DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 03/28/2024 claims 1-9 are pending. Claim 1 is independent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the combination of the supercapacitor module, the lithium battery and the lead-acid battery from claim 8 and the functional limitations of claim 9 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims.
To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details to the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in boxes, arrows with text coming off, labeled charts, annotated waveforms, flowcharts, or a legend in the drawings). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 10 replace the 2nd instance of “a” with --the-- to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “the first output terminal of the output terminal group”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 replace the 2nd instance of “a” with --the-- to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “the first output end of the high-frequency charger”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (USPGPN 20220006317), and further in view of Kim (USPGPN 20240151201).
With respect to independent claim 1, Chen teaches a charger with integrated engine start function (Fig. 1; a hybrid battery charger 20 for providing vehicle starting current, see abstract), which is connected between an input terminal group and an output terminal group (Fig. 1; which is connected between a 120 V AC power supply 26 and output terminals 25).
Chen teaches a high-frequency charger (Fig. 1; a high frequency charger circuit 22), an input end of the high-frequency charger being connected to the input terminal group (Fig. 1; an input end of the high-frequency charger 22 connected to the 120 V AC power supply 26).
Chen teaches a first switch (Fig. 1; SW1 28), controllably connected to a first output end of the high-frequency charger and a first output terminal of the output terminal group (Fig. 1; SW1 is controllably connected to a first output end of the high frequency charger 22 and output terminal Vb+ of the output terminals 25).
Chen teaches a controller (Fig. 1; microprocessor 32), a first output end of the controller being connected to the first switch (Fig. 1; an output of the microprocessor 32 being connected to switch SW1).
However, Chen fails to explicitly teach an energy storage module; a second switch, controllably connected to a second output end of the high-frequency charger and an input end of the energy storage module;
a third switch, controllably connected to an output end of the energy storage module and a first output terminal of the output terminal group; a second output end of the controller being connected to the second switch, and a third output end of the controller being connected to the third switch.
Kim teaches an energy storage module (Fig. 2; capacitor module 120).
Kim teaches a second switch, controllably connected to a second output end of the power source and an input end of the energy storage module (Fig. 2; switch 150 is controllably connected to an output end of the battery module 170 and to an input end of the capacitor module 120).
Kim teaches a third switch, controllably connected to an output end of the energy storage module and a first output terminal of the output terminal group (Fig. 2; switch 130 is controllably connected to an output end of the capacitor module 120 and to the first output terminal of the output terminal group as illustrated by the upper bus towards the starter motor and the vehicle generator).
Kim teaches a second output end of the controller being connected to the second switch, and a third output end of the controller being connected to the third switch (¶[24]; a control unit for controlling operations of the switches thus it is well understood the control unit is connected to the switches).
Both a high-frequency charger and a battery module serve as power sources for downstream circuit components. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Kim’s switchable power sources to Chen’s battery charging system. The advantage being the system includes an additional source of power for avoiding total depletion by factoring in long-term battery drainage and minimum residual energy limits (see ¶[78] of Kim).
With respect to claim 3, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Chen teaches a first current sensor (Fig. 1; current sense 38), connected between the high-frequency charger and a second output terminal of the output terminal group (Fig. 1; the current sense 38 is connected between the high frequency charger 22 and the second output terminal Vb- of the output terminals 25).
Chen teaches a second input end of the controller, connected to the first current sensor (Fig. 1; an input of the microprocessor 32 is connected to current sense 38).
With respect to claim 4, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Although Chen fails to explicitly teach a second current sensor connected between the energy storage module and a second output terminal of the output terminal group, and a third input end of the controller connected to the second current sensor, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have duplicated the current sense 38 and its connections to sense the current of the capacitor module. The advantage being effectively measuring the flow of current to track system performance.
With respect to claim 5, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Chen teaches a voltage sensor (Fig. 1; voltage sense 40), connected between a fourth input end of the controller and the first output terminal of the output terminal group (Fig. 1; the voltage sense 40 is connected between an input of the microprocessor 32 and the first output terminal Vb+ of the output terminals 25).
With respect to claim 8, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Chen fails to explicitly teach wherein the energy storage module is one selected from the group comprising a supercapacitor module, a lithium battery, a lead-acid battery, and a combination thereof.
Kim teaches wherein the energy storage module is one selected from the group comprising a supercapacitor module, a lithium battery, a lead-acid battery, and a combination thereof (Fig. 2; capacitor module 120).
An energy storage module in an engine starter system ensures that dedicated energy reserves are provided to reliably start the engine without disrupting the vehicle’s main electrical system. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Kim’s switchable power sources to Chen’s battery charging system. The advantage being the system includes an additional source of power for avoiding total depletion by factoring in long-term battery drainage and minimum residual energy limits (see ¶[78] of Kim).
With respect to claim 9, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. Further, Chen teaches wherein when the first switch is closed, the high-frequency charger provides the output terminal group with a charging current or a starting current (¶[47]; switch SW1 is closed thus the high frequency charger 22 delivers charging current to the output terminals 25 as illustrated in Fig. 1).
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kim, and further in view of Nook et al. (USPGPN 20180345803).
With respect to claim 2, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Chen fails to explicitly teach a reverse polarization protection sensor, connected between a first output end of the high-frequency charger and a first input end of the controller.
Nook teaches a reverse polarization protection sensor (Fig. 1; car battery reverse sensor 10), connected between an output end of the charger and an input end of the controller (¶[41]; the reverse polarity sensor is connected to the output of the charger when connected to the battery terminals to detect the polarity of the battery).
Reverse polarity damages batteries by forcibly pushing current in the wrong direction which disrupts the internal chemistry of the batteries causing overheating or short circuits. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have adapted Nook’s reverse polarity protection sensor to Chen’s battery charging system. The advantage being back-charging (see ¶[41] of Nook) is prevented thus increasing system protection.
With respect to claim 7, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Chen fails to explicitly teach a display and a button, electrically connected to the controller.
Nook teaches a display and a button, electrically connected to the controller (Figs. 1 and 5; a display 514 comprising operation indicator LEDs 60 and an on/off manual mode & flashlight switches 46 electrically connected to the MCU 1).
A display and a button provide both reliable control and visual feedback. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have adapted Nook’s display and button to Chen’s battery charging system. The advantage being the device provides user control over the operations of the device thus improving user experience (see ¶[108] of Nook).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Kim, and further in view of Ou (Chinese Patent CN-202488164-U).
With respect to claim 6, Chen teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 1. However, Chen fails to explicitly teach a coulometric detector, connected between the energy storage module and a fifth input end of the controller.
Ou teaches a coulometric detector connected between the energy storage module and an input end of the controller (Pg. 10; “The output of said coulometric detector is electrically connected with the input of MCU controller” which is understood by one of ordinary skill to be located between the battery unit 33 and the MCU control unit 32 as illustrated by Fig. 1).
A coulometric detector is coupled to a battery primarily to measure the exact amount of electric charge moving into or out of the battery with precision. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have adapted Ou’s coulometric detector to Chen’s battery charging system. The advantage being accurate measurements of the battery’s state of charge may be obtained thus improving system performance.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gordon et al. (USPGPN 20190044359) describes a portable battery charging device that can do two jobs: charge a vehicle battery and help start a vehicle engine when the battery is weak or dead. It uses two separate high-frequency transformers instead of one large transformer. One transformer charges the vehicle battery in a normal charging mode. The other transformer charges a supercapacitor bank for engine-start assistance.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859