “information element comprising at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern”, Dimou from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses Dimou from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses information element (Figs. 5, 9, paragraphs [0085], [0090], [0110], [0111], [0114], IE for served cells that is transmitted by network entity) comprising at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern ((Figs. 5, 9, paragraphs [0085], [0090], [0110], [0111], [0114], DTX/DRX configuration including the DTX/DRX mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “information element comprising at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern” as taught by Dimou, in the system of Karaki, so that it would provide messaging for network entity discontinuous reception or discontinuous transmission relate to further improvements in LTE, NR, and other radio access technologies as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase (Dimou, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, Karaki discloses the network entity comprises a distributed unit of the first cell in a first radio access network node and apparatus comprises a centralized unit in the first radio access network node, wherein the centralized unit is configured to forward the information element to a distributed unit of the second cell in the first radio access network node (Fig. 12, paragraphs [0003], [0275], the first network node is a first centralized unit (CU) of a first NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU1), while the second network node is a second centralized unit (CU) of a second NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU2); in this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a Xn interface of the NG-RAN system).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, Karaki in view of Dimou disclose the apparatus according to claim 11.
Dimou further discloses updating the configuration for the second cell comprises at least one of: changing a discontinuous transmission pattern of the second cell to minimize interference with the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern or the discontinuous reception pattern of the first cell by selecting the discontinuous transmission pattern of the second cell to have active transmission periods when the first cell has inactive periods or is using a lower power level; changing a discontinuous reception pattern of the second cell to minimize interference with the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern and the discontinuous reception pattern of the first cell by selecting the discontinuous reception pattern of the second cell to have active reception periods when the first cell has inactive periods or is using a lower power level (Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [0107], [0119]-[0120], updating configuration comprises conserving power and signaling resources; UEs served by network entity 815 may be scheduled to transmit with a higher transmit power during these slots in anticipation of interference from communications involving network entity 810. However, network entity 810 is entering a DTX mode and a DRX mode during these slots).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 9.
Conclusion
9. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SITHU KO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414