DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claims status
3. This office action is a response to an application filed on May 08, 2024 in which claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Drawings
4. The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on March 27, 2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statements submitted on June 19, 2024, and November 21, 2024.
Claim Objections (minor informalities)
6. Claims 3 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites: “… wherein the apparatus comprises a distributed unit of the first cell in a first radio access network node and the network entity comprises a centralized unit in the first radio access network node”.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites: “… wherein the apparatus comprises a distributed unit of the first cell in a first radio access network node and the network entity comprises a centralized unit in the first radio access network node”.
Claims 3 and 5 depend on claim 1 and it appears that claim 5 is the redundant of claim 3. Further clarification is requested to understand what applicant is trying to accomplish. For the purpose of examinations, the examiner will interpret the claims as best understood. Applicant is requested and required to appropriately address and clarify as applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KARAKI et al. (US 2024/0214926 A1), hereinafter “Karaki” in view of DIMOU et al. (US 2024/0114588 A1; support for the cited paragraphs sporadically through the disclosure of provisional application number 63/377,591 field on September 29, 2022), hereinafter “Dimou”.
Regarding claim 1, Karaki discloses an apparatus (Figs. 2, 9, signaling diagram and apparatus according to coordination between network nodes) comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 8 implemented using network node apparatus with at least one processor and at least one memory), cause the apparatus at least to:
obtain an information element for a first cell (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], configuration update and/or coordination message), the information element comprising i) information related to at least one of spatial adaptation configuration (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], antenna tilt adjustment associated to at least a serving cell) and power adaptation configuration (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], modification (e.g., a reduction or an increase) of the downlink transmission power of at least physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared data channel) and ii) information describing at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], indication related to: reducing capacity of the source node, by for example: (b) reducing the number of processing resources, (c) adjusting DTX cycle); and
send, to a network entity (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0088], [0118], [0256], exchange/update of energy efficiency policies), the information element for the first cell (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0088], [0118], [0256], coordination message can be implemented as a “NG-RAN NODE configuration UPDATE”).
[Note: KARAKI et al. (US 2024/0214926 A1):
“FIG. 9 illustrates a message flow according to embodiment. As illustrated in FIG. 9 , a first network node 901 can send a first coordination message 911 to a second network node 902 to indicate to the second network node that one or more cell(s), SSB beam(s) and/or CSI-RS beam(s) served by the first network node is (is being/will be) modified in coverage due to an energy savings reason. The modification can result in that, for one or more cells, SSB beams, and/or CSI-RS beams: (a) the coverage is partially reduced; (b) the coverage is completely removed; (c) the coverage is partially restored; (d) the coverage is completely restored; (e) the coverage is expanded; (f) cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) are split; (g) cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) are merged; (h) the shape of cell(s)/SSB beam(s)/CSI-RS beam(s) is modified. The modifications taken by the first network node can be done in one step or in multiple steps (e.g., gradually)” (paragraph [0190]);
“The first coordination message can contain at least one of the following indications of an energy savings action (applied to cells, SSB beams, and/or CSI-RS beams) associated to the first network node: A modification (e.g., a reduction or an increase) of the downlink transmission power of at least physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared data channel. Non-limiting examples of such channels comprise PDCCH, ePDCCH, PDSCH, etc. An antenna tilt adjustment associated to at least a serving cell of the first network node” (paragraphs [0211], [0229], [0230]);
“In an embodiment, an indication is used (e.g. a cause value), indicating that an action/request from a source RAN node to a target RAN node is initiated for energy saving reasons (e.g. to increase energy efficiency), and the said indication can be complemented by extra information pertaining to at least one intended/performed action associated to energy efficiency. Those actions may include an indication related to: reducing/transferring load from the source node, reducing capacity of the source node, by for example: (a) adjustments in the sleep mode state, i.e. the source node indicates activation of deeper sleep mode at the cost of longer activation time, (b) reducing the number of processing resources, (c) adjusting DTX cycle” (paragraphs [0211], [0229], [0230])
“A gNB serving a cell that the gNB has deactivated in order to reduce energy consumption can inform a neighboring node of the deactivation by means of an NG-RAN node Configuration Update procedure over the Xn interface, as illustrated in FIG. 2 and described in 3GPP TS 38.423 v16.5.0. Additionally, a gNB node can request another gNB to switch on/off a cell by means of Cell Activation procedure over Xn interface” (paragraph [0118]);
“the first coordination message can be implemented as a “NG-RAN NODE configuration UPDATE” XnAP message and the “second coordination message” can be implemented as either “NG-RAN NODE configuration UPDATE ACKNOWLEDGE” XnAP message or “NG-RAN NODE configuration UPDATE FAILURE” XnAP message” (paragraph [0256])].
While Karaki implicitly refers to “information describing at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern” (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], an indication is used (e.g. a cause value), indicating that an action/request from a source RAN node to a target RAN node is initiated for energy saving reasons (e.g. to increase energy efficiency), and the said indication can be complemented by extra information pertaining to at least one intended/performed action associated to energy efficiency; those actions may include an indication related to: reducing/transferring load from the source node, reducing capacity of the source node, by for example: (a) adjustments in the sleep mode state, i.e. the source node indicates activation of deeper sleep mode at the cost of longer activation time, (b) reducing the number of processing resources, (c) adjusting DTX cycle), Dimou from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses information describing (Figs. 5, 9, paragraphs [0085], [0090], [0110], [0111], [0114], DRX timing indicating a pattern (e.g. periodicity) for DRX mode) at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern (Figs. 5, 9, paragraphs [0085], [0090], [0110], [0111], [0114], pattern or periodicity may include an interval of activity periods between inactivity periods, or a length of a cycle) and a discontinuous reception pattern (Figs. 5, 9, paragraphs [0085], [0090], [0110], [0111], [0114], DRX timing including parameters such as a starting slot for the DRX mode and an ending slot for the DRX mode and Parameters may also include a starting slot offset of a cycle).
[Note: DIMOU et al. (US 2024/0114588 A1):
“According to various aspects described herein, network entity 910 may transmit a first message to network entity 930, as shown by reference number 935. The first message may indicate a DRX timing of a DRX mode or a DTX timing of a DTX mode of network entity 910. The DRX timing may indicate a pattern (e.g., periodicity) for a DRX mode, such as when the network entity 930 is in a receive inactivity state for a receive inactivity period of the DRX mode and when the network entity 930 is in a receive activity state (on duration) for a receive activity period of a DRX mode. The pattern or periodicity may include an interval of activity periods between inactivity periods, or a length of a cycle. The DTX timing may indicate a pattern (e.g., periodicity) for a DRX mode, such as when the network entity 930 is in a transmit inactivity state (on duration) for a transmit inactivity period of a DTX mode and when the network entity 930 is in a transmit activity state for a transmit activity period of the DTX mode. The first message may be a modification of an existing information element (IE) for served cells that is transmitted by network entity 910 or a message specific to indicating a DRX timing or a DTX timing. The first message may indicate a semi-persistent pattern for DTX, a dynamic pattern for DTX, a semi-persistent pattern for DRX, and/or a dynamic pattern for DRX. Semi-persistent may include semi-static or periodic. Network entity 910 may transmit the first message via RRC or L1 signaling” (paragraph [0110])
“In some aspects, the DRX timing may include parameters, such as a starting slot for the DRX mode and an ending slot for the DRX mode. The DTX timing may include parameters, such as a starting slot for a DTX mode and an ending slot for the DTX mode. The parameters may include a duration (e.g., quantity of slots, milliseconds (ms)) for the DRX mode or the DTX mode. The duration may indicate the ending slot. That is, given a starting slot and a duration, the ending slot may be determined (implicitly indicated). Parameters may also include a starting slot offset of a cycle” (paragraph [0111])
“As shown by reference number 940, network entity 910 may start a DRX mode according to the DRX timing and/or a DTX mode according to the DTX timing. Using the DRX mode or the DTX mode may include reducing power to radio components as described in connection with FIG. 5 . The network entity 910 may communicate based at least in part on the DRX timing or the DTX timing. For example, the network entity 910 may transmit communications before the starting slot for a DTX mode and refrain from transmitting until after the ending slot for the DTX mode. The network entity 910 may receive communications before the starting slot for the DRX mode and refrain from receiving until after the ending slot for the DRX mode” (paragraph [0114])];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “information describing at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern” as taught by Dimou, in the system of Karaki, so that it would provide messaging for network entity discontinuous reception or discontinuous transmission relate to further improvements in LTE, NR, and other radio access technologies as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase (Dimou, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, Karaki discloses the apparatus is further caused to: receive, from the network entity, a response indicating that a configuration for a second cell has been updated or not based on the information element for the first cell (paragraphs [0192]-[0193], [0195], the second network node can compare the improvements in energy savings at the first node with the possible deterioration of its own energy savings when applying a configuration that compensates for the first node configuration; such evaluation may lead to a decision at the second node to either send a reply message indicating that the configuration at the first network node will have a negative impact on performance at the second network node or send a reply message indicating that the configuration at the first network node will not have a negative impact on the performance at the second network node).
Regarding claim 3, Karaki discloses the apparatus comprises a distributed unit of the first cell in a first radio access network node and the network entity comprises a centralized unit in the first radio access network node (Fig.10, paragraph [0272], the first network node is a distributed unit (DU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-DU), while the second network node is a centralized unit (CU) of an NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU or a gNB-CU-CP)).
Regarding claim 4, Karaki discloses the apparatus comprises a centralized unit for a distributed unit of the first cell in a first radio access network node, and wherein the network entity comprises a centralized unit for a distributed unit of a second cell in a second radio access network node (Fig.12, paragraph [0275], the first network node is a first centralized unit (CU) of a first NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU1), while the second network node is a second centralized unit (CU) of a second NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU2); in this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a Xn interface of the NG-RAN system).
Regarding claim 5, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 6, Karaki in view of Dimou disclose the apparatus according to claim 1.
Dimou further discloses the information describing the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern and the discontinuous reception pattern comprises at least one of: an identifier of a discontinuous transmission pattern; an identifier of a discontinuous reception pattern; a discontinuous transmission cycle periodicity; a discontinuous reception cycle periodicity; a discontinuous transmission on-duration time period; a discontinuous reception on-duration time period; a time offset for the discontinuous transmission pattern; a time offset for the discontinuous reception pattern (Fig.9, paragraphs [0110]-[0111], parameters including periodicity, interval of activity periods, indicated pattern in DRX/DTX mode, pattern including length of the cycle, slot offset of a cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “the information describing the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern and the discontinuous reception pattern comprises at least one of: an identifier of a discontinuous transmission pattern; an identifier of a discontinuous reception pattern; a discontinuous transmission cycle periodicity; a discontinuous reception cycle periodicity; a discontinuous transmission on-duration time period; a discontinuous reception on-duration time period; a time offset for the discontinuous transmission pattern; a time offset for the discontinuous reception pattern” as taught by Dimou, in the system of Karaki, so that it would provide messaging for network entity discontinuous reception or discontinuous transmission relate to further improvements in LTE, NR, and other radio access technologies as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase (Dimou, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 7, Karaki discloses the information element comprises information related to the spatial adaptation configuration, the information related to the spatial adaptation configuration comprising an indication indicating whether a spatial adaptation pattern is used for the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern and the discontinuous reception pattern (paragraphs [0056], [0059], [0211], [0229], [0230], [0238], [0241], [0243], [0244], modifying the number of processing resources (e.g., increasing number of processing resources to support offloading from source node); and/or adjusting DTX cycle (e.g., reduce DTX cycle to support offloading from source node)).
Regarding claim 8, Karaki discloses the information element comprises information related to the spatial adaptation configuration, the information related to the spatial adaptation configuration indicating the number of transceivers and/or antenna elements associated with the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern and the discontinuous reception pattern (paragraphs [0056], [0059], [0211], [0229], [0230], [0238], [0241], [0243], [0244], modifying antenna configuration for one or more cells of the second network node, such as scaling/changing the active array size, modifying the antenna tilt angle (horizontal and/or vertical direction), modifying one or more physical layer configuration parameters for at least a cell of the second network node (e.g. Bandwidth adaptation, subcarrier spacing, TDD pattern), modifying transmission power (e.g., increasing transmission power to increase coverage), modifying (e.g., a reducing or increasing) the downlink transmission power of at least physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared data channel node); and/or adjusting DTX cycle (e.g., reduce DTX cycle to support offloading from source node)).
Regarding claim 9, Karaki discloses the information element comprises information related to the spatial adaptation configuration, the information related to the spatial adaptation configuration comprising a range of at least one transceiver and/or at least one antenna element associated with the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern and the discontinuous reception pattern (paragraphs [0056], [0059], [0211], [0229], [0230], [0238], [0241], [0243], [0244], the energy savings action requested by the first network node to the second network node with the information included in the first coordination message may indicate to modify coverage and/or capacity configuration of at least one cell, SSB beam, and/or CSI-RS beam of the second network node; the requested action can be one or more in the group of:
modifying antenna configuration for one or more cells of the second network node, such as scaling/changing the active array size, modifying the antenna tilt angle (horizontal and/or vertical direction),
modifying transmission power (e.g., increasing transmission power to increase coverage),
modifying (e.g., a reducing or increasing) the downlink transmission power of at least physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared data channel).
Regarding claim 10, Karaki discloses the information element comprises information related to the power adaptation configuration, the information related to the power adaptation configuration comprising an indication of whether a power reduction can be used for the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern and the discontinuous reception pattern (paragraphs [0056], [0059], [0211], [0229], [0230], [0238], [0241], [0243], [0244], the energy savings action requested by the first network node to the second network node with the information included in the first coordination message may indicate to modify coverage and/or capacity configuration of at least one cell, SSB beam, and/or CSI-RS beam of the second network node; the requested action can be one or more in the group of:
modifying antenna configuration for one or more cells of the second network node, such as scaling/changing the active array size, modifying the antenna tilt angle (horizontal and/or vertical direction),
modifying transmission power (e.g., increasing transmission power to increase coverage),
modifying (e.g., a reducing or increasing) the downlink transmission power of at least physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared data channel).
Regarding claim 11, Karaki discloses an apparatus (Figs. 2, 9) comprising at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig. 8 implemented using network node apparatus with at least one processor and at least one memory), cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a network entity (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], Figs. 2, 9, signaling diagram and apparatus according to coordination between network nodes), an information element for a first cell (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], configuration update and/or coordination message), the information element comprising i) information related to at least one of spatial adaptation configuration (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], antenna tilt adjustment associated to at least a serving cell of the first network node) and power adaptation configuration (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], modification (e.g., a reduction or an increase) of the downlink transmission power of at least physical downlink control channel or a physical downlink shared data channel) and ii) information describing at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], indication related to: reducing capacity of the source node, by for example: (b) reducing the number of processing resources, (c) adjusting DTX cycle); and
determine whether to update a configuration for the second cell (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0192]-[0193], [0195], evaluation may lead to a decision at the second node to either send a reply message indicating that the configuration at the first network node will have a negative impact on performance at the second network node or send a reply message indicating that the configuration at the first network node will not have a negative impact on the performance at the second network node) based on the information element for the first cell (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0192]-[0193], [0195], the second network node can compare the improvements in energy savings at the first node with the possible deterioration of its own energy savings when applying a configuration that compensates for the first node configuration).
While Karaki implicitly refers to “information describing at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern” (Figs. 2, 9, paragraphs [0056], [0190], [0211], [0229], [0230], an indication is used (e.g. a cause value), indicating that an action/request from a source RAN node to a target RAN node is initiated for energy saving reasons (e.g. to increase energy efficiency), and the said indication can be complemented by extra information pertaining to at least one intended/performed action associated to energy efficiency; those actions may include an indication related to: reducing/transferring load from the source node, reducing capacity of the source node, by for example: (a) adjustments in the sleep mode state, i.e. the source node indicates activation of deeper sleep mode at the cost of longer activation time, (b) reducing the number of processing resources, (c) adjusting DTX cycle), Dimou from the same or similar field of endeavor explicitly discloses information describing (Figs. 5, 9, paragraphs [0085], [0090], [0110], [0111], [0114], DRX timing indicating a pattern (e.g. periodicity) for DRX mode) at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern (Figs. 5, 9, paragraphs [0085], [0090], [0110], [0111], [0114], pattern or periodicity may include an interval of activity periods between inactivity periods, or a length of a cycle; DRX timing including parameters such as a starting slot for the DRX mode and an ending slot for the DRX mode and Parameters may also include a starting slot offset of a cycle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide “information describing at least one of a discontinuous transmission pattern and a discontinuous reception pattern” as taught by Dimou, in the system of Karaki, so that it would provide messaging for network entity discontinuous reception or discontinuous transmission relate to further improvements in LTE, NR, and other radio access technologies as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase (Dimou, paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, Karaki discloses the network entity comprises a distributed unit of the first cell in a first radio access network node and apparatus comprises a centralized unit in the first radio access network node, wherein the centralized unit is configured to forward the information element to a distributed unit of the second cell in the first radio access network node (Fig. 12, paragraphs [0003], [0275], the first network node is a first centralized unit (CU) of a first NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU1), while the second network node is a second centralized unit (CU) of a second NG-RAN node (e.g., a gNB-CU2); in this case, the first coordination message and the second coordination message can be exchanged using a Xn interface of the NG-RAN system).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, Karaki in view of Dimou disclose the apparatus according to claim 11.
Dimou further discloses updating the configuration for the second cell comprises at least one of: changing a discontinuous transmission pattern of the second cell to minimize interference with the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern and the discontinuous reception pattern of the first cell by selecting the discontinuous transmission pattern of the second cell to have active transmission periods when the first cell has inactive periods and/or is using a lower power level; changing a discontinuous reception pattern of the second cell to minimize interference with the at least one of the discontinuous transmission pattern and the discontinuous reception pattern of the first cell by selecting the discontinuous reception pattern of the second cell to have active reception periods when the first cell has inactive periods and/or is using a lower power level (Figs. 8-9, paragraphs [0107], [0119]-[0120], updating configuration comprises conserving power and signaling resources; UEs served by network entity 815 may be scheduled to transmit with a higher transmit power during these slots in anticipation of interference from communications involving network entity 810. However, network entity 810 is entering a DTX mode and a DRX mode during these slots).
Regarding claim 18, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 7.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is rejected based on the same reasoning as presented in the rejection of claim 9.
Conclusion
/SITHU KO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2414