DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. In the event that the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim(s) 9, 2-3 & 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bugeau-Medas et al. US2022/01920052 in view of Ayres, III et al. US7855891.
Per claim 9 Bugeau-Medas et al. teaches an electronic control unit ([0047]-[0048]) comprising: a housing (12 & 50, see fig.1) including an interface portion (50, see fig.1-3, “top surface of 50”); a printed circuit board (PCB) (14) supporting one or more electronic components (40); and a removable adapter (16, see fig.1-3, “16 is removable from 12 and 50”) including a die-cast aluminum alloy body ([0040] & [0031]) with a top surface (see fig.2, “top surface of 44”) and a base surface (see fig.2-3, “bottom surface of 44”), and the top surface (see fig.2-3, “top portion of 44”) including one or more pedestals (58 & 60) configured for contacting the one or more electronic components (40) of the PCB (see fig.2-3).
Bugeau-Medas et al. does not explicitly teach the base surface configured to locate with the interface portion of the housing by one or more locating pins.
Ayres, III et al. however discloses the base surface (see fig.4, “bottom of 300”) configured to locate with the interface portion of the housing (see fig.4, “top portion of 4”) by one or more locating pins (see fig.4, “screw on side”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the base surface configured to locate with the interface portion of the housing by one or more locating pins, because it ensures a stable, well aligned and secured fit of the base surface to the housing.
Per claim 2 Bugeau-Medas et al. in view of Ayres, III et al. teaches the electronic control unit of claim 9 wherein: each of the one or more pedestals (60) includes a contact surface (see fig.2 & 4), the contact surface forms an area and is located at a height, and at least two of the contact surfaces of the one or more pedestals have an area and/or height that is different (see fig.2).
Per claim 3 Bugeau-Medas et al. in view of Ayres, III et al. teaches the electronic control unit of claim 2 wherein at least two of the contact surfaces of the one or more pedestals (60) have an area and/or height that are similar (see fig.2).
Per claim 12 Bugeau-Medas et al. in view of Ayres, III et al. teaches the electronic control unit of claim 9 wherein the housing is a die-cast aluminum alloy ([0020] & [0040]) or stamped sheet metal.
Claim(s) 9, 4-5, 10-11 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bugeau-Medas et al. US2022/01920052 in view of Ayres, III et al. US7855891.
Per claim 9 Ayres, III et al. teaches an electronic unit comprising: a housing (200 & 210, see fig.3) including an interface portion (see fig.3, “surface of 200 interfacing with 300”); a printed circuit board (PCB) (see fig.3, “P.C. Board”) supporting one or more electronic components (110C, 110D, see fig.3); and a removable adapter (300; col.4, line 1-9, “attached”) with a top surface and a base surface (see fig.3), the base surface (see fig.3, “bottom portion of 300”) configured to locate with the interface portion of the housing by one or more locating pins (see fig.4, “screw on right side”), and the top surface (see fig.3, “top portion of 300”) including one or more pedestals (300A & 300B) configured for contacting the one or more electronic components (110C & 110D) of the PCB (see fig.3).
Ayres, III et al. does not explicitly teach an electronic control unit, and a removable adapter including a die-cast aluminum alloy body
Bugeau-Medas et al. however discloses an electronic control unit ([0047]-[0048]), and a removable adapter (16) including a die-cast aluminum alloy body ([0040] & [0031]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an electronic control unit and a removable adapter including a die-cast aluminum alloy body, because It enables a system like a vehicle that uses an ECU to have effective cooling, thus ensuring that the ECU operates properly.
Per claim 4 Ayres, III et al. in view of Bugeau-Medas et al. teaches the electronic control unit of claim 9 wherein the body (300) further includes a securing feature for coupling the body to the housing (see fig.4, “screw on side”).
Per claim 5 Ayres, III et al. in view of Bugeau-Medas et al. teaches the electronic control unit of claim 4 wherein the securing feature is selected from one or more of a hole configured for receiving a fastener, a clip, or guide rail (see fig.4).
Per claim 10 Ayres, III et al. in view of Bugeau-Medas et al. teaches the electronic control unit of claim 9 further comprising a first layer of thermal interface material (340) between the removable adapter (300) and the interface portion of the housing (see fig.3).
Per claim 11 Ayres, III et al. in view of Bugeau-Medas et al. teaches the electronic control unit of claim 10 further comprising a second layer of thermal interface material (350C & 350D) between the one or more pedestals (300A & 300B, see fig.3) of the removable adapter and the one or more electronic components (see fig.3).
Per claim 13 Ayres, III et al. teaches a method of upgrading an electronic unit, the method comprising: opening a housing of the electronic unit; removing a first printed circuit board (see fig.3, “P.C. Board”); removing a first removable adapter (300) for replacement with a second removable adapter configured for interfacing with a second printed circuit board (Abstract & col.1, line 44-67 & col.2, line 1-2); securing the second removable adapter to an interface portion of the housing by one or more locating pins (see fig.3, “screw to side”); and securing the second printed circuit board over the second removable adapter (Abstract) such that one or more electronic components (110C & 110D) are in thermal contact with corresponding one or more pedestals (300A & 300B) of the second removable adapter (Abstract).
Ayres, III et al. does not explicitly teach an electronic control unit, and a die-cast aluminum-alloy bodied removable adapter
Bugeau-Medas et al. however discloses an electronic control unit ([0047]-[0048]), and a removable adapter (16) including a die-cast aluminum alloy body ([0040] & [0031]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have an electronic control unit and a removable adapter including a die-cast aluminum alloy body, because It enables a system like a vehicle that uses an ECU to have effective cooling, thus ensuring that the ECU operates properly.
Examiner's Note: Regarding claims 13, since there are no specific method steps being claimed, just a general process of using the device of claim(s) 9 (i.e., the method of claims 13 repeat the structure recited in the apparatus of claim[s] 9), the fact that the structure of the device of the present invention is obvious by Ayres, III et al. in view of Bugeau-Medas et al. means that the general method of using such a structure is also obvious by the same reference(s). The method steps recited in the claim are inherently/obviously necessitated by the structure of
Email Communication
2. Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Conclusion
3. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fronk US2004/0218375 discloses a conversion kit for enabling a user to select between assembling a module as either an open frame module or a baseplate module, said kit comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB) including an electrical circuit having one or more components mounted on a first surface thereof and having two rows of pins extending out from said first surface proximate to opposite edges of said PCB for enabling said circuit to be connected to a circuit external to said PCB.
Su et al. US2020/0214151 discloses an electronics device, comprising: a first printed circuit board having a plurality of through-holes; a second printed circuit board having a plurality of through-holes; a housing in which the first and second printed circuit boards are disposed, the first printed circuit board disposed above the second printed circuit board in the housing; a connector attached to the housing
Applicants are directed to consider additional pertinent prior are included on the Notice of References Cited (PTOL 892) attached herewith. The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/MICHAEL A MATEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835