DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7-8, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (2) as being anticipated by O’Rourke et al (US 2009/0088233).
Re claims 1, 8, and 15, O’Rourke discloses a system comprising: one or more processors and computer-readable media (fig. 10, 1014 and 1016) storing instructions causing the processor to: operate, during gameplay of a game including a set of controls for a player of the game (via input devices 1036 utilized with operating system 1028 and system applications, see par. [0057]), a simulated player model to provide gameplay complexity assistance for the player ([0023] and [0031], the information can be collected from other users) including: inputting a game state of the game to the simulated player model ([0027]-[0028]) to cause the simulated player model to generate at least one simulated control corresponding to at least one control of the set of controls for the player ([0030]-[0031], based on the inputs to the system, the system provides assistance or help to the player);
receiving the at least one simulated control input from the simulated player model and utilize, in the gameplay of the game, the at least one simulated control input from the simulated player model as a player input of the corresponding one of the set of controls of the player ([0022], [0025]-[0026]).
Re claims 7 and 14, O’Rourke discloses receiving one or more additional control inputs from the player ([0027]-[0028] and [0042], the system gathers portions of data from users, including inputs from input devices); and combine the one or more additional control inputs with the at least one simulated control input as a combined input ([0030]-[0031], the gameplay assistance is provided in addition to the player’s game play, such as by providing text, graphical, visual, or audio data during game play); and wherein the utilizing, in the gameplay of the game, the at least one simulated control input from the simulated player model as the player input utilizes the combined input as the player input (see above, the game incorporates both the gameplay assistance inputs along with the player’s inputs together in the presentation of the game).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 9-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Rourke in view of Yu (US 2021/0220742).
Re claims 2, 9, and 16, O’Rourke discloses determining an occurrence of an interaction trigger in the gameplay of the game and outputting a prompt for the player to input an interaction input different from the at least one simulated control input and receiving a prompted input ([0042], where O’Rourke prompts the user for an answer to a question or for input for an option).
However, O’Rourke does not disclose the generation of the at least one simulated control input by the simulated player model based at least in part on the prompted input as O’Rourke only discloses the prompts being used for a question or option, rather than gameplay control.
Yu teaches a gameplay mechanic which allows players to provide input to a prompt that is separate from other control inputs which result in generated simulated control inputs (see figs. 6 and 7a-b). During a battle state, Yu prompts users to click or tap their screen in order to increase the amount of health for respawning. Clicking and tapping the screen for increasing health is considered to be different than other control inputs (e.g. moving the character, firing a weapon, etc.), and results in the simulated control input of respawning with increased health.
It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill to incorporate additional prompts into the game for players as taught by Yu with the game of O’Rourke in order to provide additional game features not directly related to control of the in-game character, increasing the variety of gameplay and decreasing gameplay monotony.
Re claims 3, 10, and 17, Yu teaches the interaction trigger is a determination of the simulated player model to perform an in-game action (figs. 7a-b, click/tap the screen); the simulated player model generates a first number of control inputs of the set of controls for a player of the game to perform the in-game action (fig. 6, during the player’s impending death state, the player inputs determines whether the player fails or succeeds in restoring health to full value); and the interaction input includes a second number of control inputs of the set of controls for a player of the game that is smaller than the first number of control inputs (see above, wherein the first number of control inputs can be considered to be successfully restoring the full value of health, and the second value being a failure to restore health due to the number of inputs, i.e. not clicking or tapping enough, being less than successful, see pars. [0094] to [0100]).
Re claims 4, 11, and 18, Yu teaches determining a metric associated with the interaction and prompted input (fig. 6, see the branch from “Impending death state”); wherein the controlling the generation of the at least one simulated control input by the simulated player model based at least in part on the prompted input is based at least in part on the metric (see fig. 6, wherein successful or failed prompts result in different control inputs to the player model to play a certain animation or die/respawn).
Re claims 5, 12, and 19, Yu teaches the prompt includes a timing for the interaction input ([0096], the player’s health continuously deducts over time, therefore the timing for the interaction input is based on the amount of temporary health); and the metric is based at least in part on a similarity of a timing of the prompted input to the timing for the interaction input (see above, if the player clicks/taps the screen enough times during the temporary health period and restores enough health, they are respawned).
Re claims 6, 13, and 20, O’Rourke discloses a first and second set of in-game actions associated with a first and second level of gameplay complexity assistance of a plurality of levels of gameplay complexity assistance, the second level including more in-game actions than the first ([0026] and [0030], the level of assistance is dynamic based on the skill level of the player). Yu has taught the interaction trigger being associated with an in-game action of a first set of in-game actions the simulated player model is configured to perform in place of the player (see rejection to claims 2-5 regarding the player in an impending death state).
Conclusion
/KEVIN Y KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715