Election/Restrictions
Claims 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 06/12/2026.
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 16-20 in the reply filed on 06/12/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that a search for any of Groups I, II, or III and Species 1, 2, or 3 would yield references applicable to all of Groups I, II, and III and Species 1, 2, or 3, if any such references exist. Thus, examination of the combined claim set is more efficient as there is no serious search burden imposed on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the Groups and Species would still require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Status of claims
The action is in reply to the Application filed on 06/12/2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 16-20 are withdrawn and claims 1-15 are being examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1)(2) as being anticipated by Lubomirsky (US 20240290638 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lubomirsky (US 20240290638 A1) discloses a lift pin system (700; fig. 7a; para. 65), comprising:
a plunger housing (706; fig. 7a; para. 65);
a plunger (730 and as annotated in fig. 7a below; para. 65) disposed in the plunger housing (as shown in fig, 7a; para. 65), the plunger axially movable with respect to the plunger housing (figs. 7A and 7B; para. 65);
a bushing (as annotated in fig. 7A below) disposed around the plunger (as seen in fig. 7a), the bushing axially movable with respect to the plunger housing (bushing portion moves upward with the plunger; figs. 7A and 7B; para. 65); and
a lift pin (720; fig. 7A; para. 66) disposed in a lift pin housing (715; fig. 7A; para. 66) above the plunger housing (as shown in fig. 7A), the lift pin axially movable by movement of the plunger (para. 68; fig. 7B);
wherein the bushing limits upward movement of the plunger (bushing contacts member 712 and prevents the plunger from leaving the housing; para. 65; fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 5, Lubomirsky teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and further teaches wherein the bushing limits upward movement of the plunger by engagement with a flange of the plunger (the bushing acts as a flange to limit movement by contacting member 712 and prevents the plunger from leaving the housing; para. 65; fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 6, Lubomirsky teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above and further teaches wherein an upper portion of the plunger (730; fig. 7A; para. 69) is disposed around the lift pin housing (as seen in fig. 7A; para. 69).
Regarding claim 7, Lubomirsky teaches the limitations of claim 6, as described above and further teaches wherein an axial length of the upper portion is adjustable (reference figs. 7A and 7C, it is seen the upper portion 730 expands and contracts axially lengthwise; para. 69).
Regarding claim 8, Lubomirsky (US 20240290638 A1) discloses a lift pin system (700; fig. 7a; para. 65), comprising:
a plunger housing (706; fig. 7a; para. 65);
a lift pin (720; fig. 7A; para. 66) disposed in a lift pin housing (715; fig. 7A; para. 66) above the plunger housing (as shown in fig. 7A);
a plunger (707,710, 711, and 730; fig. 7A; para. 65) axially movable with respect to the plunger housing (figs. 7A and 7B; para. 65), and including:
a lower portion (707,710, 711; fig. 7A; para. 65) disposed in the plunger housing (fig. 7A; para. 65); and an upper portion disposed around the lift pin housing (730; fig. 7A; para. 69);
wherein an axial length of the upper portion is adjustable (reference figs. 7A and 7C, it is seen the upper portion 730 expands and contracts axially lengthwise; para. 69).
Regarding claim 12, Lubomirsky discloses the limitations of claim 8, as disclosed above, and further teaches wherein a spring (708; fig. 7A; para. 65) in the plunger housing (fig. 7A; para. 65) biases the plunger upwards (figs. 7A-7C; paras. 65, 67, 68).
Regarding claim 13, Lubomirsky discloses the limitations of claim 12, as disclosed above, and further teaches wherein the lift pin is axially movable by movement of the plunger (para. 68; fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 14, Lubomirsky discloses the limitations of claim 8, as disclosed above, and further teaches wherein the lift pin system further comprises a bushing (as annotated in fig. 7A below) disposed around the plunger (as seen in fig. 7a), the bushing axially movable with respect to the plunger housing (bushing portion moves upward with the plunger; figs. 7A and 7B; para. 65).
Regarding claim 15, Lubomirsky discloses the limitations of claim 15, as disclosed above, and further teaches wherein the bushing limits upward movement of the plunger by engagement with a flange of the plunger (the bushing acts as a flange to limit movement by contacting member 712 and prevents the plunger from leaving the housing; para. 65; fig. 7A).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, the closest art of record, Lubomirsky, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, however does not teach, suggest or make obvious wherein axial movement of the bushing is via rotation of the bushing (axial movement is via vertical translation of the plunger; figs. 7A and 7B; para. 65).
Regarding claim 3, the closest art of record, Lubomirsky, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, however does not teach, suggest or make obvious wherein the bushing is coupled to a support housing in the plunger housing (the bushing identified in the closest are of record is axially movable, which would not be possible for it to be coupled to a support housing, furthermore Lubomirsky does not disclose a support housing within the plunger housing).
Claim 4 is objected to as it is dependent on claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, the closest art of record, Lubomirsky, discloses the limitations of claim 6, as described above, however does not teach, suggest or make obvious wherein the axial length of the upper portion is adjusted by including a shim in the upper portion (substantial search of prior art does not disclose this feature pertaining to the mapped version of the closest art of record).
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to as it is dependent on claim 9.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL THADDUES FARRELL JR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723