DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8, 12-15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 7,422,655 to Asakura.
Regarding claim 1 Asakura discloses a lift pin system, comprising: a plunger disposed in a plunger housing (58/60); and a lift pin (72) disposed above the plunger housing, the lift pin axially movable by movement of the plunger (goes up and down), and including: an upper shaft (72a); one or more longitudinal ribs (areas between 72x see figure 9c) disposed along the upper shaft; and a lower shaft (72b).
Regarding claim 2 Asakura discloses the one or more longitudinal ribs include three longitudinal ribs disposed circumferentially around the upper shaft (see figure 9c). It is noted that given the broadest reasonable interpretation this claim requires 3 ribs be present but does not preclude additional ribs.
Regarding claims 5 and 17 Asakura discloses the lift pin is disposed in a lift pin housing (68); the upper shaft extends through a top of the lift pin housing; and the lower shaft extends through a bottom of the lift pin housing (see figures 9a and 9b).
Regarding claim 8 Asakura discloses a lift pin (82), comprising: an upper shaft (82a); one or more longitudinal ribs disposed along the upper shaft (areas between 82x see figure 10c); a lower shaft (82b); and a shoulder between the lower shaft and the upper shaft (see figure 10c and transition to 82d).
Regarding claim 12 Asakura discloses the one or more longitudinal ribs are integrally formed with the upper shaft (see figure 9c).
Regarding claims 13 and 15 Asakura discloses the lower shaft has a first lateral cross-sectional shape; and the upper shaft with the one or more longitudinal ribs have a second lateral cross-sectional shape different from the first lateral cross-sectional shape (compare figure 9c with circular cross section of lower shaft area).
Regarding claim 14 Asakura discloses a substrate processing chamber (see figure 1), comprising: a chamber body including a base (see 22); a substrate support (38) disposed within the chamber body; and a lift pin system (see figure 1), comprising: a plunger housing coupled to the base (58); a plunger (60) disposed in the plunger housing; and a lift pin (72) disposed above the plunger housing, the lift pin axially movable by movement of the plunger (vertical movement), and including: an upper shaft (72a); one or more longitudinal ribs disposed along the upper shaft (areas between 72x see figure 9c); and a lower shaft (72b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 7, 9-11, 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asakura in view of US 2005/0194100 to Or.
Regarding claims 3-4, 10-11 and 16 Asakura discloses all the limitations of the claims except a coating on the one or more longitudinal ribs and the coating has a coefficient of friction lower than a coefficient of friction of a material of the upper shaft.
Or teaches a lift pin system including a coating on the one or more longitudinal ribs (or in this case the portion of the pin that contacts the housing during movement) and the coating has a coefficient of friction lower than a coefficient of friction of a material of the upper shaft (para 0017) in order to reduce friction and minimize wear (para 0017).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims to have modified Asakura to include a coating on the one or more longitudinal ribs and the coating has a coefficient of friction lower than a coefficient of friction of a material of the upper shaft, as taught by Or, in order to reduce friction and minimize wear.
Regarding claims 7, 9, and 19-20 Asakura discloses all the limitations of the claims except the upper shaft includes a flared portion above the one or more longitudinal ribs and the lift pin is disposed through a hole in the substrate support; and the flared portion is configured to mate with a corresponding tapered portion of the hole.
Or teaches a lift pin system including the upper shaft includes a flared portion (206) above the one or more longitudinal ribs and the lift pin is disposed through a hole in the substrate support; and the flared portion is configured to mate with a corresponding tapered portion of the hole (para 0018 and figure 3) to prevent the pin from falling through the guide hole (para 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims to have modified Asakura to include the upper shaft includes a flared portion above the one or more longitudinal ribs and the lift pin is disposed through a hole in the substrate support; and the flared portion is configured to mate with a corresponding tapered portion of the hole, as taught by Or, to prevent the pin from falling through the guide hole.
Claim(s) 6 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asakura in view of US 2023/0039173 to Wada.
Regarding claims Asakura discloses all the limitations of the claims except a seal member disposed in the lift pin housing, the seal member configured to form a seal against the lift pin.
Wada teaches a lift pin system including a seal member (267) disposed in the lift pin housing, the seal member configured to form a seal against the lift pin (see figure 9) in order to close the gap between the lift pin housing and the pin (para 0124).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicant’s claims to have modified Asakura to include a seal member disposed in the lift pin housing, the seal member configured to form a seal against the lift pin, as taught by Wada, in order to close the gap between the lift pin housing and the pin
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other lift pins systems with seals, friction coating and/or ribs.
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652