DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, drawn to the process of evaluating a user’s gait, in the reply filed on 4/8/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 (now cancelled) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/8/26.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement and Third-Party Submission
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) and Third-Party submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 35 U.S.C. 122(e). Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “the one or more sensor types” should apparently read “the one or more types of sensors” for consistency and antecedent. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 positively recites “via one or more algorithms” in line 7. Claim 1 also positively recites “via one or more algorithms” in line 12. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to if the line 12 recitation is lacking antecedent basis, i.e. if “via the one or more algorithms” was intended to be recited, and/or if the instead the algorithms are independent and distinct. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention because it is ambiguous which and how many “one or more algorithms” may and/or may not be required or excluded explicitly, implicitly, inherently, or inferentially from the scope of the claim. Depending claims 2-13 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
Claim 4, depending directly from claim 1, positively recites “via one or more algorithms” in lines 1-2, suffering similar and escalating the indefiniteness as set forth hereinabove. Depending claim 5 inherits and does not remedy the indefiniteness.
Claim 7 positively recites the limitation "the parameters" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In the interest of compact prosecution, the examiner respectfully notes Applicant may have intended to positively recite “the gait parameters” consistent with claim 1.
Claim 8 positively recites the limitation "said gait metrics" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Depending claim 10 inherits and does not remedy the indefiniteness.
The term “recommendations for improvements” in claim 10 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “improvements” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention because it is ambiguous what may and/or may not be required or excluded explicitly, implicitly, inherently, or inferentially from the scope of the claim to be considered “improvements” and/or to what degree of “improvement” may be necessary.
Claim 11 positively recites the limitation "a patient’s" in line 3. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to the relationship between and/or amongst “a patient” and “a user”. Consistent with the disclosure it appears they may be only the same, but per the antecedent they appear distinct. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention because it is ambiguous what may and/or may not be required or excluded explicitly, implicitly, inherently, or inferentially from the scope of the claim to be considered “a patient” in addition to “the user”.
Claim 11 positively recites the limitation "the patient’s gait" in line 4. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to the relationship between and/or amongst “the patient’s gait” and “the user’s gait”. Consistent with the disclosure it appears they may be only the same, but per the antecedent they appear distinct. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention because it is ambiguous what may and/or may not be required or excluded explicitly, implicitly, inherently, or inferentially from the scope of the claim to be considered “the patient’s gait”.
Claim 12 positively recites the limitation "the individual " in line 3. The scope of the claim is indeterminate with respect to the relationship between and/or amongst “the individual” and “the user”. Consistent with the disclosure it appears they may be only the same, but per the antecedent they appear distinct. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention because it is ambiguous what may and/or may not be required or excluded explicitly, implicitly, inherently, or inferentially from the scope of the claim to be considered “the individual” in addition to “the user”.
The term “immediately following an injury” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “immediately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention because there are infinite possibilities and it is ambiguous what may and/or may not be required or excluded explicitly, implicitly, inherently, or inferentially from the scope of the claim to be considered “immediately” and/or what degree of “immediate”-ness may be necessary.
The term “an effectiveness” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “effectiveness” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention because it is ambiguous what may and/or may not be required or excluded explicitly, implicitly, inherently, or inferentially from the scope of the claim to be considered “effectiveness” and/or to what degree of “effectiveness” may be necessary.
The term “optimized” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “optimized” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention because it is ambiguous what may and/or may not be required or excluded explicitly, implicitly, inherently, or inferentially from the scope of the claim to be considered “optimized” and/or to what degree of “optimization” may be necessary.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7, depending directly from claim 1, recites “…the (gait) parameters comprise gait metrics from…” while claim 1 recites “…processing the gait-related segmented data, via one or more algorithms stored in the memory of the computing device, to determine one or more of: gait patterns associated with the segmented data; gait parameters associated with the segmented data; gait phenotypes associated with the segmented data…”.
Similarly, claim 8, depending directly from claim 1, recites “…the gait patterns comprise a gait signature…” while claim 1 recites “…processing the gait-related segmented data, via one or more algorithms stored in the memory of the computing device, to determine one or more of: gait patterns associated with the segmented data; gait parameters associated with the segmented data; gait phenotypes associated with the segmented data…”.
Claims 7 and 8 fail to further limit claim 1 in multiple instances when the “one or more” determined and processed gait-related segmented data are not the referenced gait patterns or gait parameters from claim 1. For example at least, claims 7 and 8 fail to further limit claim 1 when the processed gait-related segmented data is determined with only gait phenotypes.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chatzaki et al. (6/27/24 IDS NPL Cite No 14: “Chatzaki C, Skaramagkas V, Tachos N, Christodoulakis G, Maniadi E, Kefalopoulou Z, et al. The Smart-Insole Dataset: Gait Analysis Using Wearable Sensors with a Focus on Elderly and Parkinson's Patients. Sensors. 2021 Apr 16;21(8):1-22.”, and hereinafter Chatzaki).
For claim 1, Chatzaki discloses a computer implemented method for evaluating a user's gait (Figs 1-9) (Tbls 1-9) (Pgs 1-22), the method comprising inter alia:
receiving, by a computing device having a memory and a processor (Section 2 The Smart-Insole Dataset, pgs 2-9), from a pair of smart insoles (Fig 2) communicatively coupled to the computing device and worn by the user, data measured by one or more types of sensors (Fig 2);
segmenting, by the processor of the computing device, the data into gait-related segmented data processor (Table 2) (Section 2 The Smart-Insole Dataset, pgs 2-9) comprising one or more of: gait cycle segmentation or activity type (Table 2) (Section 2 The Smart-Insole Dataset, pgs 2-9);
processing the gait-related segmented data (Tables 3-5) (Section 2.4 Smart Insole Datset Annotation), via one or more algorithms stored in the memory of the computing device, to determine one or more of: gait patterns associated with the segmented data (Tables 3-5) (Section 2.4 Smart Insole Datset Annotation); gait parameters associated with the segmented data; (Tables 3-5) (Section 2.4 Smart Insole Datset Annotation) gait phenotypes associated with the segmented data (Tables 3-5) (Section 2.4 Smart Insole Datset Annotation);
calculating, via one or more algorithms a composite gait quality score (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results), based on a combination and interaction of at least two of: the segmented data, the gait patterns, the gait parameters, and the gait phenotypes (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results).
For claim 2, Chatzaki discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: displaying, on a graphical user interface of a user device communicatively coupled to the computing device, the composite gait quality score (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results).
For claim 3, Chatzaki disclises the computer implemented method of claim 2, wherein the graphical user interface (Page 19) comprises one or more of: a clinician portal and a patient smart phone app; wherein the clinician portal and patient app are further configured to receive raw and processed patient data from the system (Page 19).
For claim 4, Chatzaki discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining, via one or more algorithms a composite movement quality score, further comprises: training a support vector machine (SVM), of the one or more algorithms, to classify walking data associated with a plurality of participants in one or more groups (Table 5) (Section 2.4 Smart Insole Datset Annotation).
For claim 5, Chatzaki discloses the computer implemented method of claim 4, wherein training the SVM comprises a feature selection step to remove redundant features and identify one or more designated metrics for evaluating gait in a specific patient population (Table 5) (Section 2.4 Smart Insole Datset Annotation).
For claim 6, Chatzaki discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sensor types comprise at least one of: an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a magnetometer, a pressure sensor, and a temperature sensor (Fig 2) (Pgs 1-4).
For claim 7, Chatzaki discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the parameters comprise gait metrics from said heel strike, foot on floor, heel raise and toe off data (Table 4).
For claim 8, Chatzaki discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein the gait patterns comprise a gait signature of the individual from said gait metrics (Tables 3-5) (Section 2.4 Smart Insole Datset Annotation).
For claim 9, Chatzaki discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining the composite gait quality score further comprises: determining a progression over time of the combination (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results) and interaction of at least two of: the segmented data, the gait patterns, the gait parameters, and the gait phenotypes (Pgs 18-19) (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results).
For claim 10, Chatzaki discloses the computer implemented method of claim 8, wherein determining the composite gait quality score further comprises: an assessment of the user's gait signature and recommendations for improvement (Pgs 18-19) (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results)s.
For claim 11, Chatzaki discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining the composite gait quality score further comprises: an assessment of a change in a patient’s neurological disease condition based on measured changes to the patient’s gait (Pgs 18-19) (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results).
For claim 12, Chatzaki discloses the computer implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining the composite gait quality score further comprises: determining a baseline objective walking quality score of the individual obtained prior to start of a rehabilitation program or immediately following an injury; determining, based on the identified changes in gait pattern, an effectiveness of said rehabilitation program (Pgs 18-19) (Tables 6-9) (Figs 5-9) (Equations 2-16) (Section 3 Gait Analysis Methodology and Section 4 Results).
For claim 13, Chatzaki discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein said processing is optimized, by the processor, based on a type of assistive device being used by the user (Tables 3-5) (Section 2.4 Smart Insole Datset Annotation).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for evaluating gait.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791