Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2024, 04/17/2024, 02/28/2025, and 07/16/2025 have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN 109176213) in view of Hotani (JP H0819945).
Regarding claim 1, Fang discloses: a deburring mechanism (Figures 1-3 and see also paragraph 0023), comprising:
a frame (elements 2/3/8), having a first side plate (element 3) and a second side plate (element 8), the first side plate being arranged opposite to the second side plate in a first direction (see figure 1 annotated below showing a portion (right side wall) of the first side plate (element 3) arranged opposite to a portion (left side wall) the second side plate (element 8) in a first direction (Detail A)); and
a first deburring module (elements 5/6) and a second deburring module (elements 10/11), the first deburring module being arranged on the first side plate (see figure 1 annotated below), the second deburring module being arranged on the second side plate (see figure 1 annotated below), the first deburring module and the second deburring module being arranged opposite to each other in a second direction and forming a deburring passage (see figure 1 annotated below showing first deburring module (elements 5/6) and the second deburring module (elements 10/11) arranged opposite to each other in a second direction (Detail B) forming a deburring passage (Detail C), the deburring passage being used for placing an open end of a housing (The examiner indicates that housing and any associated structure (open end) has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. deburring mechanism). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the deburring mechanism having the deburring passage (Detail C), and giving that there is no structural structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of using the deburring passage for placing an open end of a housing, as recited.), and the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction (see figure 1 annotated below).
Furthermore, Fang shows a different means of the first and second deburring module comprising a single curved brush (elements 6/11). However, Fang appears to be silent wherein the first deburring module comprising a first cylindrical brush and first conical brushes arranged at two ends of the first cylindrical brush and the second deburring module comprising a second cylindrical brush and second conical brushes arranged at two ends of the second cylindrical brush.
Hotani is also concern in providing a mechanism (Figures 1-18 and see also paragraph 0016), comprising a first and second deburring module (element 1, see also paragraphs 0016-0018 where the prior art discloses utilizing multiple element 1 arranged on each side in order to polish the workpiece (element S), and see also figure 6A showing a first deburring module (element 1 located in the top) and a second deburring module (element 1 located in the bottom) arranged on side plates (see figure 1 element 4). Hotani further teaches wherein the first deburring module comprising a first cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3) and first conical brushes (elements 1-1/1-4) arranged at two ends (see figure 5 annotated below Detail A) of the first cylindrical brush (see figure 5 annotated below) and the second deburring module (see paragraph 0018 where the prior art discloses “each” of the multiple rolls (element 1) “can be similar”) comprising a second cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3) and second conical brushes (elements 1-1/1-4) arranged at two ends (see figure 5 annotated below Detail A) of the second cylindrical brush (see figure 5 annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first and second deburring module single curved brush of Fang with the first and second deburring module of Hotani in order to provide wherein the first deburring module comprising a first cylindrical brush and first conical brushes arranged at two ends of the first cylindrical brush and the second deburring module comprising a second cylindrical brush and second conical brushes arranged at two ends of the second cylindrical brush, since simple substitution of known elements for another to obtain a predictable results of coupling two different parts. The resultant combination would have the first/second cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3) and first/second conical brushes (elements 1-1/1-4) that are sleeved on the body (element 6) of Hotani now in place of the first/second single curved brush (elements 6/11) sleeved on body (elements 5/10) of the first and second deburring module of Fang. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known first and second deburring module in the form of cylindrical brush with conical brushes arranged on the ends would necessarily allow the mechanism to continue to operate as intended while also provided the added feature of having a plurality of different brushes treat multiple/different surfaces during operations, thus increasing production and providing a desired finish (See MPEP 2143.1(B)).
Regarding claim 2, Fang modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising a first motor (element 4 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element 4 as “a first drive motor”) and a second motor (element 9 and see also paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element 9 as “a second drive motor”),
the first deburring module comprising a first roller body (element 5), the first cylindrical brush and the first conical brushes being both sleeved on the first roller body (see paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses the brush (element 6) is “sleeved” on the outside of the element 5 (first roller body), thus as modified (see claim 1 rejection above), Fang modified would necessarily have the first cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3) and the first conical brushes (elements 1-1/1-4), as taught by Hotani, being both sleeved on the first roller body (element 5) of Fang), and the first roller body being connected to the first motor (see paragraph 0023); and
the second deburring module comprising a second roller body (element 10), the second cylindrical brush and the second conical brushes being both sleeved on the second roller body (see paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses the brush (element 11) is “sleeved” on the outside of the element 10 (second roller body), thus as modified (see claim 1 rejection above), Fang modified would necessarily have the second cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3) and the second conical brushes (elements 1-1/1-4), as taught by Hotani, being both sleeved on the second roller body (element 10) of Fang), and the second roller body being connected to the second motor (see paragraph 0023).
Regarding claim 3, Fang modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the first conical brushes are arranged at the two ends of the first cylindrical brush, a radial dimension of a cross-section of each first conical brush gradually increases in a direction away from the first cylindrical brush (see figure 5 annotated above on page 6 of prior art Hotani showing a cross section of each of the first conical brush (elements 1-1/1-4) having a radial dimension gradually increasing in a direction (see left and right arrows figure 5 annotated above on page 6) away from the first cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3)); and
the second conical brushes are arranged at the two ends of the second cylindrical brush, a radial dimension of a cross-section of each second conical brush gradually increases in a direction away from the second cylindrical brush (see figure 5 annotated above on page 6 of prior art Hotani showing a cross section of each of the second conical brush (elements 1-1/1-4) having a radial dimension gradually increasing in a direction (see left and right arrows figure 5 annotated above on page 6) away from the second cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3)).
Regarding claim 10, Fang modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 1, wherein an installation position of the first deburring module on the first side plate is adjustable (Giving that the prior art discloses the first deburring module (elements 5/6) on the first side plate (element 3), and there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein an installation position of the first deburring module on the first side plate is adjustable, as recited.).
Regarding claim 11, Fang modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 1, wherein an installation position of the second deburring module on the second side plate is adjustable (Giving that the prior art discloses the second deburring module (elements 10/11) on the second side plate (element 8), and there is no additional structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of having wherein an installation position of the second deburring module on the second side plate is adjustable, as recited.).
Regarding claim 12, Fang modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the frame comprises a base (element 2), a through hole is provided on the base (see paragraph 0024 where the prior art discloses a portion (element 3) of the frame comprises “grooves” (element 14) that passes through a waste chip collection box (element 12) in order to collect waste, see paragraph 0023 where the prior art discloses element 3 being “fixedly mounted on the top of” element 2 (base), thus as best shown in figure 1, the base (element 2) is in between the waste chip collection box (element 12) and a portion (element 3) of the frame comprises “grooves” (element 14) and would necessarily comprise a through hole in order to allow the chips to fall and be collected by collection box), the through hole is connected to a tube (element 15), and one end of the tube is arranged facing the second deburring module and the other end of the tube is located outside the frame (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 13, Fang modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the end of the first deburring module away from the first side plate is suspended (see figure 1 showing an end (left and right ends) of the first deburring module (elements 5/6) away from the first side plate (element 3) being suspended), and
the end of the second deburring module away from the second side plate is suspended (see figure 1 showing an end (left and right ends) of the second deburring module (elements 10/11) away from the first side plate (element 8) being suspended).
Regarding claim 14, Fang modified discloses: a deburring assembly, comprising deburring mechanisms according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above on pages 3-7).
Furthermore, Fang modified only discloses a single deburring mechanism comprising a deburring passage (see figure 1 annotated above on page 004 showing first deburring module (elements 5/6) and the second deburring module (elements 10/11) arranged opposite to each other in a second direction (Detail B) forming a deburring passage (Detail C).
However, Fang modified appears to be silent wherein the deburring assembly comprises two deburring mechanisms, the two deburring mechanisms being arranged along a length direction of the housing, the housing having two open ends; and the two deburring mechanisms comprising two deburring passages, and the two open ends being respectively placed in the two deburring passages.
However, it would have been it would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fang in order to provide wherein the deburring assembly comprises two deburring mechanisms, the two deburring mechanisms being arranged along a length direction of the housing, the housing having two open ends; and the two deburring mechanisms comprising two deburring passages, and the two open ends being respectively placed in the two deburring passages, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that having an assembly with a plurality of deburring mechanism would necessarily allow the user to surface treat a plurality of workpieces at same time, thus increasing productivity. (See MPEP 2144.04 (IV))
Regarding claim 15, Fang modified discloses: the deburring assembly according to claim 14, further comprising supporting bases (element 2), in a case that the open ends being placed in the deburring passages, the supporting bases supporting the housing (The examiner indicates that housing and any associated structure (open end) has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. deburring assembly). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the supporting bases (element 2) and giving that there is no structural structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of in a case that the open end being placed in the deburring passages, the supporting bases supporting the housing, as recited.).
Claims 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN 109176213) in view of Hotani (JP H0819945) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of LV (CN 112548046).
Regarding claim 4, Fang modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claim 1, but appears to be silent wherein the frame comprises a third side plate connected to the first side plate and the second side plate, and a support core is arranged on the third side plate; and in a case that the open end is placed in the deburring passage, the end of the support core away from the third side plate extends into the housing from the open end.
LV is also concern in providing a mechanism (Figures 1-9 and see also paragraph 0042), comprising a frame (elements 2a/4c), a deburring module (elements 4l/4n), and deburring passage (see figure 3 showing the empty space between the deburring module (elements 4l/4n) and portion of the frame (element 2a) that receives the workpiece (gear)). LV further teaches wherein the frame comprises a third side plate (element 2a), and a support core (element 3) is arranged on the third side plate (see figure 4); and in a case that the open end is placed in the deburring passage, the end of the support core away from the third side plate extends into the housing from the open end (The examiner indicates that housing and any associated structure (open end) has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. deburring mechanism). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the support core (element 3) supporting an inner open end and extending into the workpiece (see figures 3-4) when placed in the deburring passage (see figure 3) and giving that there is no structural structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of in a case that the open end is placed in the deburring passage, the end of the support core away from the third side plate extends into the housing from the open end, as recited.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Fang to incorporate the teachings of LV to provide the frame comprises a third side plate, and a support core is arranged on the third side plate; and in a case that the open end is placed in the deburring passage, the end of the support core away from the third side plate extends into the housing from the open end. The resultant combination would have the third plate with the third side plate (element 2a) with the support core (element 3) of LV now placed and connected in a back portion as best shown in figures 2-3 between the first side plate (element 3) and the second side plate (element 8) of Rang. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a support core would necessarily provide the predictable result of properly securing a workpiece within the deburring mechanism, thus preventing the workpiece from falling and being damaged during operations.
Regarding claim 5, Fang modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 4, wherein a cleaning strip (see prior art of LV figure 8 element 36) is arranged on an outer peripheral surface of the support core (see prior art of LV figure 8 showing the cleaning strip (element 36) arranged on an outer peripheral surface of a portion (element 35) of the support core (element 3)); and
in a case that the support core extends into the housing, the cleaning strip abuts against an inner wall of the housing (The examiner indicates that housing and any associated structure (inner wall) has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. deburring mechanism). Therefore, giving that the prior art as modified discloses the support core (element 3) having the cleaning strip (element 36) and giving that there is no structural structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of in a case that the support core extends into the housing, the cleaning strip abuts against an inner wall of the housing, as recited.).
Regarding claim 7, Fang modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 4, wherein the support core is located between the first deburring module and the second deburring module (see rejection of claim 4 above wherein Fang further modified discloses the combination of having the support core (element 3 as taught by LV) now placed and connected in a back portion as best shown in figures 2-3 between the first side plate (element 3) and the second side plate (element 8) of Rang, thus the support core would necessarily be located between the first deburring module and the second deburring module, as recited.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fang (CN 109176213) in view of Hotani (JP H0819945) and LV (CN 112548046) as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Ouyang (CN108145578).
Regarding claim 6, Fang modified discloses all the limitations as stated in the rejection of claims 1 and 4, but appears to be silent wherein an air inlet and an air outlet are provided on the support core, and the air inlet is communicated with the air outlet; and in a case that the support core extends into the housing, the air outlet faces an inner surface of the housing.
Ouyang is also concern in providing a mechanism (Figures 1-2 and see also paragraph 0022), comprising a support core (elements 2/3/4/5) supporting a workpiece (see figure1 and see also paragraph 0025) and wherein an air inlet (see figure 1 left opening hole in element 2 that communicates with element 10) and an air outlet (see figure 1 right opening hole in element 2 that communicates with element 9) are provided on the support core (see figure 1), and the air inlet is communicated with the air outlet (see figure 1); and in a case that the support core extends into the housing, the air outlet faces an inner surface of the housing (The examiner indicates that housing and any associated structure (inner surface) has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. deburring mechanism). Therefore, giving that the prior art as modified discloses the support core (elements 2/3/4/5) having the air outlet (see figure 1 right opening hole in element 2 that communicates with element 9) and giving that there is no structural structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of in a case that the support core extends into the housing, the air outlet faces an inner surface of the housing, as recited.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Fang to incorporate the teachings of Ouyang to provide wherein an air inlet and an air outlet are provided on the support core, and the air inlet is communicated with the air outlet; and in a case that the support core extends into the housing, the air outlet faces an inner surface of the housing. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing the support core with inlet/outlets in communication with suction device would necessarily provide a means for sucking and recovering residue, thus preventing the rust residue from scattering and polluting the working environment as disclosed by Ouyang (see paragraph 0025).
Claims 1-3 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (KR 20150094246) in view of Hotani (JP H0819945).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses: a deburring mechanism (Figures 1-11 and see also paragraph 0022), comprising:
a frame (element 110/111 and see also figure 1 annotated below Detail A and element 110 and see also figure 1 annotated below Detail B), having a first side plate (element 110/111 and see also figure 1 annotated below Detail A) and a second side plate (element 110 and see also figure 1 annotated below Detail B), the first side plate being arranged opposite to the second side plate in a first direction (see figure 1 annotated below showing the a portion (element 111) of the first side plate (element 110/111/Detail A) arranged opposite a portion (element 111) of the second side plate (element 110/111/Detail B) in a first direction (Detail C)); and
a first deburring module (see figure 1 annotated below element 120/Detail D/Detail E) and a second deburring module (see figure 1 annotated below element 120/Detail F/Detail G), the first deburring module being arranged on the first side plate (see figures 1 and 3 annotated below), the second deburring module being arranged on the second side plate (see figures 1 and 3 annotated below), the first deburring module and the second deburring module being arranged opposite to each other in a second direction and forming a deburring passage (see figure 1 annotated below showing first deburring module (element 120/Detail D/Detail E) and the second deburring module (elements 10/11) arranged opposite to each other in a second direction (Detail B) forming a deburring passage (Detail C), the deburring passage being used for placing an open end of a housing (The examiner indicates that housing and any associated structure (open end) has not been positively recited as the claimed invention (i.e. deburring mechanism). Therefore, giving that the prior art discloses the deburring mechanism having the deburring passage (Detail H), and giving that there is no structural structure or structural difference, thus the prior art would be capable of using the deburring passage for placing an open end of a housing, as recited.), and the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction (see figure 1 annotated below).
Furthermore, Kwon shows a different means of the first and second deburring module comprising a single cylindrical brush (Detail D and Detail F). However, Kwon appears to be silent wherein the first deburring module comprising a first cylindrical brush and first conical brushes arranged at two ends of the first cylindrical brush and the second deburring module comprising a second cylindrical brush and second conical brushes arranged at two ends of the second cylindrical brush.
Hotani is also concern in providing a mechanism (Figures 1-18 and see also paragraph 0016), comprising a first and second deburring module (element 1, see also paragraphs 0016-0018 where the prior art discloses utilizing multiple element 1 arranged on each side in order to polish the workpiece (element S), and see also figure 6A showing a first deburring module (element 1 located in the top) and a second deburring module (element 1 located in the bottom) arranged on side plates (see figure 1 element 4). Hotani further teaches wherein the first deburring module comprising a first cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3) and first conical brushes (elements 1-1/1-4) arranged at two ends (see figure 5 annotated below Detail A) of the first cylindrical brush (see figure 5 annotated below) and the second deburring module (see paragraph 0018 where the prior art discloses “each” of the multiple rolls (element 1) “can be similar”) comprising a second cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3) and second conical brushes (elements 1-1/1-4) arranged at two ends (see figure 5 annotated below Detail A) of the second cylindrical brush (see figure 5 annotated below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first and second deburring module single cylindrical brush of Kwon with the first and second deburring module of Hotani in order to provide wherein the first deburring module comprising a first cylindrical brush and first conical brushes arranged at two ends of the first cylindrical brush and the second deburring module comprising a second cylindrical brush and second conical brushes arranged at two ends of the second cylindrical brush, since simple substitution of known elements for another to obtain a predictable results of coupling two different parts. The resultant combination would have the first/second cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3) and first/second conical brushes (elements 1-1/1-4) that are sleeved on the body (element 6) of Hotani now in place of the first/second single cylindrical brush ((Detail D and Detail F) sleeved on shaft (Detail E and Detail G) of the first and second deburring module of Kwon. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that providing a known first and second deburring module in the form of cylindrical brush with conical brushes arranged on the ends would necessarily allow the mechanism to continue to operate as intended while also provided the added feature of having a plurality of different brushes treat multiple/different surfaces during operations, thus increasing production and providing a desired finish (See MPEP 2143.1(B)).
Regarding claim 2, Kwon modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising a first motor (left element 101 and see also paragraph 0012) and a second motor (right element 101 and see also paragraph 0012),
the first deburring module comprising a first roller body, the first cylindrical brush and the first conical brushes being both sleeved on the first roller body, and the first roller body being connected to the first motor (see figure 3 annotated below showing the brush (Detail D) being sleeved on the outside of Detail E (first roller body), thus as modified (see claim 1 rejection above), Kwon modified would necessarily have the first cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3) and the first conical brushes (elements 1-1/1-4), as taught by Hotani, being both sleeved on the first roller body (Detail E) of Kwon); and
the second deburring module comprising a second roller body, the second cylindrical brush and the second conical brushes being both sleeved on the second roller body, and the second roller body being connected to the second motor (see figure 3 annotated below showing the brush (Detail F) being sleeved on the outside of Detail G (second roller body), thus as modified (see claim 1 rejection above), Kwon modified would necessarily have the second conical brushes (elements 1-1/1-4), as taught by Hotani, being both sleeved on the second roller body (Detail G) of Kwon).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the first conical brushes are arranged at the two ends of the first cylindrical brush, a radial dimension of a cross-section of each first conical brush gradually increases in a direction away from the first cylindrical brush (see figure 5 annotated above on page 21 of prior art Hotani showing a cross section of each of the first conical brush (elements 1-1/1-4) having a radial dimension gradually increasing in a direction (see left and right arrows figure 5 annotated above on page 6) away from the first cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3)); and
the second conical brushes are arranged at the two ends of the second cylindrical brush, a radial dimension of a cross-section of each second conical brush gradually increases in a direction away from the second cylindrical brush (see figure 5 annotated above on page 21 of prior art Hotani showing a cross section of each of the second conical brush (elements 1-1/1-4) having a radial dimension gradually increasing in a direction (see left and right arrows figure 5 annotated above on page 6) away from the second cylindrical brush (elements 1-2/1-3)).
Regarding claim 8, Kwon modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising at least one slide track assembly (element 11 and see also paragraph 0031), the slide track assembly extending in a third direction (see figure 3 annotated below showing a portion of the at least one slide track assembly (element 11) extending in the third position (Detail A)), the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction being perpendicular to each other(see figures 1 and 3 annotated below); and
the frame being slidably arranged on the slide track assembly (see figures 3 and 5 showing the frame (elements 110/111) slidably arranged in the slide track assembly (element 11)).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon modified discloses: the deburring mechanism according to claim 1, further comprising a cylinder (element 130 and see also paragraph 0030 where the prior art discloses element 130 as a “cylinder” ), the cylinder being fixed on the frame (see figure 1 annotated above on page 18).
Conclusion
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723