DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on September 7, 2026, is acknowledged.
3. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 7, 2026.
Priority
4. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
5. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted March 27, 2024; April 8, 2024; January 26, 2025; and, July 22, 2026, have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
7. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
8. Claim 4 recites the limitation "the aqueous acrylic resin " in lines 1-2 and 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daughenbaugh et al. (US 11,374,223 B2).
With regard to Claim 1, Daughenbaugh et al. disclose a conductive slurry, characterized by comprising the following raw material components: an aqueous binder comprising an aqueous polymer having polycarboxyl functionality, such as epoxy functional acrylic polymer (column 4, line 12 through column 6, line 47); a conductive agent (column 7, line 51 through column 8, line 2); a dispersant, such as water (column 8, lines 36-49); and a curing agent for cross-linking reaction with the aqueous polymer having polycarboxyl functionality (column 6, line 48 through column 7, line 30).
With regard to Claim 3, Daughenbaugh et al. disclose the aqueous polymer having polycarboxyl functionality comprises at least one of aqueous acrylic resin, such as epoxy functional acrylic polymer (column 4, line 12 through column 6, line 47).
With regard to Claim 4, Daughenbaugh et al. disclose the aqueous acrylic resin comprises a copolymer of polyacrylic acid, acrylic acid, such as epoxy functional acrylic polymer (column 4, line 12 through column 6, line 47).
With regard to Claim 5, Daughenbaugh et al. disclose the curing agent comprises a compound having more than two carboxylic acid reactive functional groups, optionally, the carboxylic acid reactive functional group being selected from at least one of carbodiimide group (column 6, line 48 through column 7, line 30).
With regard to Claim 6, Daughenbaugh et al. disclose the dispersant comprises an aqueous solvent, wherein the aqueous solvent comprises water (column 8, lines 36-49).
With regard to Claim 7, Daughenbaugh et al. disclose the raw material components of the conductive slurry further comprise a thickener, the thickener comprising at least one of carboxymethyl cellulose and salt thereof (column 8, lines 3-35).
With regard to Claim 8, Daughenbaugh et al. disclose the conductive agent comprises at least one of carbon black and Ketjen black (column 7, line 54 through column 8, line 2).
With regard to Claim 9, Daughenbaugh et al. disclose a method for preparing the conductive slurry noted above, wherein the method comprises: uniformly mixing a conductive agent, a dispersant, and an aqueous binder to obtain a pre mixture; and adding a curing agent to the pre-mixture and uniformly mixing it to obtain a conductive slurry (See Example 9, column 17, line 45 through column 18, line 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daughenbaugh et al. (US 11,374,223 B2), as applied to Claims 1 and 3-10 above.
With regard to Claim 2, Daughenbaugh et al. disclose the conductive slurry in paragraph 11 above, including wherein the conductive slurry comprises, in parts by mass: up to 70 wt% of aqueous binder (column 6, lines 28-47); up to 20 wt% of conductive agent (column 7, lines 51-65); up to 80 wt% dispersant (column 8, lines 36-49); and up to 5 wt% of curing agent (column 7, lines 20-30). Daughenbaugh et al. do not specifically disclose wherein the conductive slurry comprises100 parts of aqueous binder; 50-150 parts of conductive agent; 800-850 parts of dispersant; and 3-16 parts of curing agent. The specific amount of aqueous binder, conductive agent, dispersant and curing agent in the conductive slurry is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the conductive slurry, stability and cost of manufacturing are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said amount of aqueous binder, conductive agent, dispersant and curing agent in the conductive slurry, with the stability and manufacturing cost both increasing as the amount of aqueous binder, conductive agent, dispersant and curing agent is increased, the precise amount of aqueous binder, conductive agent, dispersant and curing agent in the conductive slurry would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of aqueous binder, conductive agent, dispersant and curing agent in the conductive slurry in the conductive slurry of Daughenbaugh et al. to obtain the desired balance between the stability and cost of manufacturing (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
With regard to Claim 10, Daughenbaugh et al. disclose the conductive slurry in paragraph 11 above, including wherein the conductive slurry comprises, in parts by mass: up to 70 wt% of aqueous binder (column 6, lines 28-47) and up to 5 wt% of curing agent (column 7, lines 20-30). Daughenbaugh et al. do not specifically disclose wherein a mass ratio of the curing agent to the aqueous binder is 0.03-0.16. Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a mass ratio of the curing agent to the aqueous binder to be 0.03-0.16, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/KARIE O'NEILL APICELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725