Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7, & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fjelstad et al. (US PGPub 20030214802), a reference of record.
As per claim 1:
Fjelstad et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
An apparatus comprising:
a signal line (conductors CD);
a lower ground plane (shield 130, [0059]) beneath the signal line and spaced therefrom;
a dielectric structure supporting the signal line, the dielectric structure having:
a first layer (dielectric support 120) above the signal line; and
a second layer (dielectric support 110) between the lower ground plane and the signal line;
the first layer and the second layer of the dielectric structure each including a dielectric material (being dielectric supports, [0060]) defining a plurality of voids (openings OP and ON) and having a number and size of the openings that depends on desired design parameters ([0055-0056]), wherein the dielectric material and the plurality of voids alternate along a length of the signal line (as seen in Figs. 1A-E) and both the dielectric material and the plurality of voids are immediately adjacent and both above and below the signal line with no intervening layer (as seen in Fig. 1A-B & D-E).
Fjelstad et al. does not disclose:
having a void percentage of at least 50%.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the void percentage of Fjelstad et al. to be at least 50% as Fjelstad et al. discloses the number and width of the plurality of voids to be a design parameter, wherein the width of the voids is intended to be as wide as possible ([0055-056]) to provide the benefit of reducing dielectric constants and loss tangents, as taught by Fjelstad et al. ([0052])
As per claim 2:
Fjelstad et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
an upper ground plane (shield 140, [0059]) above the signal line and spaced therefrom and the lower ground plane below the signal line and space therefrom, the upper ground plane being immediately adjacent and above the first layer of the dielectric structure and the lower ground plane being immediately adjacent and below the second layer of the dielectric structure (as seen in Figs. 1A-E), wherein the dielectric material surrounds the signal line and supports the signal line between the upper ground plane and lower ground plane (as seen in Figs. 1A-E).
As per claim 4:
Fjelstad et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
the plurality of spaced-apart dielectric support regions are equally spaced (periodic, [0056]).
As per claim 7:
Fjelstad et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
the plurality of voids are filled with air ([0053]).
As per claim 9:
Fjelstad et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
the dielectric material includes a plurality of portions that are rectangular in cross section when viewed in a cross section along the long axis of the signal line (as seen in Figs. 1D-E).
As per claim 21:
Fjelstad et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
a plurality of sacrificial dielectric dispersed across the first layer and the second layer of the dielectric structure (the openings OP and ON may be formed by etching, [0125], such that the dielectric supports 110 and 120 may be considered to be sacrificial material, whereas “a plurality of sacrificial dielectric” is not provided to be separate from the “dielectric material” of claim 1, furthermore, the term “sacrificial” is used to describe material that has been removed, such that “sacrificial” appears to be a product-by-process limitation and thus does not carry patentable weight, see MPEP §2113).
Claim(s) 5 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The resultant combination of Fjelstad et al. (US PGPub 20030214802), a reference of record, as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Sherman et al. (US Patent 6518844), a reference of record.
The resultant combination discloses the apparatus of claims 1-3, as rejected above.
As per claim 5:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
a left ground plane and a right ground plane supported by the dielectric material and spaced left and right of the signal line when viewed in a cross section transverse to a long axis of the signal line.
Sherman et al. discloses in Fig.1:
A suspended transmission line (title) formed as a strip line with upper and lower void regions (cavities 70 & 72), wherein a signal line (first and second conductive strips 44 & 46) are formed with left and right ground planes (metallization layers 62) supported by a dielectric material and spaced left and right of the signal line when viewed in a cross section transverse to a long axis of the signal line to provide an intermediate ground plane (col. 5 lines 34-67).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a left ground plane and a right ground plane supported by the dielectric material and spaced left and right of the signal line when viewed in a cross-section transverse to a long axis of the signal line as disclosed by Sherman et al., as an art-recognized alternative configuration of a strip line as taught by Sherman et al. able to provide the same function and to provide the benefit of further shielding, as is well understood in the art.
As per claim 6:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
the left ground plane and the right ground planes are fully supported by the dielectric material.
Sherman et al. discloses in Fig.1:
A suspended transmission line (title) formed as a strip line with upper and lower void regions (cavities 70 & 72), wherein a signal line (first and second conductive strips 44 & 46) are formed with left and right ground planes (metallization layers 62) supported by a dielectric structure and spaced left and right of the signal line when viewed in a cross section transverse to a long axis of the signal line to provide an intermediate ground plane (col. 5 lines 34-67), wherein the left and right ground planes are fully supported by the dielectric material (as seen in Fig. 1).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 5, the left ground plane and the right ground planes are fully supported by the dielectric material.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The resultant combination of Fjelstad et al. (US PGPub 20030214802), a reference of record, as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Matsuda (US PGPub 20150305142), a reference of record.
The resultant combination discloses the apparatus of claims 1-3, as rejected above.
As per claim 8:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
the plurality of voids contain a vacuum.
Matsuda discloses in Figs. 1-13:
a plurality of voids (40) for a transmission line wherein the voids contain a vacuum ([0063]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the voids of Fjelstad et al. to contain a vacuum as an art-recognized alternative for the dielectric material of voids in a transmission line that provides the same function as taught by Matsuda ([0063]).
Claim(s) 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over The resultant combination of Fjelstad et al. (US PGPub 20030214802), a reference of record, as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Ma et al. (US PGPub 20230276719), a reference of record.
The resultant combination discloses the apparatus of claims 1-3, as rejected above.
As per claim 10:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
the signal line, the lower ground plane, the upper ground plane, and the dielectric material have a length and first end and a second end, the apparatus further comprising a first quantum computing element coupled to the first end and a second quantum computing element coupled to the second end.
Ma et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
A quantum computing chip comprising signal lines (20), a first quantum computing element (qubits 40) coupled to a first end of each signal line, and a second quantum computing element (signal terminals 101) coupled to a second end of each signal line.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the signal line of the resultant combination to be used as the signal line in an apparatus such as that of Ma et al. as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent transmission line able to provide the same function and that provides the benefit of resisting deformation and shielding/isolation as a strip line, as is well understood in the art.
As per claim 11:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
at least one of the first quantum computing element or the second quantum computing element comprises a physical manifestation of a qubit.
Ma et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
at least one of the first and second quantum computing elements comprises a physical manifestation of a qubit (40).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 10, the combination discloses at least one of the first and second quantum computing elements comprises a physical manifestation of a qubit.
As per claim 12:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
at least one of the first quantum computing element or the second quantum computing element comprises a readout port.
Ma et al. discloses in Fig. 1:
at least one of the first quantum computing element or the second quantum computing element comprises a signal port (101).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the signal port of the combination to be a readout port, as one of a limited number of possibilities (input or output) for a signal port, wherein signal ports for qubits feature input and output ports to provide the benefit of functionality to the qubit, as is well understood in the art.
As per claim 13:
The resultant combination does not disclose:
at least one of the first quantum computing element or the second quantum computing element comprises a transmission line.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for at least one of the first and second quantum computing elements to comprise a transmission line, as connecting transmission lines is a well understood in the art method to provide the benefit of providing a signal path across distances or through different stages such as is commonly found in circuits comprising different temperatures such as those connected to super conducting stages or qubits, as is well understood in the art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of the applicant’s remarks, the applicant argues:
Independent claim 1 recites "a signal line; a lower ground plane beneath the signal line and spaced therefrom; a dielectric structure supporting the signal line, the dielectric structure having: a first layer above the signal line; and a second layer between the lower ground plane and the signal line; the first layer and the second layer of the dielectric structure each including a dielectric material defining a plurality of voids and having a void percentage of at least 50%, wherein the dielectric material and the plurality of voids alternate along a length of the signal line and both the dielectric material and the plurality of voids are immediately adjacent and both above and below the signal line with no intervening layer" (emphasis added). The Office action admits that Fjelstad fails to disclose each and every element of claim 1. However, while Noori may disclose conductive traces with signal conductors and grounded portions dispersed in an alternating fashion within antenna module, such fails to disclose, teach or suggest the complex multi-layered embodiment claimed in independent claim 1. As such, Assignee's representative respectfully submits that the rejection of claims 1-4, 7 and 9 be withdrawn and claims 1-4, 7 and 9 be allowed.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection of Fjelstad discloses the amended limitations of claim 1, as rejected above, and further Fjelstad renders the only missing limitation, the limitation regarding “having a void percentage of at least 50%,” obvious over its own teachings, as per the rejection of claim 1. The applicant’s arguments do not address the obviousness statement, and therefore merely allege that claim 1 overcomes the rejection of Fjelstad. Further arguments to the claims are based on the alleged patentability of claim 1, and are thus not persuasive. The rejection of claim 1 has been amended as per the amendments of claim 1, with the rejections of claims 2, & 4-13 rejected as per the previous rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Samuel S Outten/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843