DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 7/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0178433, hereinafter Xie).
Regarding claim 1, figure 16 of Xie discloses a semiconductor integrated circuit (IC) device comprising:
a first transistor comprising a first source/drain (S/D) region (50, second from the left) and a second transistor comprising a second S/D region (50, third from the left);
a first backside contact (56) directly coupled to a bottom surface of the first S/D region;
a second backside contact (56) directly coupled to a bottom surface of the second S/D region; and
a sidewall spacer (54) directly coupled to a sidewall of the first backside contact and directly coupled to a sidewall of the second backside contact.
Regarding claim 2, figure 16 of Xie discloses the first S/D region and the second S/D region are oppositely doped (¶ 42 discloses CMOS cells which comprise n-type and p-type transistors).
Regarding claim 3, figure 16 of Xie discloses a top surface of the first backside contact (56) is above a top surface of the second backside contact (when device is tilted at an angle).
Regarding claim 4, figure 16 of Xie discloses the top surface of the first backside contact (56) is inset within the first S/D region (50).
Regarding claim 5, figure 16 of Xie discloses a bottom surface of the second S/D region (50) is below a bottom surface of the first S/D region (when device is tilted at an angle).
Regarding claim 11, figure 16 of Xie discloses a semiconductor integrated circuit (IC) device comprising:
a first transistor cell comprising a first pair of n-type transistors;
a second transistor cell comprising a second pair of p-type transistors (¶ 42 discloses CMOS cells which comprise n-type and p-type transistors);
a first backside contact (56) directly coupled to a n-type source/drain (S/D) region of the first transistor cell;
a second backside contact (56) directly coupled to a p-type S/D region of the second transistor cell; and
a sidewall spacer (54) directly coupled to a sidewall of the first backside contact and directly coupled to a sidewall of the second backside contact.
Regarding claim 12, figure 16 of Xie discloses a top surface of the first backside contact (56) is above a top surface of the second backside contact (when device is tilted at an angle).
Regarding claim 13, figure 16 of Xie discloses the top surface of the first backside contact (56) is inset within the first S/D region (50).
Regarding claim 14, figure 16 of Xie discloses a bottom surface of the second S/D region (50) is below a bottom surface of the first S/D region (when device is tilted at an angle).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the closest prior art of record, Xie et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0178433), either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including “the first backside contact comprises a crescendoing sidewall from vertical toward a bottom surface of the first backside contact and a decrescendoing sidewall from vertical toward a bottom surface of the first backside contact”.
Conclusion
/YU-HSI D SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817