DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 9/26/2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the IDS contains a US published application that does not exist (US 2006/090706). It has been placed in the application file, but the information of the US published application referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, claims 1-6 and 14-20, in the reply filed on 9/18/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that no serious search burden exists. This is not found persuasive because Species I is classified in CPC C23C16/4585 for a deposition ring, Species II in H01J37/3411 for a process kit, and Species III in H01J37/32715 for a process chamber; thus the Species have different classifications (e.g. classes/subclasses) which also require different fields of search such as different search strategies or search queries. As such, a serious search burden has been established according to MPEP 808.02.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/18/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the upper surface of the inner lip". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 2-6 are also rejected as depending on claim 1.
Claim 3 (dependent on claim 1) recites “an upper surface of the inner lip” (emphasis added), rendering claim 3 indefinite as to whether the “upper surface of the inner lip” is intended to refer to “the upper surface of the inner lip” of claim 1, or a distinct ‘upper surface of the inner lip’ thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 14, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johanson et al (US 2017/0002461) in view of Tiller et al (US 2007/0283884).
With respect to claims 1-2 and 14, Johanson teaches in fig. 2 a deposition ring [118] comprising: an annular band [215] having upper and lower surfaces, wherein the annular band includes radially inner and outer portions (para 0020 and 0022); an inner lip [250] extending upwards from the upper surface of the annular band [215] and adjacent an inner surface of the annular band [215], wherein an inner surface of the inner lip [250] and the inner surface of the annular band [215] together form a central opening of the deposition ring [118], wherein an upper surface [222] of the inner lip [250] is an uppermost surface of the deposition ring [118] (para 0022 and 0024); a channel [212] disposed radially outward of and beneath a lowermost surface of the annular band [215] (para 0025); and an outer lip [214] extending upwardly and disposed radially outward of the channel [212], wherein an upper surface of the outer lip [214] is disposed vertically below the lower surface of the annular band [215], wherein the channel [212] is defined by a first leg extending downward from the annular band [215], and a second leg extending radially outward from a lower portion of the first leg, and the outer lip [214] extending upward from a radially outer portion of the second leg (para 0023 and 0025). The cropped figures below of Applicant’s fig. 3 and Johanson’s fig. 2 serve to clarify similar structures of the annular band, inner lip, channel, and outer lip.
However Johanson is limited in that the deposition ring [118] including “a step that extends downward from the radially inner portion to the radially outer portion so that a thickness of the annular band increases from the radially inner portion to the radially outer portion” is not suggested.
Tiller teaches in fig. 2 a deposition ring [80] comprising: an annular band [83], an inner rim (i.e. inner lip) [93], an opening (i.e. channel) [94], and an outer lip radially outside of the channel [94] (para 0031-0033), similar to the deposition ring [118] of Johanson. Tiller further depicts in fig. 2 the deposition ring [80] comprises a “footing” (i.e. claimed “step”) [89] on a lower surface of the annular band [83], wherein the step [89] extends downward from radially inner and outer portions of the annular band [83], such that a thickness of the annular band [83] increases from the radially inner portion to the radially outer portion, the step [89] is approximately closer to a radially outermost surface of the annular band [83] than a radially innermost surface of the annular band [83], and the step [89] is integral with the deposition ring [80] (and thus integral with the first leg of Johanson) (para 0089). Tiller cites the advantage of the step [89] as supporting “the band 26” on a ledge [21] (para 0032) (NOTE: detail “26” is referred to as the deposition ring [26] at para 0013 and 0016-0017 that also has a footing or step [36]; as such, “the band 26” is considered as the deposition ring [80] having the step [89]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the footing (i.e. step) of Tiller into the deposition ring [118] of Johanson to gain the advantage of supporting the deposition ring [118] on a ledge [135] of substrate support [130] in Johanson’s fig. 2.
With respect to claim 4, modified Johanson further shows in fig. 2 an upper surface of the outer lip [214] is disposed beneath the lower surface of the annular band [215] at the radially outer portion (para 0023 and 0025).
With respect to claim 5, modified Johanson further shows in fig. 2 the annular band [215] having a thickness; it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04, IV, A). In this case, the deposition ring [118] would function similarly regardless of the thickness of the annular band [215] of the deposition ring [118].
With respect to claim 16, modified Johanson further shows in fig. 2 an entirety of the upper surface of the annular band [215] as substantially flat (para 0022-0023).
With respect to claims 17-19, modified Johanson further shows in fig. 2 the inner lip [250] as having a width that is less than a width of the outer lip [214] (para 0022-0024); it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device (MPEP 2144.04, IV, A). In this case, the deposition ring [118] would function similarly regardless of widths of the inner and outer lips [250],[214] and radially inner portion of the annular band [215] of the deposition ring [118].
Claims 3 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johanson et al (US 2017/0002461) and Tiller et al (US 2007/0283884) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Brown et al (US 8,221,602).
With respect to claims 3 and 15, the combination of references Johanson and Tiller is cited as discussed for claims 1 and 14.
However the combination of references is limited in that while Johanson suggests a depth between an upper surface of the annular band [215] and a horizontal portion of an upper surface [222] of the inner lip [250] is present at about 24-38 mm to accommodate about 10 mm of material deposition (para 0024), the depth being 6.0-12.0 mm is not specifically suggested.
Brown teaches in fig. 6 a deposition ring [620] comprising: body (i.e. annular band) [252]; an inner wall (i.e. inner lip) [260]; a channel [266]; and a leg (i.e. outer lip) [272] (Abstract; col. 8 lines 49-66), similar to the deposition ring [118] of Johanson. Brown further depicts in fig. 6 a particular depth between an upper surface of the annular band [252] and a horizontal portion of an upper surface of the inner lip [260] is about 0.45 inches (11.43 mm) (col. 8, lines 65-66).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to incorporate the particular depth 11.43 mm of Brown as the depth of the combination of references to yield the predictable result of accommodating about 10 mm for material deposition as desired by Johanson at para 0024.
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johanson et al (US 2017/0002461) and Tiller et al (US 2007/0283884) as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Chung et al (US 2015/0047563).
With respect to claims 6 and 20, the combination of references Johanson and Tiller is cited as discussed for claims 1 and 14.
However the combination of references is limited in that the outer lip [214] of Johanson including slots is not specifically suggested.
Chung teaches applying a pattern of grooves (i.e. slots) to top surfaces of a deposition ring in order to reduce material deposition on the deposition ring in addition to reduce contamination of a processing chamber (Abstract; para 0005 and 0020; claim 11), the slots fully capable of receiving a clamp assembly.
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have top surfaces of the deposition ring [118] (which includes the upper surface of the outer lip [214]) of the combination of references to have slots as taught Chung to gain the advantages of reducing both material deposition on the top surfaces of the deposition ring [118] in addition to contamination of a process chamber using the deposition ring [118].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,961,723. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the US Patent are narrower in scope than the claims of the current invention, and encompass the subject matter of the current claims. Therefore, any reference meeting the limitations set forth in claims 1-17 of the US Patent would also meet the requirements set forth in claims 1-6 and 14-20 of the current invention.
patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,581,167 in view of US Patent No. 8,221,602. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the 11,581,167 are narrower in scope than the claims of the current invention, and encompass the subject matter of the current claims, with 8,221,602 teaching to one of ordinary skill to have the deposition ring have a depth between an upper surface of the annular band and a horizontal portion of an upper surface of the inner lip be about 0.45 inches (11.43 mm) (col. 8, lines 65-66). Therefore, any reference meeting the limitations set forth in claims 1-20 of the 11,581,167 in view of 8,221,602 would also meet the requirements set forth in claims 1-6 and 14-20 of the current invention.
Claims 1-6 and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,103,012 in view of US Patent No. 8,221,602. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the 10,103,012 are narrower in scope than the claims of the current invention, and encompass the subject matter of the current claims, with 8,221,602 teaching to one of ordinary skill to have the deposition ring have a depth between an upper surface of the annular band and a horizontal portion of an upper surface of the inner lip be about 0.45 inches (11.43 mm) (col. 8, lines 65-66). Therefore, any reference meeting the limitations set forth in claims 1-20 of the 10,103,012 in view of 8,221,602 would also meet the requirements set forth in claims 1-3 and 6-9 of the current invention.
Claims 1-6 and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,103,012 in view of US Patent No. 8,221,602. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the 10,103,012 are narrower in scope than the claims of the current invention, and encompass the subject matter of the current claims, with 8,221,602 teaching to one of ordinary skill to have the deposition ring have a depth between an upper surface of the annular band and a horizontal portion of an upper surface of the inner lip be about 0.45 inches (11.43 mm) (col. 8, lines 65-66). Therefore, any reference meeting the limitations set forth in claims 1-20 of the 10,103,012 in view of 8,221,602 would also meet the requirements set forth in claims 1-6 and 14-20 of the current invention.
Claims 1-6 and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over U.S. Design Patent No. 888,903 in view of MPEP 804, Section II, Part B, #4, and US Patent No. 8,221,602 particularly since claims 1-6 and 14-20 of the present application are direct to a deposition ring shown in fig. 3 read on a deposition ring shown in fig. 8 of the 888,903. Although 888,903 does not specify for the deposition ring a particular depth between an upper surface of the annular band and a horizontal portion of an upper surface of the inner lip, 8,221,602 teaches one of ordinary skill for the deposition ring to have this depth be about 0.45 inches (11.43 mm) (col. 8, lines 65-66), and that figs. 1 and 6 of 8,221,602 show that the deposition ring of 888,903 is fully capable of both being disposed on a substrate support with the annular band resting on a lower ledge of the substrate support. The cropped figures below of Applicant’s fig. 3 and fig. 8 of 888,903 serve to clarify the similar (if not identical) structures of the deposition rings (including the depth of ~11.43 mm taught by 8,221,602).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A BAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794