DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/28/2024 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-12 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Maggi et al. US 2003/0214316 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Maggi).
Regarding claim 1, Maggi discloses an integrated circuit (IC) (fig. 4, elm. 112, par. [0037]), comprising: a package (fig. 4, elm. 122, par. [0037]); a target circuit (fig. 4, operating circuitry, par. [0037]); and a heating circuit (fig. 4, elm. 210, par. [0037]), configured to receive a heating signal (fig. 4, set of instructions 136 for burn-in testing the operating circuitry 118c, and instructions 138 for collecting and evaluating data, par. [0039]) and heat at least a testing portion (fig. 4, elm. 118c, par. [0037]) of the target circuit (par. [0013]) to a first predetermined temperature (par. [0007], [0031],[0038]) based on the heating signal (par. [0039]); wherein the target circuit and the heating circuit are within the package (see fig. 1-4).
Regarding claim 2, Maggi discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the target circuit (fig. 4, operating circuitry, par. [0037]) comprises: a first region (fig. 4, elm. 118c, par. [0037]), having a first temperature sensitivity (par. [0038]); a second region (fig. 4, elm. 118a and 118b, par. [0037]) having a second temperature sensitivity (par. [0038]),wherein the first temperature sensitivity (par. [0038]); is higher than the second temperature sensitivity (par. [0038]); wherein the heating circuit heats (fig. 4, elm. 120, par. [0037]) the first region responding to the heating signal (par. [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, Maggi discloses the integrated circuit of claim 2, wherein the first region is a region (fig. 4, elm. 118c, par. [0037]) which has a highest temperature sensitivity (par. [0038]) in the target circuit (fig. 4, operating circuitry, par. [0037]).
Regarding claim 4, Maggi discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the heating circuit (fig.4, elm. 120, par. [0037]) comprises at least one resistor (fig. 4, electrical resistance heater, par. [0040]), wherein the heating circuit performs heating via flowing at least one current through the resistor (fig. 4, elm. 140, par. [0039]).
Regarding claim 7, Kaneko discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, wherein the heating circuit (fig. 4, elm. 120, par. [0037]) does not heat other circuits (fig. 4, elm. 118a and 118b, par. [0037]-[0038]) of the target circuit (fig. 4, operating circuitry, par. [0037]) responding to the heating signal (set of instructions 136 for burn-in testing the operating circuitry 118c, par. [0039]), wherein the other circuits are not in the testing portion (par. [0037]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 9, Maggi discloses an IC testing method (method for performing burn-in testing of an integrated circuit, par. [0017]), for testing an IC (fig. 4, elm. 112, par. [0037]) comprising a target circuit (fig. 4, operating circuitry, par. [0037]) and a heating circuit (fig. 4, elm. 120, par. [0037]), comprising: (a) generating a heating signal (fig. 4, set of instructions 136 for burn-in testing the operating circuitry 118c, and instructions 138 for collecting and evaluating data, par. [0039]) by a testing machine (fig. 4, elm. 114, par. [0039]); (b)receiving a heating signal by the heating circuit to heat at least testing portion of the target circuit to a first predetermined temperature (par. [0007], [0031],[0038]); and (c) testing the testing portion (fig. 4, elm. 118c, par. [0037]-[0038]), by the testing machine within a predetermined time after heating the testing portion to the first predetermined temperature (par. [0005], [0033]),(clm. 13).
Regarding claim 10, Maggi discloses the IC testing method of claim 9, wherein the target circuit (fig. 4, operating circuitry, par. [0037]) comprises: a first region (fig. 4, elm. 118c, par. [0037]), having a first temperature sensitivity; a second region (fig. 4, elm. 118a, 118b, par. [0037]), having a second temperature sensitivity (par. [0038]), wherein the first temperature sensitivity is higher than the second temperature sensitivity (par. [0038]); wherein the heating circuit (fig. 4, elm. 120, par. [0037]) heats the first region responding to the heating signal (fig. 4, set of instructions 136 for burn-in testing the operating circuitry 118c, and instructions 138 for collecting and evaluating data, par. [0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Maggi discloses the IC testing method of claim 10, wherein the first region (fig. 4, elm. 118c, par. [0037]) is a region which has a highest temperature sensitivity (par. [0038]) in the target circuit (fig. 4, operating circuitry, par. [0037]).
Regarding claim 12, Kaneko discloses the IC testing method of claim 9, wherein the heating circuit (fig. 4, elm. 120, par. [0037]) comprises at least one resistor (fig. 4, electrical resistance heater, par. [0040]), wherein the heating circuit performs heating via flowing at least one current (fig. 4, elm. 140, par. [0040]) through the resistor.
Regarding claim 15, Kaneko discloses the IC testing method of claim 9, further comprising: testing other circuits (fig. 4, elm. 118a, 118b, par. [0037]), of the target circuit (fig. 4, operating circuitry, par. [0037]) when a temperature of the testing portion decreases to a normal temperature, after the step (c), wherein the other circuits are not in the testing portion (fig. 4, elm. 118c, par. [0037]).
Regarding claim 16, Maggi discloses the IC testing method of claim 9, wherein the heating circuit (fig. 4, elm. 120, par. [0037]) does not heat other circuits (fig. 4, elm. 118a and 118b, par. [0037]-[0038]) of the target circuit (fig. 4, operating circuitry, par. [0037]) responding to the heating signal (set of instructions 136 for burn-in testing the operating circuitry 118c, par. [0039]), wherein the other circuits are not in the testing portion (par. [0037]-[0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggi as applied to claim 4/12 above, and further in view of Mimran et al. US 9,148,910 B1(hereinafter referred to as Mimran).
Regarding claim 5, Maggi discloses the integrated circuit of claim 4, Maggi does not disclose wherein the heating circuit further comprises at least one switch device, to control the flowing of the current.
Mimran disclose wherein the heating circuit (fig. 1, elm. 230, col. 3, ln. 30-43) further comprises at least one switch device (fig. 1, elm. 101, col. 3, ln. 30-43), to control the flowing of the current.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a power provider switch to adjusts the current conducted by the heating element, to maintain the chip temperature to remain within a suitable temperature range, as taught in Mimran in modifying the apparatus of Maggi. The motivation would be to maintain the chip temperature to remain within a suitable temperature range. (see Mimran: col. 6, ln. 44-53).
Regarding claim 13, Maggi discloses the IC testing method of claim 12, Maggi does not disclose wherein the heating circuit further comprises at least one switch device, to control the flowing of the current.
Mimran disclose the heating circuit (fig. 1, elm. 230, col. 3, ln. 30-43) further comprises at least one switch device (fig. 1, elm. 101, col. 3, ln. 30-43), to control the flowing of the current.
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggi as applied to claim 1/9 above, and further in view of Kaneko et al. US 6329642 B1 (hereinafter referred to as Kaneko).
Regarding claim 6, Maggi discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, Maggi does not disclose wherein the target circuit is a clock oscillator.
Kaneko discloses wherein the target circuit (fig. 2, elm. 2, col. 6, ln. 53) is a clock oscillator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an oscillator that oscillated at a frequency depending on external temperature condition, a heater is activated when frequency of oscillator is detected to be abnormal, as taught in Kaneko in modifying the apparatus of Maggi. The motivation would be enables operating under wide operation range, irrespective of temperature conditions. (see Kaneko: col. 3, ln. 6-29).
Regarding claim 14, Maggi discloses the IC testing method of claim 9, Maggi does not disclose wherein the target circuit is a clock oscillator.
Kaneko discloses wherein the target circuit (fig. 2, elm. 2, col. 6, ln. 53) is a clock oscillator.
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 6.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maggi as applied to claim 1/9 above, and further in view of Singh et al. WO 2018/125045 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Singh).
Regarding claim 8, Maggi discloses the integrated circuit of claim 1, Maggi does not disclose wherein the heating circuit heats other circuits of the target circuit to a second predetermined temperature responding to the heating signal, wherein the other circuits are not in the testing portion, wherein the second predetermined temperature is lower than the first predetermined temperature.
Singh discloses the heating circuit (fig. 1, resistors 1-N, pg. 9, ln. 1-8) heats other circuits of the target circuit to a second predetermined temperature (Nth resistor of the resistors 1-N may receive current to heat a different corresponding region 139 of the integrated circuit 110 to a second predetermined burn-in temperature, pg. 9, ln. 1-8) responding to the heating signal, wherein the other circuits are not in the testing portion, wherein the second predetermined temperature is lower than the first predetermined temperature (second predetermined burn-in temperature (e.g., a different predetermined burn-in temperature, pg. 9, ln. 1-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide resistors coupled to respective different regions of the circuitry and selection circuitry to select a resistor of the resistors to receive a current to cause the selected resistor to heat a corresponding region of the regions to a predetermined burn-in temperature, as taught in Singh in modifying the apparatus of Maggi. The motivation would be targeted burn-in at the same time or in sequence may provide superior performance by reducing total burn-in time compared to whole die burn-in alone. (see Singh: pg. 8, ln. 23-29).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, Maggi discloses the IC testing method of claim 9, Maggi does not disclose wherein the heating circuit heats other circuits of the target circuit to a second predetermined temperature responding to the heating signal wherein the other circuits are not in the testing portion, wherein the second predetermined temperature is lower than the first predetermined temperature.
Singh discloses the heating circuit (fig. 1, resistors 1-N, pg. 9, ln. 1-8) heats other circuits of the target circuit to a second predetermined temperature responding to the heating signal (Nth resistor of the resistors 1-N may receive current to heat a different corresponding region 139 of the integrated circuit 110 to a second predetermined burn-in temperature, pg. 9, ln. 1-8), wherein the other circuits are not in the testing portion, wherein the second predetermined temperature is lower than the first predetermined temperature (second predetermined burn-in temperature (e.g., a different predetermined burn-in temperature, pg. 9, ln. 1-8).
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 12/31/2025