DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment responsive to the non-final Office Action dated August 26, 2025 was submitted on November 26, 2025. Claims 1, 7, 8 and 11 were amended. Claim 10 was canceled. Claims 1-9, 11 and 12 are currently pending.
The amendments to claims 7 and 8 have overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) of these claims (¶¶ 7-8 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 1 and 11 have overcome the prior art rejections of claims 1-9, 11 and 12 (¶¶ 11-13 and 18-22 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection of these claims have been made as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 105789675 A, cited in IDS submitted March 27, 2024; machine language translation provided and cited below).
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses a manufacturing method for an electrode assembly (Abstract, FIGS. 1 and 2 of Chen, production process using battery cell winding mechanism), comprising: providing a first separator (FIG. 2 of Chen, one of separators #18), a first electrode plate (FIG. 2 of Chen, positive pole piece #19) and a second separator (FIG. 2 of Chen, the other one of separators #18); sequentially laminating and compounding the first separator, the first electrode plate and the second separator into a first electrode plate complex (FIG. 2, [0016], [0040] of Chen, positive electrode #19 together with two diaphragms #18 formed into composite sheet), the sequentially laminating and compounding comprising compounding and connecting the first separator to a first side of the first electrode plate and the second separator to a second side of the first electrode plate to form, in advance of winding, the first electrode plate complex (FIG. 2 of Chen, diaphragms #18 connected to opposite surfaces of electrode #19), the first electrode plate complex comprising an integral structure in which the first electrode plate is covered on the first side by the first separator and on the second side by the second separator (FIG. 2, [0040] of Chen, electrode tab #19 sandwiched between diaphragms #18 formed into integrated composite sheet); providing a second electrode plate (FIG. 1 of Chen, negative electrode provided by winding device #14); and winding the first electrode plate complex and the second electrode plate together to form an electrode assembly, wherein the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate are separated by the first separator and the second separator (FIG. 1, [0027] of Chen, winding device #11 around which the laminate comprising the separators and the positive electrode and the negative electrode are wound; since positive electrode is sandwiched between separators, electrode plates would necessarily be separated by the separator layers in the wound electrode assembly).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Nishiura et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP 2019-192340 A, machine language translation provided and cited below).
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a manufacturing device for an electrode assembly (FIGS. 1 and 2, [0036] of Chen, core winding mechanism), comprising: a first electrode plate feeding mechanism configured to convey a first electrode plate (FIG. 1, [0036] of Chen, positive winding device #15); a first separator feeding mechanism configured to convey a first separator (FIG. 1, [0036] of Chen, upper diaphragm unwinding device #1); a second separator feeding mechanism configured to convey a second separator (FIG. 1, [0036] of Chen, lower diaphragm unwinding device #3); a compounding mechanism provided downstream of the first electrode plate feeding mechanism, the first separator feeding mechanism, and the second separator feeding mechanism, the compounding mechanism being configured to sequentially laminate and compound the first separator, the first electrode plate, and the second separator into a first electrode plate complex (FIG. 1, [0040] of Chen, composite device #5), the sequentially laminating and compounding comprising compounding and connecting the first separator to a first side of the first electrode plate and the second separator to a second side of the first electrode plate to form, in advance of winding, the first electrode plate complex, the first electrode plate complex comprising an integral structure in which the first electrode plate is covered on the first side by the first separator and on the second side by the second separator (FIG. 2, [0040] of Chen, electrode #19 sandwiched between separators #18 to form integrated composite sheet); a second electrode plate feeding mechanism configured to convey a second electrode plate, the second electrode plate and the first electrode plate having opposite polarities (FIG. 1, [0036] of Chen, negative unwinding device #14); and a winding mechanism provided downstream of the compounding mechanism and the second electrode plate feeding mechanism and configured to wind the first electrode plate complex and the second electrode plate to form an electrode assembly (FIG. 1, [0043] of Chen, winding device #11 around which the laminate comprising the separators and the positive electrode and the negative electrode are wound).
Chen does not specifically disclose the compounding mechanism comprising at least one of a hot pressing device, an electrostatic generator, a gluing device, or a plasma adsorption device. Nishiura, however, discloses providing an adhesive layer between an electrode and separator and bonding them together using hot pressing ([0003] of Nishiura). According to Nishiura, by bonding the electrode and separator together, it is possible to suppress a short circuit due to positional shift between the electrode and separator ([0003] of Nishiura). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a gluing device and a hot-pressing device as the compounding device in the apparatus of Chen. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to bond the separator and the electrode together with an adhesive via hot pressing thereby suppressing a short circuit due to positional shift between the electrode and separator as taught by Nishiura([0003] of Nishiura).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Nishiura as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0117141 A1, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 2, Chen does not specifically disclose that: the winding mechanism comprises a winding mandrel and a first electrode plate winding entering roller set, the first electrode plate winding entering roller set being provided upstream of the winding mandrel, and the first electrode plate winding entering roller set being configured to convey the first electrode plate complex to the winding mandrel. Kim, however, discloses a winder for an electrode assembly of a battery comprising which comprises a mandrel #41 which stacks and spirally winds the electrode and separator members (FIG. 1, [0043] of Kim) and a plurality of idler rollers #42 upstream of the mandrel for supporting, reorienting and guiding the electrodes and separator members (FIG. 1, [0046] of Kim). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the winder in the apparatus of Chen with a winding mandrel and to provide a plurality of idler rollers upstream of the mandrel to guide the laminate onto the mandrel. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to support, reorient and guide the laminate for stacking on the mandrel as taught by Kim (FIG. 1, [0046] of Kim).
Regarding claim 3, Chen does not specifically disclose: a feeding guide mechanism, the feeding guide mechanism being provided between the second electrode plate feeding mechanism and the winding mechanism, and the feeding guide mechanism being configured to convey the second electrode plate to the winding mandrel so that the first electrode plate complex is coated outside the second electrode plate. Kim, however, discloses a winder for an electrode assembly of a battery which comprises a plurality of idler rollers #42 upstream of the mandrel for supporting, reorienting and guiding the electrodes and separator members (FIG. 1, [0046] of Kim). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of idler rollers between the winder and the supply bobbin for the negative electrode sheet. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to support, reorient and guide the negative electrode sheet for stacking with the laminate on the mandrel as taught by Kim (FIG. 1, [0046] of Kim).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Nishiura and Kim as applied to claim 2 above and further in view of Park et al. (Korean Patent Publication No. KR 10-2016-0097915, machine language translation provided in previous Office Action and cited below).
Regarding claim 4, neither Chen nor Kim specifically disclose that: the winding mechanism further comprises a rotating base and at least two winding mandrels, the at least two winding mandrels being provided around an axis of rotation of the rotating base and provided at intervals on the rotating base. Park, however, discloses an electrode winding device for a battery (Abstract, FIG. 1 of Park) comprising a plurality of mandrels #20 on a rotating block or base #10 (FIG. 1, [0018] of Park). According to Park, the winder allows for the electrode assembly to be manufactured quickly and stably ([0015] of Park). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the winding device of Park as the winder in the modified apparatus. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for the electrode assembly to be manufactured quickly and stably as taught by Park ([0015] of Park).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses: a first cut-off mechanism, the first cut-off mechanism being disposed between the at least two winding mandrels and configured to cut off the first electrode plate complex (FIG. 1 of Park, cutter #73 disposed between mandrels #20); and/or a second cut-off mechanism, the second cut-off mechanism being disposed between the second electrode plate feeding mechanism and the winding mechanism and configured to cut off the second electrode plate (claim only requires one of the cut-off mechanisms).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Nishiura as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Li et al. (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 110718718 A; cited in IDS submitted April 22, 2025; machine language translation provided in previous Office Action and cited below).
Regarding claim 7, Chen does not specifically disclose the manufacturing device further comprising: a first deviation rectification roller set and a second deviation rectification roller set; wherein: the first deviation rectification roller set is disposed between the compounding mechanism and the winding mechanism, and the first deviation rectification roller set is configured to adjust relative positions of the first electrode plate complex and the second electrode plate; and the second deviation rectification roller set is disposed between the second electrode plate feeding mechanism and the winding mechanism, and the second deviation rectification roller set is configured to adjust relative positions of the first electrode plate complex and the second electrode plate. Li, however, discloses an electrode winding device wherein electrode and spacer correction components #81 - #85 comprising rollers are positioned between each of the unwinding devices and the winder to ensure that the layers of the structure are aligned with respect to one another (FIG. 2, [0059] of Li). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include correction components between the unwinding device for the second electrode plate and the winder and between the compounding and winding mechanisms in the modified apparatus. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure that the laminate and the second electrode layer are aligned with respect to one another as taught by Li (FIG. 2, [0059] of Li).
Regarding claim 8, Chen does not specifically disclose the manufacturing device further comprising: a third deviation rectification roller set, a fourth deviation rectification roller set and a fifth deviation rectification roller set; wherein: the third deviation rectification roller set is disposed between the first electrode plate feeding mechanism and the compounding mechanism, and the third deviation rectification roller set is configured to adjust relative positions between the first electrode plate, the first separator, and the second separator; the fourth deviation rectification roller set is disposed between the first separator feeding mechanism and the compounding mechanism, and the fourth deviation rectification roller set is configured to adjust relative positions between the first electrode plate, the first separator, and the second separator; and the fifth deviation rectification roller set is disposed between the second separator feeding mechanism and the compounding mechanism, and the fifth deviation rectification roller set is configured to adjust relative positions between the first electrode plate and the first separator and the second separator. As set forth above, however, Li suggests using correction components (i.e., devices comprising rollers) for each of the unwinding devices in an electrode winding device to ensure that the layers of the structure are aligned with respect to one another (FIG. 2, [0059] of Li). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include correction components comprising rollers between the unwinding devices for the first electrode plate, the first separator, and the second separator and the compounding device in the modified apparatus. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure that the layers of the structure are aligned with respect to one another as taught by Li (FIG. 2, [0059] of Li).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Nishiura as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Lu et al. (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN 214848748U; cited in IDS submitted April 22, 2025; machine language translation provided in previous Office Action and cited below).
Regarding claim 6, Chen does not specifically disclose the manufacturing device further comprising: a first detection mechanism, the first detection mechanism being disposed between the compounding mechanism and the winding mechanism, and the first detection mechanism being configured to detect a degree of alignment for compounding of the first electrode plate, the first separator and the second separator. Lu, however, discloses a battery cell winding device comprising a detection device #40 connected to a control device #50 to detect and correct the alignment between a laminate of a first electrode and separator layers and a second electrode layer ([0048] of Lu). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a detection mechanism between the compounding mechanism and the winding mechanism in the modified apparatus. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to correct the alignment between the laminate and the second electrode as taught by Lu ([0048] of Lu).
Regarding claim 9, Chen does not specifically disclose the manufacturing device further comprising: a first tensioning mechanism, a second tensioning mechanism and a third tensioning mechanism; wherein: the first tensioning mechanism is provided between the compounding mechanism and the winding mechanism, and the first tensioning mechanism is configured to adjust a degree of tensioning of the first electrode plate complex; the second tensioning mechanism is provided between the second electrode plate feeding mechanism and the winding mechanism, and the second tensioning mechanism is configured to adjust a degree of tensioning of the second electrode plate; and the third tensioning mechanism is provided between the first electrode plate feeding mechanism and the compounding mechanism, and the third tensioning mechanism is configured to adjust a degree of tensioning of the first electrode plate. Lu, however, discloses a battery cell winding device comprising a composite discharge device for discharging a laminate of a negative electrode #10 and separators, a positive electrode discharge device #20 and a winding device #30 (FIG. 3 of Lu). According to Lu, the winding device includes a first tension adjustment mechanism #90 disposed between the composite discharge and winding devices (FIG. 3, [0021] of Lu) and a second tension adjustment mechanism #91 disposed between the positive electrode discharge and winding devices (FIG. 3, [0021] of Lu). According to Lu, the tension adjustment devices allow for the tension of the positive electrode and composite to be controlled during the winding process ([0021] of Lu). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include tensioning mechanisms between the compounding mechanism and the winding mechanism and between the second electrode plate feeding mechanism and the winding mechanism in the modified apparatus to control tension during the winding process as taught by Lu. Similarly, it would have been obvious to include a tensioning mechanism between the first electrode plate feeding mechanism and the compounding mechanism in the modified apparatus to control tension during the process of forming the laminate of the electrode and separator layers.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Park.
Regarding claim 12, Chen does not specifically disclose the manufacturing method further comprising: cutting off the second electrode plate and cutting off the first electrode plate complex after conveying the second electrode plate and the first electrode plate complex to a winding station and winding the second electrode plate and the first electrode plate complex. Park, however, discloses an electrode winding method for a battery (Abstract, FIG. 1 of Park) wherein the electrode and separator films are cut after winding ([0037]-[0039] of Park). According to Park, the method allows for the electrode assembly to be manufactured quickly and stably ([0015] of Park). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cut off the first electrode assembly and the second electrode after winding in the method of Chen. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for the electrode assembly to be manufactured quickly and stably as taught by Park ([0015] of Park).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered to the extent that they apply to the new grounds of rejection but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that Yamane does not disclose a compounding mechanism configured to sequentially laminate and compound the separators and electrode plate to form an integral structure as recited in claims 1 and 11 (pp. 9-11 of the amendment). The Office Action, however, is now relying upon the Chen reference to address this limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746