Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed November 12th, 2025, regarding the double patenting rejections and rejections of claims 1, 15, and 98 and their dependents have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant claims that the previous nonstatutory double patenting rejections should be withdrawn in view of the concurrently filed terminal disclaimer, however, Examiner notes that no terminal disclaimer has been received or filed in this application, and so the rejections will be maintained.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues that Tanaka fails to teach the claimed limitations as Tanaka’s “general-purpose data storage function is objectively distinct from the specialized architecture of a gasket memory that explicitly links…results of one configuration as input to a subsequent configuration” and Tanaka “fails to teach this specific relationship between PE configurations”.
In response to the above Argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s arguments are based on alleged features of the invention not found within the language of the claims. Claim 1 makes no mention of a “specialized architecture” of the claimed gasket memory, and merely requires that such memory is “coupled to the plurality of PEs”, and is “configured to store at least one PE execution result to be used by at least one of the plurality of PEs during a next PE configuration”. Tanaka discloses these features in at least paragraphs [0054-0055], which states that the local memory “may be used for storing the intermediate result of [an] operation in the reconfigurable cell array”, which may be used in a subsequent configuration (Tanaka [0095], [0111], intermediate result is used after task switching). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not considered persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding the rejection of claim 15, Applicant argues that Isobe, Tanaka, and Ishebabi fail to teach the limitations of claim 15 as “Tanaka fails to disclose the specialized functional relationship of a gasket memory” and the cited buffers of Isobe “are configured to store data…rather than storing instructions as recited by claim 15”, which would “render the reconfigurable processor…inoperable [if] these buffers…were converted to store instructions instead of data”.
In response to the above argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The first argument regarding Tanaka has been addressed above with respect to claim 1. Regarding the buffers of Isobe, Applicant once again makes arguments based on alleged features of the invention not found within the language of the claims. Claim 15 does not require that any of the claimed processor components explicitly store instructions, and instead uses the generic term “data” when referring to, for example, “routing data from one physical data path to the gasket memory”. The claim only requires that the execution kernel “includes a sequence of instructions”, and makes no mention as to where said instructions may be stored or buffered. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not considered persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
Regarding the rejection of claim 98, Applicant argues that Isobe and Eisen fail to teach the claimed limitations as Isobe fails to teach “additional details of the memory ports”, referring to the “MPs comprising an address calculation unit”, and that the address generation bus of Eisen is “for routing specific data” rather than calculating an address, and that “Eisen states that ‘execution slices…may determine the appropriate target of one (or more) cache slices…based on…address generation’”.
In response to the above argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Identity of terminology is not required for anticipation, as per MPEP §2131. While Isobe discloses ports between reconfigurable circuit memory and an external communication unit, Eisen is relied upon for the claimed functionality and details of the memory ports. Eisen discloses multiple memory port connections within each execution slice (Eisen [0023]), and explicitly states that the AGEN bus is the “address generating bus” (Eisen [0022]). The section of Eisen quoted by Applicant even states that the execution slices may select a target cache slice “based on…address generation”, not that the slices generate the address themselves. Eisen states that the execution slice may include a distinct pipeline for “address computation” distinct from the “calculation logic unit” (term used by Applicant) which would be represented by Eisen’s “scalar of vector operations, floating-point operations, etc” (Eisen [0030]). Therefore, it is the “address generating bus” and dedicated address computing pipeline which disclose a “memory port compris[ing] an address calculation unit”, not the arithmetic operation pipelines as argued by Applicant. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not considered persuasive and the rejections are maintained.
2. Applicant’s arguments, filed November 12th, 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 2 and its dependents have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections have been withdrawn.
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-23 and 98-115 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,226,927 and claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,971,847. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application would be anticipated by those of ‘927 and ‘847.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 2008/0168465).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches a processor, comprising:
a plurality of processing elements (PEs) (Fig 1, PEs & DRPs) each comprising a configuration buffer (Fig 2, [0052], configuration buffer CFGBUF in each DRP);
a sequencer coupled to the configuration buffer of each of the plurality of the PEs and configured to distribute one or more PE configurations to the configuration buffer (Figs, 1, 4-5, [0054], [0056-0057], [0072-0073], storing and transferring configurations to configuration buffers of a PE under control of sub-processor SPU); and
a gasket memory coupled to the plurality of PEs and being configured to store at least one PE execution result to be used by at least one of the plurality of PEs during a next PE configuration ([0054-0055], storing arithmetic operation results in local memory, local memory used as input to next data processing task [0041], determining next task to be performed & [0045-0046], external memory available to all processing elements).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim 98 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe (US 7,529,910, cited in previous Office Action) in view of Eisen (US 2016/0202991, herein Eisen, cited in previous Office Action).
Regarding claim 98, Isobe teaches a processor, comprising:
a plurality of processing elements (PEs) (Fig 1, reconfigurable circuits 130) each having a plurality of arithmetic logic units (ALUs) (Isobe Fig 3, 5:5-11, 5:51-62, ALUs); and
a plurality of memory ports (MPs) for the plurality of PEs to access a memory unit for each thread to access a different memory bank in the memory unit (Fig 1, memory 132 & 7:26-35).
Isobe fails to teach wherein the ALUs are configured to execute a same instruction in parallel threads or wherein each of the plurality of MPs comprises an address calculation unit configured to generate respective memory addresses for each thread.
Eisen teaches a processor comprising a plurality of processing elements including a plurality of arithmetic logic units (ALUs) configured to execute a same instruction in parallel threads ([0026], [0029], instruction of same instruction by multiple execution slices as per SIMD execution) and wherein each of a plurality of MPs comprises an address calculation unit configured to generate respective memory addresses for each thread ([0022], [0025], address generation, [0030], address computation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Isobe and Duluk with those of Eisen to utilize SIMD type execution. While Isobe does not explicitly disclose the reconfigurable processor may be used for implementing same instruction type parallel execution, Isobe does contemplate the use of the reconfigurable circuits executing in parallel, and SIMD execution is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art. As both Isobe and Eisen disclose reconfigurable parallel processor architectures (Isobe Abstract, Eisen [0003], [0009]), this combination would merely entail combining known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
6. Claims 99-106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe and Duluk et al (US 2013/0268942, herein Duluk, cited in previous Office Action) in view of Eisen.
Regarding claim 99, the combination of Isobe and Eisen teaches the processor of claim 98. Isobe and Eisen fail to teach wherein the address calculation unit has a first input coupled to a base address input that provides a base address common to all threads, a second input coupled to a vector address that provides address offsets for each thread individually, and a third input coupled to a counter that is configured to provide thread indexes ([0084], base address, [0100], SM & warp index,
Duluk teaches wherein the address calculation unit has a first input coupled to a base address input that provides a base address common to all threads, a second input coupled to a vector address that provides address offsets for each thread individually, and a third input coupled to a counter that is configured to provide thread indexes ([0084], base address, [0100], SM & warp index, per-thread addressing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Isobe and Eisen with those of Duluk to utilize multiple addressing types. While Isobe does not explicitly disclose the means by which addresses are generated, Isobe does disclose the use of addresses transmitted between memory communication hardware and the reconfigurable processing elements. As both Isobe and Duluk disclose reconfigurable parallel processor architectures (Isobe Abstract, Duluk [0103]), this combination would merely entail combining known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 100, the combination of Isobe, Eisen, and Duluk teaches the processor of claim 99, wherein one address in the vector address is routed to one memory bank according to a thread index (Duluk [0100], thread indexing).
Regarding claim 101, the combination of Isobe, Eisen, and Duluk teaches the processor of claim 99, wherein the memory unit comprises a plurality of memory caches each associated with a different memory bank (Duluk [0070], memory banks & [0047-0048], caching).
Regarding claim 102, the combination of Isobe, Eisen, and Duluk teaches the processor of claim 101, wherein each of the plurality of memory ports are coupled to the plurality of memory caches (Duluk [0047-0048], caches).
Regarding claim 103, the combination of Isobe, Eisen, and Duluk teaches the processor of claim 101, wherein each memory bank comprises a plurality of memory words and a cache miss in a memory cache causes a word to be fetched from a memory bank associated with the memory cache (Duluk [0060-0061], entries storing 32-bit words & [0088], cache miss fetching).
Regarding claim 104, the combination of Isobe, Eisen, and Duluk teaches the processor of claim 99, wherein each of the plurality of PEs comprises a plurality of data buffers to store data for each thread separately (Isobe Figs 1 & 3, 5:43-62).
Regarding claim 105, the combination of Isobe, Eisen, and Duluk teaches the processor of claim 99, further comprising a sequencer coupled to the plurality of memory ports, wherein each of the plurality of memory ports comprises a configuration buffer to receive one or more configurations from the sequencer, and each memory port is configured to provide a same memory access pattern during one configuration (Isobe Fig 1, control unit 113, 6:53-67 & 5:1-4, configurations).
Regarding claim 106, the combination of Isobe, Eisen, and Duluk teaches the processor of claim 99, wherein consecutive data pieces for one thread are located in one word of a memory bank and continue in a next word of the memory bank (Duluk [0070]).
7. Claim 115 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe, Duluk, and Eisen in view of Kim (US 2014/03171628).
Regarding claim 115, the combination of Isobe, Eisen, and Duluk teaches the processor of claim 98. Isobe, Eisen, and Duluk fail to teach wherein the memory unit is configured to be used as registers to store spilled variables for register spilling.
Kim teaches a processor wherein a memory unit is configured to be used as registers to store spilled variables for register spilling ([0037], [0040], [0043], [0047], register and memory spill instructions to spill register values to memory).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Isobe, Duluk, and Eisen with those of Kim to utilize register spilling. While Isobe does not disclose how register values may be handled by the memory unit, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that saving or spilling register values for later usage is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art. As both Isobe and Kim disclose the use of a reconfigurable processor architecture and structures for controlling memory accesses, this combination would merely entail combining known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
8. Claims 15-16 and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe in view of Tanaka and Ishebabi (US 2011/0231644).
Regarding claim 15, Isobe teaches a method, comprising:
mapping a virtual data path at a processor, wherein the processor comprises various reconfigurable units that include a gasket memory (Fig 1, reconfigurable circuits 130, retiming output buffers, 6:45-52);
delivering configurations to various reconfigurable units of the processor for the various reconfigurable units (reconfigurable circuits 130, retiming output buffers, 6:45-52, control unit 113, 6:53-67 & 5:1-4, configurations); and
operating the various reconfigurable units according to the configurations, including routing data from one physical data path to the gasket memory to be used in a future physical data path as input (Fig 1, input data dividing unit & retiming selection buffers 190, 6:30-33).
Isobe fails to teach the instructions being part of an execution kernel or chopping the virtual data path into one or more physical data paths, forming the one or more physical data paths using the various reconfigurable units.
Tanaka teaches a method comprising mapping instructions into a virtual data path at a processor, wherein the instruction include a sequence of instructions to be executed by the processor, and the processor comprises various reconfigurable units, and forming the one or more data paths using the various reconfigurable units by delivering configurations to the various reconfigurable units to execute the sequence of instructions (Figs 2, 5, [0046-0048], [0052-0056], distributing configurations via a buffer and manager to multiple reconfigurable processors including a reconfigurable array, reconfigurable processors include a local memory for instructions to be executed, reconfiguration controlled by subprocessor SPU).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Tanaka and Isobe to utilize the reconfigurable architecture for delivering and executing instructions in a datapath. While Isobe does not explicitly state that the processing operations to be performed by the reconfigurable processors may include instructions to be mapped and executed, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the use of instructions to control the execution of processing elements at any scale is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art. Therefore, utilizing the reconfigurable hardware of Isobe for transferring and executing instructions to perform the processor operations would merely entail a simple substitution of known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Isobe and Tanak fail to teach the instructions being part of an execution kernel or chopping the virtual data path into one or more physical data paths.
Ishebabi teaches a method comprising mapping an execution kernel into a virtual data path at a processor ([0030], mapping kernel onto execution constructs of an FPGA) and chopping the virtual data path into one or more physical data paths, ([0030], mapping kernel to physical hardware & [0033], [0044], construct new data paths according to FPGA configuration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Isobe and Tanaka with those of Ishebabi in order to utilize data path mapping. While Isobe does not explicitly disclose the instructions being executed by the processor being embodied as an execution kernel or the reconfigurable hardware being embodied as one or more datapaths, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand these constructs are routine and conventional aspects of the microprocessor art. As both Isobe and Ishebabi disclose the use of reconfigurable logic for executing programs, this combination would merely entail combining known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Isobe, Tanaka, and Ishebabi teach the method of claim 15, wherein the various reconfigurable units further comprise a plurality of processing elements, a plurality of switch boxes each associated with a separate processing element, a plurality of memory ports that provide access to a memory unit for the plurality of processing elements, and a plurality of inter-column switch boxes, where each of the various reconfigurable units are reconfigured by applying a next configuration independently from other reconfigurable units (Isobe Fig 1, memory 132 & 7:26-35, control unit 113, 6:53-67 & 5:1-4, configurations & processed data selection units 111 & 112).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Isobe, Tanaka, and Ishebabi teach the method of claim 16, wherein the plurality of PEs form a PE array and the execution kernel is mapped into one or more physical data paths on the processor based on a size of the PE array, connections between the plurality of PEs, and memory access capability (Ishebabi [0033], [0044], arranging datapaths according to hardware requirements).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Isobe, Tanaka, and Ishebabi teach the method of claim 15, wherein the various reconfigurable units form multiple repetitive columns, and each of the one or more physical data paths is fitted into the multiple repetitive columns, and data flows between the repetitive columns are in one direction (Isobe Figs 1 & 3-5, 5:43-50).
9. Claims 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe, Tanaka, and Ishebabi, and further in view of Eisen.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Isobe, Tanaka, and Ishebabi teach the method of claim 16. Isobe, Tanaka, and Ishebabi fail to teach wherein each of the plurality of PEs comprises a plurality of arithmetic logic units (ALUs) that are configured to execute same instruction in parallel threads.
Eisen teaches a processor comprising a plurality of processing elements including a plurality of arithmetic logic units (ALUs) configured to execute a same instruction in parallel threads ([0026], [0029], instruction of same instruction by multiple execution slices as per SIMD execution).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Isobe, Tanaka, and Ishebabi with those of Eisen to utilize SIMD type execution. While Isobe does not explicitly disclose the reconfigurable processor may be used for implementing same instruction type parallel execution, Isobe does contemplate the use of the reconfigurable circuits executing in parallel, and SIMD execution is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art. As both Isobe and Eisen disclose reconfigurable parallel processor architectures (Isobe Abstract, Eisen [0003], [0009]), this combination would merely entail combining known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Isobe, Ishebabi, and Eisen teach the method of claim 17, wherein each of the plurality of PEs comprises a plurality of data buffers for the plurality of ALUs and is configured to operate independently during one physical data path (Isobe Fig 1, reconfigurable circuits 130 & configuration buffers 121, 5:51-52, ALU-type circuits & 7:22-25).
10. Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Isobe, Tanaka, Ishebabi, and Eisen, and further in view of Duluk.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Isobe, Tanaka, Ishebabi and Eisen teaches the method of claim 17. Isobe, Tanaka, Ishebabi and Eisen fail to teach wherein each of the plurality of memory ports is configured to operate in a private access mode or a shared access mode during one configuration.
Duluk teaches a processor wherein memory ports of a reconfigurable processing element are configured to operate in a private access mode or a shared access mode during one MP configuration ([0103], reconfiguring PPUs & [0053], [0061], [0071], configuring memory to be shared between thread arrays).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Isobe, Tanaka, Ishebabi, and Eisen with those of Duluk to utilize shared memory access in the parallel processor. While Isobe only discloses the exemplary reconfigurable parallel processor as each processing element utilizing its own distinct memory, Isobe does disclose the communication unit retrieving information from outside the processor to configure the processing elements (Isobe 7:8-21). Therefore, utilizing an external shared memory when appropriate for programs which share a thread array indicator, as taught by Duluk, would allow for the processor to have a distinct shared memory space rather than continually transferring the necessary data between local memories of each configurable element. As threaded execution is a routine and conventional aspect of the microprocessor art, this would merely entail a combination of known prior art elements to achieve predictable results, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Isobe, Tanaka, Ishebabi, Eisen, and Duluk teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising accessing a piece of data stored in the memory unit through the private access mode and the shared access mode in different physical data paths without the piece of data being moved in the memory unit (Duluk [0053], [0061], [0071]).
Allowable Subject Matter
11. Claims 20 and 109-113 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dawson (US 2008/0244169) discloses a reconfigurable processor wherein a memory port includes an access port to a memory bus and is operable to generate a memory address.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J METZGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183