DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 10/5/2026 wherein 6, 13, and 19 are canceled, and claims 8-12, 14-18, 20, and 22-23 are withdrawn, and claims 1-5, 7, and 21 are presented for examination.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “gear box configured to . . . disengaging the electric motor from driving the electric compressor stage shaft and connecting the low-speed shaft through the electric compressor stage shaft and the gear box to drive the electric compressor stage shaft responsive to air flow speed through the gas turbine engine in a second mode of operation” (Claim 1) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The standard for determining whether the specification meets the enablement requirement was cast in the Supreme Court decision of Minerals Separation v. Hyde, 242 U.S. 261,270 (1916) which posed the question: is the experimentation needed to practice the invention undue or unreasonable? That standard is still the one to be applied. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731,737 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
Determining enablement is a question of law based on underlying factual findings, in re Vaeck. 947, F.2d 488, 495 (Fed. Cir. 1991). The determination that “undue experimentation” would have been needed to make and/or use the claimed invention is not a single, simple factual determination. Rather it is a conclusion that may be reached by weighing some or all of the following non-exhaustive list of factual considerations: (A) the breadth of the claims; (B) the nature of the invention; (C) the state of the prior art; (D) the level of one of ordinary skill; (E) the level of predictability in the art; (F) the amount of direction provided by the inventor; (G) the existence of working examples; and (H) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure. Wands, 858 F.2d at 737.
It is noted that Applicant has elected, on 9/30/2024, Species II (Figure 2) in response to the requirement for restriction/election mailed 8/14/2024. Applicant’s elected invention (Figure 2) shows the electric compressor stage (132) being disconnected and separated from the low-speed compressor (110) and Applicant states in Paragraph 0019, when describing Figure 2, “the electric compressor stage shaft 113 can be operably coupled to an electric compressor stage 132 and the fan, where the fan is NOT directly connected to the low-speed shaft 110 or connected to the low-speed shaft through the electric compressor stage shaft 113 and gearbox 120 . . . The electric compressor stage shaft 113 can be ONLY CONNECTED to the electric motor 128, the electric compressor stage 132, and the fan 114” (emphasis added). Applicant’s elected species (Figure 2) also illustrates that the gearbox (120) is positioned on the opposite end of the electric compressor stage shaft (113) than the end facing the low-speed shaft (110). Applicant claims “a gear box configured to switch between engaging the electric motor to drive the electric compressor stage shaft in the first mode of operation and disengaging the electric motor from driving the electric compressor stage shaft and connecting to the low-speed shaft through the electric compressor stage shaft and the gear box to drive the electric compressor stage shaft responsive to air flow speed through the gas turbine engine in a second mode of operation” (Claim 1, lines 14-19 – emphasis added). Although Applicant’s specification, in Paragraph 0033, states “the method 300 of FIGURE 3 is described as being performed using the gas turbine engine 100 of FIGURE 1. However, the method 300 may be used with any other suitable system and any other suitable gas turbine, such as hybrid gas turbine-electric engine 200”, Applicant’s specification does not describe nor do the drawings show any details of any structural feature which would allow for the switching driving the single-stage shaft using the electric motor to using the low-speed shaft at step 314 with the engine of Figure 2, which illustrates the low-speed shaft being disconnected and separated from the electric compressor stage shaft.
Thus, the specification provides no direction or working examples (factual considerations F and G, above) with respect to how to achieve the adjustment of the position required by the claims. It is further noticed that the environment is one of harsh fluidic conditions and large vibrational and thermal loads, and therefore, is largely unpredictable (factual consideration E, above). Therefore, based upon the disclosure of Applicant, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be able to make or use the invention without undue experimentation. The Examiner therefore concludes that the specification does not enable, in combination with the other limitations of the claims, how to make or use the claimed invention.
Claims 2-5, 7, and 21 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibbach et al. (US 2022/0252008) in view of Valois et al. (US 2022/0074349) and Polly et al. (US 2020/0116085).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Sibbach teaches (Figures 1-7) a gas turbine engine (10) comprising:
a compressor section (40, 45, 27) including a low-pressure compressor (45), a high-pressure compressor (27), and an electric compressor stage (40; see Paragraph 0048);
a turbine section (29, 50) including a low-pressure turbine (50) and a high-pressure turbine (29);
a low-speed shaft (25) interconnecting (see Figures 1 and 3) the low-pressure compressor (45) and the low-pressure turbine (50);
a high-speed shaft (26) interconnecting (see Figures 1 and 3) the high-pressure compressor (27) and the high-pressure turbine (29); and
an electric motor (52) configured to drive (see Paragraph 0067, Figure 1, and Figure 3) the electric compressor stage (40) in a second mode of operation (a mode where ducted fan 40 is driven by the variable speed power source 52; see Figures 3-6 and Paragraph 0063).
Sibbach also teaches that the compressor stage (40) can be decoupled from (via 38; see Figures 3-4) a low pressure rotor (25) in a first mode of operation (a mode where the ducted fan 40 is decoupled from the rotor; see Paragraph 0065). Sibbach further teaches a clutch (38) that is configured to switch between engaging the compressor stage (40) to be driven by the low pressure rotor (25) and disengaging (the clutch 38 enables the booster 45 or the ducted fan 30 to be either locked with respect to the rotor, such that the booster 45 or ducted fan 40 may be driven by the rotor, or decoupled from the rotor, such that the booster 45 or the ducted fan 40 is not driven by the rotor; see Paragraph 0065) the compressor stage (40) from being driven by the low pressure rotor (25).
Sibbach does not teach that an electric compressor stage shaft is connected to the electric compressor stage, wherein the electric motor is configured to drive the electric compressor stage shaft, and a gear box configured to switch between engaging the electric compressor stage shaft to drive the electric compressor stage and disengaging the electric motor from driving the electric compressor stage shaft and connecting the low-speed shaft through the electric compressor stage shaft and gearbox to drive the electric compressor stage shaft responsive to air flow speed through the gas turbine engine.
Valois teaches (Figures 1-11C) a gas turbine engine (title) having an electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d; see Figures 1 and 7-9 and Paragraph 0047) connected to the electric compressor stage (26, 126), wherein the electric motor (36, 136) is configured to drive (see Figures 1, 7-9, and Paragraph 0047) the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d), and a gear box (140, 150) configured to switch (see Figures 2, 6, and Paragraph 0051) between engaging the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d) to drive the electric compressor stage (26, 126) in a first mode of operation (a mode where clutch 150 is engaged to coupled the electric motor 136 to the LPC 126; see Paragraph 0051) and disengaging the electric motor (36, 136) from driving the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d) and driving the low-pressure compressor stage (a stage within 26, 126) responsive to air flow speed (from 112) through the gas turbine engine (110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach to have an electric compressor stage shaft is connected to the electric compressor stage, wherein the electric motor is configured to drive the electric compressor stage shaft, and a gear box configured to switch between engaging the electric compressor stage shaft to drive the electric compressor stage and disengaging the electric motor from driving the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Valois, in order to disengage the clutch to decouple the electric motor from the compressor in operating conditions where little to no boost from the compressor is required, thus reducing the drag of driving the compressor, and to re-engage to recouple the electric motor to the compressor as conditions dictate (Paragraph 0051 of Valois). Sibbach in view of Valois does not teach connecting the low-speed shaft through the electric compressor stage shaft and the gearbox to drive the electric compressor stage shaft responsive to air flow speed through the gas turbine engine.
Polly teaches (Figures 1-3) a clutch (112) that is positioned between a starter (70) and a gearbox (122) and a low-speed shaft (30), such that the low-speed shaft (30) is connected through the starter shaft (100) and the gearbox (122) to drive the starter shaft (100) responsive to air flow speed (the speed of the air flow through compressor 44, leading to rotation of shaft 30) through the gas turbine engine (20).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach in view of Valois to have the clutch be positioned between the starter and the gearbox and low-speed shaft, such that the low-speed shaft is connected through the electric compressor stage shaft and the gearbox to drive the electric compressor stage shaft responsive to air flow speed through the gas turbine engine, as taught by Polly, in order to enable direct driving of the gas turbine engine spool during starting operation and prevent back driving or over driving of the starter (Paragraph 0048 of Polly). In addition, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention (in this case, the location of the clutch) involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding Claim 2, Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Sibbach further teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the electric compressor stage (40) is decoupled from (see Figure 3) the low-pressure compressor (45).
Valois teaches (Figures 1-11C) an electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d; see Figures 1 and 7-9 and Paragraph 0047) connected to the electric compressor stage (26, 126) and an electric motor (36, 136) configured to drive (see Figures 1, 7-9, and Paragraph 0047) the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d).
As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly to include an electric compressor stage shaft connected to the electric compressor stage, wherein the electric motor is configured to drive the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Valois, in order to have the electric motor drive the compressor (Paragraph 0053 of Valois).
Regarding Claim 3, Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Sibbach further teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the electric compressor stage (40) is decoupled from (see Figure 3) the high-pressure compressor (27).
Valois teaches (Figures 1-11C) an electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d; see Figures 1 and 7-9 and Paragraph 0047) connected to the electric compressor stage (26, 126) and an electric motor (36, 136) configured to drive (see Figures 1, 7-9, and Paragraph 0047) the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d).
As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly to include an electric compressor stage shaft connected to the electric compressor stage, wherein the electric motor is configured to drive the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Valois, in order to have the electric motor drive the compressor (Paragraph 0053 of Valois).
Regarding Claim 7, Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Sibbach further teaches (Figures 1-7) wherein the electric motor (52) does not drive (see Figure 3) the low-speed shaft (25) and the high-speed shaft (26).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibbach et al. (US 2022/0252008) in view of Valois et al. (US 2022/0074349) and Polly et al. (US 2020/0116085) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Robic et al. (US 2017/0226934).
Regarding Claim 4, Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly does not teach, as discussed so far, a fan connected to the electric compressor stage shaft.
Robic teaches (Figures 1-7) a fan (S) connected to (see Figures 3-5) the electric compressor stage shaft (10, powered electrically by 8; see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly to have the fan connected to the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Robic, in order to apply power mechanically to the fan shaft (Paragraphs 0038-0039 of Robic).
Regarding Claim 5, Sibbach in view of Valois, Polly, and Robic teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Sibbach in view of Valois, Polly, and Robic does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the gearbox is connected to the fan via the electric compressor stage shaft.
Valois teaches (Figures 1-11C) a gearbox (140, 150) connected to (see Figures 2 and 6) the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d).
As discussed above, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach in view of Valois, Polly, and Robic to have the gearbox be connected to the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Valois, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 1. Sibbach in view of Valois, Polly, and Robic does not teach, as discussed so far, that the fan is connected to the electric compressor stage shaft.
Robic teaches (Figures 1-7) a fan (S) connected to (see Figures 3-5) the electric compressor stage shaft (10, powered electrically by 8; see Figure 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Sibbach in view of Valois, Polly, and Robic to have the fan connected to the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Robic, in order to apply power mechanically to the fan shaft (Paragraphs 0038-0039 of Robic).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sibbach et al. (US 2022/0252008) in view of Valois et al. (US 2022/0074349) and Polly et al. (US 2020/0116085) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Unton (US 2024/0035417).
Regarding Claim 21, Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. As discussed above, Valois teaches (Figures 1-11C) a gas turbine engine (title) having an electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d; see Figures 1 and 7-9 and Paragraph 0047) connected to the electric compressor stage (26, 126), wherein the electric motor (36, 136) is configured to drive (see Figures 1, 7-9, and Paragraph 0047) the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d), and a gear box (140, 150) configured to switch (see Figures 2, 6, and Paragraph 0051) between engaging the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d) to drive the electric compressor stage (26, 126) in a first mode of operation (a mode where clutch 150 is engaged to coupled the electric motor 136 to the LPC 126; see Paragraph 0051) and disengaging the electric motor (36, 136) from driving the electric compressor stage shaft (38d, 138d) and driving the low-pressure compressor stage (a stage within 26, 126) responsive to air flow speed (from 112) through the gas turbine engine (110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach to have an electric compressor stage shaft is connected to the electric compressor stage, wherein the electric motor is configured to drive the electric compressor stage shaft, and a gear box configured to switch between engaging the electric compressor stage shaft to drive the electric compressor stage and disengaging the electric motor from driving the electric compressor stage shaft, as taught by Valois, in order to disengage the clutch to decouple the electric motor from the compressor in operating conditions where little to no boost from the compressor is required, thus reducing the drag of driving the compressor, and to re-engage to recouple the electric motor to the compressor as conditions dictate (Paragraph 0051 of Valois). Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the gear box is further configured to switch between the electric compressor stage shaft and the low-speed shaft driving the electric compressor stage responsive to passage of a predetermined period of time.
Unton teaches (Figures 1-5) an electric machine (104) that is disengaged (via 112) with the low-pressure shaft (108) responsive to the passage of a predetermined period of time (a predetermined period of time following light-off of the gas turbine engine, for example 3 seconds after light-off is detected; see Paragraph 0026).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sibbach in view of Valois and Polly to switch between the electric machine driving the shaft responsive to a passage of a predetermined period of time, as taught by Unton, in order to disengage the clutch in response to a determination that the gas turbine engine is producing enough power to be self-sustaining if the clutch were to be disengaged (Paragraph 0026 of Unton).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 7, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination of references being applied in this Office Action. However, to the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejection above, at the appropriate locations.
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741