DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1 and 2-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
4. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the battery cell" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a battery cell".
5. Claim 1 recites the limitation "the adjacent battery units" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the adjacent plurality of battery units" as there is antecedent basis.
6. Claims 2-20 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
7. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the adjacent battery units" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the adjacent plurality of battery units" as there is antecedent basis.
8. Claim 7 recites the limitation "the adjacent sampling portions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the adjacent plurality of sampling portions" as there is antecedent basis.
9. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the adjacent sampling portions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the adjacent plurality of sampling portions" as there is antecedent basis.
10. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the adjacent battery units" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the adjacent plurality of battery units" as there is antecedent basis.
11. Claim 9 recites the limitation "the third direction" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a third direction".
12. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the adjacent sampling portions" in lines 2-3 and 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the adjacent plurality of sampling portions" as there is antecedent basis.
13. Claim 10 recites the limitation "the respective adjacent end portions" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " respective adjacent end portions".
14. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the adjacent sampling portions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the adjacent plurality of sampling portions" as there is antecedent basis.
15. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the third direction" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "a third direction".
16. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the adjacent battery units" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the adjacent plurality of battery units" as there is antecedent basis.
17. Claim 16 recites the limitation "the respective electrode terminals" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as " respective electrode terminals".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
20. Claim(s) 1-7, 15-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gong et al. (EP3128599A1) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25.
Regarding claim 1, Gong discloses a battery(abstract, Figs. 1 & 2), comprising: a plurality of battery units arranged side by side along a first direction, wherein each battery unit comprises at least two battery cells (119, Fig. 1, [0009]) arranged along a second direction (see Fig. A as annotated Fig. 1),
Fig. A.
Continuing with claim 1, Gong discloses a battery cell comprises a body portion, a gap is formed between the body portions of at least one pair of adjacent battery cells in the battery unit(Fig. A), at least one battery cell in the adjacent battery cells comprises an electrode terminal protruding from the body portion(Figs. A & 2, [0009]), and the electrode terminal is located in the gap and configured to be electrically connected to the other battery cell([0009]), wherein the second direction is perpendicular to the first direction(Fig. A); and a sampling member at least partially located in the gap(connecting seat 115, Fig. 2, [0009]-[0010]), wherein: the sampling member comprises a sampling portion (connecting electrode 117, Fig. 9, [0012]) and a lead-out portion(pin electrode 118, Figs. 2 & 9); the sampling portion is electrically connected to the electrode terminal and is configured to collect an electrical signal of the battery cell([0009]-[0012]); and a first end of the lead-out portion is electrically connected to the sampling portion (see end of insertion section 1181, Fig. 9 [0022]), a second end of the lead-out portion is led out from between the adjacent plurality of battery units along the first direction(Fig. 2), and the lead-out portion is configured to output the collected electrical signal([0020]).
Regarding claim 2, Gong discloses the lead-out portion does not extend beyond an outer side surface of the battery cell in a third direction, wherein the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction(see pin electrode 118 with third direction being up and down direction in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Gong discloses in the second direction, the second end of the lead-out portion extends along a direction leaving the electrode terminal(see second end of pin electrode 118 in Figs. 3 & 9).
Regarding claim 4, Gong discloses in the second direction, the second end of the lead-out portion extends beyond the gap(see second end of pin electrode 118 in Figs. A & 2).
Regarding claim 5, Gong discloses the first end of the lead-out portion is close to a side end of the sampling portion in the second direction, and in the second direction, the second end of the lead-out portion extends along a direction leaving the sampling portion(see ends of pin electrode 118 in Figs. 2 & 9).
Regarding claim 6, Gong discloses the first end of the lead-out portion is connected to a position of the sampling portion in a center of the battery cell along the first direction(see first end of pin electrode 118 connected to connecting electrode 117 in a center of the battery cell 119 in Figs. 2, 3, & 9), and the second end of the lead-out portion extends to a position between the adjacent plurality of battery units along the first direction (see second end of pin electrode 118 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Gong discloses the sampling member comprises a plurality of sampling portions spaced apart along the first direction, and the adjacent plurality of sampling portions are connected to each other(see connecting seat 115 in Fig. 2, [0027]).
Regarding claim 15, Gong discloses the sampling portion is connected to a circumferential side wall of the electrode terminal([0009], [0012]).
Regarding claim 16, Gong discloses respective electrode terminals of at least one pair of adjacent battery cells in the battery unit are interconnected in the second direction, and the sampling portion is electrically connected to the two electrode terminals([0009], [0012]).
Regarding claim 17, Gong discloses the sampling portion is of a partially annular structure, and the sampling portion is in interference fit with the electrode terminal(see connecting electrode 117 in Fig. 9, [0009], [0012]).
Regarding claim 19, Gong discloses a protruding portion is provided on an inner wall of the sampling portion, and the protruding portion is in contact with the circumferential side wall of the electrode terminal(see contraction section 1174 in Fig. 9, [0017]-[0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
23. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (EP3128599A1) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 as applied to claims 1 and 7 above.
Regarding claim 8, Gong discloses the signal acquisition module 1137, the signal processing module 1133 and the communication module 1136 are integrated via the acquisition board assembly 113, and the connecting seat 115, the first interface 111 and the second interface 112 are provided to connect the cells 119 in series, with the acquisition board assembly 113 mounted between the cells 119 connected in series ([0010]). Gong discloses this reduces and shortens connection wires, saves the layout space and increases the heat dissipation space and efficiency for the cells 119([0010]). Gong discloses the plurality of sampling portions, but does not explicitly disclose share one lead-out portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate one lead-out portion shared by the plurality of sampling portions in order to save layout space, increase heat dissipation space and efficiency for the cells as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
24. Claim(s) 12, 14, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (EP3128599A1) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheon et al. (EP3217452A1) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25.
Regarding claim 12, Gong discloses the cell state acquisition apparatus 11 for acquiring state signals of monitored cells 119 comprises an acquisition board assembly 113, a first interface 111, a second interface 112, and a connecting seat 115([0009], Figs. 1-3) but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: a mounting part mounted on the battery cell and connected to the sampling member, wherein an accommodating groove is provided on the mounting part and is configured to accommodate the second end of the lead-out portion, and the accommodating groove is provided on a surface of the mounting part far away from the battery unit in a third direction, and is located at a position between the adjacent plurality of battery units in the first direction, wherein the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
Cheon teaches a battery, comprising a plurality of battery units (1) arranged side by side along a first direction (x), wherein each battery unit comprises at least two battery cells arranged along a second direction (y) ([0023], [0032]) the battery cell comprises a body portion, a gap is formed between the body portions of at least one pair of adjacent battery cells in the battery unit, at least one battery cell in the adjacent battery cells comprises an electrode terminal protruding from the body portion, and the electrode terminal is located in the gap and configured to be electrically connected to the other battery cell; wherein the second direction (y) is perpendicular to the first direction (x); and a sampling member (150) at least partially located in the gap, wherein the sampling member comprises a sampling portion (120) and a lead-out portion (151, 153, 152, 154, 155); the sampling portion is electrically connected to the electrode terminal and is configured to collect an electrical signal of the battery cell ([0037]); and a first end (near 152) of the lead-out portion is led out from between the adjacent battery units along the first direction (x), and the lead-out portion is configured to output the collected electrical signal (to circuit board 50). Cheon teaches a mounting part mounted on the battery cell (see circuit board 50 mounted on battery cell 10 in Fig. 2) and connected to the sampling member(see connection tab 150 in Fig. 1), wherein an accommodating groove is provided on the mounting part and is configured to accommodate the second end of the lead-out portion(see connection hole 50’ in Fig. 2), and the accommodating groove is provided on a surface of the mounting part far away from the battery unit in the third direction(Fig. 2), and is located at a position between the adjacent battery units in the first direction, wherein the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction(see third direction Z1 in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Gong with further comprising: a mounting part mounted on the battery cell and connected to the sampling member, wherein an accommodating groove is provided on the mounting part and is configured to accommodate the second end of the lead-out portion, and the accommodating groove is provided on a surface of the mounting part far away from the battery unit in a third direction, and is located at a position between the adjacent plurality of battery units in the first direction, wherein the third direction is perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction as taught by Cheon as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 14, modified Gong discloses the mounting part has a supporting portion configured to support the second end of the lead-out portion(Cheon, see circuit board 50 supporting second end 155 in Figs. 2 & 3).
Regarding claim 18, Gong discloses the sampling portion is of a partially annular structure (see connecting electrode 117 in Fig. 9, [0009], [0012]) but does not explicitly disclose is laser-welded to the electrode terminal.
Cheon teaches a battery, comprising a plurality of battery units (1) arranged side by side along a first direction (x), wherein each battery unit comprises at least two battery cells arranged along a second direction (y) ([0023], [0032]) the battery cell comprises a body portion, a gap is formed between the body portions of at least one pair of adjacent battery cells in the battery unit, at least one battery cell in the adjacent battery cells comprises an electrode terminal protruding from the body portion, and the electrode terminal is located in the gap and configured to be electrically connected to the other battery cell; wherein the second direction (y) is perpendicular to the first direction (x); and a sampling member (150) at least partially located in the gap, wherein the sampling member comprises a sampling portion (120) and a lead-out portion (151, 153, 152, 154, 155); the sampling portion is electrically connected to the electrode terminal and is configured to collect an electrical signal of the battery cell ([0037]); and a first end (near 152) of the lead-out portion is led out from between the adjacent battery units along the first direction (x), and the lead-out portion is configured to output the collected electrical signal (to circuit board 50). Cheon teaches the sampling portion is laser-welded to the electrode terminal([0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Gong with the sampling portion is laser-welded to the electrode terminal as taught by Cheon as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
25. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (EP3128599A1) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Peng et al. (US2023/0344054).
Regarding claim 13, modified Gong does not explicitly disclose the mounting part is provided with an opening, the opening is disposed opposite the electrode terminal in the first direction, and the opening is configured to form a channel for connecting the sampling portion and the electrode terminal.
Peng teaches a method for manufacturing a battery module, a battery module, a battery pack, and an unmanned aerial vehicle([0002]). Peng teaches the mounting part (fastening frame 30, Fig. 3) is provided with an opening(wire harness hole 313, Fig. 3), the opening is disposed opposite the electrode terminal (tab 112, Fig. 3) in the first direction, and the opening is configured to form a channel for connecting the sampling portion (sampling wire harness 42, Fig. 3) and the electrode terminal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of modified Gong with the mounting part is provided with an opening, the opening is disposed opposite the electrode terminal in the first direction, and the opening is configured to form a channel for connecting the sampling portion and the electrode terminal as taught by Peng as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
26. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al. (EP3128599A1) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Onuki et al. (US20070132429) as cited in IDS dated 1/17/25.
Regarding claim 20, Gong does not explicitly disclose the sampling portion comprises a first snap ring and a second snap ring, and the first snap ring and the second snap ring together surround the circumferential side wall of the electrode terminal.
Onuki teaches an assembled battery is provided with a frame holding a plurality of unit cells 14 having positive polarity at one end and negative polarity at the other end(abstract). Onuki teaches the frame is composed of two outer frames 2 having the same shape and an inner frame 3(abstract). Onuki teaches the unit cells 14 constituting an assembled battery 1 are disposed on both sides of the inner frame 3, and one outer frame 2 and the other outer frame 2 are disposed such that the unit cells are sandwiched between the former outer frame 2 and the inner frame 3 and between the latter outer frame 2 and the inner frame 3(abstract). Onuki teaches the two outer frames 2 are joined to the inner frame 3 through side face coupling portions 23 and vertical coupling portions 24(abstract). Onuki teaches the inner frame 3 is fixed with positive electrode bus bars 5, negative electrode bus bars 6, and inter-unit cell bus bars 7 for electrically connecting the unit cells 14 in series, and lead wires for voltage detection with a connector 4 for detecting voltages of the unit cells 14(abstract). Onuki teaches the sampling portion comprises a first snap ring (outer frame 2, Fig. 6) and a second snap ring(inner frame 3, Fig. 6), and the first snap ring and the second snap ring together surround the circumferential side wall of the electrode terminal(14, Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery of Gong with the sampling portion comprises a first snap ring and a second snap ring, and the first snap ring and the second snap ring together surround the circumferential side wall of the electrode terminal as taught by Onuki as applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. MPEP 2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
27. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. And the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in this office action on claims 1-20 is overcome.
In particular, the allowable limitation is the sampling member further comprises a connecting portion, the connecting portion is connected between the adjacent plurality of sampling portions, the first end of the lead-out portion is connected at a position of the connecting portion between the adjacent plurality of battery units, and the second end of the lead-out portion extends along a third direction, the third direction being perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
Gong discloses the sampling member further comprises a connecting portion(1181 , Fig. 9), but does not disclose, teach or render obvious the connecting portion is connected between the adjacent plurality of sampling portions, the first end of the lead-out portion is connected at a position of the connecting portion between the adjacent plurality of battery units, and the second end of the lead-out portion extends along a third direction, the third direction being perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
28. Claims 10 & 11 are objected to as being dependent upon allowable claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the allowable claim and any intervening claims. And the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112 set forth in this office action on claims 1-20 is overcome.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724