DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
These rejections have been withdrawn due to the amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yasui (U.S. Pat. No. 7,997,373).
Regarding claim 1 and 10, Yasui discloses an apparatus for controlling rear-wheel steering (col. 3, lines 20-30), comprising:
a sensor (52) configured to detect steering and driving information of a rear-wheel steering vehicle (col. 17, lines 19-32); and
A processor (col. 10, lines 55-65) configured to: compute a reference yaw rate in real time based on a vehicle speed and lateral acceleration (eq. 2 in col. 13 shows lateral acceleration being calculated from velocity and steering angle which is how this reference discloses calculating yaw rate. These values can be solved for each other with simply mathematical reworking),
Determine a difference between the reference yaw rate and the yaw rate (col. 11, lines 14-20);
Note: since these calculations are not used for controlling the vehicle they are deemed extrasolution activity.
Based on a determination, determine whether to apply an opposite-direction mode and a same direction mode based on a ratio table, wherein the opposite-direction mode adjusts only rear wheel angle (col. 3, lines 30-50 discloses how the rear wheel is adjusted) and the same direction mode adjusts the rear wheel angle and front wheel angle,
Note: this “based on a determination” is not requiring that the determination use any of the calculations previously performed.
Based on the determination, adjust a gear ratio (col. 18, lines 45-57) between front and rear wheels based on a change in column torque (53 disclosed in col. 7, lines 28-35) and vehicle speed (51) information; and
Adjust a desired yaw rate (turning radius option addressed) or turning radius based on adjustments of the gear ratio (adjusting the gear ratio, like in fig. 17, between the wheels to change how they steer would adjust the turning radius).
Regarding claim 2 which depends from claim 1, Yasui discloses wherein the processor controls a vehicle in an opposite-direction mode in low-speed sections lower than a specified speed (col. 1, lines 48-60 discloses counter steering to achieve zero deviation).
Regarding claim 3 which depends from claim 1, Yasui discloses wherein the processor additionally controls the rear wheels only when obstacle avoidance or turns requiring steering above a predetermined angle are required, while primarily steering in a same-direction mode at vehicle speeds equal to or greater than a predetermined speed (this system can drive straight and around obstacles and take turns).
Regarding claim 5 which depends from claim 1, Yasui discloses wherein the processor determines a rear-wheel angle proportional to a front-wheel angle based on the desired yaw rate (col. 1, lines 58-65 discloses matching the actual and target yaw rates), wherein a closed-loop controller is applied to track a reference yaw rate based on the desired yaw rate that satisfies conditions required to reach the reference yaw rate (fig. 21).
Regarding claim 6 which depends from claim 1, Yasui discloses wherein the processor sets a ratio for adjusting front and rear wheel angles based on changes in the column torque (col. 6, lines 25-32 discloses how steering torque adjusts the angle of the tires), applying a predetermined ratio table (col.17, lines 19-32).
Regarding claim 7 which depends from claim 6, Yasui discloses wherein the processor adjusts the front and rear wheel angles based on the ratio table, wherein the front and rear wheel angles dynamically increase as the ratio increases in response to an abrupt change in a driver's steering or a substantial increase in the column torque (increase in the column torque is an increase in requested steering angle, this reference responds in this way to the requests from the steering wheel).
Regarding claim 9 which depends from claim 8, Yasui discloses wherein the processor drives an ON/OFF control module that engages in ON/OFF control based on signals received from front and rear wheels, as well as the ratio table, wherein the ON/OFF control module switches between ON and OFF states, further performs the opposite-direction mode or the same-direction mode (the wheels are controlled through the assistance of the motors and so are compensated but do not provide steering input when no steering is required and so toggles on and off).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasui (U.S. Pat. No. 7,997,373) as applied to claim 1 above, and in view of Endo (U.S. Pat. No. 9,738,307.
Regarding claim 4 which depends from claim 1, Yasui does not disclose wherein the column torque is applied to a differentiator, and a result is passed through a low pass filter (LPF) to eliminate noise.
Endo, which deals in steering controllers, teaches wherein the column torque is applied to a differentiator, and a result is passed through a low pass filter (LPF) to eliminate noise (Col. 14, lines 34-40).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Yasui with the filter of Endo because this helps to correct the change amount (col. 14, lines 36-37).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 5 that the reference is not concerned with setting gear ratios. Col. 6, lines 34-44 discloses how the gear ratio for the front wheels is controlled by a STRf system. Then in col. 7, lines 45-67 the control of the steering of the rear wheels is disclosed showing how the wheels are controlled to be at different angles creating different ratios between them. Is this limitation requiring actual physical gears that are being changed to adjust the ratios in the steering of both front and rear?
Applicant argues on page 5 that the reference does not consider column torque. The reference understands that applied torque on the wheel moves the wheel creating the steering angles. This reference operates with these forces in mind. Is there a special calculation that column torque is used in to adjust gear ratios?
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747