DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/28/2024 was filed before the first office action. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, and 15-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yeh et al. (US 20110171617 A1, published: 7/14/2011).
Claim 1: Yeh teaches a method of inputting a character, comprising:
receiving, by a user interface, a first command, the first command indicating an element (the touchscreen display is programmed to display a first arrangement including a first set of characters of the pictographic language. The first arrangement includes a plurality of regions, each of which contains a plurality of complete characters displayed therein. A user can select a character by first selecting the region including that character, to highlight the region, and then selecting the characters in the highlighted region [Yeh, 0028]);
displaying a first menu, the first menu comprising a plurality of first features that classify a first group of roots associated with the element (after a user selects a character by one of the methods described herein, the next character region 440 automatically displays a list of common and likely next characters or words which appears on the displayed page of the touchscreen display 210 [Yeh, 0093, FIGs. 7]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated in FIG. 7B the first menu is the 3x5 grid of Asian characters; also 414 in FIG. 6);
receiving, by the user interface, a second command to select one of the plurality of first features (upon selection of the character [Yeh, 0094]); displaying a second menu, the second menu comprising a plurality of second features that classify a second group of roots in the first group of roots, wherein the plurality of first features are different from the plurality of second features (the replica QWERTY keyboard 500 can also show Chinese roots or radicals that are used for other conventional Chinese input systems [Yeh, 0079]. Upon selection of the character, a next character window 445 can automatically appear as a default, as shown in FIG. 7B. The next character window 445 can contain a list of words that contain the selected character [Yeh, 0094, FIG. 7B]);
receiving, by the user interface, a third command to select one of the plurality of second features; displaying a form list in response to at least the first command, the second command, and the third command (a list of completed words 446a [Yeh, 0095, FIG. 7C]); and receiving, by the user interface, a fourth command to select a form in the form list to complete an input of a character (a next character window 446 can be generated by any of the methods described above in connection with FIGS. 7A and 7B. The next character window 446 contains a list of completed words 446a containing the selected character and their translations 446b in the user's native language. The user can select a desired word by touching it on the next character window 446 [Yeh, 0095, FIG. 7C]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated).
Claims 16-20, having similar elements to claim 1, are likewise rejected (wherein claim 20 has the elements but in a mathematical format).
Claim 2: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 1. Yeh further teaches wherein the element is located at the lower right and/or bottom of the form (a next character selection region 440 [Yeh, 0057]; Examiner's Note: located at the lower left bottom. Specifying left or right makes no functional difference and is herein considered design oriented).
Claim 3: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 1. Yeh further teaches wherein each of the plurality of first features is associated with a main vision of a root relative to the form (the replica QWERTY keyboard 500 can also show Chinese roots or radicals that are used for other conventional Chinese input systems [Yeh, 0079]).
Claim 4: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 3. Yeh does not teach wherein each of the plurality of first features refers to a position of the root relative to the form, refers to a stroke that can be added to the root relative to the form, refers to whether the root is obvious or hidden relative to the form, refers to the size of the root relative to the form, or refers to a shape of the root relative to the form (the font size and style of characters displayed by the touchscreen display 210 can also be changed [Yeh, 0085]).
Claim 5: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 1. Yeh further teaches wherein each of the plurality of second features refers to a position of a root relative to the form, refers to a stroke that can be added to the root relative to the form, refers to whether the root is obvious or hidden relative to the form, refers to the size of the root relative to the form, or refers to a shape of the root relative to the form (the font size and style of characters displayed by the touchscreen display 210 can also be changed [Yeh, 0085]).
Claim 7: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying a third menu, the third menu comprising a third group of roots of the second group of roots corresponding to the selected second feature; and receiving, by the user interface, a fifth command to select one root from the third group of roots (Examiner's Note: referring to computer programs, menus can be continually presented to add to the previous in the same manner as is described in claim 1).
Claim 8: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: displaying a fourth menu before displaying the second menu, the fourth menu comprising a plurality of third features that classify a third group of roots in the first group of roots, wherein the plurality of third features are different from the plurality of first features or the plurality of second features; and receiving, by the user interface, a sixth command to select one of the plurality of third features (Examiner's Note: referring to computer programs, menus can be continually presented to add to the previous in the same manner as is described in claim 1).
Claim 9: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 8, further comprising: displaying a fifth menu before displaying the fourth menu, the fifth menu comprising a plurality of fourth features that classify a fourth group of roots in the first group of roots; and receiving, by the user interface, a seventh command to select one of the plurality of fourth features (Examiner's Note: referring to computer programs, menus can be continually presented to add to the previous in the same manner as is described in claim 1).
Claim 10: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 9, wherein the number of the plurality of first features, the number of the plurality of second features, the number of the plurality of third features, and the number of the plurality of fourth features are all less than a first predetermined value (Examiner's Note: referring to computer programs, menus can be continually presented to add to the previous in the same manner as is described in claim 1).
Claim 15: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 1. Yeh further teaches further comprising: displaying, by a display unit, the second menu, wherein the second menu moves vertically or horizontally in the display unit during a first time ([Yeh, FIG. 7B]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 20110171617 A1, published: 7/14/2011), in view of Ade-Hall et al. (US 20130285962 A1, published: 10/31/2013).
Claim 6: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 5. Yeh does not teach wherein the stroke that can be added comprises an element family above or to the left of the element, wherein the element family comprises one of a horizontal stroke, a vertical stroke, a left-falling stroke, a dot, and a hook.
However, Ade-Hall teaches wherein the stroke that can be added comprises an element family above or to the left of the element, wherein the element family comprises one of a horizontal stroke, a vertical stroke, a left-falling stroke, a dot, and a hook (Using a Wubizixing input method for Chinese characters, a user may first select from live root character groups, "left-falling," "right-falling," "horizontal," "vertical" and "hook," where each of these five root character groups may be choices provided on an interface screen (block 410). Once a user touches display 140 selecting information or an icon representing one of the five character groups, a zoom window may be provided that includes further choices to be made (blocks 420-430) [Ade-Hall, 0073]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Chinese character input invention of Yeh to include the input of strokes, dot, and hook, features of Ade-Hall.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide users with a method of entering Chinese text, including the typical character characteristics that is usually associated with generating said characters.
Claims 11-13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 20110171617 A1, published: 7/14/2011), in view of Zerber (US 20010020225 A1, published: 9/6/2001).
Claim 11: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 1. Yeh does not teach wherein when the form list comprises a plurality of forms, the forms are sorted according to an order of element families.
However, Zerber teaches wherein when the form list comprises a plurality of forms, the forms are sorted according to an order of element families (there is thus a need for a program which presents data to Japanese users in the familiar kanji form sorted according to the familiar kana form, and which provides a user interface for Japanese users which allows them to work with data in kanji and kana but which functions with the data in the format required by the program [Zerber, 0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Chinese character input invention of Yeh to include the character family types that can be selected for generating character, features of Zerber.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide to a user a system for inputting Chinese characters, including by including groups for selection, that will make the user's experience easier.
Claim 12: The combination of Yeh and Zerber, teaches the method according to claim 11. Yeh further teaches wherein the form list comprises one or more of traditional Chinese characters and simplified Chinese characters (the Chinese characters in the character key regions 411 can be displayed in traditional form. In some embodiments, the Chinese characters can be optionally displayed in simplified form [Yeh, 0064]).
Claim 13: Yeh teaches the method according to claim 1. Yeh does not teach further comprising: receiving, by the user interface, an eighth command, the eighth command indicating an element family; and displaying an eighth menu, the eighth menu comprising an element table associated with the element family, wherein the element table comprises the element indicated by the first command.
However, Zerber teaches further comprising: receiving, by the user interface, an eighth command, the eighth command indicating an element family; and displaying an eighth menu, the eighth menu comprising an element table associated with the element family, wherein the element table comprises the element indicated by the first command (there is thus a need for a program which presents data to Japanese users in the familiar kanji form sorted according to the familiar kana form, and which provides a user interface for Japanese users which allows them to work with data in kanji and kana but which functions with the data in the format required by the program [Zerber, 0010]; Examiner's Note: referring to computer programs, menus can be continually presented to add to the previous in the same manner as is described in claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Chinese character input invention of Yeh to include the character family types that can be selected for generating character, features of Zerber.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide to a user a system for inputting Chinese characters, including by including groups for selection, that will make the user's experience easier.
Additional References
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references also include Chinese character input:
Cheng et al. (US 20140115524 A1, published: 4/24/2014)
Gao (US 20200098274 A1, published: 3/26/2020)
Conclusion
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172