Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN2024078940, filed on 02/28/2024.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: COOLING SYSTEMS INCLUDING STACKS WITH FINS INCLINED AT AN ANGLE RELATIVE TO PLATES OF THE STACK.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 13-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang (US 2005/0252640 - hereinafter, "Chang").
With respect to Claim 1, Chang teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 below)
A compute device (see Figure 3) including:
a heat-producing component (3);
a stack (4) thermally coupled (see Figure 2-3) to the heat-producing component (3), the stack (4) including:
a first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see Figure 5-6);
a second plate (another of (43) of the stack (4) of (43) adjacent to first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43)), see annotated Figure 9 below), the first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 below) and the second plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 below) defining a channel (44, see annotated Figure 9 below) therebetween;
a fin (46+47) extending from a surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 below) of the first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43)) into the channel (44), the fin (46+47) including:
a first end (see annotated Figure 9 below) adjacent to the surface (a surface of plate (43));
a second end (see annotated Figure 9 below) distal to the surface (a surface of plate (43));
a spine (see annotated Figure 9 below) extending between the first end (see annotated Figure 9 below) and the second end (see annotated Figure 9 below), the spine (see annotated Figure 9 below) inclined at an angle (see annotated Figure 9 below) relative to the surface (a surface of plate (43)); and
a fan (2) to direct air through the channel (44).
Figure I
With respect to Claim 2, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the channel (44) includes:
an inlet (41) adjacent to the fan (2); and
an outlet (42) adjacent to the fan (2), the first end (see annotated Figure 9 above) closer (in the aspect of first end being closer towards the inlet than the second end closer towards the outlet) to the inlet (41) than the outlet (42).
With respect to Claim 3, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see Figure 5-6) is adjacent to the fan (2) and the second plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) is distal to the fan (2).
With respect to Claim 4, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the fin (46+47) further includes an opening (see annotated Figure 9 above, the first opening portion and the second opening portion) at the second end (see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 5, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the opening (see annotated Figure 9 above, the first opening portion and the second opening portion) includes:
a first opening portion (see annotated Figure 9 above) in the fin (46+47); and
a second opening portion (see annotated Figure 9 above) on the surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 6, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the first end (see annotated Figure 9 above) is flush with the surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) and the second end (see annotated Figure 9 above) is displaced from the surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 7, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the fin (46+47) is a first fin (see annotated Figure 9 above), the channel (44) is a first channel (one of the channels (44), see annotated Figure 9 above) and the stack (4) further includes:
a third plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43) other than the first plate or the second plate, see annotated Figure 9 above), the first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see Figure 5-6) between the second plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) and the third plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above),
the third plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) and the first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see Figure 5-6) defining a second channel (an other of the channels (44), see annotated Figure 9 above); and
a second fin (an other fin (46+47), see annotated Figure 9 above) extending from the third plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) into the second channel (an other of the channels (44), see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 8, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the spine (see annotated Figure 9 above) extends linearly between the first end (see annotated Figure 9 above) and the second end (see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 9, Chang teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
A thermally conductive stack (4) comprising:
a first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see Figure 5-6);
a second plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43) adjacent to first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43)), see annotated Figure 9 above), the first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see Figure 5-6) and the second plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) defining a channel (44); and a fin (46+47) extending from a surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) of the first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see Figure 5-6) into the channel (44), the fin (46+47) including:
a first end (see annotated Figure 9 above) adjacent to the surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above);
a second end (see annotated Figure 9 above) distal to the surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above); and
a spine (see annotated Figure 9 above) extending between the first end (see annotated Figure 9 above) and the second end (see annotated Figure 9 above), the spine (see annotated Figure 9 above) disposed at an incline angle (see annotated Figure 9 above) relative to the surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 13, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see Figure 5-6) further includes a plurality of fins (46+47, see annotated Figure 9 above), the plurality of fins (46+47, see annotated Figure 9 above) including the fin (one of the fins (46+47), see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 14, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the fin (46+47, see annotated Figure 9 above) is a first fin (see annotated Figure 9 above), the channel (44) is a first channel (one of the channels (44), see annotated Figure 9 above) and the thermally conductive stack (4) further includes:
a third plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43) other than the first plate or the second plate, see annotated Figure 9 above), the first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see Figure 5-6) between the second plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) and the third plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above), the third plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) and the second plate (an other of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) defining a second channel (an other of the channels (44), see annotated Figure 9 above); and
a second fin (an other (46+47), see annotated Figure 9 above) extending into the second channel (an other of the channels (44), see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 15, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the fin (46+47, see annotated Figure 9 above) increases a mixing of a flow in the channel (44).
With respect to Claim 16, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the spine (see annotated Figure 9 above) extends monotonically between the first end (see annotated Figure 9 above) and the second end (see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 17, Chang teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
A thermally conductive sheet (4) of a cooling system, the thermally conductive sheet (4) comprising:
a first fin (46+47, see annotated Figure 9 above) extending from a surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) of the thermally conductive sheet (4), the first fin (46+47, see annotated Figure 9 above) including:
a first end (see annotated Figure 9 above) flush with the surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above);
a second end (see annotated Figure 9 above) displaced from the surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above); and
a spine (see annotated Figure 9 above) extending between the first end (see annotated Figure 9 above) and the second end (see annotated Figure 9 above); and
a second fin (an other (46+47), see annotated Figure 9 above) extending from the surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above) having a same shape as the first fin (46+47, see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 19, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the second end (see annotated Figure 9 above) includes an opening (see annotated Figure 9 above, the first opening portion and the second opening portion) extending through the thermally conductive sheet (4).
With respect to Claim 20, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the spine (see annotated Figure 9 above) extends monotonically between the first end (see annotated Figure 9 above) and the second end (see annotated Figure 9 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang in view of HWANG et al. (US 2012/0103572 - hereinafter, "Hwang").
With respect to Claim 10, Chang teaches all the limitations of Claim 9 as per above, but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of Claim 10.
Hwang, however, teaches (in Figure 3 and as shown in annotated Figure 3 below and in paragraph [0023])
wherein a second end (see annotated Figure 3 below) includes a V-shaped opening (51, see annotated Figure 3 below and in paragraph [0023], “A through hole 51 is formed to penetrate through a position opposite to the heat dissipating fin 3, and the through hole 51 is oriented upwardly and obliquely”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hwang with Chang, such that a second end includes a V-shaped opening as taught by Hwang since doing so would assist accelerating the dissipation of the remaining heat between Chang’s plates of the thermally conductive stack, so that the accumulated hot airflow can rise vertically and escape from the opening to induce a better stack effect. (in paragraph [0026])
Figure II
With respect to Claim 11, Chang as modified by Hwang teaches the limitations of Claim 10 as per above, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the V-shaped opening (51 as taught in Claim 10 by Hwang as per above, see Hwang’s annotated Figure 3 above) extends through the first plate (one of (43) of the stack (4) of (43), see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 12, Chang as modified by Hwang teaches the limitations of Claim 10 as per above, Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the V-shaped opening (51 as taught in Claim 10 by Hwang as per above, see Hwang’s annotated Figure 3 above) includes: a first opening (see annotated Figure 9 above) in the second end (see annotated Figure 9 above); and a second opening (see annotated Figure 9 above) in the surface (a surface of plate (43), see annotated Figure 9 above).
With respect to Claim 18, Chang teaches all the limitations of Claim 17 as per above and Chang further teaches (in Figures 2-9 and as shown in annotated Figure 9 above)
wherein the first fin (46+47, see annotated Figure 9 above) includes an edge (edge of fin (46+47) at the second end, see Figure 5-6) at the second end (an other 46+47, see annotated Figure 9 above).
Chang fails to specifically teach or suggest the edge including: a third end at the surface; and a fourth end at the surface, the spine inset toward the first end relative to the third end and the fourth end.
Hwang, however, teaches (in Figure 3 and as shown in annotated Figure 3 above and in paragraph [0023])
an edge (see annotated Figure 3 above) including:
a third end (see annotated Figure 3 above) at the surface (see annotated Figure 3 above); and
a fourth end (see annotated Figure 3 above) at the surface (see annotated Figure 3 above),
the spine (see annotated Figure 3 above) inset toward the first end (see annotated Figure 3 above) relative to the third end (see annotated Figure 3 above) and the fourth end (see annotated Figure 3 above).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time before effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Hwang with Chang, such that an edge including: a third end at the surface; and a fourth end at the surface, the spine inset toward the first end relative to the third end and the fourth end as taught by Hwang since doing so would assist accelerating the dissipation of the remaining heat between Chang’s plates of the thermally conductive stack, so that the accumulated hot airflow can rise vertically and escape from the opening to induce a better stack effect. (in paragraph [0026])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11,477,911 to He, which teaches a thermal module with a heat pipe configured on a first portion having a constant cross-section thickness and a tapered second end configured for contact with a fin stack. The heat pipe is tapered along a length of the second portion such that the cross-section thickness of the heat pipe decreases toward the end of the heat pipe. A fin stack coupled to the tapered portion comprises a plurality of fins of different heights, wherein the fin heights increase such that the combined fin height and heat pipe cross-section thickness remains approximately constant over the width of the fin stack. The tapered heat pipe and fin stack with fins with increasing fin heights provide increased cooling and decreased airflow impedance through the fin stack.
US 2014/0116659 to LIN et al., which teaches a heat dissipation device for being in thermal contact with a heat source includes multiple heat dissipation fins, a heat pipe and a fan. Each of the heat dissipation fins includes a plate and an air guiding body. The plate has a thermal contact side used for being in thermal contact with the heat source. An acute angle is formed between an extension side of the air guiding body and the thermal contact side. The heat pipe penetrates through the plates. The fan used for forming an air current is installed at a side of the heat dissipation fin opposite to the thermal contact side.
US 2012/0043058 to HWANG et al., which teaches a heat dissipation device includes a centrifugal fan comprising an air outlet, a fin assembly arranged at the air outlet, and a heat pipe comprising an evaporating section and a condensing section. The fin assembly comprises fins. The fins are stacked together with one above another along a central axis of the centrifugal fan.
US 2008/0247136 to PENG et al., which teaches a heat dissipating apparatus for dissipating heat generated by heat producing device, includes a base, a fin set and an axial fan. The base is secured on the heat producing device. The fin set comprises a plurality of fins arranged on the base; the fins are spaced apart from and oriented parallel to each other, and form a plurality of air passages therebetween.
US 6,636,423 to Rinella et al., which teaches a heat sink that dissipates heat from an electronic device. The heat sink comprises a base and one or more fins. The base is copper and is thermally coupled to an integrated circuit that includes a high-powered processor. The fins each include a copper portion and an aluminum portion.
US 2002/0056544 to Azar, which teaches a heat exchanger with a radial fin field. The fin field comprises a central region extending between the inlet and outlet regions. Along both sides of the central region are a plurality of fins extending from the inlet region to the outlet region at an angle to the central region, wherein the angular mounting increases progressively towards the respective sides of the heat exchanger. As such, the lengths of the fins in the fin field are not uniform.
US 4,621,687 to Ikuta et al., which teaches a heat exchanger having corrugated fins interposed between adjacent folds of a liquid tube, which corrugated fins severally contain in each of the holds thereof a louver having louver blades alternately projected from the base line of fin and having at least part of said louver blades so arranged that the states of inclination thereof relative to said base line of fin vary alternately.
US 3,265,127 to NICKOL et al., which teaches a heat exchange devices and particularly to a novel heat exchange element which forms an integral part of a fin assembly or spacer strip or use in a device wherein heat exchange is effected between fluids.
/S.N./Examiner , Art Unit 2835
/Jayprakash N Gandhi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841