Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2006172613 A (hereinafter Takashi).
Regarding claim 1, Takashi teaches an electric field enhancing element (p. 6 para 3 lines 4-7), comprising: a substrate (fig. 11 element 41; p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4); a plurality of microstructures provided at the substrate and having conductivity (fig. 11 element 42, p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4); and a transparent layer covering the plurality of microstructures and the substrate (fig. 11 element 43; p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4), wherein an enhanced electric field generated by the plurality of microstructures is at a maximum at a position (p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4; this is shown in fig. 4 “Ag/dye”) on an opposite side of the plurality of microstructures from the substrate and separated from the plurality of microstructures (fig. 13, the enhanced electric field is on top of the metal; p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4), in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (since it is on top of the metal, this means it has a direction perpendicular to the substrate), “wherein the enhanced electric field is present at a position separated from the plurality of microstructures by 100 nm or more in the direction perpendicular to the substrate” (fig. 11, the distance from the top of element 42 to the top of 43 is more than 200 nm; proper scaling is based on the height of element 42 (same height as in fig. 1 which is 40 nm, p. 8 last para line 5)).
Regarding claim 2, Takashi teaches the electric field enhancing element according to claim 1, “wherein the transparent layer is provided between adjacent microstructures among the plurality of microstructures, and a refractive index of the transparent layer is higher than a refractive index of the substrate” (this is shown in fig. 11).
Regarding claim 4, Takashi teaches The electric field enhancing element according to claim 1, wherein the enhanced electric field is present at the position separated from the plurality of microstructures by 200 nm or more in the direction perpendicular to the substrate (fig. 11, the distance from the top of element 42 to the top of 43 is more than 200 nm; proper scaling is based on the height of element 42 (same height as in fig. 1 which is 40 nm, p. 8 last para line 5)).
Regarding claim 5, Takashi teaches the electric field enhancing element according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of microstructures are periodically arrayed (this is shown in fig. 11).
Regarding claim 6, Takashi teaches the electric field enhancing element according to claim 1, wherein a material of each of the plurality of microstructures is a metal (p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4).
Regarding claim 7, Takashi teaches the electric field enhancing element according to claim 1, wherein a material of the transparent layer is a dielectric (element 43 in fig. 11 is a dielectric, p. 8 para 1 last sentence).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi and in view of Rodriguez, S. R. K., et al. "From weak to strong coupling of localized surface plasmons to guided modes in a luminescent slab." Physical Review B 90.23 (2014): 235406 (hereinafter Rodriguez).
Regarding claim 8, Takashi does not teach a Raman spectroscopic device, comprising: the electric field enhancing element according to claim 1; “a light source configured to irradiate the electric field enhancing element with light”; and “a detector configured to detect light from the electric field enhancing element”.
Rodriguez teaches a Raman spectroscopic device, comprising: the electric field enhancing element according to claim 1 (this is fig.1(a)); “a light source configured to irradiate the electric field enhancing element with light” (p. 2 col 2 para 2 lines 3-6); and “a detector configured to detect light from the electric field enhancing element” (p. 2 col 2 para 2 lines 3-6; the spectrometer has the detector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Rodriguez to Takashi to have a Raman spectroscopic device, comprising: the electric field enhancing element according to claim 1; “a light source configured to irradiate the electric field enhancing element with light”; and “a detector configured to detect light from the electric field enhancing element” in order to improve the performance of solid-state light-emitting devices (p. 8 col 2 para 2 lines 7-9).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takashi and in view of CN 114545537 A (hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 9, Takashi teaches an electric field enhancing element, comprising: a substrate (fig. 11 element 41; p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4); a plurality of microstructures provided at the dielectric layer and having conductivity (fig. 11 element 42, p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4); and a transparent layer covering the plurality of microstructures, and the substrate (fig. 11 element 43; p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4), wherein an enhanced electric field generated by the plurality of microstructures is at a maximum at a position (p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4; this is shown in fig. 4 “Ag/dye”) on an opposite side of the plurality of microstructures from the substrate and separated from the plurality of microstructures (fig. 13, the enhanced electric field is on top of the metal; p. 9 last para to p. 10 para 4), in a direction perpendicular to the substrate (since it is on top of the metal, this means it has a direction perpendicular to the substrate), wherein the enhanced electric field is present at a position separated from the plurality of microstructures by 100 nm or more in the direction perpendicular to the substrate (fig. 11, the distance from the top of para line 5)).
Takashi does not teach a dielectric layer, disposed on the substrate.
Song, from the same field of endeavor as Takashi, discloses a dielectric layer, disposed on the substrate (fig. 1 element 3, p. 5 para 6 last sentence).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the teaching of Song to Takashi to have a dielectric layer, disposed on the substrate in order to provide a super-material near infrared broadband absorber, which has simple structure, low cost and high absorption rate (p. 2 para 10).
Conclusion
/ROBERTO FABIAN JR/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877