DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Entry of Amendments
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 14 and 18 have been amended.
Claim(s) 5 and 9-13 have been canceled.
Rejections under 35 USC 112
Previous 112 rejections for Claim(s) 1-20 are now withdrawn as amendments made to claim(s) 1-20 have overcome the previous 112 rejections.
Rejections under 35 USC 102 and 103
Applicant’s amendments filed 03/02/2026 with respect to Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 14-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant(s) have amended independent claim(s) 1 and 14 to patentably distinguish over prior art of Lee or Ogawa alone or in combination with others, however the Examiner believes that Lee or Ogawa alone or in combination with others still teaches the amended limitations.
For further details see the rejections/objections for Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8 and 14-20 herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20150154943; hereinafter Lee).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses in figure(s) 1-23 a method of inspecting image data performed by a display driving device, comprising:
receiving data for one frame (DSP data; fig. 4B; para. 107 - displaying the current frame is provided so that the test results are displayed in real-time) including image data (DSP data; fig. 5; para. 68 - "The reception driver 421 receives the packet, including the data sequence"; para. 45: "The display data and various kinds of information according to a protocol maybe included in the packet") and first cyclic redundancy check (CRC) data (CRC data in fig. 5; para. 70: "CRC Data e.g., first CRC data included in the packet") for the image data from a display processing device (para. 55 - display apparatus 300 includes a panel 340 for displaying an image and the DDI for driving the panel 340; DDI 300/400 figs. 3,4A), wherein the first CRC data is received in a vertical blank section (para. 83 - test result operation may be performed during a vertical blank period VBP);
generating second CRC data for an entire region of the image data included
in the frame or a partial region of the entire region of the image data included in the frame (CRC data @ 424; fig. 4A; para. 69 – “During the normal display operation, the CRC decoder 424 calculates CRC data by using the display data DSP Data. For example, the CRC decoder 424 may output, as CRC data, a result obtained through a computation operation on the display data DSP Data"; para. 70: "CRC data (e.g., second CRC data) calculated by the CRC decoder 424");
comparing the second CRC data with the first CRC data received from the display processing device (para. 70 - "The error counter 425 may compare whether the first CRC data is the same as the second CRC data"); and
controlling to display an occurrence of an error (error @ 425; fig. 4A) through a display screen (para. 104 – “result output screen”; display step S38 in figs. 11,14) when it is determined that the error has occurred in the image data of the frame based on a comparison result of the first CRC data and the second CRC data (para. 71 - "the comparator 425_1 receives first CRC data CRC_ex from the protocol decoder 422, receives second CRC data CRC_cal from the CRC decoder 424, and outputs a comparison result of the first CRC data CRC_ex and the second CRC data CRC_cal").
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses in figure(s) 1-23 the method of claim 1, wherein the step of controlling to display the occurrence of the error includes controlling a color (para. 105 - a test result is displayed on at least a portion of the screen according to test data included in a data sequence. Each test result may be displayed as the number of error bits generated with respect to one frame. For example, FIG. 14A shows that the first S/D has detected one bit error, the second S/D has detected two bit errors, the third S/D has detected ten bit errors, and the fourth S/D has detected six bit errors; fig. 14A) or gradation value of the display screen to be adjusted.
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses in figure(s) 1-23 the method of claim 1, wherein the step of controlling to display the occurrence of the error includes controlling at least one of an image and a message indicating the error to be displayed on the display screen (image control based on error in fig. 14A).
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses in figure(s) 1-23 a display driving device, comprising:
a frame data receiver configured to receive data for one frame (para. 107 - displaying the current frame is provided so that the test results are displayed in real-time) including image data (para. 68 - "The reception driver 421 receives the packet, including the data sequence"; para. 45: "The display data and various kinds of information according to a protocol maybe included in the packet") and first cyclic redundancy check (CRC) data (para. 70: "CRC Data e.g., first CRC data included in the packet") for the image data from a display processing device (para. 55 - display apparatus 300 includes a panel 340 for displaying an image and the DDI for driving the panel 340. DDI 400 figs. 3,4A), wherein the first CRC data is received in a vertical blank section (para. 83 - test result operation may be performed during a vertical blank period VBP);
a CRC generator configured to generate second CRC data for an entire region of the image data included in the frame or a partial region of the entire region of the image data included in the frame (para. 69 – “During the normal display operation, the CRC decoder 424 calculates CRC data by using the display data DSP Data. For example, the CRC decoder 424 may output, as CRC data, a result obtained through a computation operation on the display data DSP Data"; para. 70: "CRC data (e.g., second CRC data) calculated by the CRC decoder 424") and
a CRC checker configured to:
compare the second CRC data with the first CRC data received from the display processing device (para. 70 - "The error counter 425 may compare whether the first CRC data is the same as the second CRC data"); and
control an occurrence of an error (para. 70 - "The error counter 425 may compare whether the first CRC data is the same as the second CRC data") to be displayed through a display screen (para. 104 – “result output screen”), when it is determined that the error occurred in the image data of the frame, based on a comparison result of the first CRC data and the second CRC data (para. 71 - "the comparator 425_1 receives first CRC data CRC_ex from the protocol decoder 422, receives second CRC data CRC_cal from the CRC decoder 424, and outputs a comparison result of the first CRC data CRC_ex and the second CRC data CRC_cal").
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses in figure(s) 1-23 the display driving device of claim 14, wherein the CRC checker is configured to control a color (para. 105 - a test result is displayed on at least a portion of the screen according to test data included in a data sequence. Each test result may be displayed as the number of error bits generated with respect to one frame. For example, FIG. 14A shows that the first S/D has detected one bit error, the second S/D has detected two bit errors, the third S/D has detected ten bit errors, and the fourth S/D has detected six bit errors; fig. 14A) or grayscale value of the display screen to be adjusted.
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses in figure(s) 1-23 the display driving device of claim 14, wherein the CRC checker is configured to control at least one of an image indicating the error and a message to be displayed on the display screen (image control and error message in fig. 14A).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ogawa et al. (US 20200050520; hereinafter Ogawa).
Regarding claim 1, Ogawa discloses in figure(s) 1-16 a method of inspecting image data performed by a display driving device, comprising:
receiving data for one frame including image data (image data step S2 in figs. 13. 4-6; para. 46 - "A target region in the case of the fixed data method is an image region that is arranged before the position at which the fixed data is stored, in received data of one frame. For example, if fixed data is added after image data of one frame, the target region is the one frame") and first cyclic redundancy check (CRC) data (step S3 in fig. 13; para. 70: "CRC Data e.g., first CRC data included in the packet") for the image data from a display processing device (@image check processing unit 130 in fig. 2; para. 32 - The data for image check is an expectation value that is used for image check processing... CRC or checksum is used as the image check method, the expectation value is a CRC calculation value".code generation unit may be a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) encoder for generating CRC data from the display data), wherein the first CRC data is received in a vertical blank section (para. 73 - information for image check 5 is arranged during a vertical blanking period; figs. 4-6);
generating second CRC data for an entire region of the image data included in the frame or a partial region (6; fig. 7) of the entire region of the image data included in the frame (para. 53 – “The processing circuit performs image check processing on image data of the region to be subjected to image check specified by the position information, using the image check method designated by the designation information”; para. 75 - “The first image check method and the second image check method are selected from a plurality of image check methods”);
comparing the second CRC data with the first CRC data received from the display processing device (para. 44 - image check processing unit 130 obtains comparison data from image data of a target region through CRC calculation, compares the comparison data with an expectation value, and thereby performs error detection); and
controlling to display an occurrence of an error through a display screen when it is determined that the error has occurred in the image data of the frame based on a comparison result of the first CRC data and the second CRC data (@150 in fig. 2; para.44 - "If the image check method is CRC, the image check processing unit 130 obtains comparison data from image data of a target region through CRC calculation, compares the comparison data with an expectation value, and thereby performs error detection ... The image check processing unit 130 outputs an error detection signal or a CRC calculation value to the interface circuit 160…calculated value from the register 150"; para. 32 - "if CRC or checksum is used as the image check method, the expectation value is a CRC calculation value or a checksum calculation value"; fig. 13).
Regarding claim 4, Ogawa discloses in figure(s) 1-16 the method of claim 1, further comprising requesting retransmission of all or part of the image data to the display processing device when it is determined that the error has occurred in the image data of the frame (para. 54 - "in CRC, only error detection is performed and error correction cannot be performed. Therefore, measures such as that retransmits image data from the processing device 250 to the circuit device 100 is required").
Regarding claim 6, Ogawa discloses in figure(s) 1-16 the method of claim 1, wherein the partial region (regions DCA1, DCA2; fig. 7) includes a first partial region that includes an image corresponding to a state of a vehicle (para. 104 - control device 510 generates an image for presenting, to the user, information such as a vehicle speed, a fuel residual amount, a running distance, and settings of various devices).
Regarding claim 7, Ogawa discloses in figure(s) 1-16 the method of claim 1, wherein the first CRC data is received through at least one of an I2C communication line and a main link transmission line connected to the display processing device (para. 31 - I2C (inter integrated circuit) can be adopted as the communication method).
Regarding claim 8, Ogawa discloses in figure(s) 1-16 the method of claim 9, wherein the first CRC data is received during a horizontal blank section (para. 81 – “data for image check 7 is arranged during a horizontal blanking period").
Regarding claim 14, Ogawa discloses in figure(s) 1-16 a display driving device (display controller 100; fig. 2), comprising:
a frame data receiver configured to receive data for one frame including image data (para. 46 - "A target region in the case of the fixed data method is an image region that is arranged before the position at which the fixed data is stored, in received data of one frame. For example, if fixed data is added after image data of one frame, the target region is the one frame") and first cyclic redundancy check (CRC) data for the image data from a display processing device (@image check processing unit 130; para. 32 - The data for image check is an expectation value that is used for image check processing... CRC or checksum is used as the image check method, the expectation value is a CRC calculation value".code generation unit may be a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) encoder for generating CRC data from the display data), wherein the first CRC data is received in a vertical blank section (para. 73 - information for image check 5 is arranged during a vertical blanking period; figs. 4-6);
a CRC generator configured to generate second CRC data for an entire region of the image data included in the frame or a partial region (6; fig. 7) of the image data included in the frame (para. 53 – “The processing circuit performs image check processing on image data of the region to be subjected to image check specified by the position information, using the image check method designated by the designation information”; para. 75 - “The first image check method and the second image check method are selected from a plurality of image check methods”); and
a CRC checker (image check processing unit 130) configured to:
compare the second CRC data with the first CRC data received from the display processing device (para. 44 - image check processing unit 130 obtains comparison data from image data of a target region through CRC calculation, compares the comparison data with an expectation value, and thereby performs error detection); and
control an occurrence of an error to be displayed through a display screen, when it is determined that the error occurred in the image data of the frame, based on a comparison result of the first CRC data and the second CRC data (para.44 - "If the image check method is CRC, the image check processing unit 130 obtains comparison data from image data of a target region through CRC calculation, compares the comparison data with an expectation value, and thereby performs error detection ... The image check processing unit 130 outputs an error detection signal or a CRC calculation value to the interface circuit 160."; para. 32 - "if CRC or checksum is used as the image check method, the expectation value is a CRC calculation value or a checksum calculation value"; fig. 13).
Regarding claim 17, Ogawa discloses in figure(s) 1-16 the display driving device of claim 14, wherein, when it is determined that the error has occurred in the image data of the frame, the CRC checker is configured to request a retransmission of all or part of the image data to the display processing device (para. 54 - "in CRC, only error detection is performed and error correction cannot be performed. Therefore, measures such as that retransmits image data from the processing device 250 to the circuit device 100 is required").
Regarding claim 18, Ogawa discloses in figure(s) 1-16 the display driving device of claim 14, wherein the partial region includes a first partial region that includes an image corresponding to a state of a vehicle (para. 104 - control device 510 generates an image for presenting, to the user, information such as a vehicle speed, a fuel residual amount, a running distance, and settings of various devices).
Regarding claim 19, Ogawa discloses in figure(s) 1-16 the display driving device of claim 14, wherein the first CRC data is received through at least one of an I2C communication line (para. 31 - I2C (inter integrated circuit) can be adopted as the communication method) and a main link transmission line connected to the display processing device.
Regarding claim 20, Ogawa discloses in figure(s) 1-16 the display driving device of claim 19, wherein the first CRC data is received during a horizontal blank section (para. 81 – “data for image check 7 is arranged during a horizontal blanking period").
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKM ZAKARIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858